This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 10/15/2025
Claims 34-35 and 37-38 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/30/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Applicant’s Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 34-35 and 37-38 in the reply filed on 10/15/2025 is acknowledged. Therefore, previously restricted claims 1-6, 12-15, 17, 18, and 21-24 belonging to group I are now withdrawn from consideration. Applicant should provide a new set of claims with the proper status identifier stating “Withdrawn” to the withdrawn claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 34 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Meisam Askari, NPL “Additive manufacturing of metamaterials: A review”, Published: 12 September 2020, (hereafter Meisam).
Regarding claim 34. Meisam teaches a gradient refractive index (GRIN) device (Page 17, fig 24, spherical acoustic metamaterial structures)(Page 17, Col 1, Graded index acoustic, GRIN lens), comprising:
a plurality of triply periodic minimal surface (TPMS) constructs (Page 18, Col 2, Par 2, nickel hollow triply periodic minimal surface (TPMS)); and
one or more materials having a tailored dielectric constant (Page 4, Col 1, Par 5-6, metamaterials that can operate in these regions, dielectric constant was reduced by introducing air packets, invisibility cloaks have been fabricated using FDM, thus metamaterials having reduced dielectric constant was used to produce a GRIN that can exhibit total absorption, therefore the metamaterials dielectric constant was tailored to produce a GRIN that can exhibit total absorption).
Regarding claim 37. Meisam teaches the device of claim 34, wherein a wall thickness of at least one TPMS construct of the plurality of TPMS constructs has a changing thickness across its length (Page 21, Fig 31 F,G,I, show a changing thickness across its length)(Page 21, fig 32a, single unit cell structure, having wall thickness).
Regarding claim 38. Meisam teaches the device of claim 34, wherein a wall thickness of the plurality of TPMS constructs changes across a length of the GRIN device (Page 21, fig 32d, structure having different unit cell, and wall thickness)(Page 17, Luneburg lens, GRIN)(Page 26, Fig 42, pink image shows the changes in wall thickness of the plurality of TPMS constructs across the length of the GRIN device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meisam Askari, NPL “Additive manufacturing of metamaterials: A review”, Published: 12 September 2020, (hereafter Meisam), in views of I. Maskery, NPL, “Insights into the mechanical properties of several triply periodic minimal surface lattice structures made by polymer additive manufacturing”, Published: 15 December 2017 (hereafter Maskery).
Regarding claim 35. Meisam teaches the device of claim 34, wherein the plurality of TPMS constructs (Page 20, fig 29, 3D printed polymetric micro-lattices)(Page 17, fig 24, cubic structure having gyroids).
Meisam does not teach further comprise one or more gyroids.
Maskery teaches one or more gyroids (Page 66, fig 4, multiple gyroids).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meisam to incorporate the teachings of Maskery to have gyroids as TPMS because gyroid and diamond lattices deformed in a bending dominated manner, it would create better informed lattice designs, thus one type of TPMS could be replace by another (Maskery, Par 62, abstract)
Conclusion
/A.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2189
/REHANA PERVEEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2189