DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Although Blangero teaches the mixture of the lithium material doped with aluminum and the mixture with cobalt material which is subsequently heat treated, it does not teach the core particle having two regions one which is a layered and the other which is spinel and the formula is as specified in subsequent claims 9 and 10. Further search and consideration yield no similar results or combination which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (US-20140212759-A1), hereinafter referred to as ‘Blangero’, as evidenced by ‘Growth of ultrathin cobalt oxide films on Pd(100): Refined structural model’ hereinafter referred to as, ‘Schmidt’
Regarding Claim 1,
Blangero teaches a method of producing a positive electrode active material for a lithium rechargeable battery (Blangero, “The invention relates to high voltage stable and high density lithium metal oxide…Also a method to manufacture these materials is disclosed”, see [0001]), comprising: mixing a core particle comprising lithium cobalt oxide doped with Al (Blangero, “the core material having a layered crystal structure consisting of the elements Li, a metal M and oxygen, wherein the Li content is stoichiometrically controlled, wherein the metal M has the formula M=Co1-a M′a, with 0≦a≦0.05, preferably 0≦a≦0.01, wherein M′ is either one or more metals of the group consisting of Al, Ga and B;”, see [0027]) and a cobalt raw material comprising tricobalt tetraoxide (Co3O4), cobalt (II) hydroxide (Co(OH)2), or a mixture thereof (Blangero, “providing a first mixture of a first Co- or Co and M′-comprising and a first Li-comprising precursor powder,”. See [0027]) (Blangero, “possible forms, but not limited to, are LiMO2, MgO, CoO, Co1-φMgφO with φ≦1, Co3O4”, see [0062]); and calcining the mixture of the cobalt raw material and the core particle (Blangero, “sintering this mixture in an oxygen comprising atmosphere at a temperature T1 of at least 600° C.”, see [0068])
Blangero teaches wherein:in the mixing of the cobalt raw material with the core particle, a weight ratio (core particle:cobalt raw material) of the core particle to the cobalt raw material is 1,000:0.2 to 1,000:10 (Blangero, “Preparation of Example 2 (noted Ex2): 94 mol % of LCO-1 and 6 mol % of 0.25 mol % Ti and 0.5 mol % Mg doped Co(OH)2;”, see [0111]).(The examiner notes LCO molar mass is 97.82 g/mol an example sample and cobalt hydroxide molar mass is 92.948 g/mol sample; this would lead to a ratio of 1,000:5, which is within the range)
Regarding Claim 2,
Blangero teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: in the calcining of the mixture of the cobalt raw material and the core particle, a phase of the cobalt raw material is changed into a cobalt-based compound having a rock salt crystal structure (Blangero, “In another embodiment the core material has hexagonal layered crystal structure described as an ordered rock salt-type crystal structure with space group R-3m”, see [0060] )and a surface of the core particle is coated with the cobalt-based compound having a rock salt crystal structure (Blangero, “possible forms, but not limited to, are LiMO2, MgO, CoO, Co1-φMgφO with φ≦1, Co3O4”, see [0062]) (The examiner notes that cobalt oxide is a rock salt structure, as evidenced by Schmidt (Schmidt, “Cobalt is a multivalent element, which forms oxides in the CoO rock salt”, Introduction)).
Regarding Claim 6,
Blangero teaches The method of claim 1, wherein:the positive electrode active material comprises: the core particle comprising lithium cobalt oxide doped with aluminum (Al) Al (Blangero, “the core material having a layered crystal structure consisting of the elements Li, a metal M and oxygen, wherein the Li content is stoichiometrically controlled, wherein the metal M has the formula M=Co1-a M′a, with 0≦a≦0.05, preferably 0≦a≦0.01, wherein M′ is either one or more metals of the group consisting of Al, Ga and B;”, see [0027]); and
a coating layer on a surface of the core particle, wherein the coating layer comprises a cobalt-based compound having a rock salt crystal structure (Blangero, “Preparation of Example 2 (noted Ex2): 94 mol % of LCO-1 and 6 mol % of 0.25 mol % Ti and 0.5 mol % Mg doped Co(OH)”, see [0111]) ]) (Blangero, “possible forms, but not limited to, are LiMO2, MgO, CoO, Co1-φMgφO with φ≦1, Co3O4”, see [0062]).
Regarding Claim 7,
Blangero teaches the method of claim 6, wherein :the cobalt-based compound having the rock salt crystal structure is cobalt(II) oxide. (Blangero, “possible forms, but not limited to, are LiMO2, MgO, CoO, Co1-φMgφO with φ≦1, Co3O4”, see [0062]) (The examiner notes that cobalt oxide is a rock salt structure) (The examiner notes that cobalt oxide is a rock salt structure, as evidenced by Schmidt (Schmidt, “Cobalt is a multivalent element, which forms oxides in the CoO rock salt”, Introduction)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20140212759-A1), hereinafter referred to as ‘Blangero’.
Regarding Claim 4,
Blangero teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: in the calcining of the mixture of the cobalt raw material and the core particle, a calcination temperature is 800 to 1,200° C (Blangero, “T1 of at least 600° C.”, see [0032]).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of at least 600 broadly overlaps the claimed range of 800 to 1,200. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding Claim 5,
Blangero teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: in the calcining of the mixture of the cobalt raw material and the core particle, a calcination time is 2 to 10 hours (Blangero, “The method according to claim 52, wherein each of the sintering step at T1 and the sintering step at T2 is performed during a time between 6 and 24 hours.”, see Clm. 52).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of at least 6 to 24 hours broadly overlaps the claimed range of 2 to 10 hours. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
7. Arguments filed on 09/02/2025 have been entered. Arguments are fully considered.
9. On pg. 5. The applicant argues:
“Blangero fails to teach or suggest a weight ratio (core particle: cobalt raw material) of the core particle to the cobalt raw material is 1,000:0.2 to 1,000:10.”
The examiner, after further search and consideration, finds that the Blangero reference still appears to teach the given range. The examiner has added further details as to the calculation performed in order to provide the best clarity of record. The core material as mapped as LCO, and the cobalt raw material is cobalt II hydroxide (Blangero, “Preparation of Example 2 (noted Ex2): 94 mol % of LCO-1 and 6 mol % of 0.25 mol % Ti and 0.5 mol % Mg doped Co(OH)2;”, see [0111]). If we convert each to a fraction to be compared to the claim language, we get 0.5 mol%/94.0 mol%= 0.005319 cobalt hydroxide to 1 core particle. However, the claim language states 1,000:02 to 1,000:10. Therefore, if we scale this ratio upward to fit the scale of the range we get 1,000 core particle to 5.32 cobalt hydroxide.Alternatively, If we scale this ratio by mass, we calculate using the molar mass multiplied by the mol%, and we get 97,970 grams/494.6= 197, which would mean that there are 197.9 grams of core particle for every one gram of cobalt hydroxide. Then if we express this ratio as 1000 LCO to x Co(OH)-2 , we would get 1000/197.9, which would give us x=5.05 which would be 1000 g LCO to 5.05 g Co(OH)-2 , which is within the claimed range.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752