Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This Office Action is responsive to the Arguments and Amendments filed 17 December 2025. As directed by applicant, claims 1, 16, 17 and 20 are amended and claim 15 is cancelled. Thus claims 1, 3, and 16-20 are pending. This is a Non- Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Wanatabe (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/ 0276670) in view of Matsuo (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/ 0096763) further in view of Tanaka (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/ 0143337).
Regarding claim 1, Wanatabe discloses a method for cutting a foil (Abstract, cutting foil 4, fig. 1) comprising lithium (¶¶ 0058, 0060, the electrode paste on the foil comprises lithium), the method comprising: irradiating the foil with a laser beam (30) wherein the foil comprises a lithium foil or a metal foil coated with lithium (¶0060, the paste/coating comprises lithium); and
moving the laser beam relative to the foil in a feeding direction at a feed rate (¶0026, moving speed) so as to cut the foil, thereby producing a cut-to-size foil blank (fig. 1, cutting and sizing).
However, Wanatabe does not teach having a wavelength of between 440 nm and 460 nm or between 400 nm and 410 nm, and wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°,. Matsuo teaches that wavelengths may be between large ranges, including between 360nm and 830 nm (¶0023), in his laser cutting method. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wanatabe in view of Matsuo, to arrive at, through routine experimentation, depending on the limitations of the process (e.g. time, speed) or the parameters of the foil (e.g. thickness), or the absorption of the material at different wavelengths, the claimed wavelengths of visible light, needing to see the focused laser, to process the foil and perform the cutting, at the desired speed and depth.
And while Wanatabe in view of Matsuo teaches all the limitations above, it still does not teach wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°.
However, Tanaka, in his method of irradiating a lithium film (¶0176), teaches impinging at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45° (Tanaka, fig. 1, ¶¶0099, 0104,0024 “varying the angle of incidence on the substrate”, as can be seen, only a slight angle “not smaller than 2’ (arcminutes ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Wanatabe in view of Matsuo with the teachings of Tanaka, to process the surface, having an angle of incidence on the surface, in order to compensate for the direction of travel and the movement of the substrate under the laser and so that the surface may be homogeneously irradiated without interference (from reflection) (Tanaka, ¶¶0030, 104).
Regarding claim 3, Wanatabe in view of Matsuo and Tanaka all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further discloses wherein the metal foil comprises a copper foil or an aluminum foil coated with lithium (Wanatabe, ¶0058-60, copper/aluminum foil coated with lithium in paste).
Regarding claim 16, Wanatabe in view of Matsuo in view of Tanaka, teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method wherein the angle of incidence is between 0° and 30° (in light of the combination above).
Regarding claim 20, Wanatabe discloses a method of [cutting] (¶¶ 0058, 0060, the electrode paste on the foil comprises lithium), the method comprising: irradiating the foil with a laser beam (laser 30, fig. 1) wherein the foil comprises a lithium foil or a metal foil coated with lithium (¶0060, the paste/coating comprises lithium).
However, Wanatabe does not teach where the laser is “drilling” or where is has “a wavelength of between 440nm and 460 nm or between 400 nm and 410 nm”, and wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°,. However, it is noted that Wanatabe does teach “cutting” (Abstract, cutting foil 4, fig. 1). However, it is noted that “drilling” and “cutting” are similar processes of removing material and going through the foil, only that cutting moves along a direction, continuously diving the foil, while drilling might be only going through the foil at a singular or limited position. Given the cutting of Wanatabe, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to drill into the sheet or foil with the laser, as desired or necessary, in order to modify the sheet or to begin a cut and the drilling through the sheet would essentially involve the first step of cutting the sheet, that is going through the sheet/foil with the laser beam, and then stopping, as the process or operator may require.
And while Wanatabe teaches all the limitations above, it still does not teach the laser has a wavelength of between 440 nm and 460 nm or between 400 nm and 410 nm, and wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°,.. Matsuo teaches that wavelengths may be between large ranges, including between 360nm and 830 nm (Matsuo, ¶0023), in his laser cutting method. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wanatabe in view of Matsuo, to arrive at, through routine experimentation, depending on the limitations of the process (e.g. time, speed) or the parameters of the foil (e.g. thickness), or the absorption of the material at different wavelengths, needing to see the focused laser, the claimed wavelengths to process the foil and perform the cutting, at the desired speed and depth.
And while Wanatabe in view of Matsuo teaches all the limitations above, it still does not teach wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°.
However, Tanaka, in his method of irradiating a lithium film (¶0176), teaches impinging at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45° (Tanaka, fig. 1, ¶¶0099, 0104,0024 “varying the angle of incidence on the substrate”, as can be seen, only a slight angle “not smaller than 2’ (arcminutes ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Wanatabe in view of Matsuo with the teachings of Tanaka, to process the surface, having an angle of incidence on the surface, in order to compensate for the direction of travel and the movement of the substrate under the laser and so that the surface may be homogeneously irradiated without interference (from reflection) (Tanaka, ¶¶0030, 104).
Claim(s) 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lu (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/ 0312173) in view of Tanaka (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/ 0143337).
Regarding claim 17, Lu teaches a method for welding a metallic workpiece to a foil comprising lithium (¶0070, Lithium), the method comprising: irradiating the foil at an interface with the metallic workpiece with a laser beam (Lu, ¶0075, “subjected to a laser beam” “performing a welding process”), wherein the foil comprises a lithium foil or a metal foil coated with lithium (¶0070, foil could comprise lithium), and wherein the foil is welded to the metallic workpiece in an electrically conducting manner (Lu, ¶0075, 0082, “forming a conductive path” or possibly “though a conductive adhesive”).
However, Lu does not explicitly teach wherein the laser “ha[s] a wavelength of between 440 nm and 460 nm or between 400 nm and 410 nm to form a weld seam at the interface with the metallic workpiece” and wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°. However, Lu does teach a laser having potentially possible wavelengths process the metal foil “based on the metal foil composition, melting temperature and/or thickness” (Lu, ¶0053) and that includes wavelengths of between “300 nanometers to 500 nanometers, [or] 400 nanometers to 750 nanometers” (id.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Lu, to arrive at, through routine experimentation, depending on the limitations of the process (i.e. time) or the parameters of the foil (thickness, etc.), or the absorption of the material at different wavelengths, desiring to see the focused laser, the claimed wavelengths to process the foil and perform the welding, considering that Lu already teaches that the claimed ranges are within the range that Lu could perform at.
And while Liu teaches all the limitations above, it still does not teach wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°.
However, Tanaka, in his method of irradiating a lithium film (¶0176), teaches impinging at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45° (Tanaka, fig. 1, ¶¶0099, 0104,0024 “varying the angle of incidence on the substrate”, as can be seen, only a slight angle “not smaller than 2’ (arcminutes ). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Liu with the teachings of Tanaka, to process the surface, having an angle of incidence on the surface, in order to compensate for the direction of travel and the movement of the substrate under the laser and so that the surface may be homogeneously irradiated without interference (from reflection) (Tanaka, ¶¶0030, 104).
Regarding claim 18, Lu in view of Tanaka teaches all the limitations of claim 17, as above, and further teaches a method wherein the metallic workpiece comprises a metal different from that of the foil (Lu, ¶0070, having two metal pieces of different metals).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Lu (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/ 0312173) in view of Tanaka (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2003/ 0143337) and further in view of Pfleging (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/ 0316020).
Regarding claim 19, Lu in view of Tanaka teaches all the limitations of claim 17, as above, but does not further teaches a method, wherein the foil forms an anode of a solid- state battery, and the metallic workpiece forms a current collector. However, Pfleging teaches wherein the foil forms an anode of a solid- state battery (¶0022, the layer including lithium is the “anode”), and the metallic workpiece forms a current collector (Pfleging, ¶0044, current collector foil under). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to Modify Lu in view of the teachings of Pfleging, to use the welded foil of Lu in the use of a lithium battery (lithium on top of foil), in order to use a conventional way to achieve the expected result of the anode and current collector, even as Lu teaches its use in a solar cell.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 17 December 2025 with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant argues that the prior art does not teach, inter alia, wherein the laser has having a wavelength of between 440 nm and 460 nm or between 400 nm and 420 nm, and does not teach wherein the laser beam impinges on a surface of the foil at an angle of incidence of between 0° and about 45°, The prior art (Matsuo, Lu, see citations above) teaches that the wavelength may be within these ranges for processing such claimed material, and it would be obvious through routine experimentation, depending on the parameters of the cutting/welding and the absorption of the material, to use the claimed range for this laser processing and to see the laser spot (violet or blue, respectively). Regarding the angle, a new reference was combined which would make having the incident angle obvious when cutting such substrates.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached and previously filed PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761