DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because it depends on canceled claim 7. Claim 9 appears to depend on claim 4 or 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 12, 14, 21, 22 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soatto (US 6,944,327 of record) in view of Mercer et al.(US 20210264684 hereafter Mercer).
Regarding claim 1, Soatto discloses a computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving a frontal frame component image of a frontal frame of a pair of eyeglasses; receiving a temple component image of a temple component of the pair of eyeglasses; and using the frontal frame component image and the temple component image to generate a three-dimensional (3D) eyeglasses model of the pair of eyeglasses (a server 12 access a database 16 or 20 (Figs. 1 and 2) that stores photograph of the eyeglass frames taken from several viewpoint (col. 6, lines 53-61) . Alternatively, photographs from several viewpoints can be combined to yield a panoramic view (3D) (col. 6, line 66-col.7, line 1) (i.e., the photographs from several viewpoints are 2D images). However, Soatto does not disclose wherein: component markers, generated based on the frontal frame component image and the temple component image, are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model. Mercer teaches wherein component markers, generated based on the frontal frame component image and the temple component image, are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model (par.[0045] the use of marker in generating 3D eyeglasses model). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply teachings of the marker of Mercer to device of Soatto for purpose of forming eyeglasses.
Regarding claim 3, Soatto and Mercer disclose a computer-implemented method of claim 2. Mercer further discloses wherein: physical measurements of the component markers are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model (col.9, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 30, Soatto and Mercer disclose the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: the frontal frame component image is a photograph of the pair of eyeglasses captured via a camera; and the temple component image is a photograph of the pair of eyeglasses captured via the camera (it is general knowledge that camera is commonly used for capturing images).
Regarding claim 12, Soatto discloses a system, comprising:
a processor (Fig. 2, item 12); and
a memory in communication with the processor for storing instructions, which when executed by the processor (a server 12 access a database 16 or 20 (Figs. 1 and 2) that stores photographs of the eyeglass frames taken from several viewpoints (col. 6, lines 53-61)), cause the system to:
receive a frontal frame component image of a frontal frame of a pair of eyeglasses; receive a temple component image of a temple component of the pair of eyeglasses; and use the frontal frame component image and the temple component image to generate a three-dimensional (3D) eyeglasses model (a server 12 access a database 16 or 20 (Figs. 1 and 2) that stores photographs of the eyeglass frames taken from several viewpoints (col. 6, lines 53-61). Alternatively, photographs from several viewpoints can be combined to yield a panoramic view (3D) (col. 6, line 66-col.7, line 1) (i.e., the photographs from several viewpoints are 2D images). However, Soatto does not disclose wherein: component markers, generated based on the frontal frame component image and the temple component image, are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model. Mercer teaches wherein component markers, generated based on the frontal frame component image and the temple component image, are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model (par.[0045] the use of marker in generating 3D eyeglasses model). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply teachings of the marker of Mercer to device of Soatto for purpose of forming eyeglasses.
Regarding claim 14, Soatto and Mercer disclose a computer-implemented method of claim 12. Mercer further discloses wherein: physical measurements of the component markers are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model (col.9, lines 39-44).
Regarding claim 21, refer to claim 1 rejection. Soatto further discloses a computer readable medium (Figure 2, computer 14).
Regarding claim 22, Soatto and Mercer disclose a computer-implemented method of claim 21. Mercer further discloses wherein: physical measurements of the component markers are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model (col.9, lines 39-44).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 15, 16, 23-26, 28, 31 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: (claim 4) wherein: contours extracted from the frontal frame component image and the temple component image are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model; (claim 15) wherein: contours extracted from the frontal frame component image and the temple component image are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model; (claim 23) wherein: contours extracted from the frontal frame component image and the temple component image are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model; (claim 31) receiving a plurality of physical measurements of the pair of eyeglasses, wherein the plurality of physical measurements are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model, wherein: the plurality of physical measurements includes curvature information; and the 3D eyeglasses model further includes an approximation of the bending of the frontal frame component and the temple component; (claim 32) receiving a plurality of physical measurements of the pair of eyeglasses, wherein the plurality of physical measurements are used to generate the 3D eyeglasses model, wherein the plurality of physical measurements includes a plurality of physical markers; detecting the plurality of physical markers; and while using the frontal frame component image and the temple component image to generate the three-dimensional (3D) eyeglasses model of the pair of eyeglasses, mapping the component markers to the physical markers.
Conclusion
/TUYEN TRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872