Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references cited in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 7/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-35 remain pending in the present Office Action.
The amendments to the claims have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome all Objections and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 2/20/2026.
The amendments to the claims have been fully considered and are sufficient to overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejection with copending application 17/720,199. The nonstatutory double patenting rejection with copending application 17/720,199 is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 12, 23, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2, should be amended as follows: “wherein [[to]] the circuitry is further to”.
In claim 12, lines 4-5, it is unclear if “a different transport protocol” is referring to the previously recited “one or more different transport protocols”, and the limitation should be clarified to indicate whether they are the same or distinct.
In claim 23, the phrase “the first wireless computing resource performs the API call” should be amended to clarify whether the first wireless computing resource is invoking the API call or performing the function/operation of the API call.
In claim 30, the phrase “the first wireless computing resource performs the API call” should be amended to clarify whether the first wireless computing resource is invoking the API call or performing the function/operation of the API call.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-12, 18-19, 26-28, 33, and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8-10, 17-18, 26, 28, 33, and 35 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0159965), hereinafter Francini. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the reference claims in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the limitations of the claims of the instant application have been compared to the limitations of the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 18, and 26 of the instant application, claims 1, 10, 18 and 26 of the reference application substantially recite all the limitations of the claims except cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols. However, Francini teaches to cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols (Fig. 1, buffer 123 = “storage”; FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S = “first wireless computing resource”; [0051] – the transport layer 224S may use protocols such as TCP; [0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 of Patent No. 12,507,160 in view of Francini teaches substantially all of the limitations except that at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol; and causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage. However, Francini teaches at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol (Francini: [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”); and causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage ([0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages”. The reliable link layer 222C receives the application data in the primitive messages, i.e., the client socket API sends the application data (“the data from the storage”), within primitive messages, to the reliable link layer 222C.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, claim 9 of Patent No. 12,507,160 teaches substantially all of the limitations except that information is to be transferred using an application. However, Francini teaches information is to be transferred using an application ([0031] – “the client socket API 215 is an application programming interface that is configured to allow application programs to control and use network sockets."; [0052] – “In FIG. 2B, in a direction of transmission from the application layer 236 of the server 130 toward the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, communication of the application data of the application layer 236 of the server 230 may be performed as follows. The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions performed by the processor of claim 9 of Patent No. 12,507,160 to the system of claim 15.
Claims 5, 8-9, 11-12, 19, 27-28, 33, and 35 recite additional limitations that are substantially the same or identical to limitations recited in claims 1, 5, 8-10, 17-18, 26, 28, 33, and 35 of the reference application as indicated in Table 1, and are rejected as well.
Claims 2 and 24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2, and 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Fuente et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0265370), hereinafter Fuente. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 2 of the reference application teaches all of the limitations except send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource; and decrement a reference counter. However, Francini teaches send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource ([0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Claim 2 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all of the limitations except to decrement a reference counter.
However, Fuente teaches to decrement a reference counter ([0025]-[0026] – “Counter (108) maintains a count of the number of references to the buffer memory (104} by the accessors (106, 110}, the count being incremented on each reference and decremented on completion of each accessor's data transmission. [...] Memory manager (114) is adapted to lock buffer memory during write activity, to permit read access to the buffer memory (104) by accessors (106, 110) and to return the buffer memory to a free buffer pool when counter (108) signals that the count has reached zero.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Fuente in order to allow the buffer memory to be allocated, pinned and freed without preventing read accesses by multiple accessors that transmit the data stored, which further allows for rapid retransmission of the data stored in the buffer when a transmission fails (Fuente: [0032]).
Regarding claim 24 of the instant application, claims 18-19 of the reference application teaches all of the limitations except to decrement a reference counter and in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer. However, Fuente teaches to decrement a reference counter and in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer ([0025]-[0026] - "Counter (108) maintains a count of the number of references to the buffer memory (104) by the accessors (106, 110), the count being incremented on each reference and decremented on completion of each accessor's data transmission. [...] Memory manager (114) is adapted to lock buffer memory during write activity, to permit read access to the buffer memory (104) by accessors (106, 110) and to return the buffer memory to a free buffer pool when counter (108) signals that the count has reached zero."; [0032] - "the counter of the preferred embodiment allows the buffer memory to be allocated, "pinned ", and freed"; [0042] - "At step (226), a further test is performed to determine whether the count has reached zero or not. If it has not reached zero, this part of the logic process returns to step (228) to be triggered by the next completion. If on any iteration, the count is determined to have reached zero, the memory manager (114) releases the buffer memory (104).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Fuente in order to allow the buffer memory to be allocated, pinned and freed without preventing read accesses by multiple accessors that transmit the data stored, which further allows for rapid retransmission of the data stored in the buffer when a transmission fails (Fuente: [0032]).
Claims 3, 7, 13, 17, 22, 23 and 31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3, 5, 9-10, 18, and 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Sen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0218684), hereinafter Sen. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 3 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the information is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate functions of the protocols. However, Sen teaches the information is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate functions of the protocols ([0033] – “bindings are used to link the device libraries and transport definitions with device drivers and transport protocols, respectively. Bindings involve a process or technique of connecting two or more data elements or entities together. Bindings allows the accelerator library to be bound to multiple protocols, including one or more IX protocols and one or more transport protocols.”; [0034] – “The transport definition is independent of the transport protocols that are used to carry data to remote accelerator resources. […] Each of the transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may include primitives such as read/write data from/to device; process device command; get/set device properties; and event subscription and notification. The transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may also have mechanisms to allow scalable and low latency communication, such as […] protocol independent format definition allowing for multiple protocol bindings.” The transport layers 823, 824 have protocol-independent format definitions which use bindings (“a set of associations that correlate” the transport protocols) to connect the transport protocol-independent transport definition to the multiple different transport protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols used by a transport layer and translates to a specific transport protocol used to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 7 of the instant application, claim 5 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols. However, Sen teaches to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols ([0059] – “Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. […] At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402.”; [0062] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. […] the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message.”; [0063] – “At operation 616, the computing platform 102 sends the command capsule to the accelerator sled 104. The computing platform 102 may use any suitable communication protocol, such as TCP, RDMA, RoCE, RoCEvl , RoCEv2, iWARP, etc.” An application on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”) passes a message (“corresponding operation”) which uses a protocol (“one or more transport protocols”) – as described in [0062] – to an accelerator manager 402 via an API. The accelerator manager causes the computing platform 102 (the “first wireless computing resource”) to generate (“one or more operations”) a command capsule for the message using a different protocol (“different transport protocols”) and to send the command capsule which uses the different protocol to the accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols used by a transport layer and translates to a specific transport protocol used to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, claim 10 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols supported by the second wireless computing resource. However, Sen teaches wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols ([0085] – “the initiator 822 hosted by a VM 815 of a computing platform 102 executes process 900 for establishing a communication session 830 with target accelerator resource(s) via the accelerator manager 502. […] the various messages discussed a being communicated between the initiator 822 and the accelerator resource(s) may be performed according to processes 600-700 of FIGS. 6-7, respectfully.”; [0059] – “the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. […] At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface”; [0088] – “At operation 906, the initiator 822 generates and sends, to the target accelerator resource(s), a connection establishment request message for a primary connection 831.” Sending a message, e.g., the connection establishment request message, to a target hardware accelerator resource involves an application, e.g., the initiator, passing the message to an API (“calls the API”) as described in process 600. [0089] – “In response to the connection establishment request message for the primary connection 831 , at operation 906, the initiator 822 receives a connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 from the target accelerator resource(s ). For example, where an RDMA-based protocol is used for the primary connection 831, such as RoCEv2, the target accelerator resource(s) may encapsulate an RDMA acknowledgement (ACK) packet within an Ethernet/IP/UDP packet (including either IPv4 or IPv6) and including suitable destination and source addresses based on the connection establishment request message. In embodiments, the connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 includes a session ID, which may be included in the header or payload section of the message. The session ID is generated by the target accelerator resource(s) and is discussed in more detail infra. Other suitable information may be included in the connection establishment response message, such as an accelerator resource identifier and/or other protocol specific information.”) supported by the second wireless computing resource (FIG. 8, accelerator sled 104 with accelerator(s) 312 which is the “target hardware accelerator resource(s)”; [0033] – “the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. […] the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use the initiator application that establishes multiple connections with a remote accelerator using different transport protocols over a wireless network achieves high-availability goals even when one transport protocol is temporarily unusable (Sen: [0073]).
Regarding claim 17 of the instant application, claim 10 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device. However Sen teaches wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device ([0021] – “an application or virtual machine (VM) being executed by a processor 202 of the computing platform 102 (see FIG. 2) may access a hardware accelerator 212 or 312 (see FIGS. 2 and 3)”; [0058] – “The accelerator virtualizer 508 is configured to present one physical hardware accelerator 312 as two or more virtual hardware accelerators 312.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to provide scalability, flexibility, manageability, and utilization, which results in lower operating or overhead costs and/or allow multiple applications to use the same physical hardware accelerator (Sen: [0074] and [0043]).
Regarding claim 22 of the instant application, claim 18 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs). However, Sen teaches wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) ) ([0025] – “the processor(s) 202 may include Intel® Core™ based processor(s) and/or Xeon® processor(s); Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Zen® Core Architecture processor(s), such as Epyc ® processor(s), Opteron™ series Accelerated Processing Units (APUs), and/or MxGPUs").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to perform computing tasks more quickly and efficiently (Sen: [0002], [0016]).
Regarding claim 23 of the instant application, claim 9 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the first wireless computing resource performs the API call which causes the transfer of information without modification to the first wireless computing resource. However, Sen teaches the first wireless computing resource performs the API call which causes the transfer of information without modification to the first wireless computing resource ([0047] – “in some embodiments, an application may interact with an accelerator manager 402 of a computing platform 102 a first time and a second time. In such an example, for the first interaction, the accelerator manager 402 may facilitate an interface with a local hardware accelerator 212 and, for the second interaction, the accelerator manager 402 may facilitate an interface with a remote hardware accelerator 312, without any change or requirements in how the application interacts with the accelerator manager 402 between the first interaction and the second interaction."; [0059] – “At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols used by a transport layer and translates to a specific transport protocol used to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions performed by the processor of claim 9 of Patent No. 12,507,160 to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 23.
Regarding claim 31 of the instant application, claim 26 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator. However, Sen teaches transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols ([0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. The accelerator library may be an accelerator specific run-time library (e.g., Open Computing Language (OpenCL }, CUDA, Open Programmable Acceleration Engine (OPAE) API, or the like) that provides mapping of application constructs on to a hardware accelerator context. [...] the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. [...] Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used." The API for accessing an accelerator (provided by accelerator manager 402 - see [0047]) translates ("maps") to transport-specific details. [0059] – “Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. [...] At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application."; [0062] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. [...] the command capsule may rearrange or otherwise reorganize the message in preparation for being sent to the accelerator sled 104. In some embodiments the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message." The accelerator manager (“application”) generates a command capsule corresponding to a transport protocol used by the accelerator sled (“the one or more different transport protocols”), which may be different from the protocol used by the message from the application passed to the accelerator manager using the API.), wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator ([0047] – “The accelerator manager 402 is configured to manage accelerators that an application executed by the processor 202 may interface with. In some embodiments, the accelerator manager 402 may implement an application programming interface for accessing an accelerator''; [0054] - "The accelerator manager 502 is configured to manage the hardware accelerators 312 on the accelerator sled 104 and to allow remote interfacing with the hardware accelerators 312 through the host fabric interface 310. The accelerator manager 502 may process message capsules received from and sent to the computing platform 102 and may, based on the content of the message capsules, execute the relevant necessary operations to interface with the hardware accelerators 312, such as reading data from the hardware accelerator 312, writing data to the hardware accelerator 312, executing commands on the hardware accelerator 312, getting and setting properties of the hardware accelerator 312, receiving and processing events or notifications from the acceleration device 312 (such as sending a message capsule to send an interrupt or set a semaphore on the computing platform 102}, etc." The "application" = accelerator manager 402/502, accelerator manager 502 is implemented on accelerator sled 104. Accelerator manager provides an API for an application to access an accelerator as indicated in [0047]. Additionally, [0046] states environment 400, including accelerator manager 402, may be embodied on any component(s) of computing platform 102, which may include local hardware accelerator 212 as shown in FIG. 2.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to other computing resources (Sen: [0034]), and perform computing tasks faster and more efficiently (Sen: [0002] and [0016]).
Claims 4, 21, and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, and 33 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Hyder et al. (U.S. Patent. No. 5,983,274), hereinafter Hyder. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, claims 1 and 18 of the reference application in view of Francini teach all the limitations perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources. However, Hyder teaches perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources (Claim 1 – “a protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”; Col. 2, lines 13-20 – “Because there are different types of transport protocols developed over time by different entities for different reasons, there may be different types of transport protocol drivers acting as software components running on a single host computer system in order to provide the necessary networking capabilities for a given installation. Some common transport protocols include TCP/IP, IPX, AppleTalk®, and others.”; Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “link layer implemented by a network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line 3 – “For sending network data from the upper layers 106, the transport protocol driver 100 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill the data structure with network information and control information according to the present invention, and send it down through the integrating component 102 to the network card device driver 104 for transmitting the network data on the network interface card 108. In like manner, for a packet received from the network interface card 108, the network card device driver 104 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill it with the network data and control information according to the present invention, and send it through the integrating component 102 to the transport protocol driver 100 for communication to the upper layers 106.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Hyder to allow transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
Regarding claim 30, claim 33 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the first wireless computing resource performs the API call. However, Hyder teaches the first wireless computing resource performs the API call (Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “data link layer implemented by network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 7, lines 38-39 – “Application Programming Interface (API) is a set of subroutines provided by one software component”; Col. 10, lines 34-40 – “The transport protocol driver 100 then sends or transfers the packet to the integrating component 102 at step 140 by making a subroutine call […] the integrating component 102 will send of transfer the packet to the network card device driver at step 142”; Claim 1 – “protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Hyder to allow transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
Claims 14 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Lebin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0385252), hereinafter Lebin. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 14 and 32, claims 10 and 26 of the reference application in view of Francini teach all the limitations except wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call. However, Lebin teaches wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call ([0025] – “API calls may be nested multiple layers deep”; [0038] – “at least one subroutine called by the API, at runtime, for example by using an API call graph 506 identifying a sequence of API calls, […] A call by an API to subroutine can be in the form of a subsequent API call.” [0043] – “Each called API server may in turn call additional APIs, and this execution flow can be nested many levels deep."; [0045] – “A multi-API call transaction comprises a call to an initial API, and calls made to subsequent APIs by the initial API and by other subsequent APIs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7, API 1 calls API 2, which in turn calls APIs 3 and 4”. A call to an API may have a nested call to another API, e.g., to a subroutine (“function”) of another API.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Lebin to allow for the isolation of different functionalities of a complex API call to be split into many API calls (Lebin: [0043]).
Claims 16, 25, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10, 18 and 26 of Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Young (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0320850). The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 16, claim 10 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource, wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource. However, Young teaches a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource ([0039] – “Service orchestration and transport path management section 305 may include a service orchestrator (SO) 325, an analytics engine 330, a network functions virtual orchestrator (NFVO) 335"; [0043] – “SO 325 may generate and send a message to SIDC 345 that instructs SIDC 345 to identify one or more network infrastructures that are candidates for relocating the current transport path to maintain the SLA for the application service. In one implementation, the message may include service requirements including SLA requirements and/or service profiles associated with the application service."; [0044] – “SIDC 345 may include an infrastructure catalog 370 that stores network infrastructure profiles that provide transport paths for a corresponding particular service profile. In one implementation, infrastructure catalog 370 obtains the network infrastructure profiles from an inventory database 375 which orders the network infrastructure profiles based on a deployment preference value associated with each of the network infrastructure profiles." Network infrastructure profiles of network service infrastructures (implemented across 5G-NR "wireless computing resources" such as base stations in RAN 120 - see [0019] and [0026]) provide transport paths, making them "transport profiles".), wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource ([0044] – “In one implementation, deployment preference values include abstracted "distances " between nodes in a transport path associated with a network infrastructure. For example, PCE 350 may calculate a logical "distance " which may be a function of latency, inversely proportional to bandwidth, inversely proportional to reliability, etc. In one implementation, the calculated distances are based on the build of the network (e.g., size of the circuit}, the current usage (e.g., based on monitoring), and expected usage (e.g., based on projected use of yet-to-be deployed services). [...] PCE 350 provides the alternative network service infrastructures to SIDC 345 as candidates for maintaining service availability at SLA requirements in response to a detected and/or projected outage and/or congested network conditions."; [0046]-[0047] - "SIDC 345 may select one or more alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures based on some or all of the above data. [...] NFVO 335 may, based on instructions received from SO 325, deploy the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures to orchestrate within data transport section 310." The alternative network service infrastructures ("wireless computing resources") that meet the requirements in the profiles are deployed together.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Young to ensures service availability is maintained in a 5G wireless network (Young: [0044]).
Regarding claims 25 and 29, claims 18 and 26 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource. However, Young teaches the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource ([0040] – “SLA database 360 may store and maintain service requirement profiles for network customers (e.g., UE 110). Each service requirement profile describes a particular network customer's network service performance requirements.”; [0044] – “SIDC 345 may include an infrastructure catalog 370 that stores network infrastructure profiles that provide transport paths for a corresponding particular service profile. In one implementation, infrastructure catalog 370 obtains the network infrastructure profiles from an inventory database 375 which orders the network infrastructure profiles based on a deployment preference value associated with each of the network infrastructure profiles. […] In one implementation, deployment preference values include abstracted "distances " between nodes in a transport path associated with a network infrastructure. For example, PCE 350 may calculate a logical "distance " which may be a function of latency, inversely proportional to bandwidth, inversely proportional to reliability, etc. In one implementation, the calculated distances are based on the build of the network (e. g. , size of the circuit), the current usage (e.g., based on monitoring), and expected usage (e.g., based on projected use of yet-to- be deployed services). [...] PCE 350 provides the alternative network service infrastructures to SIDC 345 as candidates for maintaining service availability at SLA requirements in response to a detected and/or projected outage and/or congested network conditions."; [0045] – “SIDC 345 may identify infrastructure design parameters associated with physical and virtual components of a particular network infrastructure. [...] The configuration of the multiple transport networks may include design parameters that detail the physical and virtual configuration of each transport network 320 and how they interconnect."; [0046]-[0047] – “SIDC 345 may select one or more alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures based on some or all of the above data. [...] NFVO 335 may, based on instructions received from SO 325, deploy the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures to orchestrate within data transport section 310. A transport controller may, based on the instructions from SO 325, initiate configuration of transport networks 320 to support the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures." Network service infrastructures (implemented across "computing resources" such as base stations in wireless network RAN 120 – see [0008], [0019] and [0026]) which allows UE 110 to wirelessly connect, are configured and deployed to provide transport paths, making them "transport profiles".).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of Young to ensures service availability is maintained in a 5G wireless network (Young: [0044]).
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 25 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Safranek et al. (US 8,751,714), hereinafter Safranek. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 20, claim 25 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols. However, Safranek teaches the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols (Abstract – “A QPI link layer to PCIe physical layer interface is employed to abstract the QPI link, routing, and protocol layers from the underlying PCIe physical layer (and corresponding PCIe interface circuitry), enabling QPI protocol messages to be employed over PCIe hardware.”; Col. 6, lines 20-22 – “an interface between the QPI Link layer and the PCIe PHY layer is employed”; Claim 1 – “the PCIe interface circuitry including, circuitry and logic to implement a PCIe Physical Layer (PHY) including a PCIe PHY logical sub-layer and a PCIe PHY electrical sublayer; logic to implement a protocol layer, routing layer and link layer for a QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) protocol over the PCIe PHY; logic to implement an interface between the QPI link layer and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer under which the QPI link layer interface comprises a 160-bit (160b) interface and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface comprises a 128-bit (128b) interface; a transmit port including logic to implement a 160b to 128b conversion to interface data to be transmitted via the PCIe PHY from the QPI link layer interface to the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface; and a receive port including logic to implement a 128b to 160b conversion to interface data received at the receive port via the PCIe PHY from the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface to the QPI link layer interface, wherein the at least two processors are configured to implement the QPI protocol using corresponding QPI messaging sent over PCIe interconnect and interface circuitry to support coherent memory transactions in the system.” The logic (i.e., software) which implements an interface that abstracts between the PCIe physical layer and the QPI data link layer is analogous to the claimed “transport abstraction layer” which is associated with multiple transport protocols (PCIe and QPI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 such that the data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols as taught by Safranek in order to enable a different protocol of the higher layers, e.g., QPI, comprising additional features not natively supported by PCIe to be implemented on systems employing an industry standard PCIe interface (Safranek: Col. 1, line 42-Col. 2, line 3).
Claim 34 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 26 of Patent No. 12,507,160 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of ROY et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0044165), hereinafter ROY. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 34, claim 26 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method. However, ROY teaches the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method ([0048] - "one or more data transfers may potentially be implemented, partially or entirely, with a zero-copy transfer. In some embodiments, performing a zero copy transfer may involve, for example, transferring data between a target and a memory of a client using a memory access protocol (e.g., RDMA), For example, in some embodiments, one or more data transfers may be implemented with a zero-copy transfer by transferring data directly to a memory of a receiving device (e.g., memory 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 and/or buffer 251 illustrated in FIG. 2).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Patent No. 12,507,160 to incorporate the teachings of ROY to allow for the transfer of data with relatively low overhead and/or latency (ROY: [0021]).
Table 1: Claim comparison of the instant application with U..S. Patent No. 12,507,160
Claim
17/720,201 (instant application)
U.S. Patent No. 12,507,160
1
One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to perform an application programming interface (API) to:
allocate a buffer for transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol, wherein the second computing resource is to perform one or more wireless communication operations using data stored in the allocated buffer; and
use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.
“One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call:”
“One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to perform an application programming interface (API) to:”
“the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;”
“a buffer for transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol, wherein the second computing resource is to perform one or more wireless communication operations using data stored in the allocated buffer”
“identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred cause the data to be provided from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.”
“use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.”
2
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein to the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource; and
decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the API is further to initialize a reference counter to indicate when to release the buffer.
3
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the API uses the identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to use one or more libraries to map the one or more functions to the one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol; and
the one or more functions of the first and second data transport protocols each cause, at least in part, data to be transferred as part of their respective data transport protocols.
4
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
See Claim 1
5
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein performing the API further causes the first computing resource to cause a third computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol.
6
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol; and causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage.
See Claim 1
7
The processor one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols.
See Claim 5: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein performing the API further causes the first computing resource to cause a third computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol.
8
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the first and second wireless computing resources are associated with a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer;
one or more functions corresponding to the API call associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the first and second computing resources are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer;
the API associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers.
9
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call: transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol, wherein the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer requests an operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols; and
cause the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer to perform the operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the API is further to transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a 5G-NR network protocol, wherein the first computing resource is associated with the first layer and requests performance of an operation associated with the second, different data transport protocol; and
performance of the API causes the second computing resource to perform the operation.
10
A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors, cause the system, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, to: cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors, cause the system to:
perform an application programming interface (API) to:
allocate a buffer for transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol, wherein the second computing resource is to perform one or more wireless communication operations using data stored in the allocated buffer; and
use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.
11
The system of claim 10, wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, identify the one or more different transport protocols associated with the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 10: “perform an application programming interface (API) to: […] use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.”
12
The system of claim 10, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack; and
the first layer and second layer are each associated with a different transport protocol.
See Claim 17: The system of claim 10, wherein:
the first and second computing resources are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second computing resource associated with the second layer;
the API associated with the third layer; and
the third layer located between the first and second layers.
From Claim 10: “transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol”
13
The system of claim 10, wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols supported by the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 10
14
The system of claim 10, wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call.
See Claim 10
15
The system of claim 10, wherein the data is to be transferred using an application that causes API calls from one layer associated with one transport protocol to perform operations in a second layer associated with a second transport protocol.
See Claim 9: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the API is further to transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a 5G-NR network protocol, wherein the first computing resource is associated with the first layer and requests performance of an operation associated with the second, different data transport protocol; and
performance of the API causes the second computing resource to perform the operation.
16
The system of claim 10, further comprising:
a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource, wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource.
See claim 10
17
The system of claim 10, wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device.
See claim 10
18
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, at least:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to at least:
perform an application programming interface (API) to:
allocate a buffer for transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol, wherein the second computing resource is to perform one or more wireless communication operations using data stored in the allocated buffer; and
use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.
19
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, identify a transport configuration associated with the first wireless computing resource.
See claim 18: “perform an application programming interface (API) to: […] a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol […]use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol”
20
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols.
See Claim 25: The machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the first and second computing resources are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second computing resource associated with the second layer;
the API associated with the third layer; and
the third layer located between the first and second layers.
From Claim 18: “perform an application programming interface (API) to: […] use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.”
21
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
See Claim 18
22
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs).
See Claim 18
23
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the first wireless computing resource performs the API call; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, cause, at least in part, the first wireless computing resource to transfer information to the second wireless computing resource without modification to the first wireless computing resource.
See claim 9: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the API is further to transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a 5G-NR network protocol, wherein the first computing resource is associated with the first layer and requests performance of an operation associated with the second, different data transport protocol; and
performance of the API causes the second computing resource to perform the operation.
24
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the storage selected is an allocated buffer; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and
in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer.
See Claim 19: The machine-readable medium of claim 18, the API is further to initialize a reference counter to indicate when to release the buffer.
From claim 18: “allocate a buffer for transferring data”
25
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 18
26
A method comprising:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call:
causing data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identifying one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
performing the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A method comprising:
performing an application programming interface (API) to:
allocate a buffer for transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol, wherein the second computing resource is to perform one or more wireless communication operations using data stored in the allocated buffer; and
use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol that is to cause the transfer of the data between the first computing resource and the second computing resource.
27
The method of claim 26, wherein identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 28: The method of claim 26, wherein:
the API uses the identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to use one or more libraries to map the one or more functions to the one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol; and
the one or more functions of the first and second data transport protocols each cause, at least in part, data to be transferred as part of their respective data transport protocols.
28
The method of claim 26, further comprising identifying the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 26: “use an identifier of one or more functions of the first data transport protocol to identify one or more functions of the second, different data transport protocol”
29
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
configuring the first wireless computing resource with transport profiles supported by the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 26
30
The method of claim 26, wherein the first wireless computing resource performs the API call; and
one or more functions associated with the API call are stored as part of a layer different from another layer comprising the first wireless computing resource.
See Claim 33: The method of claim 26, wherein:
the first and second computing resources are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second computing resource associated with the second layer;
the API associated with the third layer; and
the third layer located between the first and second layers.
31
The method of claim 26, further comprising transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator.
See Claim 26
32
The method of claim 26, wherein one or more functions associated with the API call are embedded within another function.
See Claim 26
33
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between two layers of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack, wherein one layer is associated with the one or more transport protocols and the other layer is associate with the one or more different transport protocols; and
a function associated with the API call is located in a third layer.
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the first and second computing resources are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second computing resource associated with the second layer;
the API associated with the third layer; and
the third layer located between the first and second layers.
From claim 26: “transferring data between a first computing resource that uses a first data transport protocol and a second computing resource that uses a second, different data transport protocol”
34
The method of claim 26, wherein the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method.
See Claim 26
35
The method of claim 26, wherein the data includes different messages each associated with various transport protocols.
The method of claim 26, wherein performance of the API further uses information comprising different messages each associated with a different data transport protocol; and
the information is to be transferred between the first and second computing resources using one transport layer.
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 15-19, 22-26, 28-31, and 33-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5-10, 12, 15-19, 22-26, 31, and 33-35 of copending Application No. 17/720,203 (the reference application) in view of Francini et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0159965), hereinafter Francini. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 2 below, with limitations not taught by the reference claims in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the limitations of the claims of the instant application have been compared to the limitations of the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 18, and 26 of the instant application, claims 1, 10, 18 and 26 of the reference application substantially recite all the limitations of the claims except cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols. However, Francini teaches to cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols (Fig. 1, buffer 123 = “storage”; FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S = “first wireless computing resource”; [0051] – the transport layer 224S may use protocols such as TCP; [0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 24 of the reference application teaches all the limitations except send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource. However, Francini teaches send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource ([0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions of the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 24 to the processors of claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, claim 1 of Application 17/720,203 in view of Francini teaches substantially all of the limitations except that wherein at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol; and causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage. However, Francini teaches at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol (Francini: [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”); and causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage ([0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages”. The reliable link layer 222C receives the application data in the primitive messages, i.e., the client socket API sends the application data (“the data from the storage”), within primitive messages, to the reliable link layer 222C.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions performed by the processor of claim 6 to the system of claim 11.
Regarding claim 28, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions performed by the processor of claim 6 to the method of claim 28.
Regarding claim 29, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions of the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 25 to the method of claim 29.
Regarding claim 30, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions of the processor of claim 8 to the method of claim 30.
Claims 3, 5, 7-9, 12, 15-17, 19, 22-25, 31, and 33-35 recite additional limitations that are substantially the same or identical to limitations recited in claims 1-2, 5-6, 7, 8,-9, 12, 15-17, 19, 22-25, 31, and 33-35 of the reference application as indicated in Table 2, and are rejected as well.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 13 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 26 of copending Application No. 17/720,203 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Sen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0218684), hereinafter Sen. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 2 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, claim 13 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches an application ([0079] – initiator 822) associated with first wireless computing resource (FIG. 8, computing platform 102) calls the API ([0059], [0085] and [0088] – Sending a message, e.g., the connection establishment request message, to a target hardware accelerator resource involves an application, e.g., the initiator, passing the message to an API (“calls the API”) as described in process 600.) and in response, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols ([0089] – “In response to the connection establishment request message for the primary connection 831 , at operation 906, the initiator 822 receives a connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 from the target accelerator resource(s). For example, where an RDMA-based protocol is used for the primary connection 831, such as RoCEv2, the target accelerator resource(s) may encapsulate an RDMA acknowledgement (ACK) packet within an Ethernet/IP/UDP packet (including either IPv4 or IPv6) and including suitable destination and source addresses based on the connection establishment request message. In embodiments, the connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 includes a session ID, which may be included in the header or payload section of the message. The session ID is generated by the target accelerator resource(s) and is discussed in more detail infra. Other suitable information may be included in the connection establishment response message, such as an accelerator resource identifier and/or other protocol specific information.”) supported by the second wireless computing resource (FIG. 8, accelerator sled 104 with accelerator(s) 312 which is the “target hardware accelerator resource(s)” as described in [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use the initiator application that establishes multiple connections with a remote accelerator using different transport protocols over a wireless network achieves high-availability goals even when one transport protocol is temporarily unusable (Sen: [0073]).
Regarding claim 27 of the instant application, claim 26 of the reference application teaches all the limitations except identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols ([0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. […] The accelerator library uses device libraries to abstract device-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to device-specific interfaces via corresponding device drivers. According to various embodiments, the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. The device library at the computing platform 102 is used to connect the application(s) to one or more local devices, such as a local hardware accelerator 212. Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used. In some embodiments, bindings are used to link the device libraries and transport definitions with device drivers and transport protocols, respectively. Bindings involve a process or technique of connecting two or more data elements or entities together. Bindings allows the accelerator library to be bound to multiple protocols, including one or more IX protocols and one or more transport protocols.”; [0034] – “The transport definition is independent of the transport protocols that are used to carry data to remote accelerator resources. […] Each of the transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may include primitives such as read/write data from/to device; process device command; get/set device properties; and event subscription and notification. The transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may also have mechanisms to allow scalable and low latency communication, such as […] protocol independent format definition allowing for multiple protocol bindings.” The accelerator library comprising an API uses bindings (“a set of associations that correlate” the transport protocols) which connect the accelerator library to multiple different protocols, and specifically connect the transport definition to the multiple different transport protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 4 and 21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18 of copending Application No. 17/720,203 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Hyder et al. (U.S. Patent. No. 5,983,274), hereinafter Hyder. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 2 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, claims 1 and 18 of the reference application in view of Francini teach all the limitations except perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources. However, Hyder teaches perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources (Claim 1 – “a protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”; Col. 2, lines 13-20 – “Because there are different types of transport protocols developed over time by different entities for different reasons, there may be different types of transport protocol drivers acting as software components running on a single host computer system in order to provide the necessary networking capabilities for a given installation. Some common transport protocols include TCP/IP, IPX, AppleTalk®, and others”; Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “link layer implemented by a network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 2, lines 20-24 – “Each transport protocol driver will communicate with one or more individual network card device drivers in order to send network data over a communications network and receive incoming packets from the communications network.”; Col. 1, lines 30-37 – “Data that is shared between computers is sent in packets across the physical network connection and read by destination computers. […] As used herein, the term "network data" refers to data or information that is actually transmitted over the communications network between different computers.”; Col. 6, lines 19-20 – “cellular, and other wireless technologies, etc. provide ripe opportunities for exploiting the present invention.”; Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line 3 – “For sending network data from the upper layers 106, the transport protocol driver 100 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill the data structure with network information and control information according to the present invention, and send it down through the integrating component 102 to the network card device driver 104 for transmitting the network data on the network interface card 108. In like manner, for a packet received from the network interface card 108, the network card device driver 104 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill it with the network data and control information according to the present invention, and send it through the integrating component 102 to the transport protocol driver 100 for communication to the upper layers 106.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Hyder to allow transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 14 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 32 of copending Application No. 17/720,203 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Lebin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0385252), hereinafter Lebin. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 14 and 32, claims 14 and 32 of the reference application in view of Francini teach all the limitations except wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call. However, Lebin teaches a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call ([0025] – “API calls may be nested multiple layers deep”; [0038] – “at least one subroutine called by the API, at runtime, for example by using an API call graph 506 identifying a sequence of API calls, […] A call by an API to subroutine can be in the form of a subsequent API call.” [0043] – “Each called API server may in turn call additional APIs, and this execution flow can be nested many levels deep."; [0045] – “A multi-API call transaction comprises a call to an initial API, and calls made to subsequent APIs by the initial API and by other subsequent APIs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7, API 1 calls API 2, which in turn calls APIs 3 and 4”. A call to an API may have a nested call to another API, e.g., to a subroutine (“function”) of another API.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 to incorporate the teachings of Lebin to allow for the isolation of different functionalities of a complex API call to be split into many API calls (Lebin: [0043]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 17/720,203 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Safranek et al. (US 8,751,714), hereinafter Safranek. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols. However, Safranek teaches the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols (Abstract – “A QPI link layer to PCIe physical layer interface is employed to abstract the QPI link, routing, and protocol layers from the underlying PCIe physical layer (and corresponding PCIe interface circuitry), enabling QPI protocol messages to be employed over PCIe hardware.”; Col. 6, lines 20-22 – “an interface between the QPI Link layer and the PCIe PHY layer is employed”; Claim 1 – “the PCIe interface circuitry including, circuitry and logic to implement a PCIe Physical Layer (PHY) including a PCIe PHY logical sub-layer and a PCIe PHY electrical sublayer; logic to implement a protocol layer, routing layer and link layer for a QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) protocol over the PCIe PHY; logic to implement an interface between the QPI link layer and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer under which the QPI link layer interface comprises a 160-bit (160b) interface and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface comprises a 128-bit (128b) interface; a transmit port including logic to implement a 160b to 128b conversion to interface data to be transmitted via the PCIe PHY from the QPI link layer interface to the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface; and a receive port including logic to implement a 128b to 160b conversion to interface data received at the receive port via the PCIe PHY from the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface to the QPI link layer interface, wherein the at least two processors are configured to implement the QPI protocol using corresponding QPI messaging sent over PCIe interconnect and interface circuitry to support coherent memory transactions in the system.” The logic (i.e., software) which implements an interface that abstracts between the PCIe physical layer and the QPI data link layer is analogous to the claimed “transport abstraction layer” which is associated with multiple transport protocols (PCIe and QPI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,203 such that the data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols as taught by Safranek in order to enable a different protocol of the higher layers, e.g., QPI, comprising additional features not natively supported by PCIe to be implemented on systems employing an industry standard PCIe interface (Safranek: Col. 1, line 42-Col. 2, line 3).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Table 2: Claim comparison of the instant application and reference application 17/720,203
Claim
17/720,201 (instant application)
17/720,203
1
One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
One or more processors comprising: circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call from a wireless network computing resource (i) of a first layer of a network protocol stack and (ii) that uses a data transport protocol:
identify a function, corresponding to the API call from a library of a data transport protocol associated with a second layer of the network protocol stack, to cause a buffer to be deallocated into a pool from which the buffer was allocated; and
cause the function to be performed by a different wireless network computing resource of the second layer, where the buffer was allocated to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and a different wireless network computing resource using a different data transport protocol.
“One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call:”
“One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call”
“the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;”
“the buffer was allocated to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and a different wireless network computing resource using a different data transport protocol.”
“identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to”
“identify a function, corresponding to the API call from a library of a data transport protocol associated with a second layer of the network protocol stack, to cause a buffer to be deallocated into a pool from which the buffer was allocated; and
cause the function to be performed by a different wireless network computing resource of the second layer, where the buffer was allocated to transfer information”
“cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.”
“to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and a different wireless network computing resource using a different data transport protocol.”
2
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein to the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource; and
decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage.
See Claim 24: The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
memory selected is an allocated buffer; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call:
cause the wireless network computing resource to decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and
deselect the allocated buffer based on the decremented reference counter holding a value of zero.
3
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 2: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to, in response to the API call, cause a transport layer to map commands between wireless computing resources.
From Claim 1: “the buffer was allocated to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and a different wireless network computing resource using a different data transport protocol.”
4
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call: perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
See Claim 1
5
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein
circuitry is to, in response to the API call, cause the wireless network computing resource
to perform one or more operations associated with a plurality of information transmission types
associated with the different wireless network computing resource.
From Claim 1: “the different wireless network computing resource using the different data
transport protocol.”
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “different data transport protocol” recited in claim 1 to be one of the “information transmission types” recited in claim 5.
6
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol; and
causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage.
See claim 1
7
The processor one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is to, in response to the API call, cause the wireless network computing resource to perform an operation related to a first information transmission type based at least in part, on a corresponding operation related to a second information transmission type.
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “data transport protocol” and “different data transport protocol” recited in claim 1 to be the first and second “information transmission type” recited in claim 7.
8
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the first and second wireless computing resources are associated with a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer;
one or more functions corresponding to the API call associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes the first layer, the second layer, and a third layer;
a first 5G-NR computing resource of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource is associated with the first layer;
a second 5G-NR computing resource of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource is associated with the second layer;
the API is associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers.
9
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol, wherein the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer requests an operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols; and
cause the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer to perform the operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the circuitry is further to transfer information between the first layer and the second layer
corresponding to a 5G-NR network protocol, wherein the wireless network computing resource requests an operation associated with a first information transmission type; and
the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the different wireless network computing resource to perform an operation associated with a second information transmission type.
From claim 1: “a wireless network computing resource (i) of a first layer of a network protocol stack and […] a different wireless network computing resource of the second layer”
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “data transport protocol” and “different data transport protocol” recited in claim 1 to be the first and second “information transmission type” recited in claim 9.
10
A system, comprising: memory to store instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors, cause the system, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, to:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A system, comprising memory having stored thereon instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors, cause the system to: in response to an application programming interface (API) call from a wireless network computing resource (i) of a first layer of a network protocol stack and (ii) that uses a data transport protocol:
identify a function, corresponding to the API call from a library of a different data transport protocol associated with a second layer of the network protocol stack, to cause a buffer to be deallocated into a pool from which the buffer was allocated; and
cause the function to be performed by a different wireless network computing resource of the second layer, where the buffer was allocated to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and the different wireless network computing resource using the different data transport protocol.
11
The system of claim 10, wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, identify the one or more different transport protocols associated with the first wireless computing resource.
See Claim 6: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API call is based at least on information identifying an information transmission type associated with the wireless network computing resource or the different wireless network computing resource.
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “different data transport protocol” recited in claim 1 to be the “information transmission type” recited in claim 6.
12
The system of claim 10, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack; and
the first layer and second layer are each associated with a different transport protocol.
The system of claim 10, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between the first layer and the second layer of a 5G-NR network protocol stack; and
the first layer and second layer are each associated with a different transport protocol.
13
The system of claim 10, wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols supported by the second wireless computing resource.
The system of claim 10, wherein an application
associated with resources the wireless network
computing resource calls the API and does not have information regarding any transport protocol supported by the different wireless network computing resource.
14
The system of claim 10, wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call.
The system of claim 10, wherein the API is embedded within another API.
15
The system of claim 10, wherein the information is to be data using an application that causes API calls from one layer associated with one transport protocol to perform operations in a second layer associated with a second transport protocol.
The system of claim 10, wherein the information is to be transferred using an application that causes calls from one layer associated with one transport protocol to perform operations in the second layer associated with a second transport protocol.
16
The system of claim 10, further comprising:
a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource, wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource.
The system of claim 10, further comprising:
a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by one of the wireless network computing resource, and the network orchestrator is to deploy the different wireless network computing resource with the wireless network computing resource configured with a transport profile supported by the different wireless computing resource.
17
The system of claim 10, wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device.
The system of claim 10, wherein at least one of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource is a virtual device.
18
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, at least:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, as a result of performance by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to at least:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call from a wireless network computing resource (i) of a first layer of a network protocol stack and (ii) that uses a data transport protocol:
identify a function, corresponding to the API call from a library of a different data transport protocol associated with a second layer of the network protocol stack, to cause a buffer to be deallocated into a pool from which the buffer was allocated; and
cause the function to be performed by a different wireless network computing resource of the second layer, where the buffer was allocated to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and the different wireless network computing resource using the different data transport protocol.
19
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are
further to, in response to the API call, identify a transport configuration associated with the first wireless computing resource.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein performance of the API is based at least on a transport configuration associated with one of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource.
20
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between the first layer and the second layer of a 5G-NR network protocol stack using a third layer between the first and second layers that is based at least on multiple transport protocols.
21
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further to in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
See Claim 18
22
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs).
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs).
23
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the first wireless computing resource performs the API call; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, cause, at least in part, the first wireless computing resource to transfer information to the second wireless computing resource without modification to the first wireless computing resource.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
one of the wireless network computing resource is to call the API; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, cause, at least in part, the wireless network computing resource to transfer information to the different wireless network computing resource that supports a different transport protocol without modification to the wireless network computing resource.
24
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the storage selected is an allocated buffer; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and
in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
memory selected is an allocated buffer; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call:
cause the wireless network computing resource to decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and
deselect the allocated buffer based on the decremented reference counter holding a value of zero.
25
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein one of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by a second of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource.
26
A method comprising:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call:
causing data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identifying one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
performing the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A method comprising:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call from a wireless network computing resource (i) of a first layer of a network protocol stack and (ii) that uses a data transport protocol:
identifying a function, corresponding to the API call from a library of a different data transport protocol associated with a second layer of the network protocol stack, to cause a buffer to be deallocated into a pool from which the buffer was allocated; and
causing the function to be performed by a different wireless network computing resource of the second layer, where the buffer was allocated to transfer information between the wireless network computing resource using the data transport protocol and the different wireless network computing resource using the different data transport protocol.
27
The method of claim 26, wherein identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 26
28
The method of claim 26, further comprising identifying the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 6: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API call is based at least on information identifying an information transmission type associated with the wireless network computing resource or the different wireless network computing resource.
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “different data transport protocol” recited in claim 1 to be the “information transmission type” recited in claim 6.
29
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
configuring the first wireless computing resource with transport profiles supported by the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 25: The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein one of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by a second of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource.
30
The method of claim 26, wherein the first wireless computing resource performs the API call; and
one or more functions associated with the API call are stored as part of a layer different from another layer comprising the first wireless computing resource.
See Claim 8: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource are associated with a 5G-NR network protocol stack that includes the first layer, the second layer, and a third layer;
a first 5G-NR computing resource of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource is associated with the first layer;
a second 5G-NR computing resource of the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource is associated with the second layer;
the API is associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers.
See Claim 1: “an application programming interface (API) call from a wireless network computing resource”
31
The method of claim 26, further comprising transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator.
The method of claim 26, further comprising transferring the information using an application that maps the API to an operation related to a transport protocol, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator.
From claim 26: “identifying a function, corresponding to the API call from a library of a
different data transport protocol”
32
The method of claim 26, wherein one or more functions associated with the API call are embedded within another function.
The method of claim 26, wherein the API is embedded within another API.
33
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between two layers of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack, wherein one layer is associated with the one or more transport protocols and the other layer is associate with the one or more different transport protocols; and
a function associated with the API call is located in a third layer.
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between two layers of a 5G-NR network protocol stack, wherein each layer is associated with a different transport protocol; and
the API is located in a third layer.
34
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method.
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the API call causes one or more 5G-NR computing resources to decrement a reference counter;
the reference counter is associated with the buffer; and
the buffer selected is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method.
35
The method of claim 26, wherein the data includes different messages each associated with various transport protocols.
The method of claim 26, wherein: the information includes different messages each associated with a different information transmission type; and
the information is to be transferred between the wireless network computing resource and the different wireless network computing resource using one data transport protocol.
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the “data transport protocol” and “different data transport protocol” recited in claim 26 to be the “different information transmission type” recited in claim 35.
Claims 1, 6-7, 10-11, 15, 17-19, 22-23, 25-26, 29, 31, and 34-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 15, 17-19, 22-23, 25-26, 31, and 34-35 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0159965), hereinafter Francini. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 3 below, with limitations not taught by the reference claims in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the limitations of the claims of the instant application have been compared to the limitations of the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 18, and 26 of the instant application, claims 1, 10, 18 and 26 of the reference application substantially recite all the limitations of the claims except cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols and cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols. However, Francini teaches to cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols (Fig. 1, buffer 123 = “storage”; FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S = “first wireless computing resource”; [0051] – the transport layer 224S may use protocols such as TCP; [0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”) and cause the data to be transferrred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols (FIG. 2B, link layer 222C connected to MHD 110; [0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222c of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C […] where the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 is provided using LTE, the reliable link layer 222C may place the primitive messages into PDCP PDUs”; [0050] – “The communication primitives of the client socket API 215 may include primitive rules for controlling manipulation of data (e.g., encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by the application layer 216 for transmission toward the server 130, encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by server 130 and that is intended for delivery to the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, or the like), primitive messages and associated primitive message formats that are configured to transport data of the application layer 216, or the like, as well as various combinations thereof.” The primitive messages used by the reliable link layer 222C adhere to rules and a format for transporting data (i.e., a “transport protocol”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.” The application data (data communicated between the WAD 120 and server 130 which was stored in buffer 123, e.g., when it is received via the TCP socket at the WAD 120) is placed into the primitive messages, which adhere to a transport protocol as described in [0050], and provided/transferred to the reliable link layer 222C.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 6, claim 2 of Application 17/720,205 in view of Francini teaches substantially all of the limitations except that at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol. However, Francini teaches at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol (Francini: [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Francini to improve communication between devices using transport layer connections by supporting use of a networked transport layer socket with a API that communicates data between the networked transport layer socket and the application layer of a communication device via the link layer and physical layer of a communication protocol stack (Francini: [0006], [0063]-[0065] and [0068]).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions performed by the one or more processors of claim 5 to the system of claim 11.
Regarding claim 29, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions of the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 25 to the method of claim 29.
Claims 7, 15, 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 31, and 34-35 recite additional limitations that are substantially the same or identical to limitations recited in claims 3, 15, 17, 19, 22-23, 25, 31, and 34-35 of the reference application as indicated in Table 3, and are rejected as well.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 2 and 24 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 24 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Fuente et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0265370), hereinafter Fuente. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 3 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, claim 2 of the reference application teaches all of the limitations except decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage. However, Fuente teaches decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage ([0025]-[0026] – “Counter (108) maintains a count of the number of references to the buffer memory (104} by the accessors (106, 110}, the count being incremented on each reference and decremented on completion of each accessor's data transmission. [...] Memory manager (114) is adapted to lock buffer memory during write activity, to permit read access to the buffer memory (104) by accessors (106, 110) and to return the buffer memory to a free buffer pool when counter (108) signals that the count has reached zero.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Fuente in order to allow the buffer memory to be allocated, pinned and freed without preventing read accesses by multiple accessors that transmit the data stored, which further allows for rapid retransmission of the data stored in the buffer when a transmission fails (Fuente: [0032]).
Regarding claim 24 of the instant application, claim 24 of the reference application teaches all of the limitations except to decrement a reference counter in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer. However, Fuente teaches to decrement a reference counter in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer ([0025]-[0026] - "Counter (108) maintains a count of the number of references to the buffer memory (104) by the accessors (106, 110), the count being incremented on each reference and decremented on completion of each accessor's data transmission. [...] Memory manager (114) is adapted to lock buffer memory during write activity, to permit read access to the buffer memory (104) by accessors (106, 110) and to return the buffer memory to a free buffer pool when counter (108) signals that the count has reached zero."; [0032] - "the counter of the preferred embodiment allows the buffer memory to be allocated, "pinned ", and freed"; [0042] - "At step (226), a further test is performed to determine whether the count has reached zero or not. If it has not reached zero, this part of the logic process returns to step (228) to be triggered by the next completion. If on any iteration, the count is determined to have reached zero, the memory manager (114) releases the buffer memory (104).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Fuente in order to allow the buffer memory to be allocated, pinned and freed without preventing read accesses by multiple accessors that transmit the data stored, which further allows for rapid retransmission of the data stored in the buffer when a transmission fails (Fuente: [0032]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 3, 5, 13 and 27-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 26 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Sen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0218684), hereinafter Sen. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 3 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, claim 1 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols ([0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. […] The accelerator library uses device libraries to abstract device-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to device-specific interfaces via corresponding device drivers. According to various embodiments, the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. The device library at the computing platform 102 is used to connect the application(s) to one or more local devices, such as a local hardware accelerator 212. Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used. In some embodiments, bindings are used to link the device libraries and transport definitions with device drivers and transport protocols, respectively. Bindings involve a process or technique of connecting two or more data elements or entities together. Bindings allows the accelerator library to be bound to multiple protocols, including one or more IX protocols and one or more transport protocols.”; [0034] – “The transport definition is independent of the transport protocols that are used to carry data to remote accelerator resources. […] Each of the transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may include primitives such as read/write data from/to device; process device command; get/set device properties; and event subscription and notification. The transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may also have mechanisms to allow scalable and low latency communication, such as […] protocol independent format definition allowing for multiple protocol bindings.” The transport layers 823, 824 have protocol-independent format definitions which use bindings (“a set of associations that correlate” the transport protocols) to connect the transport protocol-independent transport definition to the multiple different transport protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols of a transport layer and translates to a specific transport protocol to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, claim 1 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols ([0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; [0059] – “Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The message may be embodied as an instruction to read or write data, a command to execute a certain function, an instruction to get or set a setting on an accelerator, a control command such as a query regarding the capability of an accelerator queue, and/or any other suitable message. At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application.”; [0062] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. […] the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message.”; [0063] – “At operation 616, the computing platform 102 sends the command capsule to the accelerator sled 104. The computing platform 102 may use any suitable communication protocol, such as TCP, RDMA, RoCE, RoCEvl , RoCEv2, iWARP, etc.” An application on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”) passes a message which uses a protocol – as described in [0062] – to an accelerator manager 402 via an API. The accelerator manager causes the computing platform 102 (the “first wireless computing resource”) to generate (“one or more operations”) a command capsule for the message using a different protocol (“different transport protocols”) and to send the command capsule which uses the different protocol to the accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, claim 13 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches an application ([0079] – initiator 822) associated with first wireless computing resource (FIG. 8, computing platform 102) calls the API ([0059], [0085] and [0088] – Sending a message, e.g., the connection establishment request message, to a target hardware accelerator resource involves an application, e.g., the initiator, passing the message to an API (“calls the API”) as described in process 600.) and in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols ([0089] – “In response to the connection establishment request message for the primary connection 831 , at operation 906, the initiator 822 receives a connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 from the target accelerator resource(s). For example, where an RDMA-based protocol is used for the primary connection 831, such as RoCEv2, the target accelerator resource(s) may encapsulate an RDMA acknowledgement (ACK) packet within an Ethernet/IP/UDP packet (including either IPv4 or IPv6) and including suitable destination and source addresses based on the connection establishment request message. In embodiments, the connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 includes a session ID, which may be included in the header or payload section of the message. The session ID is generated by the target accelerator resource(s) and is discussed in more detail infra. Other suitable information may be included in the connection establishment response message, such as an accelerator resource identifier and/or other protocol specific information.”) supported by the second wireless computing resource (FIG. 8, accelerator sled 104 with accelerator(s) 312 which is the “target hardware accelerator resource(s)” as described in [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use the initiator application that establishes multiple connections with a remote accelerator using different transport protocols over a wireless network achieves high-availability goals even when one transport protocol is temporarily unusable (Sen: [0073]).
Regarding claim 27 of the instant application, claim 26 of the reference application teaches all the limitations except wherein identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches wherein identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols ([0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. […] The accelerator library uses device libraries to abstract device-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to device-specific interfaces via corresponding device drivers. According to various embodiments, the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. The device library at the computing platform 102 is used to connect the application(s) to one or more local devices, such as a local hardware accelerator 212. Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used. In some embodiments, bindings are used to link the device libraries and transport definitions with device drivers and transport protocols, respectively. Bindings involve a process or technique of connecting two or more data elements or entities together. Bindings allows the accelerator library to be bound to multiple protocols, including one or more IX protocols and one or more transport protocols.”; [0034] – “The transport definition is independent of the transport protocols that are used to carry data to remote accelerator resources. […] Each of the transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may include primitives such as read/write data from/to device; process device command; get/set device properties; and event subscription and notification. The transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may also have mechanisms to allow scalable and low latency communication, such as […] protocol independent format definition allowing for multiple protocol bindings.” The accelerator library comprising an API uses bindings (“a set of associations that correlate” the transport protocols) which connect the accelerator library to multiple different protocols, and specifically connect the transport definition to the multiple different transport protocols.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 28 of the instant application, claim 26 of the reference application teaches all the limitations except identifying the one or more different transport protocols. However, Sen teaches identifying the one or more different transport protocols ([0086] – “initiator 822 identifies or determines one or more transport protocols to be used during a communication session 830 with target accelerator resource(s). Any number of transport protocols may be used”; [0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; [0032]-[0033] – applications on computing platforms 102 use an API to send and receive data from accelerator resources, such as accelerator sled 104, without underlying knowledge of the transport protocols. In FIG. 8, initiator 822, on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”), identifies the transport protocols used to communicate with target accelerator resource(s), such as accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”). Since these protocols are used by a second wireless computing resource, they are analogous to the “different transport protocols”. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Sen to use an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol to provide the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 4, 21, and 30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, and 33 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Hyder et al. (U.S. Patent. No. 5,983,274), hereinafter Hyder. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 3 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, claims 1 and 18 of the reference application in view of Francini teach all the limitations except perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources. However, Hyder teaches perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources (Claim 1 – “a protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”; Col. 2, lines 13-20 – “Because there are different types of transport protocols developed over time by different entities for different reasons, there may be different types of transport protocol drivers acting as software components running on a single host computer system in order to provide the necessary networking capabilities for a given installation. Some common transport protocols include TCP/IP, IPX, AppleTalk®, and others.”; Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “link layer implemented by a network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 2, lines 20-24 – “Each transport protocol driver will communicate with one or more individual network card device drivers in order to send network data over a communications network and receive incoming packets from the communications network.”; Col. 1, lines 30-37 – “Data that is shared between computers is sent in packets across the physical network connection and read by destination computers. […] As used herein, the term "network data" refers to data or information that is actually transmitted over the communications network between different computers.”; Col. 6, lines 19-20 – “cellular, and other wireless technologies, etc. provide ripe opportunities for exploiting the present invention.”; Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line 3 – “For sending network data from the upper layers 106, the transport protocol driver 100 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill the data structure with network information and control information according to the present invention, and send it down through the integrating component 102 to the network card device driver 104 for transmitting the network data on the network interface card 108. In like manner, for a packet received from the network interface card 108, the network card device driver 104 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill it with the network data and control information according to the present invention, and send it through the integrating component 102 to the transport protocol driver 100 for communication to the upper layers 106.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Hyder to allow transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
Regarding claim 30, claim 33 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the first wireless computing resource performs the API call. However, Hyder teaches wherein the first wireless computing resource performs the API call (Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “data link layer implemented by network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 7, lines 38-39 – “Application Programming Interface (API) is a set of subroutines provided by one software component”; Col. 10, lines 34-40 – “The transport protocol driver 100 then sends or transfers the packet to the integrating component 102 at step 140 by making a subroutine call […] the integrating component 102 will send of transfer the packet to the network card device driver at step 142”; Claim 1 – “protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Hyder to allow transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the functions of the processor of claim 8 to the method of claim 30.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 8-9, 12, and 33 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-9, 12, and 33 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Kaltenberger et al. (NPL Document: OpenAirInterface: Democratizing innovation in the 5G Era), hereinafter Kaltenberger. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 3 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 8-9, 12, and 33 of the instant application, claims 8-9, 12, and 33 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except that the wireless network protocol stack is 5G-NR. However, Kaltenberger teaches the wireless network protocol stack is 5G-NR (Page 2 – “5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G- NR). The network has been designed from ground up to support enhanced Mobile BroadBand (eMBB), Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Communications (URLLC), as well as Massive Machine Type Communications (mMTC) enabling new use cases for a large variety of industries.”; Page 6 – “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. A NF service is one type of capability exposed by a NF (NF Service Producer or Server) to other authorized NF (NF Service Consumer or Client) through a service based inter- face. In other words, NFs communicate with each other via SBI. The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Kaltenberger to enable new use cases for a variety of industries (Kaltenberger: Page 2).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 14 and 32 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14 and 32 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Lebin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0385252), hereinafter Lebin. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claims 14 and 32, claims 14 and 32 of the reference application in view of Francini teach all the limitations except wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call. However, Lebin teaches a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call ([0025] – “API calls may be nested multiple layers deep”; [0038] – “at least one subroutine called by the API, at runtime, for example by using an API call graph 506 identifying a sequence of API calls, […] A call by an API to subroutine can be in the form of a subsequent API call.” [0043] – “Each called API server may in turn call additional APIs, and this execution flow can be nested many levels deep."; [0045] – “A multi-API call transaction comprises a call to an initial API, and calls made to subsequent APIs by the initial API and by other subsequent APIs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7, API 1 calls API 2, which in turn calls APIs 3 and 4”. A call to an API may have a nested call to another API, e.g., to a subroutine (“function”) of another API.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Lebin to allow for the isolation of different functionalities of a complex API call to be split into many API calls (Lebin: [0043]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view of Young (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0320850). The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 3 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource. However, Young teaches wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource ([0039] - “Service orchestration and transport path management section 305 may include a service orchestrator (SO) 325, an analytics engine 330, a network functions virtual orchestrator (NFVO) 335"; [0043] – “SO 325 may generate and send a message to SIDC 345 that instructs SIDC 345 to identify one or more network infrastructures that are candidates for relocating the current transport path to maintain the SLA for the application service. In one implementation, the message may include service requirements including SLA requirements and/or service profiles associated with the application service."; [0044] – “In one implementation, deployment preference values include abstracted "distances " between nodes in a transport path associated with a network infrastructure. For example, PCE 350 may calculate a logical "distance " which may be a function of latency, inversely proportional to bandwidth, inversely proportional to reliability, etc. In one implementation, the calculated distances are based on the build of the network (e.g., size of the circuit}, the current usage (e.g., based on monitoring), and expected usage (e.g., based on projected use of yet-to-be deployed services). [...] PCE 350 provides the alternative network service infrastructures to SIDC 345 as candidates for maintaining service availability at SLA requirements in response to a detected and/or projected outage and/or congested network conditions."; [0046]-[0047] - "SIDC 345 may select one or more alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures based on some or all of the above data. [...] NFVO 335 may, based on instructions received from SO 325, deploy the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures to orchestrate within data transport section 310." The alternative network service infrastructures ("wireless computing resources") that meet the requirements in the profiles are deployed together to orchestrate within data transport section 310.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Young to ensures service availability is maintained in a 5G wireless network (Young: [0044]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 20 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 17/720,205 (the reference application) in view of Francini, and further in view Kaltenberger et al. (NPL Document: OpenAirInterface: Democratizing innovation in the 5G Era), hereinafter Kaltenberger, and Safranek et al. (US 8,751,714), hereinafter Safranek. The claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application are compared in Table 1 below, with limitations not taught by the claims of the reference application in bold. Unless indicated otherwise, the claims of the instant application have been compared to the claim of the same number in the reference application.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 of the reference application in view of Francini teaches all the limitations except the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols. However, Kaltenberger teaches the wireless network protocol stack is fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) (Page 2 – “5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G- NR). The network has been designed from ground up to support enhanced Mobile BroadBand (eMBB), Ultra-Reliable Low-Latency Communications (URLLC), as well as Massive Machine Type Communications (mMTC) enabling new use cases for a large variety of industries.”; Page 6 – “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. A NF service is one type of capability exposed by a NF (NF Service Producer or Server) to other authorized NF (NF Service Consumer or Client) through a service based inter- face. In other words, NFs communicate with each other via SBI. The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 to incorporate the teachings of Kaltenberger to enable new use cases for a variety of industries (Kaltenberger: Page 2).
The combination of the reference application in view of Francini and Kaltenberger teaches all the limitations except the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols. However, Safranek teaches the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols (Abstract – “A QPI link layer to PCIe physical layer interface is employed to abstract the QPI link, routing, and protocol layers from the underlying PCIe physical layer (and corresponding PCIe interface circuitry), enabling QPI protocol messages to be employed over PCIe hardware.”; Col. 6, lines 20-22 – “an interface between the QPI Link layer and the PCIe PHY layer is employed”; Claim 1 – “the PCIe interface circuitry including, circuitry and logic to implement a PCIe Physical Layer (PHY) including a PCIe PHY logical sub-layer and a PCIe PHY electrical sublayer; logic to implement a protocol layer, routing layer and link layer for a QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) protocol over the PCIe PHY; logic to implement an interface between the QPI link layer and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer under which the QPI link layer interface comprises a 160-bit (160b) interface and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface comprises a 128-bit (128b) interface; a transmit port including logic to implement a 160b to 128b conversion to interface data to be transmitted via the PCIe PHY from the QPI link layer interface to the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface; and a receive port including logic to implement a 128b to 160b conversion to interface data received at the receive port via the PCIe PHY from the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface to the QPI link layer interface, wherein the at least two processors are configured to implement the QPI protocol using corresponding QPI messaging sent over PCIe interconnect and interface circuitry to support coherent memory transactions in the system.” The logic (i.e., software) which implements an interface that abstracts between the PCIe physical layer and the QPI data link layer is analogous to the claimed “transport abstraction layer” which is associated with multiple transport protocols (PCIe and QPI).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Application No. 17/720,205 such that the data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols as taught by Safranek in order to enable a different protocol of the higher layers, e.g., QPI, comprising additional features not natively supported by PCIe to be implemented on systems employing an industry standard PCIe interface (Safranek: Col. 1, line 42-Col. 2, line 3).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Table 3: Claim comparison of the instant application and reference application 17/720,205
Claim
17/720,201 (instant application)
17/720,205
1
One or more processors, comprising circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
One or more processors comprising: circuitry to, in response to an invocation of an application programming interface (API):
identify one or more functions from a data transport protocol library corresponding to the API using a mapping between the API and the one or more functions; and
cause performance of the one or more functions to transfer data using a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources, wherein at least one wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
“One or more processors, comprising circuitry to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call:”
“One or more processors comprising: circuitry to, in response to an invocation of an application programming interface (API):”
“the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;”
“using a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources, wherein at least one wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources.”
“identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred”
“identify one or more functions from a data transport protocol library corresponding to the API using a mapping between the API and the one or more functions; and
cause performance of the one or more functions to transfer data using a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources”
2
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein to the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource; and
decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the invocation of the API, cause the at least one other wireless computing resource to receive the data stored in the buffer from the at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources without the at least one other wireless computing resource having information about the first data transport protocol associated with the at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the “at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources” would have to send the data in order for the “at least one other wireless computing resource” to receive the data as recited.
3
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 1
4
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
See Claim 1
5
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 1
6
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol; and
causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage.
See claim 2: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the invocation of the API, cause the at least one other wireless computing resource to receive the data stored in the buffer from the at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources without the at least one other wireless computing resource having information about the first data transport protocol associated with the at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
For clarity of the record, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the “at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources” would have to send the data in order for the “at least one other wireless computing resource” to receive the data as recited.
7
The processor one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols.
See claim 3: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the one or more functions correspond to the first data transport protocol; and
the API corresponds to the second data transport protocol.
From claim 1: “identify one or more functions from a data transport protocol library corresponding to the API using a mapping between the API and the one or more functions; and cause performance of the one or more functions to transfer data using a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources, wherein at least one wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources.”
8
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the first and second wireless computing resources are associated with a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer;
the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer;
one or more functions corresponding to the API call associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of wireless computing resources are associated with a wireless network protocol stack that includes a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer;
a first wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources
is associated with the first layer;
a second wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with the second layer;
the API is associated with the third layer; and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers and maps the API to the one or more functions of the data transport protocol library.
9
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol, wherein the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer requests an operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols; and
cause the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer to perform the operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response the invocation of the API:
transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a wireless network protocol, wherein one or more of the plurality of wireless computing resources associated with the second layer requests an operation associated with the second data transport protocol; and
cause one or more of the plurality of wireless computing resources associated with the first layer to perform an operation associated with the first data transport protocol.
10
A system, comprising: memory to store instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors, cause the system, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, to: cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors, cause the system to, in response to an invocation of an application programming interface (API):
identify one or more functions, from a data transport protocol library corresponding to the API using a mapping between the API and the one or more functions; and
cause performance of the one or more functions to transfer data using a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality of wireless computing resources, wherein at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
11
The system of claim 10, wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, identify the one or more different transport protocols associated with the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 5: The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further, in response to the invocation of the API, identify, from a plurality of data transport protocols, the first data transport protocol.
From Claim 1: “at least one wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol”
12
The system of claim 10, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack; and
the first layer and second layer are each associated with a different transport protocol.
The system of claim 10, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a wireless network protocol stack; and
the first layer and second layer are each associated with different data transport protocols.
13
The system of claim 10, wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols supported by the second wireless computing resource.
The system of claim 10, wherein an application associated one of the plurality of wireless computing resources invokes the API and does not have information regarding data transport protocol associated with the at least one other wireless computing resource.
14
The system of claim 10, wherein a function corresponding to the API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call.
The system of claim 10, wherein the API is embedded within another API that maps the API to the one or more functions of the data transport protocol library.
15
The system of claim 10, wherein the data is to be transferred using an application that causes API calls from one layer associated with one transport protocol to perform operations in a second layer associated with a second transport protocol.
The system of claim 10, wherein the information is to be transferred using an application that causes invocations of the API from one layer associated with one data transport protocol to perform operations in a second layer associated with another data transport protocol.
16
The system of claim 10, further comprising:
a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource, wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource.
The system of claim 10, further comprising:
a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources, wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources configured with a transport profile supported by the at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
17
The system of claim 10, wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device.
The system of claim 10, wherein one or more of the plurality of wireless computing resources is a virtual device.
18
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, at least:
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to at least, in response to an invocation of an application programming interface (API):
identify one or more functions, from a library of a data transport protocol library, corresponding to the API using a mapping between the API and the one or more functions; and
cause performance of the one or more functions to transfer data using a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources, wherein at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
19
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, identify a transport configuration associated with the first wireless computing resource.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein performance of the invocation of the API is based, at least in part, on a transport configuration associated with one of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
20
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a wireless network protocol stack using a third layer between the first and second layers that is based, at least in part, on multiple data transport protocols.
21
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further to in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
See Claim 18
22
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs).
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs).
23
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the first wireless computing resource performs the API call; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, cause, at least in part, the first wireless computing resource to transfer information to the second wireless computing resource without modification to the first wireless computing resource.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources is to invoke the API; and
performance of the invocation of the API causes, at least in part, the one of the plurality of wireless computing resources to transfer the information to the at least one other wireless computing associated with a different data transport protocol without modification to the one of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
24
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the storage selected is an allocated buffer; and
the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and
in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the buffer used to transfer the data is an allocated buffer; and
a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer remains unchanged after performance of the invocation of the API.
25
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource.
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the at least one other wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by one of the
plurality of wireless computing resources.
26
A method comprising:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call:
causing data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols, the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols;
identifying one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols; and
performing the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols.
A method comprising:
in response to an invocation of an application programming interface (API):
identifying one or more functions, from a data transport protocol library, corresponding to the API by using a mapping between the API and the one or more functions; and
causing performance of the one or more functions to transfer data from a buffer used to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources, wherein at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources.
27
The method of claim 26, wherein identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 26
28
The method of claim 26, further comprising identifying the one or more different transport protocols.
See Claim 26
29
The method of claim 26, further comprising:
configuring the first wireless computing resource with transport profiles supported by the second wireless computing resource.
See Claim 25: The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the at least one other wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by one of the
plurality of wireless computing resources.
30
The method of claim 26, wherein the first wireless computing resource performs the API call; and
one or more functions associated with the API call are stored as part of a layer different from another layer comprising the first wireless computing resource.
See Claim 33: The method of claim 26, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a wireless network protocol stack, wherein the first layer and the second layer are each associated with different data transport protocols; and the API is located in a third layer between the first layer and the second layer.
From Claim 26: “to transfer information between a plurality wireless computing resources, wherein at least one of the plurality of wireless computing resources is associated with a first data transport protocol that is different from a second data transport protocol associated with at least one other wireless computing resource of the plurality of wireless computing resources”
31
The method of claim 26, further comprising transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator.
The method of claim 26, further comprising transferring the information using an application that maps the API to an operation related to a data transport protocol, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator.
32
The method of claim 26, wherein one or more functions associated with the API call are embedded within another function.
The method of claim 26, wherein the API is embedded within another API that maps the API to the one or more functions of the data
transport protocol library.
33
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between two layers of a fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) network protocol stack, wherein one layer is associated with the one or more transport protocols and the other layer is associate with the one or more different transport protocols; and
a function associated with the API call is located in a third layer.
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the information is to be transferred between a first layer and a second layer of a wireless network protocol stack, wherein the first layer and the second layer are each associated with different data transport protocols; and the API is located in a third layer between the first layer and the second layer.
34
The method of claim 26, wherein:
the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method.
The method of claim 26, wherein the API is to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method.
35
The method of claim 26, wherein the data includes different messages each associated with various transport protocols.
The method of claim 26, wherein the information includes different messages each associated with a different information transmission type; and
the information is to be transferred between two of the plurality of wireless computing resources using a single transport protocol.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 10, 15, 18-19, 26, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini et al (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0159965), hereinafter Francini, in view of Bach et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,619,650), hereinafter Bach.
Regarding claim 1, Francini teaches one or more processors, comprising: circuitry to ([0069]-[0070] – “FIG. 5 depicts a high-level block diagram of a computer suitable for use in performing various functions described herein. The computer 500 includes a processor 502 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a processor having a set of processor cores, a processor core of a processor, or the like)”; [0075] – “circuitry that cooperates with the processor to perform various functions.”), (FIG. 2B, server socket API 235 and/or client socket API 215; [0052] – “In FIG. 2B, in a direction of transmission from the application layer 236 of the server 130 toward the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, communication of the application data of the application layer 236 of the server 230 may be performed as follows. The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection).”; [0061] – “The client socket API of the wireless access device communicates data, between the networked client transport layer socket for the mobile host device and the application layer of the mobile host device, based on interaction with the link layer (e.g., receiving data provided by the link layer for communications sourced by the application layer of the mobile host device and providing data for the link layer for communications intended for delivery to the application layer of the mobile host device). The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device”. The following operations are performed in response to the application layer 236 of the server 130, comprising server socket API 235, sending application data (see [0052]), via the transport layer connection, to the WAD 120; further, the operations are performed using client socket API 215S on the WAD 120.)
cause data to be stored in storage of a first wireless computing resource according to one or more transport protocols (Fig. 1, buffer 123; FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S associated with server 130 is analogous to the “first wireless computing resource”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”; [0051] – the transport layer 224S may use protocols such as TCP (“one or more transport protocols”); [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.” In response to the application layer 236 of server 110 sending application data, the WAD 120 receives data via a TCP connection, which is stored in buffer 123. Receiving the data, e.g., via a TCP socket, necessarily teaches “causing the data to be stored”, e.g. in the buffer 123, at the WAD.), the storage selected to be used to transfer the data between ([0022] – “The memory 122 includes a buffer 123 and a communication protocol stack 124, both of which are configured to support communications by the WAD 120. The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”) the first wireless computing resource using the one or more transport protocols (FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S connected to server 130; [0051] – “networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) of the WAD 120 for transport to the server 130 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection)”; [0031] – “the transport layer and associated transport layer socket are denoted using TCP as it is assumed that the transport layer is based on TCP (although it will be appreciated that other transport layer protocols, such as UDP or the like, may be used).”) and a second wireless computing resource using one or more different transport protocols (FIG. 2B, link layer 222C connected to MHD 110; [0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222c of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C […] where the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 is provided using LTE, the reliable link layer 222C may place the primitive messages into PDCP PDUs”; [0050] – “The communication primitives of the client socket API 215 may include primitive rules for controlling manipulation of data (e.g., encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by the application layer 216 for transmission toward the server 130, encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by server 130 and that is intended for delivery to the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, or the like), primitive messages and associated primitive message formats that are configured to transport data of the application layer 216, or the like, as well as various combinations thereof.” The primitive messages used by the reliable link layer 222C include rules and a format for transporting data (i.e., a “transport protocol”).);
([0042] – “the client socket API-north 215N endpoint on the MHD 110 may be configured to provide various socket API functions and, similarly, the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions. In this case, the client socket API 215 (again, both client socket API-north 215N and client socket API-south 215s), as discussed further below, is configured to support a set of communication primitives configured to support communication between the application layer 216 of the MHD 110 and the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224s) that is hosted by the WAD 120 on behalf of the MHD 110.”; [0050] – “The communication primitives of the client socket API 215 may include primitive rules for controlling manipulation of data (e.g., encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by the application layer 216 for transmission toward the server 130, encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by server 130 and that is intended for delivery to the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, or the like), primitive messages and associated primitive message formats that are configured to transport data of the application layer 216, or the like, as well as various combinations thereof.” The various socket API functions (“one or more operations”) provided by the client socket API support the set of communication primitives (i.e., the primitive messages which adhere to a format configured to transport data, i.e., a “transport protocol” as described in [0050]) to support communication of data (“to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols”, where the “one or more different transport protocols” are the protocol to which the primitive messages adhere to.); and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols ([0041]-[0042] – communication of the data is based on the client socket API functionality (i.e., the socket API functions provided by the client socket API which are the “one or more operations”), and necessarily on performing the client socket API functionality; [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C”; [0056] – “a given primitive message sent by the client socket API-south 215s running on the WAD 120 has been successfully delivered to the client socket API-north 215N running on the MHD 110 when the given primitive message is removed from a link layer buffer of the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.” The application data (data communicated between the WAD 120 and server 130 which was stored in buffer 123, e.g., when it is received via the TCP socket at the WAD 120) is placed into the primitive messages, which adhere to a transport protocol as described in [0050], and transferred to the reliable link layer 222C for transmission toward the MHD 110.).
Francini fails to expressly teach the operations occurring in response to an application programming interface (API) call; and fails to expressly teach identify the one or more operations to be used to transfer the data.
However Bach teaches a server sending data towards a client in response to a socket application programming interface (API) call (Col. 9, lines 2-24 – “FIG. 10 illustrates the communication flow when a socket "write()" API command is issued by an application in a host processor. The "write()" API is issued by either a client or server process to pass data across the network to be read by the connected process. […] The application issues a "write()" socket API command with associated data 1006. […] DSM builds the API call and causes a "write()" with the necessary data to be placed on the TCP/IP protocol stack.”; Col. 7, lines 11-13 – “The standard sockets API has a set of commands to establish the application to application socket connection and to transfer data between the connected applications.”), and teaches in response to the API call, to identify the one or more operations to be used to transfer the data (Col. 2, lines 49-65 – “The sockets API defines the format and parameter content of the commands an application program uses to establish communications with another application. […] The defined API functions cause the operating system to issue the necessary commands to establish a communications link and to exchange data over that link.”; Col. 5, lines 2-9 – “The API accepts messages from the Application 310 to the session/datalink 312 […] transforms the session layer message received from session/datalink 312 to the physical form required by network 316 using defined transport, network, and datalink protocols.”; Col. 7, lines 11-13 – “The standard sockets API has a set of commands to establish the application to application socket connection and to transfer data between the connected applications.”; Col. 9, lines 2-24 – “FIG. 10 illustrates the communication flow when a socket "write()" API command is issued by an application in a host processor. The "write()" API is issued by either a client or server process to pass data across the network to be read by the connected process. […] The application issues a "write()" socket API command with associated data 1006. The DSL process according to the present invention, builds a distributed sockets interface (DSI) header 1008 and attaches it to the data before passing it to the channel program. The header consists of a standard protocol header used to communicate between the DSL and DSM and a command specific header that is specific to the API command issued. […] DSM builds the API call and causes a "write()" with the necessary data to be placed on the TCP/IP protocol stack.”; Col. 11, lines 4-5 – “When an application issues a "sendto()" (UDP) or "write()" (TCP) api call, the DSL builds a send request and sends it” The API call itself, e.g. an API function, identifies one or more operations (e.g., “write”) to be used and performed to transfer data. Further, this operation is “identified” in the command specific header attached to the data that is specific to the API command described in Col. 9, lines 2-24.). Further, Bach explicitly teaches a socket API uses a protocol for exchanging data (Col. 2, lines 49-65 – “application program 108 communicates via the network using an Application programming interface (API). The sockets protocol is one of the more prevalent application to application APIs. […] The sockets API defines the format and parameter content of the commands an application program uses to establish communications with another application. It defines the API for both client and server applications and for connection-less and connection-based links. The defined API functions cause the operating system to issue the necessary commands to establish a communications link and to exchange data over that link.”; Col. 1, lines 41-44 – “Communications between client and server application takes place according to a defined network protocol. A protocol is a set of rules and conventions used by the applications participating in a conversation.”).
Francini and Bach are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between computing resources using one or more transport protocols. As noted in the cited portions of Francini, paragraph [0052] teaches the claimed operations occurring in response to the application layer 236 on the server 130 sending application data to the WAD 120 via a transport layer connection, where a server socket API 235 sits between the application server in the application layer 236 and the transport layer 234 (Francini: FIG. 2B). Further, the operations on the WAD 120, including providing the application data received from the transport layer connection to the reliable link layer in primitive messages of the API, are performed using the client socket API-south 215S on the WAD 120 (Francini: [0052]). As taught by Bach, a socket API may be used by an application on a server to send application data through a call to a socket API, e.g., write(), identifying one of the commands/functions (i.e., operations) of the API to be used (Bach: Col. 9, lines 2-24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the operations performed in Francini using a server socket API and/or a client socket API would be performed in response to an API call to the server socket API and/or client socket API, where the call identifies one or more operations of the API as taught by Bach. It is well-known in the art that an application programming interface, such as the prevalent sockets API, is used by calling functions or commands of the API, as evidenced by Bach (Bach: Col. 2, lines 49-65). Further, using standard socket API commands as taught by Bach allows programs previously written using the prevalent sockets API to be used without requiring modification (Bach: Col. 5, line 44-47). Additionally, the methods of Bach provides the benefit of improved performance in large computer systems engaging in network communications (Bach: Col. 3, line 46-Col. 4, line 5).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
at least one of the one or more transport protocols is a transport layer protocol (Francini: [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”); and
causing the data to be transferred from the storage comprises sending the data from the storage ([0052] – “The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages”. The reliable link layer 222C receives the application data in the primitive messages, i.e., the client socket API sends the application data (“the data from the storage”), within primitive messages, to the reliable link layer 222C.).
Regarding claim 10, Francini teaches a system, comprising memory to store instructions that, as a result of execution by one or more processors (FIG. 1, communication system 100 comprises wireless access device 120 with processor 121 and memory 122; [0069]-[0071] – “FIG. 5 depicts a high-level block diagram of a computer suitable for use in performing various functions described herein. The computer 500 includes a processor 502 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a processor having a set of processor cores, a processor core of a processor, or the like) and a memory 504 (e.g., a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), or the like). The processor 502 and the memory 504 are communicatively connected. The computer 500 also may include a cooperating element 505. [...] The cooperating element 505 may be a process or set of instructions that can be loaded into the memory 504 and executed by the processor 502 to implement functions as discussed herein."), cause the system, in response to an application programming interface (API) call, to: perform the active functions performed by the one or more processors of claim 1. Accordingly claim 10 is rejected as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach for the same reasons presented with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the system of claim 10, wherein the data is to be transferred using an application that causes API calls from one layer associated with one transport protocol to perform operations in a second layer associated with a second transport protocol (Francini: [0031] – “the client socket API 215 is an application programming interface that is configured to allow application programs to control and use network sockets."; [0052] – “In FIG. 2B, in a direction of transmission from the application layer 236 of the server 130 toward the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, communication of the application data of the application layer 236 of the server 230 may be performed as follows. The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C"; [0051] - "the reliable link layer 212 may place the primitive messages into PDCP protocol data units (PDUs)"; An application server (“application”) in application layer 236 of the server 130 causes application data to be transmitted to the WAD 120 via the transport layer (TCP connection - a first protocol), so that the client socket API-south 215 causes operations (placing data into PDCP PDUs - a second protocol) in the link layer.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill that the operations performed in Francini using a server socket API and/or a client socket API would be performed in response to an API call to the server socket API and/or client socket API as taught by Bach. It is well-known in the art that an application programming interface, such as the prevalent sockets API, is used by calling functions or commands of the API, as evidenced by Bach (Bach: Col. 2, lines 49-65). Further, using standard socket API commands as taught by Bach allows programs previously written using the prevalent sockets API to be used without requiring modification (Bach: Col. 5, line 44-47). Additionally, the methods of Bach provides the benefit of improved performance in large computer systems engaging in network communications (Bach: Col. 3, line 46-Col. 4, line 5).
Regarding claim 18, Francini teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon one or more instructions, which if performed by one or more processors (FIG. 1, communication system 100 comprises wireless access device 120 with processor 121 and memory 122; [0069]-[0071] – “FIG. 5 depicts a high-level block diagram of a computer suitable for use in performing various functions described herein. The computer 500 includes a processor 502 (e.g., a central processing unit (CPU), a processor having a set of processor cores, a processor core of a processor, or the like) and a memory 504 (e.g., a random access memory (RAM), a read only memory (ROM), or the like). The processor 502 and the memory 504 are communicatively connected. The computer 500 also may include a cooperating element 505. [...] The cooperating element 505 may be a process or set of instructions that can be loaded into the memory 504 and executed by the processor 502 to implement functions as discussed herein (in which case, for example, the cooperating element 505 (including associated data structures) can be stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, such as a storage device or other storage element (e.g., a magnetic drive, an optical drive, or the like)."), cause one or more processors to, in response to an application programming interface call, at least: perform the active functions performed by the one or more processors of claim 1. Accordingly claim 18 is rejected as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach for the same reasons presented with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, identify a transport configuration associated with the first wireless computing resource (Francini: [0036] – “the client socket API 215 running on MHD 110 may start an exchange of information with the WAD 120 to request and obtain capability information for the WAD 120 that is indicative as to whether WAD 120 is configured to support a networked client transport layer socket for the MHD 110)”; [0041] – “based on a determination that the WAD 120 is configured to support a networked client transport layer socket for the MHD 110, […] The opening of the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224s) for the MHD 110 on the WAD 120 causes the client socket API 215 to be split between the MHD 110 (with the client socket API-north 215N endpoint of the client socket API 215 being provided on the MHD 110 and the client socket API-south 215s endpoint of the client socket API 215 being provided on the WAD 120). The networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224s) for the MHD 110 is opened on the WAD 120, on the server-facing portion of the communication protocol stack 124, between the client socket API-south 215s endpoint of the client socket API 215 being provided on the WAD 120 and the network layer 223s of the WAD 120.” [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120.”; Claim 11 – “networked transport layer socket comprises a Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) socket or a User Datagram Protocol (UDP) socket." The client socket API 215 is used to discover (“identify”) if the WAD 120 is configured to support a networked transport layer socket (e.g., in the transport layer 224S of the WAD 120 (the “first wireless computing resource”)) using a transport protocol such as TCP. Therefore, in response to the client socket API, the transport configuration of the WAD 120 associated with/supported by the transport layer 224S is identified.
For clarity of the record, the Examiner would like to point to [0083] of the specification of the instant application which recites "In at least one embodiment, transport refers to a method and/or protocol for sending data from one computing resource to another. In at least one embodiment, computing resources can support a transport protocol, and when a computing resource is configured to support said transport protocol, said computing resource is referred to as having a transport configuration.").
Regarding claim 26, Francini teaches a method comprising: the active functions performed by the one or more processors of claim 1. Accordingly claim 26 is rejected as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach for the same reasons presented with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the data includes different messages each associated with various transport protocols (Francini: [0022] – “The memory 122 includes a buffer 123 and a communication protocol stack 124, both of which are configured to support communications by the WAD 120. The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”; The buffers store the data to be transmitted in various forms supported at different layers of communication protocol stack 124, where the data may be messages placed/maintained in the buffer(s) as described [0053], ("messages each associated with various transmission protocols"). [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer.”; [0030] – “the transport layer and associated transport layer socket are denoted using TCP as it is assumed that the transport layer is based on TCP (although it will be appreciated that other transport layer protocols, such as UDP or the like, may be used)."; [0045] - “the reliable link layer (namely, the reliable link layer 212 of MHD 110 and the reliable link layer 222C of WAD 120) may be divided into three sub-layers which are referred to as the Medium Access Control (MAC) sub-layer, the Radio Link Control (RLC) sub-layer, and the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) sub-layer. The PDCP sub-layer is the highest of the sub-layers (i.e., closest to the application layer/farthest from the physical layer)").
Claims 2 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claims 1 and 18, and further in view of Fuente et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2005/0265370), hereinafter Fuente.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein to the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
send the data stored in the storage to the second wireless computing resource (Francini: [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C (which, as previously discussed, may vary for different types of link layers, such as cellular, WiFi, or the like), and passes the link layer data structures including the primitive messages to the physical layer 221 of the WAD 120. […] The physical layer 221 of the WAD 120 receives the link layer data structures from the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 and transmits the link layer data structures from the WAD 120 toward MHD 110 wirelessly via the wireless communication link 140.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.”).
Francini in view of Bach fails to teach decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage.
However, Fuente teaches to decrement a reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage ([0025]-[0026] – “Counter (108) maintains a count of the number of references to the buffer memory (104} by the accessors (106, 110}, the count being incremented on each reference and decremented on completion of each accessor's data transmission. [...] Memory manager (114) is adapted to lock buffer memory during write activity, to permit read access to the buffer memory (104) by accessors (106, 110) and to return the buffer memory to a free buffer pool when counter (108) signals that the count has reached zero."
For clarity of the record, the Examiner would like to point to paragraphs [0086] and [0093] of the Specification of the instant application, which recite “buffer_send() causes transport abstraction implementor to decrement a reference counter by one for example, if transport abstraction implementor 230 decrements a reference counter to zero (e.g., ref_count = 0) in response to buffer send(), then transport abstraction implementor 230 releases an allocated buffer” and “buffer_send() API 352, which causes transport abstraction API implementor to send data over a transport, decrement a reference counter by one, and release an allocated buffer back to a buffer pool 366”, respectively. Thus, as best understood in light of the specification, a reference counter which teaches releasing the buffer storing the data back to a buffer pool when the counter = 0 as taught by Fuente is analogous to a “reference counter used to indicate when to release the data stored in the storage” as recited by the claims. Further, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art that releasing the buffer is also releasing the data stored in that buffer.).
Fuente is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using a buffer to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the socket API of Francini in view of Bach such that when the socket API sends the data, a reference counter used to indicate when to release the buffer is decremented as taught by Fuente. Using a reference counter allows the buffer memory to be allocated, pinned and freed without preventing read accesses by multiple accessors that transmit the data stored, which further allows for rapid retransmission of the data stored in the buffer when a transmission fails (Fuente: [0032]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the storage selected is an allocated buffer (Francini: FIG. 1, buffer 123 on wireless access device 120; [0022] - "The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.").
Francini in view of Bach fails to teach the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer.
However, Fuente teaches in response to the API call, decrement a reference counter associated with the allocated buffer; and in response to determining that the decremented reference counter equals zero, deselect the allocated buffer ([0025]-[0026] - "Counter (108) maintains a count of the number of references to the buffer memory (104) by the accessors (106, 110), the count being incremented on each reference and decremented on completion of each accessor's data transmission. [...] Memory manager (114) is adapted to lock buffer memory during write activity, to permit read access to the buffer memory (104) by accessors (106, 110) and to return the buffer memory to a free buffer pool when counter (108) signals that the count has reached zero."; [0032] - "the counter of the preferred embodiment allows the buffer memory to be allocated, "pinned ", and freed"; [0042] - "At step (226), a further test is performed to determine whether the count has reached zero or not. If it has not reached zero, this part of the logic process returns to step (228) to be triggered by the next completion. If on any iteration, the count is determined to have reached zero, the memory manager (114) releases the buffer memory (104).").
Fuente is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using a buffer to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the socket API of Francini in view of Bach such that the calls of the socket API taught by Francini in view of Bach manages a reference counter for the buffer used to store data to be transmitted as taught by Fuente. Using a reference counter allows the buffer memory to be allocated, pinned and freed without preventing read accesses by multiple accessors that transmit the data stored, which further allows for rapid retransmission of the data stored in the buffer when a transmission fails (Fuente: [0032]).
Claims 3, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17, 22-23, 27-28, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claims 1, 10, 18, and 26, and further in view of Sen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0218684), hereinafter Sen.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to expressly teach wherein the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols.
However, Sen teaches the data is to be transferred based at least on a transport layer used to associate a function of the one or more transport protocols with a corresponding function of the one or more different transport protocols ([0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. […] The accelerator library uses device libraries to abstract device-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to device-specific interfaces via corresponding device drivers. According to various embodiments, the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. The device library at the computing platform 102 is used to connect the application(s) to one or more local devices, such as a local hardware accelerator 212. Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used. In some embodiments, bindings are used to link the device libraries and transport definitions with device drivers and transport protocols, respectively. Bindings involve a process or technique of connecting two or more data elements or entities together. Bindings allows the accelerator library to be bound to multiple protocols, including one or more IX protocols and one or more transport protocols.”; [0034] – “The transport definition is independent of the transport protocols that are used to carry data to remote accelerator resources. […] Each of the transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may include primitives such as read/write data from/to device; process device command; get/set device properties; and event subscription and notification. The transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may also have mechanisms to allow scalable and low latency communication, such as […] protocol independent format definition allowing for multiple protocol bindings.” The transport layers 823, 824 have protocol-independent format definitions which use bindings (“a set of associations that correlate” the transport protocols) to connect the transport protocol-independent transport definition to the multiple different transport protocols.).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the methods taught by Francini in view of Bach to include a set of associations that correlate functions of the transport protocols with functions of the different transport protocols as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol used provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols.
However, Sen teaches wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols ([0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; [0059] – “Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The message may be embodied as an instruction to read or write data, a command to execute a certain function, an instruction to get or set a setting on an accelerator, a control command such as a query regarding the capability of an accelerator queue, and/or any other suitable message. At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application.”; [0062] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. […] the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message.”; [0063] – “At operation 616, the computing platform 102 sends the command capsule to the accelerator sled 104. The computing platform 102 may use any suitable communication protocol, such as TCP, RDMA, RoCE, RoCEvl , RoCEv2, iWARP, etc.” An application on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”) passes a message which uses a protocol – as described in [0062] – to an accelerator manager 402 via an API. The accelerator manager causes the computing platform 102 (the “first wireless computing resource”) to generate (“one or more operations”) a command capsule for the message using a different protocol (“different transport protocols”) and to send the command capsule which uses the different protocol to the accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”).).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the API taught by Francini in view of Bach such that the API causes the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols used by the second wireless computing resource as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to expressly teach wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols.
However, Sen teaches wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call, cause the first wireless computing resource to perform an operation related to the one or more different transport protocols based at least on a corresponding operation of the one or more transport protocols ([0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; [0059] – “Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The message may be embodied as an instruction to read or write data, a command to execute a certain function, an instruction to get or set a setting on an accelerator, a control command such as a query regarding the capability of an accelerator queue, and/or any other suitable message. At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application.”; [0062] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. […] the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message.”; [0063] – “At operation 616, the computing platform 102 sends the command capsule to the accelerator sled 104. The computing platform 102 may use any suitable communication protocol, such as TCP, RDMA, RoCE, RoCEvl , RoCEv2, iWARP, etc.” An application on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”) passes a message (“corresponding operation”) which uses a protocol (“one or more transport protocols”) – as described in [0062] – to an accelerator manager 402 via an API. The accelerator manager causes the computing platform 102 (the “first wireless computing resource”) to generate (“one or more operations”) a command capsule for the message using a different protocol (“different transport protocols”) and to send the command capsule which uses the different protocol to the accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”).).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the API taught by Francini in view of Bach such that the API causes the first wireless computing resource to perform one or more operations associated with the one or more different transport protocols used by the second wireless computing resource as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the system of claim 10, but fails to expressly teach wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, identify the one or more different transport protocols associated with the second wireless computing resource.
However, Sen teaches wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, identify the one or more different transport protocols associated with the second wireless computing resource ([0086] – “initiator 822 identifies or determines one or more transport protocols to be used during a communication session 830 with target accelerator resource(s). Any number of transport protocols may be used”; [0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; In FIG. 8, initiator 822, on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”), identifies the transport protocols used to communicate with target accelerator resource(s), such as accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”). Since these protocols are used by a second wireless computing resource, they are analogous to the “different transport protocols”. [0032]-[0033] - "a unified architecture or protocol stack is created that allows an application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) hosted by the computing platform 102 to use both the locally attached accelerator 212 and remotely attached accelerators (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) (collectively referred to as "accelerator resources " or the like) over a network fabric 106. In these embodiments, the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) may access accelerator resources using an accelerator application interface (e. g. , an accelerator API) that provides abstractions for accelerator resources in a compute environment, such as a VM (e.g., VM 815 of FIG. 8). The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. The accelerator library may be an accelerator specific run-time library (e. g., Open Computing Language (OpenCL), CUDA, Open Programmable Acceleration Engine (OPAE) API, or the like) that provides mapping of application constructs on to a hardware accelerator context. The accelerator library uses device libraries to abstract device-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to device specific interfaces via corresponding device drivers. According to various embodiments, the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. The device library at the computing platform 102 is used to connect the application(s) to one or more local devices, such as a local hardware accelerator 212. Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used." The accelerator application interface (analogous to the claimed "API") comprises an accelerator library containing transport definitions which abstract transport-specific details for communicating with an accelerator into an API. The API provides translation from a protocol-independent transport definition to a transport-specific interface via a corresponding transport protocol (one of the “different transport protocols”) used to send data to the accelerator over a wireless network.).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the API taught by Francini in view of Bach such that in response to the API call, the system identifies the different transport protocols associated with one of the wireless computing resources as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the system of claim 10, but fails to expressly teach wherein the system is further to, in response to the API call, obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols supported by the second wireless computing resource.
However, Sen teaches the system is further to, in response to the API call, ([0085] – “the initiator 822 hosted by a VM 815 of a computing platform 102 executes process 900 for establishing a communication session 830 with target accelerator resource(s) via the accelerator manager 502. […] the various messages discussed a being communicated between the initiator 822 and the accelerator resource(s) may be performed according to processes 600-700 of FIGS. 6-7, respectfully.”; [0059] – “the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. […] At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface”; [0088] – “At operation 906, the initiator 822 generates and sends, to the target accelerator resource(s), a connection establishment request message for a primary connection 831.” Sending a message, e.g., the connection establishment request message, to a target hardware accelerator resource involves an application, e.g., the initiator, passing the message to an API (i.e., an API call) as described in process 600.) obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols ([0089] – “In response to the connection establishment request message for the primary connection 831 , at operation 906, the initiator 822 receives a connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 from the target accelerator resource(s ). For example, where an RDMA-based protocol is used for the primary connection 831, such as RoCEv2, the target accelerator resource(s) may encapsulate an RDMA acknowledgement (ACK) packet within an Ethernet/IP/UDP packet (including either IPv4 or IPv6) and including suitable destination and source addresses based on the connection establishment request message. In embodiments, the connection establishment response message for the primary connection 831 includes a session ID, which may be included in the header or payload section of the message. The session ID is generated by the target accelerator resource(s) and is discussed in more detail infra. Other suitable information may be included in the connection establishment response message, such as an accelerator resource identifier and/or other protocol specific information.”) supported by the second wireless computing resource (FIG. 8, accelerator sled 104 with accelerator(s) 312 which is the “target hardware accelerator resource(s)”; [0033] – “the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. […] the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3)”).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that in response to the API call, the system is to obtain information regarding the one or more different transport protocols supported by the second wireless computing resource as taught by Sen. Using the initiator application of Sen that establishes multiple connections with a remote accelerator using different transport protocols over a wireless network achieves high-availability goals even when one transport protocol is temporarily unusable (Sen: [0073]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the system of claim 10, but fails to expressly teach wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device.
However, Sen teaches wherein the first wireless computing resource is a virtual device ([0021] – “an application or virtual machine (VM) being executed by a processor 202 of the computing platform 102 (see FIG. 2) may access a hardware accelerator 212 or 312 (see FIGS. 2 and 3) in a manner that is transparent to the application or VM. For example, the application may access an application program interface (API), and the API is used to transparently perform the requested function on either a local hardware accelerator 212 or a remote hardware accelerator 312 without requiring any involvement from the underlying application.”; [0022] – “any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; [0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library […] the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. […] The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used.”; [0058] – “The accelerator virtualizer 508 is configured to present one physical hardware accelerator 312 as two or more virtual hardware accelerators 312. The accelerator virtualizer 508 may allow for two computing platforms 102 or two processors 202 or threads on the same computing platform 102 to access the same hardware accelerator 312 without any configuration necessary on the part of the computing platform 102. For example, the accelerator manager 502 may send an indication to a computing platform 102 that the accelerator sled 104 has two hardware accelerators 312 available, which are in fact two virtual hardware accelerator 312 that correspond to one physical hardware accelerator 312. The computing platform 102 may provide messages to each of the two virtual hardware accelerators 312, which are processed by the physical hardware accelerator 312 in such a way as to provide the same response as if the commands were being processed on two physical accelerators 312").
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the first wireless computing resource taught by Francini in view of Bach such that it is a virtual device such as virtual machine or virtual hardware accelerator as taught by Sen. Sen teaches data may be transferred between an application or virtual machine (a “wireless computing resource”) to remote hardware accelerators (also “wireless computing resource”) on an accelerator sled using an API that abstracts the transport protocols such that tasks may be performed faster and more efficiently (Sen: [0016]), and virtualized hardware accelerators on the accelerator sled allow multiple applications to use the same physical hardware accelerator (Sen: [0043]). Further, virtual machines provide scalability, flexibility, manageability, and utilization, which results in lower operating or overhead costs (Sen: [0074]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, but fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs).
However, Sen teaches wherein the one or more processors are one or more graphics processing units (GPUs) ([0025] – “the processor(s) 202 may include Intel® Core™ based processor(s) and/or Xeon® processor(s); Advanced Micro Devices (AMD) Zen® Core Architecture processor(s), such as Epyc ® processor(s), Opteron™ series Accelerated Processing Units (APUs), and/or MxGPUs"; [0046]-[0047] – “It should be appreciated that, in such embodiments the accelerator manager circuit 402, the local accelerator manager circuit 404, and/or the remote accelerator manager circuit 406, etc., may form a portion of one or more of the processor 202 [...] The accelerator manager 402 is configured to manage accelerators that an application executed by the processor 202 may interface with. In some embodiments, the accelerator manager 402 may implement an application programming interface for accessing an accelerator". The API for accessing accelerator resources is implemented by accelerator manager 402, which may for part of processor 202. As stated in [0025], processor 202 may be an AMD MxGPU.).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that the one or more processors that execute instructions to perform an API are one or more GPUs as taught by Sen, since some computing tasks may be performed more quickly and/or efficiently by a GPU (Sen: [0002], [0016]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, but fails to expressly teach wherein: the first wireless computing resource is to perform the API call; and the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, cause, at least in part, the first wireless computing resource to transfer information to the second wireless computing resource without modification to the first wireless computing resource.
However, Sen teaches the first wireless computing resource is to perform the API call ([0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] Network connectivity may be provided to/from the compute devices 102 and accelerator sleds 104 via respective network interface connectors using physical connections, which may be electrical (commonly referred to as a "copper interconnect"), optical, or wireless.”; [0059] - "Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. [...] At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application." An application on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”) passes information in a message ("call") to the accelerator manager 402 using an API.); and the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, cause, at least in part, the first wireless computing resource to transfer information to the second wireless computing resource ([0060] – “At operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a local hardware accelerator 212, the process 600 proceeds to operation 608, in which the accelerator manager 402 passes the message to the local hardware accelerator 212. The accelerator manager 402 may pass the message to the hardware accelerator 212 in any suitable manner, such as by sending the message over a bus such as a PCie bus, a QuickPath interconnect (QPI}, a HyperTransport interconnect, etc. The accelerator manager 402 may select a local hardware accelerator 212 or a remote hardware accelerator 312 based on any number of factors"; [0062]-[0063] - "Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. [...] the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message. [...] At operation 616, the computing platform 102 sends the command capsule to the accelerator sled 104. The computing platform 102 may use any suitable communication protocol, such as TCP, ROMA RoCE, RoCEvl , RoCEv2, i WARP, etc." In response to receiving the message using an API from the application on computing platform 102 (“first wireless computing resource”), the application manager 402 passes the message ("transfers information") to a local or remote hardware accelerator (“second wireless computing resource”) using any suitable transport protocol. As stated in [0062], the protocol used to send the message to a remote hardware accelerator may be different from a protocol used by the original message.) without modification to the first wireless computing resource ([0047] – “in some embodiments, an application may interact with an accelerator manager 402 of a computing platform 102 a first time and a second time. In such an example, for the first interaction, the accelerator manager 402 may facilitate an interface with a local hardware accelerator 212 and, for the second interaction, the accelerator manager 402 may facilitate an interface with a remote hardware accelerator 312, without any change or requirements in how the application interacts with the accelerator manager 402 between the first interaction and the second interaction." The application is not modified even when the application manager is transferring information to hardware accelerators that use different transport protocols (local vs. remote hardware accelerators).).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the API taught by Francini in view of Bach such that a wireless computing resource performs the API call, and in response to the API call, causes the calling resource to transfer information to other computing resources that support different transport protocols without modification to the computing resource which called the API as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transmission types/transport protocols provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to other computing resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, but fails to expressly teach wherein identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols.
However, Sen teaches identifying the one or more operations is based at least on a set of associations that correlate one or more functions of the one or more transport protocols with one or more functions of the one or more different transport protocols ([0021] – “the application may access an application program interface (API), and the API is used to transparently perform the requested function”. An API call identifies a function/command (“one or more operations”) to be performed; [0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. […] The accelerator library uses device libraries to abstract device-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to device-specific interfaces via corresponding device drivers. According to various embodiments, the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. The device library at the computing platform 102 is used to connect the application(s) to one or more local devices, such as a local hardware accelerator 212. Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used. In some embodiments, bindings are used to link the device libraries and transport definitions with device drivers and transport protocols, respectively. Bindings involve a process or technique of connecting two or more data elements or entities together. Bindings allows the accelerator library to be bound to multiple protocols, including one or more IX protocols and one or more transport protocols.”; [0034] – “The transport definition is independent of the transport protocols that are used to carry data to remote accelerator resources. […] Each of the transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may include primitives such as read/write data from/to device; process device command; get/set device properties; and event subscription and notification. The transport layers (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) may also have mechanisms to allow scalable and low latency communication, such as […] protocol independent format definition allowing for multiple protocol bindings.” The accelerator library comprising an API which uses bindings (“a set of associations that correlate” the functions/operations (e.g., “read” or “write”) of the transport protocols) which connect the accelerator library to multiple different protocols, and specifically connect the transport definition to the multiple different transport protocols. [0059] – “an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The message may be embodied as an instruction to read or write data, a command to execute a certain function, an […]. At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface”; [0062]-[0063] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. The command capsule may contain a command header portion, which may contain information such as the type of command to be executed, and a data portion […] the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message. […] At operation 616, the computing platform 102 sends the command capsule to the accelerator sled 104. The computing platform 102 may use any suitable communication protocol, such as TCP, RDMA, RoCE, RoCEvl , RoCEv2, iWARP, etc.”).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Francini in view of Bach to include a set of associations that correlate functions, i.e., operations such as read or write, of the transport protocols with functions of the different transport protocols as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol used provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, but fails to expressly teach further comprising identifying the one or more different transport protocols.
However, Sen teaches identifying the one or more different transport protocols ([0086] – “initiator 822 identifies or determines one or more transport protocols to be used during a communication session 830 with target accelerator resource(s). Any number of transport protocols may be used”; [0022] – “The network 106 (also referred to as a "network fabric 106" or the like) may be embodied as any type of network capable of communicatively connecting the computing platforms 102 and the accelerator sleds 104. […] wireless”; [0032]-[0033] – applications on computing platforms 102 use an API to send and receive data from accelerator resources, such as accelerator sled 104, without underlying knowledge of the transport protocols. In FIG. 8, initiator 822, on computing platform 102 (a “first wireless computing resource”), identifies the transport protocols used to communicate with target accelerator resource(s), such as accelerator sled 104 (a “second wireless computing resource”). Since these protocols are used by a second wireless computing resource, they are analogous to the “different transport protocols”. ).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method taught by Francini in view of Bach to include identifying the different transport protocols as taught by Sen. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transport protocols and translates to a specific transport protocol used provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to remote resources (Sen: [0034]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, but fails to expressly teach further comprising transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols, wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator.
However, Sen teaches transferring the data using an application that maps the API call to an operation related to an operation of the one or more different transport protocols ([0033] – “The accelerator application interface includes an accelerator library used to access accelerator resources. The accelerator library may be an accelerator specific run-time library (e.g., Open Computing Language (OpenCL), CUDA, Open Programmable Acceleration Engine (OPAE) API, or the like) that provides mapping of application constructs on to a hardware accelerator context. [...] the accelerator library also uses individual transport definitions to abstract transport-specific details into an API that provides the necessary translation to transport-specific interfaces via corresponding transport protocols. [...] Similarly, the transport definition is used to connect the application (e.g., application 820 of FIG. 8) to a remote hardware accelerator 312 resident in the accelerator sled 104. The transport definition allows applications to send commands and data to a target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) and receive data from the target hardware accelerator (e.g., one or more of hardware accelerators 312 of FIG. 3) without requiring knowledge of the underlying transport protocols (e.g., transport layers 823, 824 of FIG. 8) being used." The API for accessing an accelerator (provided by accelerator manager 402 - see [0047]) translates ("maps") to transport-specific details. [0059] – “Referring now to FIG. 6, in use, the computing platform 102 may execute a process 600 for sending an accelerator message to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. The process 600 begins at operation 602, in which an application on the computing platform 102 determines a message to be sent to a hardware accelerator 212 or 312. [...] At operation 604, the application passes the command or function to the accelerator manager 402. In the illustrative embodiment, the application passes the command or function with use of an application programming interface such that the details of communication with the hardware accelerator 212 or 312 are hidden from the associated application."; [0062] – “Referring back to operation 606, if the accelerator manager 402 is to pass the message to a remote hardware accelerator 312, the process 600 proceeds to operation 612, in which the computing platform 102 generates a command capsule based on the message received from the application. [...] the command capsule may rearrange or otherwise reorganize the message in preparation for being sent to the accelerator sled 104. In some embodiments the command capsule may encapsulate the message in a protocol different from a protocol used by the message." The accelerator manager (“application”) generates a command capsule corresponding to a transport protocol used by the accelerator sled (“the one or more different transport protocols”), which may be different from the protocol used by the message from the application passed to the accelerator manager using the API (the “API call”).), wherein the application is implemented, at least in part, on a hardware accelerator ([0047] – “The accelerator manager 402 is configured to manage accelerators that an application executed by the processor 202 may interface with. In some embodiments, the accelerator manager 402 may implement an application programming interface for accessing an accelerator''; [0054] - "The accelerator manager 502 is configured to manage the hardware accelerators 312 on the accelerator sled 104 and to allow remote interfacing with the hardware accelerators 312 through the host fabric interface 310. The accelerator manager 502 may process message capsules received from and sent to the computing platform 102 and may, based on the content of the message capsules, execute the relevant necessary operations to interface with the hardware accelerators 312, such as reading data from the hardware accelerator 312, writing data to the hardware accelerator 312, executing commands on the hardware accelerator 312, getting and setting properties of the hardware accelerator 312, receiving and processing events or notifications from the acceleration device 312 (such as sending a message capsule to send an interrupt or set a semaphore on the computing platform 102), etc." The "application" = accelerator manager 402/502, accelerator manager 502 is implemented on accelerator sled 104. Accelerator manager provides an API for an application to access an accelerator as indicated in [0047]. Additionally, [0046] states environment 400, including accelerator manager 402, may be embodied on any component(s) of computing platform 102, which may include local hardware accelerator 212 as shown in FIG. 2.).
Sen is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that information is transferred using an application implemented at least in part on a hardware accelerator (e.g., accelerator manager), where the application maps the API to an operation related to a transport protocol. Using an API that abstracts details of the underlying transmission types/transport protocols provides the benefit of seamless and transparent access to other computing resources (Sen: [0034]), and using a hardware accelerator may result in certain computing tasks being performed faster and more efficiently (Sen: [0002] and [0016]).
Claims 4, 21, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claims 1, 18 and 26, and further in view of Hyder et al. (U.S. Patent. No. 5,983,274), hereinafter Hyder.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, but fails to teach wherein the circuitry is further to in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
However, Hyder teaches in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers used to operate the first and second wireless computing resources (Claim 1 – “a protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”; Col. 2, lines 13-20 – “Because there are different types of transport protocols developed over time by different entities for different reasons, there may be different types of transport protocol drivers acting as software components running on a single host computer system in order to provide the necessary networking capabilities for a given installation. Some common transport protocols include TCP/IP, IPX, AppleTalk®, and others.”; Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “link layer implemented by a network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 2, lines 20-24 – “Each transport protocol driver will communicate with one or more individual network card device drivers in order to send network data over a communications network and receive incoming packets from the communications network.”; Col. 1, lines 30-37 – “Data that is shared between computers is sent in packets across the physical network connection and read by destination computers. […] As used herein, the term "network data" refers to data or information that is actually transmitted over the communications network between different computers.”; Col. 6, lines 19-20 – “cellular, and other wireless technologies, etc. provide ripe opportunities for exploiting the present invention.”; Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line 3 – “For sending network data from the upper layers 106, the transport protocol driver 100 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill the data structure with network information and control information according to the present invention, and send it down through the integrating component 102 to the network card device driver 104 for transmitting the network data on the network interface card 108. In like manner, for a packet received from the network interface card 108, the network card device driver 104 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill it with the network data and control information according to the present invention, and send it through the integrating component 102 to the transport protocol driver 100 for communication to the upper layers 106.”).
Hyder is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that in response to the API call, the circuitry performs one or more drivers of a transport layer that operate the first and second wireless computing resources as taught by Hyder. The layers of the ISO model, including the link layer and transport layer, are implemented using drivers as is well known in the art (Hyder: Col. 1, lines 51-62). Further, the integrating component (an API) taught by Hyder which is performed based on one or more drivers of a transport layer that operate computing resources sending and receiving data over a network provides the benefit of allowing transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently, and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, but fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are further to, in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers to operate the first and second wireless computing resources.
However, Hyder teaches in response to the API call, perform one or more drivers to operate the first and second wireless computing resources (Claim 1 – “a protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”; Col. 2, lines 13-20 – “Because there are different types of transport protocols developed over time by different entities for different reasons, there may be different types of transport protocol drivers acting as software components running on a single host computer system in order to provide the necessary networking capabilities for a given installation. Some common transport protocols include TCP/IP, IPX, AppleTalk®, and others.”; Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “link layer implemented by a network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 2, lines 20-24 – “Each transport protocol driver will communicate with one or more individual network card device drivers in order to send network data over a communications network and receive incoming packets from the communications network.”; Col. 1, lines 30-37 – “Data that is shared between computers is sent in packets across the physical network connection and read by destination computers. […] As used herein, the term "network data" refers to data or information that is actually transmitted over the communications network between different computers.”; Col. 6, lines 19-20 – “cellular, and other wireless technologies, etc. provide ripe opportunities for exploiting the present invention.”; Col. 7, line 56-Col. 8, line 3 – “For sending network data from the upper layers 106, the transport protocol driver 100 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill the data structure with network information and control information according to the present invention, and send it down through the integrating component 102 to the network card device driver 104 for transmitting the network data on the network interface card 108. In like manner, for a packet received from the network interface card 108, the network card device driver 104 will allocate a packet data structure from the integrating component 102, fill it with the network data and control information according to the present invention, and send it through the integrating component 102 to the transport protocol driver 100 for communication to the upper layers 106.”).
Hyder is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that the API is performed based on one or more drivers of a transport layer that operate the first and second wireless computing resources as taught by Hyder. The layers of the ISO model, including the link layer and transport layer, are implemented using drivers as is well known in the art (Hyder: Col. 1, lines 51-62). Further, the integrating component (an API) taught by Hyder which is performed based on one or more drivers of a transport layer that operate computing resources sending and receiving data over a network provides the benefit of allowing transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently, and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
Regarding claim 30, Francini teaches the method of claim 26, wherein […] one or more functions associated with the API […] are stored as part of a layer different from another layer comprising the first wireless computing resource (Francini: FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S is the layer comprising the first wireless computing resource, client socket API 215S is a separate layer of the stack; [0022] – “The wireless access device 120 includes a processor 121, a memory 122 […] The memory 122 includes a buffer 123 and a communication protocol stack 124”; [0042] – “the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions.”; [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer. […] The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device (rather than between an application layer and a transport layer).”).
Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach the first wireless computing resource performs the API call.
However, Hyder teaches the first wireless computing resource performs the API call (Col. 1, lines 60-62 – “data link layer implemented by network card device driver, and the transport and network layers implemented as a transport protocol driver”; Col. 7, lines 38-39 – “Application Programming Interface (API) is a set of subroutines provided by one software component”; Col. 10, lines 34-40 – “The transport protocol driver 100 then sends or transfers the packet to the integrating component 102 at step 140 by making a subroutine call […] the integrating component 102 will send of transfer the packet to the network card device driver at step 142”; Claim 1 – “protocol driver; a device driver; an integrating driver that interfaces with the protocol driver and the device driver using defined APIs”).
Hyder is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that the API call is performed by the first wireless computing resource, i.e., the transport layer, as taught by Hyder. The methods of Hyder including the integrating component (an API) which is called by a driver of a transport layer (the “first computing resource”) to transfer data to the driver of a link layer to be sent over a network provides the benefit of allowing transport protocol drivers and network card drivers to be developed more efficiently, and allow communication with any available transport protocol (Hyder: Col. 3, lines 45-65).
Claims 8-9, 12, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claims 1, 10, and 26, and further in view of Kaltenberger et al. (NPL Document: OpenAirInterface: Democratizing innovation in the 5G Era), hereinafter Kaltenberger.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein:
the first and second wireless computing resources are associated with a fifth generation (Francini: [0019] – “The communication system 100 includes […] a wireless access device (WAD) 120 […] communication system 100 may be provided using cellular wireless technology (e.g., Third Generation (3G) wireless technology, Fourth Generation (4G) wireless technology such as Long Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G) wireless technology, or the like)”; [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer. […] The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device (rather than between an application layer and a transport layer).”);
the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer (Francini: FIG. 2B, first layer = transport layer 224S);
the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer (Francini: FIG. 2B, second layer = link layer 222C);
one or more functions corresponding to the API call associated with the third layer (Francini: FIG. 2B, third layer = client socket API 215S [0042] – “the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions.”); and
the third layer is located between the first and second layers (Francini: [0061] – “The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device (rather than between an application layer and a transport layer).” Client socket API 215S provides an interface between link layer 222C and transport layer 224S at the wireless access device 120.).
Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach fifth generation new radio (5G-NR).
However, Kaltenberger teaches fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) (Page 2: "5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G-NR)."; The 5G release included both the new core network and radio interface, 5G-NR.; Page 6: “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. […] The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”.)
Kaltenberger is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the 5G computing resources (e.g., layers of the communication protocol stack of WAD 120) in the communication system provided by 5G wireless technology as taught by Francini (Francini: [0018]) could be considered 5G-NR computing resources as claimed, since 5G-NR was part of the 5G release as taught by Kaltenberger (Kaltenberger: page 2).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further to, in response to the API call:
transfer information between a first layer and a second layer corresponding to a fifth generation (Francini: [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer. […] The client socket API of the wireless access device communicates data, between the networked client transport layer socket for the mobile host device and the application layer of the mobile host device, based on interaction with the link layer (e.g., receiving data provided by the link layer for communications sourced by the application layer of the mobile host device and providing data for the link layer for communications intended for delivery to the application layer of the mobile host device). The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device”; [0019] – “The communication system 100 may be provided using various types of underlying wireless technologies and, therefore, the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 may be configured to support various types of underlying wireless technologies (e.g., in terms of the implementation of certain layers of the communication protocol stacks 114 and 124 of the MHD 110 and the WAD 120, respectively). For example, communication system 100 may be provided using cellular wireless technology (e.g., Third Generation (3G) wireless technology, Fourth Generation (4G) wireless technology such as Long Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G) wireless technology, or the like)”), wherein the second wireless computing resource associated with the second layer requests an operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols (Francini: [0049] – “In FIG. 2B, the client socket API 215 is configured such that data of the application layer 216 of the MHD 110 (e.g., sourced by the application layer 216 or intended for delivery to the application layer 216), […] is passed between the application layer 216 of the MHD 110 and the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) which is hosted within the WAD 120 on behalf of the MHD 110) via the link layer connection 240B that is running over a physical connection between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120”; [0050] – “communication primitives of the client socket API 215 may include primitive rules for controlling manipulation of data (e.g., encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by the application layer 216 for transmission toward the server 130, encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by server 130 and that is intended for delivery to the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, or the like), primitive messages and associated primitive message formats that are configured to transport data of the application layer 216”; [0051] – “in a direction of transmission from the application layer 216 of the MHD 110 toward the application layer 236 of the server 130, communication of the application data of the application layer 216 of MHD 110 may be performed as follows. The client socket API-north 215N running on MHD 110 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 212 of the MHD 110.” FIG. 2B – the MHD 110 is connected to the reliable link layer of the WAD 120 (the “second layer”), therefore the MHD 110 can be considered analogous to the “second computing resource associated with the second layer”, including the application client of the MHD 110 which uses the client socket API 215 to send data to the server 130 via the WAD 120 – which can be “requested” by an application as evidenced by the send() socket API call of Bach relied upon in claim 1. The “different transport protocols” include the protocol specifying the format of the socket API primitives as described in [0050] and as evidenced by Bach.); and
cause the first wireless computing resource associated with the first layer to perform the operation associated with the one or more different transport protocols (Francini: [0051] – “The physical layer 211 of the MHD 110 receives the link layer data structures from the reliable link layer 212 of the MHD 110 and transmits the link layer data structures from the MHD 110 toward WAD 120 wirelessly via the wireless communication link 140. The physical layer 221 of the WAD 120 receives the link layer data structures of the reliable link layer 212 of the MHD 110 wirelessly via the wireless communication link 140. The physical layer 221 of the WAD 120 provides the link layer data structures of the reliable link layer 212 of the MHD 110 to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the link layer data structures of the reliable link layer 212 of the MHD 110 from the physical layer 221 of the WAD 120, processes the link layer data structures of the reliable link layer 212 of the MHD 110 to recover the primitive messages included therein (which, as previously discussed, may vary for different types of link layers, such as cellular, WiFi, or the like), and provides the primitive messages to the client socket API-south 215S running on the WAD 120. […]The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the primitive messages from the reliable link layer 222C of WAD 120, extracts the application data of the application layer 216 of MHD 110 from the primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215, and provides the application data of the application layer 216 of MHD 110 to the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) of the WAD 120 for transport to the server 130 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection).” The API causes the transport layer socket of transport layer 224S to send data to the server 130 (the operation requested by the application client on MHD 110 that is associated with a send socket API call, e.g. “sendto()” or “write()”, as evidenced by Bach).).
Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach fifth generation new radio (5G-NR).
However, Kaltenberger teaches fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) (Page 2: "5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G-NR)."; The 5G release included both the new core network and radio interface, 5G-NR.; Page 6: “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. […] The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”.)
Kaltenberger is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the 5G computing resources (e.g., layers of the communication protocol stack of WAD 120) in the communication system provided by 5G wireless technology as taught by Francini (Francini: [0018]) could be considered 5G-NR computing resources as claimed, since 5G-NR was part of the 5G release as taught by Kaltenberger (Kaltenberger: page 2).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the system of claim 10, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a first layer (Francini: FIG. 2B, transport layer 224S) and a second layer (Francini: FIG. 2B, link layer 222C) of a fifth generation (Francini: [0019] – “The communication system 100 includes […] a wireless access device (WAD) 120 […] communication system 100 may be provided using cellular wireless technology (e.g., Third Generation (3G) wireless technology, Fourth Generation (4G) wireless technology such as Long Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G) wireless technology, or the like)”; [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer. […] The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device (rather than between an application layer and a transport layer).”); and
the first layer and second layer are each associated with a different transport protocol (Francini: [0051] – “networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) of the WAD 120 for transport to the server 130 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection)”; [0045] - "where the link layer connection 240B is provided using LTE, the link layer connection 240B is called a radio bearer or simply a bearer and the reliable link layer (namely, the reliable link layer 212 of MHD 110 and the reliable link layer 222C of WAD 120) may be divided into three sub-layers which are referred to as the Medium Access Control (MAC) sub-layer, the Radio Link Control (RLC) sub-layer, and the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) sub-layer."; [0052] – “where the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 is provided using LTE, the reliable link layer 222C may place the primitive messages into PDCP PDUs”).
Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach fifth generation new radio (5G-NR).
However, Kaltenberger teaches fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) (Page 2: "5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G-NR)."; The 5G release included both the new core network and radio interface, 5G-NR.; Page 6: “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. […] The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”.)
Kaltenberger is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the 5G computing resources (e.g., layers of the communication protocol stack of WAD 120) in the communication system provided by 5G wireless technology as taught by Francini (Francini: [0018]) could be considered 5G-NR computing resources as claimed, since 5G-NR was part of the 5G release as taught by Kaltenberger (Kaltenberger: page 2).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between two layers of a fifth generation (Francini: [0019] – “The communication system 100 includes […] a wireless access device (WAD) 120 […] communication system 100 may be provided using cellular wireless technology (e.g., Third Generation (3G) wireless technology, Fourth Generation (4G) wireless technology such as Long Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G) wireless technology, or the like)”; [0052] – “In FIG. 2B, in a direction of transmission from the application layer 236 of the server 130 toward the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, communication of the application data of the application layer 236 of the server 230 may be performed as follows. The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120."; [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer. [...] The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device (rather than between an application layer and a transport layer)." FIG. 2B, "two layers" = transport layer 224S and link layer 222C on the wireless access device 120), wherein one layer is associated with the one or more transport protocols (Francini: [0051] – “networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) of the WAD 120 for transport to the server 130 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection)” ) and the other layer is associated with the one or more different transport protocols (Francini: [0052] – “where the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 is provided using LTE, the reliable link layer 222C may place the primitive messages into PDCP PDUs” The reliable link layer uses the primitive messages, which have rules and a format, i.e., a protocol, for the data as disclosed in [0050], and thus the reliable link layer is associated with the protocol of the primitive messages.); and
a function associated with the API call is located in a third layer (Francini: FIG. 2B, client socket API 215S; [0042] – “the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions”; [0061] – “the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e.g., a reliable link layer), and a physical layer.”).
Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach fifth generation new radio (5G-NR).
However, Kaltenberger teaches fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) (Page 2: "5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G-NR)."; The 5G release included both the new core network and radio interface, 5G-NR.; Page 6: “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. […] The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”.)
Kaltenberger is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the 5G computing resources (e.g., layers of the communication protocol stack of WAD 120) in the communication system provided by 5G wireless technology as taught by Francini (Francini: [0018]) could be considered 5G-NR computing resources as claimed, since 5G-NR was part of the 5G release as taught by Kaltenberger (Kaltenberger: page 2).
Claims 14 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claims 10 and 26, and further in view of Lebin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0385252), hereinafter Lebin.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Francini in view Bach teaches the system of claim 10, wherein a function corresponding to the API call (Francini: [0042] – “the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions”).
The combination of Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach the function is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call.
However, Lebin teaches the function corresponding to an API call is embedded within another function corresponding to another API call ([0025] – “API calls may be nested multiple layers deep”; [0038] – “at least one subroutine called by the API, at runtime, for example by using an API call graph 506 identifying a sequence of API calls, […] A call by an API to subroutine can be in the form of a subsequent API call.” [0043] – “Each called API server may in turn call additional APIs, and this execution flow can be nested many levels deep."; [0045] – “A multi-API call transaction comprises a call to an initial API, and calls made to subsequent APIs by the initial API and by other subsequent APIs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7, API 1 calls API 2, which in turn calls APIs 3 and 4”. A call to an API may have a nested call to another API, e.g., to a subroutine (“function”) of another API.).
Lebin is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using APIs to facilitate an information transfer. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that the API is embedded within another API as taught by Lebin. Embedding API calls within other API calls allows for the isolation of different functionalities of a complex API call to be split into many API calls (Lebin: [0043]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, wherein one or more functions associated with the API call (Francini: [0042] – “the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions”).
The combination of Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach the one or more functions are embedded within another function.
However, Lebin teaches a function corresponding to an API call is embedded within another function ([0025] – “API calls may be nested multiple layers deep”; [0038] – “at least one subroutine called by the API, at runtime, for example by using an API call graph 506 identifying a sequence of API calls, […] A call by an API to subroutine can be in the form of a subsequent API call.” [0043] – “Each called API server may in turn call additional APIs, and this execution flow can be nested many levels deep."; [0045] – “A multi-API call transaction comprises a call to an initial API, and calls made to subsequent APIs by the initial API and by other subsequent APIs. In the example illustrated in FIG. 7, API 1 calls API 2, which in turn calls APIs 3 and 4”. A call to an API (e.g. a function of an API) may have a nested call to another API.).
Lebin is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using APIs to facilitate an information transfer. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that the API is embedded within another API as taught by Lebin. Embedding API calls within other API calls allows for the isolation of different functionalities of a complex API call to be split into many API calls (Lebin: [0043]).
Claims 16, 25 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claims 10, 18, and 26, and further in view of Young (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0320850).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the system of claim 10, but fails to teach the system further comprising: a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource, wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource.
However, Young teaches a network orchestrator configured to identify one or more transport profiles supported by the first wireless computing resource ([0039] – “Service orchestration and transport path management section 305 may include a service orchestrator (SO) 325, an analytics engine 330, a network functions virtual orchestrator (NFVO) 335"; [0043] – “SO 325 may generate and send a message to SIDC 345 that instructs SIDC 345 to identify one or more network infrastructures that are candidates for relocating the current transport path to maintain the SLA for the application service. In one implementation, the message may include service requirements including SLA requirements and/or service profiles associated with the application service."; [0044] – “SIDC 345 may include an infrastructure catalog 370 that stores network infrastructure profiles that provide transport paths for a corresponding particular service profile. In one implementation, infrastructure catalog 370 obtains the network infrastructure profiles from an inventory database 375 which orders the network infrastructure profiles based on a deployment preference value associated with each of the network infrastructure profiles." Network infrastructure profiles of network service infrastructures (implemented across 5G-NR "wireless computing resources" such as base stations in RAN 120 - see [0019] and [0026]) provide transport paths, making them "transport profiles".), wherein the network orchestrator is to deploy the second wireless computing resource for use with the first wireless computing resource ([0044] – “In one implementation, deployment preference values include abstracted "distances " between nodes in a transport path associated with a network infrastructure. For example, PCE 350 may calculate a logical "distance " which may be a function of latency, inversely proportional to bandwidth, inversely proportional to reliability, etc. In one implementation, the calculated distances are based on the build of the network (e.g., size of the circuit), the current usage (e.g., based on monitoring), and expected usage (e.g., based on projected use of yet-to-be deployed services). [...] PCE 350 provides the alternative network service infrastructures to SIDC 345 as candidates for maintaining service availability at SLA requirements in response to a detected and/or projected outage and/or congested network conditions."; [0046]-[0047] – “SIDC 345 may select one or more alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures based on some or all of the above data. [...] NFVO 335 may, based on instructions received from SO 325, deploy the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures to orchestrate within data transport section 310." The alternative network service infrastructures ("wireless computing resources") that meet the requirements in the profiles are deployed with each other to orchestrate within data transport section (“for use”).).
Young is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of transferring information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach to include a network orchestrator configured to identify transport profiles supported by a wireless computing resource and configured to deploy another of the wireless computing resources configured with an identified transport profile as taught by Young. Identifying network infrastructure profiles and deploying alternative network infrastructures corresponding to the identified profiles ensures service availability is maintained in a 5G wireless network (Young: [0044]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, but fails to teach wherein the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource.
However, Young teaches wherein the first wireless computing resource has been configured with a transport profile supported by the second wireless computing resource ([0040] – “SLA database 360 may store and maintain service requirement profiles for network customers (e.g., UE 110). Each service requirement profile describes a particular network customer's network service performance requirements.”; [0044] – “SIDC 345 may include an infrastructure catalog 370 that stores network infrastructure profiles that provide transport paths for a corresponding particular service profile. In one implementation, infrastructure catalog 370 obtains the network infrastructure profiles from an inventory database 375 which orders the network infrastructure profiles based on a deployment preference value associated with each of the network infrastructure profiles. […] In one implementation, deployment preference values include abstracted "distances " between nodes in a transport path associated with a network infrastructure. For example, PCE 350 may calculate a logical "distance " which may be a function of latency, inversely proportional to bandwidth, inversely proportional to reliability, etc. In one implementation, the calculated distances are based on the build of the network (e. g. , size of the circuit), the current usage (e.g., based on monitoring), and expected usage (e.g., based on projected use of yet-to- be deployed services). [...] PCE 350 provides the alternative network service infrastructures to SIDC 345 as candidates for maintaining service availability at SLA requirements in response to a detected and/or projected outage and/or congested network conditions."; [0045] – “SIDC 345 may identify infrastructure design parameters associated with physical and virtual components of a particular network infrastructure. [...] The configuration of the multiple transport networks may include design parameters that detail the physical and virtual configuration of each transport network 320 and how they interconnect."; [0046]-[0047] – “SIDC 345 may select one or more alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures based on some or all of the above data. [...] NFVO 335 may, based on instructions received from SO 325, deploy the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures to orchestrate within data transport section 310. A transport controller may, based on the instructions from SO 325, initiate configuration of transport networks 320 to support the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures." Network service infrastructures (implemented across "computing resources" such as base stations in wireless network RAN 120 – see [0008], [0019] and [0026]) which allows UE 110 to wirelessly connect, are configured and deployed to provide transport paths, making them "transport profiles".).
Young is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of transferring information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach to include a network orchestrator configured to identify transport profiles supported by a wireless computing resource and configured to deploy another of the wireless computing resources configured with an identified transport profile as taught by Young. Identifying network infrastructure profiles and deploying alternative network infrastructures corresponding to the identified profiles ensures service availability is maintained in a 5G wireless network (Young: [0044]).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, but fails to teach further comprising: configuring the first wireless computing resource with transport profiles supported by the second wireless computing resource.
However, Young teaches configuring the first wireless computing resource with transport profiles supported by the second wireless computing resource ([0040] – “SLA database 360 may store and maintain service requirement profiles for network customers (e.g., UE 110). Each service requirement profile describes a particular network customer's network service performance requirements.”; [0044] – “SIDC 345 may include an infrastructure catalog 370 that stores network infrastructure profiles that provide transport paths for a corresponding particular service profile. In one implementation, infrastructure catalog 370 obtains the network infrastructure profiles from an inventory database 375 which orders the network infrastructure profiles based on a deployment preference value associated with each of the network infrastructure profiles. […] In one implementation, deployment preference values include abstracted "distances " between nodes in a transport path associated with a network infrastructure. For example, PCE 350 may calculate a logical "distance " which may be a function of latency, inversely proportional to bandwidth, inversely proportional to reliability, etc. In one implementation, the calculated distances are based on the build of the network (e. g. , size of the circuit), the current usage (e.g., based on monitoring), and expected usage (e.g., based on projected use of yet-to- be deployed services). [...] PCE 350 provides the alternative network service infrastructures to SIDC 345 as candidates for maintaining service availability at SLA requirements in response to a detected and/or projected outage and/or congested network conditions."; [0045] – “SIDC 345 may identify infrastructure design parameters associated with physical and virtual components of a particular network infrastructure. [...] The configuration of the multiple transport networks may include design parameters that detail the physical and virtual configuration of each transport network 320 and how they interconnect."; [0046]-[0047] – “SIDC 345 may select one or more alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures based on some or all of the above data. [...] NFVO 335 may, based on instructions received from SO 325, deploy the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures to orchestrate within data transport section 310. A transport controller may, based on the instructions from SO 325, initiate configuration of transport networks 320 to support the alternative network service infrastructures and/or sub-infrastructures." Network service infrastructures (implemented across "computing resources" such as base stations in wireless network RAN 120 – see [0008], [0019] and [0026]) which allows UE 110 to wirelessly connect, are configured and deployed to provide transport paths, making them "transport profiles".).
Young is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of transferring information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach to include a network orchestrator configured to identify transport profiles supported by a wireless computing resource and configured to deploy another of the wireless computing resources configured with identified transport profiles as taught by Young. Identifying network infrastructure profiles and deploying alternative network infrastructures corresponding to the identified profiles ensures service availability is maintained in a 5G wireless network (Young: [0044]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Kaltenberger and Safranek et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,751,714), hereinafter Safranek.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein:
the data is to be transferred between a physical layer and a data link layer of a fifth generation (Francini: [0019] – “The communication system 100 includes […] a wireless access device (WAD) 120 […] communication system 100 may be provided using cellular wireless technology (e.g., Third Generation (3G) wireless technology, Fourth Generation (4G) wireless technology such as Long Term Evolution (LTE), Fifth Generation (5G) wireless technology, or the like)”; [0052] – “In FIG. 2B, in a direction of transmission from the application layer 236 of the server 130 toward the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, communication of the application data of the application layer 236 of the server 230 may be performed as follows. The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215s running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222c of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222c (which, as previously discussed, may vary for different types of link layers, such as cellular, WiFi, or the like), and passes the link layer data structures including the primitive messages to the physical layer 221 of the WAD 120."; [0061] - "the wireless access device runs a communication protocol stack. The communication protocol stack includes a transport layer, a client socket API, a link layer (e. g. , a reliable link layer), and a physical layer. [...] The client socket API of the wireless access device provides an interface between the networked client transport layer socket of the server-facing transport layer and the link layer at the wireless access device (rather than between an application layer and a transport layer).")
Francini in view of Bach fails to expressly teach fifth generation new radio (5G-NR), and that data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols.
However, Kaltenberger teaches fifth generation new radio (5G-NR) (Page 2: "5G is also known by Release 15 of 3GPP. This release includes a brand new core network and radio interface, called 5G New Radio (5G-NR)."; The 5G release included both the new core network and radio interface, 5G-NR.; Page 6: “Control Plane Network Functions in the 5G system architecture are based on the service based architecture. […] The protocol stack for the service based interfaces is Application/HTTP2/TLS/TCP/IP/L2”.)
Kaltenberger is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of using an API to transfer information between wireless computing resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the 5G computing resources (e.g., layers of the communication protocol stack of WAD 120) in the communication system provided by 5G wireless technology as taught by Francini (Francini: [0018]) could be considered 5G-NR computing resources as claimed, since 5G-NR was part of the 5G release as taught by Kaltenberger (Kaltenberger: page 2).
The combination of Francini in view of Bach and Kaltenberger fails to teach the data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols.
However, Safranek teaches data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols (Abstract – “A QPI link layer to PCIe physical layer interface is employed to abstract the QPI link, routing, and protocol layers from the underlying PCIe physical layer (and corresponding PCIe interface circuitry), enabling QPI protocol messages to be employed over PCIe hardware.”; Col. 6, lines 20-22 – “an interface between the QPI Link layer and the PCIe PHY layer is employed”; Claim 1 – “the PCIe interface circuitry including, circuitry and logic to implement a PCIe Physical Layer (PHY) including a PCIe PHY logical sub-layer and a PCIe PHY electrical sublayer; logic to implement a protocol layer, routing layer and link layer for a QuickPath Interconnect (QPI) protocol over the PCIe PHY; logic to implement an interface between the QPI link layer and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer under which the QPI link layer interface comprises a 160-bit (160b) interface and the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface comprises a 128-bit (128b) interface; a transmit port including logic to implement a 160b to 128b conversion to interface data to be transmitted via the PCIe PHY from the QPI link layer interface to the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface; and a receive port including logic to implement a 128b to 160b conversion to interface data received at the receive port via the PCIe PHY from the PCIe PHY logical sub-layer interface to the QPI link layer interface, wherein the at least two processors are configured to implement the QPI protocol using corresponding QPI messaging sent over PCIe interconnect and interface circuitry to support coherent memory transactions in the system.” The logic (i.e., software) which implements an interface that abstracts between the PCIe physical layer and the QPI data link layer is analogous to the claimed “transport abstraction layer” which is associated with multiple transport protocols (PCIe and QPI).).
Safranek is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of abstracting multiple transport protocols such that software and/or hardware of the physical layer is able to respond to requests from higher layers in the protocol stack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the 5G-NR network protocol stack in which data is transferred between a data link layer and a physical layer as taught by Francini in view of Bach and Kaltenberger such that the data is transferred using a transport abstraction layer between the physical and data link layers, wherein the transport abstraction layer is based, at least in part, on multiple transport protocols as taught by Safranek. Safranek teaches doing so would enable a different protocol of the higher layers, e.g., QPI, comprising additional features not natively supported by PCIe to be implemented on systems employing an industry standard PCIe interface (Safranek: Col. 1, line 42-Col. 2, line 3).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach as applied to claim 26, and further in view of ROY et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0044165), hereinafter ROY.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches the method of claim 26, but fails to expressly teach wherein: the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method.
However, ROY teaches the storage is further to be used as part of a zero copy buffer method ([0048] - "one or more data transfers may potentially be implemented, partially or entirely, with a zero-copy transfer. In some embodiments, performing a zero copy transfer may involve, for example, transferring data between a target and a memory of a client using a memory access protocol (e.g., RDMA), For example, in some embodiments, one or more data transfers may be implemented with a zero-copy transfer by transferring data directly to a memory of a receiving device (e.g., memory 120 illustrated in FIG. 1 and/or buffer 251 illustrated in FIG. 2).").
ROY is considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of transferring data between wireless computing resources using an API. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Francini in view of Bach such that the storage is further to be used as part of a zero-copy buffer method as taught by ROY. Using a data transfer method such as a zero-copy buffer method as taught by ROY allows for the transfer of data with relatively low overhead and/or latency (ROY: [0021]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/20/2026 regarding the double patenting rejection of claims 1-35 (see page 13 of the Remarks filed 7/20/2025) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant must file a terminal disclaimer as a complete and proper response to a double patenting rejection. Applicant’s statement of filing a terminal disclaimer upon allowance is not a proper response. See MPEP 804. A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by the Applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 10, 18, and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francini in view of Bach on pages 14-16 of the remarks filed 7/20/2026 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the combination of Francini in view of Bach fails to teach "identify one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols" and "perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols," as recited by amended claim 1.
Examiner disagrees. Francini teaches one or more operations to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols ([0042] – “the client socket API-north 215N endpoint on the MHD 110 may be configured to provide various socket API functions and, similarly, the client socket API-south 215s endpoint on the WAD 120 may be configured to provide various socket API functions. In this case, the client socket API 215 (again, both client socket API-north 215N and client socket API-south 215s), as discussed further below, is configured to support a set of communication primitives configured to support communication between the application layer 216 of the MHD 110 and the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224s) that is hosted by the WAD 120 on behalf of the MHD 110.”; [0050] – “The communication primitives of the client socket API 215 may include primitive rules for controlling manipulation of data (e.g., encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by the application layer 216 for transmission toward the server 130, encapsulation and decapsulation of application data that is sourced by server 130 and that is intended for delivery to the application layer 216 of the MHD 110, or the like), primitive messages and associated primitive message formats that are configured to transport data of the application layer 216, or the like, as well as various combinations thereof.” The various socket API functions (“one or more operations”) provided by the client socket API support the set of communication primitives (i.e., the primitive messages which adhere to a format configured to transport data, i.e., a “transport protocol” as described in [0050]) to support communication of data (“to be used to transfer the data corresponding to the one or more different transport protocols”, where the protocol to which the primitive messages of the socket API adhere to are the claimed “one or more different transport protocols”); and
perform the one or more operations to cause the data to be transferred from the storage to the second wireless computing resource using the one or more different transport protocols ([0041]-[0042] – communication of the data is based on the client socket API functionality (i.e., the “socket API functions” provided by the client socket API which are the “one or more operations”), and necessarily on performing the client socket API functionality; [0052] – “The server 130 transmits the application data to the WAD 120 via the transport layer connection 250B between the WAD 120 and the server 130 (illustratively, a TCP connection). The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 receives the application data from the networked client transport layer socket (transport layer 224S) on the WAD 120. The client socket API-south 215S running on WAD 120 places the application data into primitive messages supported by the client socket API 215 and passes the primitive messages including the application data to the reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120. The reliable link layer 222C of the WAD 120 receives the primitive messages, places the primitive messages into link layer data structures supported by the reliable link layer 222C”; [0056] – “a given primitive message sent by the client socket API-south 215s running on the WAD 120 has been successfully delivered to the client socket API-north 215N running on the MHD 110 when the given primitive message is removed from a link layer buffer of the WAD 120.”; [0022] – “The buffer 123 is configured to store, in various forms as may be provided or supported at various communication layers of communication protocol stack 124, both data communicated or intended for communication between the MHD 110 and the WAD 120 and data communicated or intended for communication between the WAD 120 and the server 130.” The application data (data communicated between the WAD 120 and server 130 which was stored in buffer 123, e.g., when it is received via the TCP socket at the WAD 120) is placed into the primitive messages, which adhere to a transport protocol as described in [0050], and transferred to the reliable link layer 222C for transmission toward the MHD 110.).
Francini fails to expressly teach identify the one or more operations to be used to transfer the data.
However Bach teaches in response to an API call, identify the one or more operations to be used to transfer the data (Col. 2, lines 49-65 – “The sockets API defines the format and parameter content of the commands an application program uses to establish communications with another application. […] The defined API functions cause the operating system to issue the necessary commands to establish a communications link and to exchange data over that link.”; Col. 5, lines 2-9 – “The API accepts messages from the Application 310 to the session/datalink 312 […] transforms the session layer message received from session/datalink 312 to the physical form required by network 316 using defined transport, network, and datalink protocols.”; Col. 7, lines 11-13 – “The standard sockets API has a set of commands to establish the application to application socket connection and to transfer data between the connected applications.”; Col. 9, lines 2-24 – “FIG. 10 illustrates the communication flow when a socket "write()" API command is issued by an application in a host processor. The "write()" API is issued by either a client or server process to pass data across the network to be read by the connected process. […] The application issues a "write()" socket API command with associated data 1006. The DSL process according to the present invention, builds a distributed sockets interface (DSI) header 1008 and attaches it to the data before passing it to the channel program. The header consists of a standard protocol header used to communicate between the DSL and DSM and a command specific header that is specific to the API command issued. […] DSM builds the API call and causes a "write()" with the necessary data to be placed on the TCP/IP protocol stack.”; Col. 11, lines 4-5 – “When an application issues a "sendto()" (UDP) or "write()" (TCP) api call, the DSL builds a send request and sends it” The API call itself, e.g. an API function, identifies one or more operations (e.g., “write”) to be used and performed to transfer data. Further, this operation is “identified” in the command specific header attached to the data that is specific to the API command described in Col. 9, lines 2-24.). Further, Bach explicitly teaches a socket API uses a protocol for exchanging data (Col. 2, lines 49-65 – “application program 108 communicates via the network using an Application programming interface (API). The sockets protocol is one of the more prevalent application to application APIs. […] The sockets API defines the format and parameter content of the commands an application program uses to establish communications with another application. It defines the API for both client and server applications and for connection-less and connection-based links. The defined API functions cause the operating system to issue the necessary commands to establish a communications link and to exchange data over that link.”; Col. 1, lines 41-44 – “Communications between client and server application takes place according to a defined network protocol. A protocol is a set of rules and conventions used by the applications participating in a conversation.”).
See the rejection of claim 1 in the section titled Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 regarding the motivation to combine the references.
Accordingly, the combination of Francini in view of Bach teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 10, 18, and 26.
No additional arguments are presented with respect to claims 2-9, 11-17, 19-25, and 27-35.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shevenell et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0014010) teaches APIs provided by software-defined networking (SDN) implementations to facilitate programmatic interactions with networking hardware, where a management interface can be used to send messages to the network component via the API, which can be implemented using standard web service protocols, and the SDN interface identifies a particular adapter in response to a received message based on the message destination, where the adapter transforms the message into a particular format, e.g. a particular protocol, compatible with the message destination according to operations specific to the message and send the message (see [0003], [0090]-[0099]).
Sinha et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0126614) teaches receiving an API request, wherein the request indicates a plurality of operations to be performed, and wherein the request is in accordance with a first communication protocol; identifying a first operation of the plurality of operations based on the request, wherein the first operation is in accordance with a second communication protocol that is supported by a second computer system, and wherein the second communication protocol is different from the first communication protocol; and performing, by the second computer system, the identified first operation (see claim 1, [0009]-[0010]).
Wittenschlaeger et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0200873) teaches an abstraction layer that transmits resource data from a physical layer to the data link layer and instruction data from the data link layer to the physical layer, where the abstraction layer provides a set of APIs (see [0058], [0065], and Claim 16).
Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,889,258) teaches a “hardware abstraction interface layer” between a data link layer and physical layer of a protocol stack, the hardware abstraction interface layer comprising an application programming interface configured for separating hardware from software of the protocol stack (see claim 1, Col. 8, lines 14-35).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER MARIE GUTMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2194 /KEVIN L YOUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2194