Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 and 21 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, in regards to the newly amended feature of claim 1 directed towards sealing portion structure, this limitation is met by the rejection of Ishikawa in view of Kim, presented in the rejection below.
In regards to the limitation which requires that the sealing portions include a first sealing portion on which one electrode tab is disposed, a second sealing portion on which the other electrode tab is disposed, and a third sealing portion on any one of the long sides of each battery cell on which the electrode tabs are not disposed, the structure made obvious by Kim further makes obvious said structure. Here, Kim’s structure comprises a sealing member which surrounds their battery 11, shown in their figure 6A. Where this structure is applied to the battery of Ishikawa, as discussed above, the battery of Ishikawa is therefore surrounded by Kim’s sealing member. The sealing member, surrounding the top, comprises segments which seal about the electrode tabs 11 and 12, where said tabs are depicted in Kim’s figure 9, with the respective portions of the sealing member that are the first sealing portion on which one electrode tab is disposed, and a second sealing portion on which the other electrode tab is disposed. Additionally, where the sealing member surrounds the sides of the battery, the sealing member on the sides of the battery (the major faces) is therefore is a third sealing member, which is disposed on any one of the long sides of each battery cell on which electrode tabs are not disposed, said sides depicted by Ishikawa in their figure 9.
Additionally, where Kim makes obvious structure which comprises third sealing portions corresponding to major faces of each battery cell, and Ishikawa makes obvious structure where first extended surfaces extend to surround the full periphery of each battery cell, the first extended surfaces, having major faces which face towards adjacent battery cells, face a sealing portion of the third sealing portions of each battery cell.
Here, the applicant asserts that Kim does not disclose any configuration relating to blocking heat propagation at the module or pack level, and therefore does not teach the configuration where the first extended surface faces the third sealing portion as in the present invention. This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. The instant claim 1 does not include a limitation which requires that the sealing portion achieves the effect of blocking heat propagation. Instead, claim 1’s limitations regarding blocking heat propagation are in regards to the heat propagation prevention member 300, which as discussed in the applicant’s specification is a distinct member from the sealing portion 213. Additionally, the features that the applicant is discussing that Kim’s sealing member fails to teach are not discussed in the specification as being a feature of the sealing portion. Accordingly, said features cannot be understood as being a part of the definition of the sealing portion.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that in regards to the limitation which requires that the plurality of first accommodating portions and the plurality of second accommodating portions are integrally formed as a single plate, Ishikawa fails to disclose said structure. This has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
In regards to this limitation, both the first accommodating portion, which is occupied by battery cells 5, is provided in plural and the second accommodation, which is occupied by the metal plates 19, is provided in plural are integrally formed as a single plate, as disclosed by Ishikawa, where Ishikawa depicts structure in their figure 3, disclosing that the cell accommodating member is a resin molded portion that is formed to have the required shape which accommodates the battery cells (Paragraph 0040, “In FIGS. 1 to 5, a cell accommodating portion 14 is a resin molded portion for accommodating the battery cell assembly 6 (the plurality of battery cells 5) as described above, and is formed to have a shape illustrated with a resin insert portion 21 and a side wall 22 . The cell accommodating portion 14 is formed in a rectangular box shape in a plan view according to the shape of the battery cell assembly 6 .”), where the resin plate, which is formed as a single plate defines the first accommodating portions and second accommodating portions. Here, where the accommodating member is formed in a single step as a member comprising multiple bent sections, it is considered to be a single bent plate.
This is consistent with the description and definition of the accommodating portions presented in the applicant’s specification, wherein the accommodating portion is a space that is occupied by another element, such as a battery cell (Paragraph 0039, “The cell unit may be accommodated in the first accommodating portion”), disposed on surfaces of the cell accommodating member (Paragraph 0032, “The cell accommodating member includes a first accommodating portion disposed on one surface of the cell accommodating member and extending in a first direction corresponding to a longitudinal direction of the battery cell to accommodate the cell unit therein, and a second accommodating portion provided in plural, disposed on the other surface of the cell accommodating member, and extending in the first direction.”). Accordingly, the cell accommodating member, in defining the bounds of the first and second accommodating portions results in structure where the first and second accommodating portions are a part of the cell accommodating member, consistent with the definition presented in the applicant’s specification.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the long sides" in the second to last paragraph of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Here, it is noted that the term “the long sides” specifically lacks antecedent basis because the previous description of the battery cells is limited to reciting battery cells with major surfaces. Here, there is not inherently basis for a long side on a battery cell with major surfaces, as the description of the battery cell does not exclude battery cells that have all sides having an equal length, in which case any surface would be a major surface, but no side would be a long side, where “long side” is interpreted as being a comparative descriptor, contrasting with shorter sides.
Additionally, claims 2-15 and 21 are indefinite as a result of their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20200153064 A1) in further view of Cao (US 20210104797), and further in view of Hermann (US 8541126 B2), in further view of Kim (WO 2018117657 A1, with US equivalent US 20230006288 A1 used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Ishikawa discloses structure which comprises a battery pack (Abstract, “A battery pack”), which comprises a cell unit including a plurality of battery cells (Abstract, “The battery module includes a plurality of battery cells”) stacked so that major surfaces of adjacent battery cells face each other, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 2, which depicts three cell units, each comprising a plurality of adjacent cells facing each other, considering each stack of cells along the R-axis of the figure to be a cell unit.
Additionally, Ishikawa discloses cell accommodating member accommodating a plurality of the battery cell units (Paragraph 0035, “and a cell accommodating portion 14 made of resin for accommodating the battery cell assembly 6 (the plurality of battery cells 5).”), and a housing surrounding at least a portion of an outer periphery of the cell accommodating member (Paragraph 0032, “A lower end 12 (the other end, see FIGS. 3 and 5) of the battery cell 5 is disposed on a side facing a first metal portion 15 of a cooling portion 13,”; Paragraph 0027, “A battery pack includes a battery module, a case that accommodates the battery module, and a cover that covers the case.”).
Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the cell accommodating member includes a first accommodating portion provided in plural, accommodating the cell unit, and having one open side, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 4, wherein the resin member 21, which is a component of the cell accommodating unit 14 (Paragraph 0040, “In FIGS. 1 to 5, a cell accommodating portion 14 is a resin molded portion for accommodating the battery cell assembly 6 (the plurality of battery cells 5) as described above, and is formed to have a shape illustrated with a resin insert portion 21 and a side wall 22.”), and where the open side is depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 8. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure which comprises a second accommodating portion provided in plural and having another open side, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3, wherein the cell accommodating portion resin member 21 comprises portions which accommodate metal plates 16 (Paragraph 0041, “The resin insert portion 21 is formed in a thin wall portion. The resin insert portion 21 is formed in a portion serving as a separator. The side wall 22 is formed in a portion formed by insert molding a plurality of second metal portions 16 (remaining two of the eight metal portions) and four side portions of the first metal portion 15.”), and where the opening direction of the second accommodating portion faces downwards, in contrast to the first accommodating portion which faces upwards, thereby resulting in structure where the second accommodating portion has an open side with an opening direction different from an opening direction of the first accommodating portion.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure comprising a heat propagation preventing member accommodated in the second accommodating portions, where the heat propagation preventing member is a heat insulator and configured to block heat propagation between the plurality of cell units accommodated in the first accommodating portion, Ishikawa fails to disclose said structure, disclosing structure comprising a metal heat propagation prevention member (Paragraph 0038, “the plurality of second metal portions 16 are formed in separate metal thin plates”), where the heat propagation prevention member is the metal plate 16, depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3 as being accommodated in the second accommodating portion. Accordingly, where the metal plates are not heat insulators, we look to Hermann, which discloses a battery pack comprising thermal barrier elements which prevent thermal runaway events from propagating (Abstract, “A battery pack is provided that includes one or more thermal barrier elements, the thermal barrier elements dividing the cells within the battery pack into groups of cells. The thermal barrier elements that separate the cells into groups prevent a thermal runaway event initiated in one group of cells from propagating to the cells within a neighboring group of cells.”).
Here, Hermann discloses structure which comprises a thermal barrier element 1200 comprising a low thermal conductivity layer 1201 sandwiched by two layers of high thermal conductivity material 1203/1205 (Column 7 lines 13-23, “For example, in the cross-sectional view shown in FIG. 12, barrier element 1200 has a central region 1201 comprised of a low thermal conductivity material, i.e., with a thermal conductivity of less than 50 W/mK, more preferably less than 10 W/mK, and still more preferably less than 1 W/mK (all measured at 25.degree. C.). Region 1201 is sandwiched between layers 1203 and 1205, each of which is comprised of a high thermal conductivity material, i.e., with a thermal conductivity of greater than 50 W/mK, more preferably greater than 100 W/mK, and still more preferably greater than 200 W/mK (all measured at 25.degree. C.)”), as well as disclosing that the high conductivity element of their thermal barrier may be coupled to a heat sink in the form of a cooling block (Column 8 lines 5-7, “The high thermal conductivity layer 1403 of each barrier element 1401 is coupled, via a heat pipe 1407, to a heat sink 1409 in the form of a cooling block”), similar to the structure of Ishikawa which comprises their metal plate being coupled to a cooling block (Paragraph 0043, “In FIGS. 1 and 5, when water (cooling water) flows through the two cooling passages 17 , the first metal portion 15 in the cooling portion 13 is cooled, and accordingly, the plurality of second metal portions 16 are also cooled.”). Here, Hermann discloses that their layered structure allows for the prevention of heat transfer between adjacent cells or groups of cells in the event of a thermal runaway, while allowing for heat which does transfer through a single layer of the insulative material to be conducted into the heat sink via the conductive material (Column 7 lines 23-34, “ In an exemplary thermal runaway situation in which one or more cells in group "A" (FIG. 12) are undergoing thermal runaway, the high thermal conductivity layer 1203 immediately adjacent to cell group "A" redistributes the generated thermal energy. Then central region 1201 minimizes the transfer of heat between layers 1203 and 1205, and thus between cell groups "A" and "B". The thermal energy that is transferred from layer 1203 to layer 1205 is redistributed by layer 1205, thus preventing the formation of localized hot spots in the barrier and minimizing the adverse effects on the cells in group "B" that are adjacent to barrier 1200.”).
Accordingly, where thermal runaway propagation prevention is a desirable function in a thermal barrier disposed between two batteries, and where the thermal barrier structure of Hermann achieves said benefit while still achieving the goal of the structure of Ishikawa in regards to heat being absorbed by a thermally conductive material and conducted into a heat sink, it would therefore be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the thermal barrier material of Hermann in the place of the material which is solely the metal plate 16 of Ishikawa. Accordingly, where this barrier takes the form of a thermally insulative layer surrounding a thermally conductive material, this therefore results in structure where the heat propagation prevention member of the combination of Ishikawa and Hermann comprises and therefore is a heat insulator, reading upon the limitations of the instant claim.
Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the metal plates are placed based on the heat generation positions of the battery cells (Paragraph 0038, “The sizes of the plurality of second metal portions 16 are set according to the heat generation positions of the battery cells 5.”) and further discloses structure where the metal plates 16 are cooled (Paragraph 0044, “the first metal portion 15 in the cooling portion 13 is cooled, and accordingly, the plurality of second metal portions 16 are also cooled.”), the metal plates therefore inherently act to block heat propagation between the plurality of cell units accommodated in the first accommodating portion.
Additionally, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the second accommodating portion is disposed between a plurality of the first accommodating portions adjacent to each other to separate the plurality of first accommodating portions from each other (Paragraph 0041, “Paragraph 0041, “The resin insert portion 21 is formed in a thin wall portion. The resin insert portion 21 is formed in a portion serving as a separator”). Here, where Ishikawa discloses that the accommodating portion is formed of a single resin material, it is therefore formed as a single plate.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation that requires that both the first accommodating portion, occupied by battery cells 5, provided in plural and the second accommodation, occupied by the metal plates 19, provided in plural are integrally formed as a single plate, this structure is disclosed by Ishikawa, where Ishikawa depicts structure in their figure 3, disclosing that the cell accommodating member is a resin molded portion that is formed to have the required shape which accommodates the battery cells (Paragraph 0040, “In FIGS. 1 to 5, a cell accommodating portion 14 is a resin molded portion for accommodating the battery cell assembly 6 (the plurality of battery cells 5) as described above, and is formed to have a shape illustrated with a resin insert portion 21 and a side wall 22 . The cell accommodating portion 14 is formed in a rectangular box shape in a plan view according to the shape of the battery cell assembly 6 .”), where the resin plate, which is formed as a single plate defines the first accommodating portions and second accommodating portions. Here, where the accommodating member is formed in a single step as a member comprising multiple bent sections, it is considered to be a single bent plate.
This is consistent with the description and definition of the accommodating portions presented in the applicant’s specification, wherein the accommodating portion is a space that is occupied by another element, such as a battery cell (Paragraph 0039, “The cell unit may be accommodated in the first accommodating portion”), disposed on surfaces of the cell accommodating member (Paragraph 0032, “The cell accommodating member includes a first accommodating portion disposed on one surface of the cell accommodating member and extending in a first direction corresponding to a longitudinal direction of the battery cell to accommodate the cell unit therein, and a second accommodating portion provided in plural, disposed on the other surface of the cell accommodating member, and extending in the first direction.”). Accordingly, the cell accommodating member, in defining the bounds of the first and second accommodating portions results in structure where the first and second accommodating portions are a part of the cell accommodating member, consistent with the definition presented in the applicant’s specification.
Additionally, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 5, the each of plurality of first accommodating portions include first side surfaces which face each other, the first side surfaces covering side portions of the battery cells. However, Ishikawa fails to disclose structure wherein the first side surfaces completely cover side portions of one of the plurality of the cell units, instead disclosing structure where the side surfaces partially cover side portions of one of the plurality of cell units. However, as discussed above, Ishikawa does disclose that the metal plates are placed based on the heat generation positions of the battery cells (Paragraph 0038, “The sizes of the plurality of second metal portions 16 are set according to the heat generation positions of the battery cells 5.”) and further discloses structure where the metal plates 16 are cooled (Paragraph 0044, “the first metal portion 15 in the cooling portion 13 is cooled, and accordingly, the plurality of second metal portions 16 are also cooled.”), the metal plates therefore inherently act to block heat propagation between the plurality of cell units accommodated in the first accommodating portion. Additionally, though Ishikawa states that in their present embodiment the upper ends of the plurality of metal portions 16 are disposed lower than the upper ends of the plurality of battery cells (Paragraph 0038, “In the present embodiment, the upper ends of the plurality of second metal portions 16 are disposed at positions slightly lower than the upper ends (the upper ends 9 (one ends) of the plurality of battery cells 5 ) of the battery cell assembly 6.”) there is no indication that this structure is critical for the function of the battery assembly. Accordingly, where the metal plates 16 act to absorb heat emitted from the battery cells, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to increase the size of the metal plates so as to fully face the sides of the battery cells, to absorb heat from the full side surface. Accordingly, where the metal plate 16 is present in the second accommodation portion, and where the second accommodation portion’s walls are the opposite faces of the walls of the first accommodation portion, this therefore makes obvious structure wherein the first accommodation portion of Ishikawa extends to completely cover side portions of one of the plurality of cell units and therefore are the first extended surfaces.
Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the first accommodating portion has a lower side open, and surrounds an upper portion and both sides of the cell unit. As depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 4, the first accommodating portion has an open side, and surrounds an upper portion and both sides of the cell unit. Here, as orientation is relative, as the open face of the first accommodating portion is therefore defined as the lower side. Accordingly, the opposite side of the battery which the first accommodating portion surrounds is the upper side, in addition to surrounding both sides of the cell unit, where the upper portion faces a different direction than the side portions.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein a lower portion of the plurality of cells is covered by the housing, where the lower portion opposes the upper portion, where the exposed face shown in Ishikawa’s figure 1 is defined as the lower portion of the plurality of battery cells, Ishikawa fails to disclose structure where the housing covers said portion. Therefore, we look to Cao, which discloses a battery module including a top cover (Abstract, “The present application relates to a battery module including: multiple battery units, the battery units being arranged side by side along a length direction of the battery module, the battery unit including a top cover;”). Here, Cao discloses the application of a top patch on the face of their battery which acts to prevent short circuiting and scratching of the components beneath (Paragraph 0069, “In addition, a top patch 12 is provided on the top cover 14. The top patch 12 plays a role of insulation on one hand to prevent the top cover 14 from being short-circuited with external circuits, and on the other hand plays a protective role to prevent the top cover 14 from being scratched.”). Here, where the face defined as the lower face of Ishikawa’s battery pack has a bus bar assembly positioned on it, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 1 (Paragraph 0031, “In FIG. 1, the battery module 2 includes a battery cell assembly 6 including a plurality of battery cells 5 , a bus bar module 7 assembled to the battery cell assembly 6”), said components are unprotected from scratching or other external elements which may cause short circuits. Therefore, where Cao discloses a protective patch which is capable of preventing said issues, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply a cover to the face of the battery pack of Ishikawa which is defined as the lower face, thereby preventing scratching and short circuiting of the bus bar assembly and battery cell units within the battery pack.
Accordingly, where Cao makes obvious the application of a cover onto the face of the battery assembly which is defined as the lower portion, said cover would therefore oppose the upper portion of the of the battery cell, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the battery cell comprise sealing portions corresponding to ends of each battery cell, and wherein the sealing portions include a first sealing portion on which one electrode tab is disposed, a second sealing portion on which the other electrode tab is disposed, and a third sealing portion on any one of the long sides of each battery cell on which the electrode tabs are not disposed, Ishikawa is silent in regards to said structure.
Therefore, we look to Kim, which discloses structure which comprises a secondary battery comprising a case and sealing parts (Abstract, “According to embodiment of the present invention, the pouch-type secondary battery includes: an case configured to house an electrode assembly from which electrode tab are drawn out; sealing parts formed by adhering the case along outer peripheries of the electrode assembly; and folding parts formed by folding the sealing parts of surfaces on which the electrode tab drawn to an outside of the case is not formed,”).
Here, Kim discloses structure which comprises a sealing member composed of a bending portion (Paragraph 0053, “The folding part 23 may include a first folding state S1 and a second folding state S2 in a form of being folded twice.”), in which an exterior material is folded as depicted in Kim’s figure 4, where the exterior-most material of the battery folding portion is folded inward. Additionally, Kim discloses structure which further comprises a sealing portion in which the exterior material is sealed (Paragraph 0057, “Further, the folding part 23 may be attached to one surface of the case 21 by an adhesive member 30.”), depicted in Kim’s figure 4, where the sealing adhesive member 30 seals an inner portion of the outer-most exterior material of the folding portion.
Additionally, Kim discloses that their sealing method minimizes the use of sealing space between the adjacent battery cells and other components (Paragraph 0056, “By forming the folding part 23 in a range of satisfying the above-described relational equation, it is possible to prevent an unnecessary space from being formed between the adjacent secondary batteries by the folding part 23 when assembling the secondary battery module.”), thereby increasing the volume efficiency of the battery module (Paragraph 0056, “Therefore, volume efficiency may be increased when assembling the secondary battery module.”). Accordingly, where effective sealing and volume efficiency are desirable attributes, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the sealing method of Kim to the invention of Ishikawa, thereby making obvious structure wherein the battery cell comprises a bending portion in which an exterior material is folded and a sealing portion corresponding to ends of each battery cell, and the sealing members of Kim surround the battery cells of Ishikawa, thereby improving volume efficiency.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires that the sealing portions include a first sealing portion on which one electrode tab is disposed, a second sealing portion on which the other electrode tab is disposed, and a third sealing portion on any one of the long sides of each battery cell on which the electrode tabs are not disposed, the structure made obvious by Kim further makes obvious said structure. Here, Kim’s structure comprises a sealing member which surrounds their battery 11, shown in their figure 6A. Where this structure is applied to the battery of Ishikawa, as discussed above, the battery of Ishikawa is therefore surrounded by Kim’s sealing member. The sealing member, surrounding the top, comprises segments which seal about the electrode tabs 11 and 12, where said tabs are depicted in Kim’s figure 9, with the respective portions of the sealing member that are the first sealing portion on which one electrode tab is disposed, and a second sealing portion on which the other electrode tab is disposed. Additionally, where the sealing member surrounds the sides of the battery, the sealing member on the sides of the battery (the major faces) is therefore is a third sealing member, which is disposed on any one of the long sides of each battery cell on which electrode tabs are not disposed, said sides depicted by Ishikawa in their figure 9.
Additionally, where Kim makes obvious structure which comprises third sealing portions corresponding to major faces of each battery cell, and Ishikawa makes obvious structure where first extended surfaces extend to surround the full periphery of each battery cell, the first extended surfaces, having major faces which face towards adjacent battery cells, face a sealing portion of the third sealing portions of each battery cell.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the cell accommodating member comprises a metal material or a thermally conductive plastic, in disclosing that the resin material is an insulative resin (Paragraph 0040, “In this molding, a resin material (high thermal conductivity resin) having insulating properties and having a high thermal conductivity is used for the cell accommodating portion 14.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure which comprises a heat propagation preventing member accommodated in the plurality of second accommodating portions (Paragraph 0038, “the plurality of second metal portions 16 are formed in separate metal thin plates”), where the heat propagation prevention member is the metal plate 16, depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3 as being accommodated in the second accommodating portion.
Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the metal plates are placed based on the heat generation positions of the battery cells (Paragraph 0038, “The sizes of the plurality of second metal portions 16 are set according to the heat generation positions of the battery cells 5.”) and further discloses structure where the metal plates 16 are cooled (Paragraph 0044, “the first metal portion 15 in the cooling portion 13 is cooled, and accordingly, the plurality of second metal portions 16 are also cooled.”), the metal plates therefore inherently act to block heat propagation between the plurality of cell units accommodated in the first accommodating portion.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, reiterating the orientation definition as discussed above in regards to claim 1, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 4, the first accommodating portion has an open side, and surrounds a portion and both sides of the cell unit. Here, as orientation is relative, as the open face of the first accommodating portion is therefore defined as the lower side. Therefore, where the open face of the first accommodating portion is defined as the lower face, the opposite facing face of the second accommodating portion, is therefore an open upper face.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 6. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the housing comprises a first housing disposed below the cell accommodating member (Paragraph 0027, “A battery pack includes a battery module, a case that accommodates the battery module, and a cover that covers the case.”), as well as a second housing disposed on an upper portion of the cell accommodating member (Paragraph 0032, “A lower end 12 (the other end, see FIGS. 3 and 5) of the battery cell 5 is disposed on a side facing a first metal portion 15 of a cooling portion 13,”).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 7. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the lower side of the first accommodating portion is closed by the first housing, where a cover which covers the case which accommodates the battery modules (Paragraph 0027, “A battery pack includes a battery module, a case that accommodates the battery module, and a cover that covers the case.”) acts to close the lower side of the first accommodating portion, which faces upwards towards the cover, which is the first housing.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein a lower surface of the plurality of second accommodating portions is fixed to the housing, where the lower face of the second accommodating portion, which is the face that faces towards the outer surface of the battery cells as depicted in figure 3, is innately fixed to the lateral walls of the cell accommodating portion 21, which is innately fixed to the portion of the cell accommodating portion 21 which is fixed to the housing 13 (Paragraph 0032, “In FIGS. 1 to 5, the cooling case 8 includes a metal cooling portion 13 for cooling the battery cell assembly 6 (the plurality of battery cells 5),”), such that the lower surface of the second accommodating portion is transitively fixed to the housing.
Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the lower surfaces of the plurality of second accommodating portions separate the plurality of first accommodating portions adjacent to each other, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3, wherein adjacent first accommodating portions are separated by the lower surfaces of the second accommodating portions.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the cell unit comprises a plurality of battery cells stacked in a first direction, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3, where the battery cells are stacked along a first lateral direction, and where the first direction is perpendicular to a side surface of the first accommodating portion which accommodates the battery cells, said side surface facing the battery cells along the lateral direction of Figure 3, in the first accommodating portion.
Regarding Claim 11, Ishikawa anticipates the invention of Claim 10. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the battery cell comprises a bending portion in which an exterior material is folded and wherein the sealing portions are portions in which the exterior material is sealed, Ishikawa is silent in regards to said structure, not disclosing the presence or absence of bending portions on the battery cell. Therefore, we look to Kim, which discloses structure which comprises a secondary battery comprising a case and sealing parts (Abstract, “According to embodiment of the present invention, the pouch-type secondary battery includes: an case configured to house an electrode assembly from which electrode tab are drawn out; sealing parts formed by adhering the case along outer peripheries of the electrode assembly; and folding parts formed by folding the sealing parts of surfaces on which the electrode tab drawn to an outside of the case is not formed,”).
Here, Kim discloses structure which comprises a sealing member composed of a bending portion (Paragraph 0053, “The folding part 23 may include a first folding state S1 and a second folding state S2 in a form of being folded twice.”), in which an exterior material is folded as depicted in Kim’s figure 4, where the exterior-most material of the battery folding portion is folded inward. Additionally, Kim discloses structure which further comprises a sealing portion in which the exterior material is sealed (Paragraph 0057, “Further, the folding part 23 may be attached to one surface of the case 21 by an adhesive member 30.”), depicted in Kim’s figure 4, where the sealing adhesive member 30 seals an inner portion of the outer-most exterior material of the folding portion.
Additionally, Kim discloses that their sealing method minimizes the use of sealing space between the adjacent battery cells and other components (Paragraph 0056, “By forming the folding part 23 in a range of satisfying the above-described relational equation, it is possible to prevent an unnecessary space from being formed between the adjacent secondary batteries by the folding part 23 when assembling the secondary battery module.”), thereby increasing the volume efficiency of the battery module (Paragraph 0056, “Therefore, volume efficiency may be increased when assembling the secondary battery module.”). Accordingly, where effective sealing and volume efficiency are desirable attributes, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the sealing method of Kim to the invention of Ishikawa, thereby making obvious structure wherein the battery cell comprises a bending portion in which an exterior material is folded and structure where sealing portions are portions in which the exterior material is sealed.
Additionally, where the instant claim requires structure wherein the bending portion of the battery cell is disposed at a lower side of the first accommodating portion, and as Kim discloses that the structure of their sealing method minimizes the use of sealing space between the adjacent battery cells and other components (Paragraph 0056, “By forming the folding part 23 in a range of satisfying the above-described relational equation, it is possible to prevent an unnecessary space from being formed between the adjacent secondary batteries by the folding part 23 when assembling the secondary battery module.”), thereby increasing the volume efficiency of the battery module (Paragraph 0056, “Therefore, volume efficiency may be increased when assembling the secondary battery module.”), it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to place said sealing portions against the outer-facing portions of the battery cells of Ishikawa, in the gaps positioned past the end of the outer surface of the first accommodation portion, where said region is adjacent to and therefore at a lower side of the first accommodating portion, where said region that is the outer face of the battery is defined as being at the lower surface of the first accommodating portion, based on a definition of the orientation of the invention of Ishikawa.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure which further comprises a bus bar assembly disposed on at least one side of the cell unit, electrically connecting the plurality of cell units to each other, Ishikawa discloses said structure (Paragraph 0032, “The positive electrode 10 and the negative electrode 11 are formed in such a shape that can be connected to a bus bar of a bus bar module 7. The adjacent battery cells 5 are disposed such that the adjacent battery cells can be connected in series by a bus bar.”).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure which comprises a cooling portion (Paragraph 0039, “in FIGS. 1 to 7, two cooling passages 17 are formed on the left and right side portions of the first metal portion 15.”), which is disposed in at least one of an inner portion or an outer surface of the housing, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 5, where cooling passages 17 are located in an inner portion of the housing, inside cooling portion 13 (Paragraph 0032, “In FIGS. 1 to 5, the cooling case 8 includes a metal cooling portion 13 for cooling the battery cell assembly 6 (the plurality of battery cells 5),”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 10. Additionally, Ishikawa discloses structure wherein the width of the first accommodating portion is wider than a width of the second accommodating portion in the first direction. Here, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 3, the first accommodating portion’s width is occupied by the battery cells 5, and the second accommodating portion’s width is occupied by the metal plates 16. As the width of the battery cell is greater than the width of the metal plates, the width of the first accommodating portion in the first direction is therefore wider than a width of the second accommodating portion in the first direction.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20200153064 A1), further in view of Hermann (US 8541126 B2), and Cao (US 20210104797 A1) in further view of Kim (WO 2018117657 A1, with US equivalent US 20230006288 A1 used for citation purposes) as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of the teaching of Sakurai (US 20160240835 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant Claim, which requires structure wherein the first accommodating portion and the second accommodation portion are formed by bending a single plate member a plurality of times, said limitation is a product by process limitation, and therefore the explicit structure of the accommodation portions being formed by bending is not necessarily required, only that it be possible overall, in terms of the final product. Accordingly, as depicted in Ishikawa’s figure 5, where the inner portion of the resin member 21 which is the accommodating portion is constructed of multiple flat plate regions which are bent at right angles relative to each other, it would therefore be possible to construct the plurality of first accommodating portions and the plurality of second accommodating portions via the folding of a single resin plate member a plurality of times. Additionally, Sakurai, which discloses structure which comprises a power storage module (Abstract, “A power storage module includes storage batteries, separators,”), as well as
Additionally, Sakurai discloses structure of components which include a resin member which is bent multiple times into a waveform structure (As illustrated in FIG. 3, by bending a thin resin plate into a wave-like form, each separator 14 is bent and formed in a waveform extending in the up-down direction”), which comprises multiple flat plate regions which are bent at right angles relative to each other, thereby teaching the possibility of said structure comprising the plurality of first and second accommodating portions being constructed of a single plate being folded multiple times.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20200153064 A1), further in view of Hermann (US 8541126 B2), and Cao (US 20210104797 A1) in further view of Kim (WO 2018117657 A1, with US equivalent US 20230006288 A1 used for citation purposes), as applied to Claim 4 above, in further view of Liu (US 20200099114 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 4. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant Claim which requires structure wherein the heat propagation preventing member comprises at least one of mica, silicate, graphite, or alumina, Ishikawa is silent in regards to said structure, only specifying that the heat propagation prevention member is made of a thermally conductive metal material (Paragraph 0045, “the first metal portion 15 can be provided with the cooling ability when there are a plurality of second metal portions 16.”). Accordingly, where the identity of said conductive metal is undisclosed, we look towards Liu, discloses a battery module containing flame-preventing members (Abstract, “A battery module, which includes: a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked; a flame spread prevention member configured to cover at least a portion of each battery cell;”). Additionally, Liu discloses structure wherein their flame prevention member includes a mica plate, containing mica with both heat insulation and heat resistance (Paragraph 0011, “Also, the flame spread prevention member may include a mica plate containing mica with both heat insulation and heat resistance.”), and is further easy to manufacture (Paragraph 0021, “In addition, since a flame spread prevention member made of mica having both heat insulation and heat resistance is formed to simplify the flame spread prevention structure, the battery module may be manufactured easily.”). Accordingly, where the mica plate of Liu satisfies the structural requirement of Ishikawa’s heat propagation member, demonstrating thermal conductivity by way of its heat insulation, and where it further possesses heat resistance so as to minimize damage caused by flame, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the mica member of Liu in place of the heat propagation member of Ishikawa, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the heat propagation member comprises mica.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20200153064 A1), further in view of Hermann (US 8541126 B2), and Cao (US 20210104797 A1) in further view of Kim (WO 2018117657 A1, with US equivalent US 20230006288 A1 used for citation purposes), as applied in regards to Claim 1 above, in further view of Chen (US 20210091437 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, In regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure which comprises a heat transfer member disposed between the cell unit and the first accommodating portion; Ishikawa fails to disclose said structure. Accordingly, we look to Chen, which discloses structure which comprises a battery box including a battery case and a plurality of batteries accommodated therein (Abstract, “This application discloses a battery box, including a battery case and a plurality of batteries accommodated in the battery case.”). Additionally, Chen discloses that their invention comprises structure wherein the batteries are bonded to inner walls of their battery case by means of an adhesive (Abstract, “The batteries are bonded to an inner wall of the battery case by using an adhesive”), where the adhesive is conductive such that it is able to conduct heat as well minimizing cracking and peeling under heat stress (Abstract, “When the coefficient of thermal conductivity of the adhesive matches the coefficient of thermal expansion, heat conduction requirements of the battery box can be satisfied, and the adhesive can also be prevented from cracking or peeling off under heat stress due to alternating temperatures during use of the battery box, thereby improving safety performance of the battery box.”). Accordingly, based on the disclosure of Chen such that a thermal adhesive facilitates heat conduction, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the thermal adhesive of Chen to the outer surface of the battery cells of Ishikawa, and where the outer surfaces of the battery cells of Ishikawa are adjacent to the first accommodating portion, the thermal adhesive, which is a heat transfer member, would therefore be disposed between the cell unit and the first accommodating portion, thereby making obvious said limitations of the instant claim.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa (US 20200153064 A1), further in view of Hermann (US 8541126 B2), and Cao (US 20210104797 A1) in further view of Kim (WO 2018117657 A1, with US equivalent US 20230006288 A1 used for citation purposes), as applied to Claim 1 above, in further view of Roberts (US 20180269455 A1).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Ishikawa makes obvious the invention of claim 10. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein each of the battery cells includes an electrode facing a direction perpendicular to the side portions, the upper portion and the lower portion, Ishikawa fails to disclose said structure, disclosing an electrode (Paragraph 0032, “A positive electrode 10 (electrode) and a negative electrode 11 (electrode) are arranged at a predetermined interval on an upper end 9 (one end) of the battery cell 5.”) which faces a direction parallel to the upper portion and the lower portion.
Therefore, we look to Roberts, which discloses a battery assembly (Abstract, “A battery assembly according to a non-limiting aspect of the present disclosure includes, among other things, an array of battery cells,”). Here, Roberts discloses structure where their battery cells have electrodes disposed on side faces (Paragraph 0046, “In this disclosure, the battery cells 58 each include at least one tab 60 projecting from a side of the battery array 56. In one particular example, the battery cells 58 each include two tabs 60 projecting from opposite sides of the battery array 56, with one tab electrically coupled to a negative terminal of the cell and the other tab electrically coupled to the positive terminal of the cell.”). Here, Roberts discloses that their structure which comprises side-projecting tabs allows for a full and uniform distribution of current from the battery cells throughout the battery array (Paragraph 0056, “When all tabs are connected to corresponding feeders 70, 74, the current from the battery cells 58 is distributed throughout the battery array.”), which allows for battery operation without putting overly high stress on a single cell within the assembly. Additionally, Roberts discloses that their invention’s busbar assembly which links together said horizontal-facing terminals is formed in such a way as to significantly reduce material waste, thereby reducing cost (Paragraph 0033, “Among other benefits, the disclosed busbar assembly is formed in a way that significantly reduces material waste relative to the prior art, which in turn reduces cost. These and other features are discussed in greater detail in the following paragraphs of this detailed description.”).
Accordingly, based on this disclosure of Roberts, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to modify the battery assembly of Ishikawa to comprise the side-facing electrodes and Roberts’ cost-reducing busbar assembly, thereby resulting in structure which has a reduced cost, as well as making obvious structure where the electrodes face from the side faces of the battery cell units, which are accordingly facing a direction perpendicular to the side portions of the first accommodating portions, the upper portion of the cell units, and the lower portion of the cell units.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725