Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are amended. Examiner affirms that the original disclosure provides adequate support for the amendment.
Upon considering said amendment and arguments, the previous rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 set forth in the Office action mailed 03/26/2026 has/have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yano et al. (US20230202345A1, effective filing date 2020-09-15) in view of Yamada et al. (US20220077536A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yano discloses a conductive module, comprising:
a (first) FPC (39A, “flexible printed board”) that is configured to be mounted on a (first) battery module (10) ([0083], FIG. 2) in which a plurality of battery cells (2, “battery stack”) are arranged in an arrangement direction (“stacking direction”) ([0064], FIG. 4), and is provided with a flat laminated body formed of a plurality of conductors (19, “voltage detection lines”, 45,“inner wires”) and an insulator
having flexibility ([0049-0052]);
a first connector (38, “connector”) mounted on a first end (see annotations, Annotated Yano FIG. 2 below) of the FPC (39A) ([0084, FIG. 2); and
Annotated Yano FIG. 2
a second connector (“47, “relay connector”) mounted on a second end of the FPC ([0055], FIGs. 2, 4), wherein the plurality of conductors includes:
a first conductor (19, “voltage detection line”) ([0083]) that is configured to electrically connect the battery cells to a battery monitoring unit (6, “cell monitor circuit”) for monitoring a battery status of the battery cells ([0084], FIGs. 2, 4), and
a second conductor (45, “inner wire”) that is configured to electrically connect the battery monitoring unit (6) ([0086]) to electrical equipment housed in an external electrical connection box (another battery module 10, [0063], FIG. 1), as the conductors (19, 45),
the first connector (38) is configured to be fitted and connected to a counterpart connector (37, “connection terminals”) of the battery monitoring unit (6) and that is configured to electrically connect the first conductor (19) and the second conductor (45) to the battery monitoring unit (6) ([0084, 0086], FIG. 2),
the second connector (47) is configured to be fitted and connected to a counterpart connector (shown on communication line 44, Annotated Yano FIG. 2) disposed on the electrical connection box side and is configured to electrically connect the second conductor (45) to the electrical equipment ([0055], FIG. 2, [0053], FIG. 1),
the first conductor (19) includes a first end that is connected onto the first connector (38) ([0084], Annotated Yano FIG. 2) and a second end that is configured to be (electrically) connected to a respective one of the battery cells (1) ([0064]), the second end of the first conductor (19) is spaced away from the first connector (38) and the second connector (47) (Annotated Yano FIG. 2), and
the second conductor (45) includes a first end that is connected onto the first connector (38) ([0068]) and a second end that is connected onto the second connector (47) ([0055], Annotated Yano FIG. 2).
The FPC includes a main body (see shaded area, Annotated Yano FIG. 2 Inset below) that extends in the arrangement direction (“stacking direction”) from the first end of the FPC (39A) to the second end of the FPC (39A) ([0086], Annotated Yano FIG. 2 Inset) and a branch body (see circled area) that includes a first portion that extends away from the main body in a second direction that intersects the arrangement direction (i.e., the stacking direction) (Annotated Yano FIG. 2 Inset), reading on limitations of claim 1 clauses 10-13, and includes a branch body end, which is located between the first connector (38) and the second connector (47) in the arrangement direction reading on some limitations of claim 1 clause 14.
However, the branch body of Yano’s disclosure fails to read on the entirety of claim 1; Yano’s branch body end is illustrated terminating in the second direction, not in the arrangement direction, and is not spaced away from the first portion in the arrangement direction (see claim 1 clause 14). Yano’s branch body also fails to include a second portion that extends from the first portion to the branch body end in the arrangement direction, where the second portion is spaced away from the main body in the second direction (see claim 1 clause 15), and the second end of the first conductor (19) is located on the first portion of the branch body, thus differing from claim 1 (see clause 16).
Annotated Yano FIG. 2 inset
Yamada (US20220077536A1), analogous as a conductive module comprising an FPC (10) configured for a battery module (1) (Yamada [0025], FIG. 1), teaches an FPC (10) including a main body (68) that extends in the arrangement direction of the FPC (10) ([0031-0033], FIG. 1) and a branch body (68a-68k, “main body portion”, 48, “longitudinal extending portion”) formed from a first portion (68a-68k, “main body portion”) extending away from the main body (68) in a second direction (a width direction) ([0031-0033], FIG. 1, see Annotated Yamada FIG. 5 below).
Annotated Yamada FIG. 5
A branch body end is also formed where the branch body terminates (Yamada [0041], FIG. 1, Annotated Yamada FIG. 5); when terminated in an arrangement (longitudinal) direction, Yamada notes improved ease of attaching the conductors (“wiring material”) ([0054], FIG. 5) compared to a direction intersecting this direction (e.g. in [0040], FIG. 2). Furthermore, the branch body end is spaced away from the first portion (68a-68k) in the arrangement (longitudinal) direction and spaced away from main body (68) in the second (width) direction by a slit (15) ([0056], Annotated Yamada FIG. 5), which enables displacement and movement of parts of the FPC without being restricted by the main body (68) ([0037]). Such advantages are pertinent to Yano’s disclosure, which recognizes advantages of being able to freely deform the FPC and improve wiring efficiency (Yano [0052]), [0086]).
Thus, in seeking to improve the range of deformation of Yano’s conductive module while maintaining ease of assembly, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify a structure of Yano’s FPC to form the branch body terminating in the arrangement direction at the branch body end, where the branch body end is spaced away from the first portion in the arrangement direction and spaced away from the main body in the second direction (e.g., through use of a split) as taught by Yamada and thus rendering obvious the limitations of claim 1, clause 14, with a reasonable expectation of success as Yano recognizes a desirability of being able to freely deform the FPC (Yano [0052]) and because this modification would not change a principle of operation of Yano’s FPC of allowing a BMU to monitor cell voltages (Yano [0081], FIG. 2).
To provide this branch body structure, Yamada provides a second portion (48, “longitudinal extending portion”) which extends from the first portion (68a-68k) to the branch body end in the arrangement (longitudinal) direction, ([0054]), the second portion (48) also spaced away from the main body (68) by the slit (15) ([0056], Annotated Yamada FIG. 5). The second end of the first conductor (11, “wiring”) is located on the second portion (48) of the branch body (Shown in Annotated Yamada FIG. 5, [0041], FIG. 1).
Connecting the second end of the first conductor (11, “wiring”) to the bus bar (20) requires the addition of a welding plate (42), but still provides the same structure of electrical and mechanical connection between first conductor (11) and bus bar (20) (Yamada [0054], FIG. 5). Moreover, Yamada’s second portion (“longitudinal extending portion”) extending in the arrangement (longitudinal) direction improves the vibration resistance of the FCB (10) without requiring arrangements to provide additional space for the FPC ([0029]); such advantages are pertinent to Yano’s disclosure, which recognizes the damaging effects of vibration and impact (Yano [0005]) but also prioritizes compactness of the wiring space of the FPC ([0006], [0083]).
Thus, in providing the branch body end structure as modified above in view of Yamada, and in seeking to improve the vibration resistance of Yano’s conductive module while maintaining the compactness, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide Yano’s branch body with a second portion that extends from the first portion to the branch body end in the arrangement direction, the second portion spaced away from the main body in the second direction, and the second end of the first conductor being located on the second portion of the branch body as taught by Yamada (Annotated Yamada FIG. 5), thus fully reading on claim 1 (see clauses 15 and 16). Adapting this structure to Yano’s conductive module would require adding a welding plate (42) connecting the second end of the first conductor and the bus bar, but this modification still results in an electrical and mechanical connection between the two (Yamada [0054], FIG. 5) which continues to read on the first conductor with a second end configured to connect to a battery cell (see claim 1, clause 8). Additionally, the modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success as no principle of operation of the conductive module is changed.
Annotated Yano FIG. 2
Regarding claim 2, Yano discloses a conductive module, comprising:
a first FPC (39A, “flexible printed board”, see Annotated Yano FIG. 2 above) that is configured to be mounted on a first battery module (10) ([0083], FIG. 2), in which a plurality of first battery cells (2, “battery stack”) are arranged in an arrangement (“stacking”) direction ([0064], FIG. 4), and is provided with a first flat laminated body formed of a first plurality of conductors (19, “voltage detection lines”, 45,“inner wires”) and a first insulator having flexibility ([0049-0052]);
a first connector (38, “connector”) mounted on a first end (see annotations, Annotated Yano FIG. 2) of the first FPC (39A) ([0084, FIG. 2);
and a second connector (“47, “relay connector”) mounted on a second end of the first FPC.
Yano discloses a second FPC (39A, “flexible printed board”, Annotated Yano FIG. 2) ([0083]); while Yano’s second FPC (39A) is shown mounted on the same (first) battery module (10), the second FPC would be capable of performing the functions recited in claim 2 for the second FPC without structural modification, and is thus configured to be mounted on a second battery module in which a plurality of second battery cells are arranged in the arrangement direction.
The second FPC (39A) is provided with a second flat laminated body formed of a second plurality of conductors (19, “voltage detection lines) ([0083], Annotated Yano FIG. 2) and a second insulator having flexibility ([0049-0052]);
a third connector (38, “connector”) connected onto one end of the second FPC (39A) ([0084], Annotated Yano FIG. 2),
wherein the first plurality of conductors (19, 45) includes a first conductor (19, “voltage detection line”) ([0083]) that is configured to electrically connect the first battery cells to a battery monitoring unit (6, “cell monitor circuit”) for monitoring a battery status of the battery cells ([0084], FIGs. 2, 4), the first connector (38) is configured to be fitted and connected to a first counterpart connector (37, “connection terminals”) of the battery monitoring unit (6) and is configured to electrically connect the first conductor (19) to the battery monitoring unit (6) ([0084], FIG. 2), and
the first plurality of conductors (19, 45) includes a second conductor (45, “inner wire”) that is configured to electrically connect the battery monitoring unit (6) ([0086]) to electrical equipment housed in an external electrical connection box (another battery module 10, [0063], FIG. 1),
the second connector (47) is configured to be fitted and connected to a counterpart connector (shown on communication line 44, see Annotated Yano FIG. 2) disposed on the electrical connection box side and is configured to electrically connect the second conductor to the electrical equipment, ([0055], FIG. 2, [0053], FIG. 1), and
the first connector (38) is configured to electrically connect the second conductor (45) to the battery monitoring unit (6) ([0084, 0086], FIG. 2),
the first conductor (19) includes a first end that is connected onto the first connector (38) ([0084], Annotated Yano FIG. 2) and a second end that is configured to be (electrically) connected to a respective one of the battery cells (1) ([0064]), the second end of the first conductor (19) is spaced away from the first connector (38) and the second connector (47) (Annotated Yano FIG. 2),
the second conductor includes a first end that is connected onto the first connector (38) and a second end that is connected onto the second connector (47), and
the third connector (38) is configured to be fitted and connected to a second counterpart connector (37) of the battery monitoring unit (6) and is configured to electrically connect the second plurality of conductors (19) to the battery monitoring unit (6) ([0084], Annotated Yano FIG. 2).
The first FPC (39A) includes a main body (see shaded area, Annotated Yano FIG. 2 Inset below) that extends in the arrangement direction (“stacking direction”) from the first end of the first FPC (39A) to the second end of the first FPC (39A) ([0086], Annotated Yano FIG. 2 Inset) and a branch body (see circled area) that includes a first portion that extends away from the main body in a second direction that intersects the arrangement direction (i.e., the stacking direction) (Annotated Yano FIG. 2 Inset), reading on limitations of claim 2 clauses 16-19, and includes a branch body end, which is located between the first connector (38) and the second connector (47) in the arrangement direction reading on some limitations of claim 1 clause 20.
Annotated Yano FIG. 2 inset
However, the branch body of Yano’s disclosure fails to read on the entirety of claim 2; Yano’s branch body end is illustrated terminating in the second direction, not in the arrangement direction, and is not spaced away from the first portion in the arrangement direction (see claim 1 clause 20). Yano’s branch body also fails to include a second portion that extends from the first portion to the branch body end in the arrangement direction, where the second portion is spaced away from the main body in the second direction (see claim 2 clause 21), and the second end of the first conductor (19) is located on the first portion of the branch body, thus differing from claim 2 (see clause 22).
Yamada (US20220077536A1), analogous as a conductive module comprising an FPC (10) configured for a battery module (1) ([0025], FIG. 1), teaches an FPC (10) including a main body (68) that extends in the arrangement direction of the FPC (10) ([0031-0033], FIG. 1) and a branch body (68a-68k, “main body portion”, 48, “longitudinal extending portion”) formed from a first portion (68a-68k, “main body portion”) extending away from the main body (68) in a second direction (a width direction) ([0031-0033], FIG. 1, see Annotated Yamada FIG. 5 below).
Annotated Yamada FIG. 5
A branch body end is also formed where the branch body terminates (Yamada [0041], FIG. 1, Annotated Yamada FIG. 5); when terminated in an arrangement (longitudinal) direction, Yamada notes improved ease of attaching the conductors (“wiring material”) ([0054], FIG. 5) compared to a direction intersecting this direction (e.g. in [0040], FIG. 2). Furthermore, the branch body end is spaced away from the first portion (68a-68k) in the arrangement (longitudinal) direction and spaced away from main body (68) in the second (width) direction by a slit (15) ([0056], Annotated Yamada FIG. 5), which enables displacement and movement of parts of the FPC without being restricted by the main body (68) ([0037]). Such advantages are pertinent to Yano’s disclosure, which recognizes advantages of being able to freely deform the first FPC and improve wiring efficiency (Yano [0052]), [0086]).
Thus, in seeking to improve the range of deformation of Yano’s conductive module while maintaining ease of assembly, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify a structure of Yano’s first FPC to form a branch body terminating in the arrangement direction at the branch body end, where the branch body end is spaced away from the first portion in the arrangement direction and spaced away from the main body in the second direction (e.g., through use of a split) as taught by Yamada and thus rendering obvious the limitations of claim 2, clause 20, with a reasonable expectation of success as Yano recognizes a desirability of being able to freely deform the first FPC (Yano [0052]) and because this modification would not change a principle of operation of Yano’s first FPC of allowing a BMU to monitor cell voltages (Yano [0081], FIG. 2).
To provide this branch body structure, Yamada provides a second portion (48, “longitudinal extending portion”) which extends from the first portion (68a-68k) to the branch body end in the arrangement (longitudinal) direction, ([0054]), the second portion (48) also spaced away from the main body (68) by the slit (15) ([0056], Annotated Yamada FIG. 5). The second end of the first conductor (11, “wiring”) is located on the second portion (48) of the branch body (Shown in Annotated Yamada FIG. 5, [0041], FIG. 1).
Connecting the second end of the first conductor (11, “wiring”) to the bus bar (20) requires the addition of a welding plate (42), but still provides the same structure of electrical and mechanical connection between first conductor (11) and bus bar (20) (Yamada [0054], FIG. 5). Moreover, Yamada’s second portion (“longitudinal extending portion”) extending in the arrangement (longitudinal) direction improves the vibration resistance of the FPC (10) without requiring arrangements to provide additional space for the FPC ([0029]); such advantages are pertinent to Yano’s disclosure, which recognizes the damaging effects of vibration and impact (Yano [0005]) but also prioritizes compactness of the wiring space of the FPC ([0006], [0083]).
Thus, in providing the branch body end structure as modified above in view of Yamada, and in seeking to improve the vibration resistance of Yano’s conductive module while maintaining the compactness, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide Yano’s branch body with a second portion that extends from the first portion to the branch body end in the arrangement direction, the second portion spaced away from the main body in the second direction, and the second end of the first conductor being located on the second portion of the branch body as taught by Yamada (Annotated Yamada FIG. 5), thus fully reading on claim 1 (see clauses 15 and 16). Adapting this structure to Yano’s conductive module would require adding a welding plate (42) connecting the second end of the first conductor and the bus bar, but this modification still results in an electrical and mechanical connection between the two (Yamada [0054], FIG. 5) which continues to read on the first conductor with a second end configured to connect to a battery cell (see claim 1, clause 8). Additionally, the modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success as no principle of operation of the conductive module is changed.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, modified Yano discloses the conductive module according to claims 1 and 2, further comprising:
a plurality of conductor members (14) each of the conductor members (14) is a connection part configured to electrically connect a plurality of electrode terminals (11) of the battery cells (1) adjacent to each other in the arrangement direction (Yano [0069], FIG. 2), and each of the conductor members (19) is provided for a respective combination of two adjacent electrode terminals (11) arranged in the arrangement direction (FIG. 2), wherein the (first) plurality of conductors (19, 45) includes a plurality of the first conductor (19), and each of the first conductors (19) is provided for a respective one of the conductor member (14) (FIG. 2, [0081]) as claimed in claims 3 and 4.
Annotated Yano FIG. 1
Regarding claims 8 and 9, modified Yano discloses a conductive system (100, “power supply device”, Yano [0053], FIG. 1) comprising:
the conductive module according to claims 1 and 2 (present on a battery module 10, see Annotated Yano FIG. 1 above);
an electrical connection box (3, “end plates”, 8, “cover case”) in which electrical equipment (an adjacent battery 10) is housed ([0060]); and
an electrical connection tool (44, “communication lines”) that is connected onto the second connector (47) ([0055], Annotated Yano FIG. 2) and electrically connects the conductive module and the electrical equipment (10) ([0063], Annotated Yano FIG. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejection of claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 9 as unpatentable over 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Shigita et al. (US20240302449A1) (Remarks pp. 7-9) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Withdrawal of the previous ground of rejection has been necessitated by Applicant’s amendment filed 06/22/2026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kishimoto et al. (US20110027634A1) teaches a conductive system comprising a first FPC (50a) mounted on a first battery module (100b), and a second FPC (50a) mounted on a second battery module (100a) with a first connector and third connector which electrically connect conductors (19) in the first and second FPC to a battery monitoring unit (20) (FIG. 14, [0171-0177]), (FIG. 2), which is in turn connected to electrical equipment (101) (FIGs. 1, 2, [0067-0069]), pertinent to the conductive module and conductive systems of claims 2, 4, and 9. However, Kishimoto does not teach the (first) plurality of conductors comprising the first connector and the second conductor.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751