DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 50-56 in the reply filed on April 23, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out any supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant states claims 38-49 and 57 are withdrawn (Remarks, 1, April 23, 2026); however the text of the claims is not included in the claim listing. Claims 38-49 and 57 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Claim Listing
“After each claim number, the status identifier of the claim must be presented in a parenthetical expression, and the text of each claim under examination as well as all withdrawn claims (each with markings if any, to show current changes) must be presented.” MPEP 714(II)(C).
Claim Objections
Claim 53 is objected to because of the following informalities: “including” should be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Giampapa (US 20140308248).
Giampapa teaches a “PM Dietary Supplement Composition” comprising α-lipoic acid 8-12 mg, Coenzyme Q10 2.8-4.2 mg, Acetyl-L-carnitine 4-6 mg, L-Glutamine 200-300 mg, L-Arginine (as L-arginine HCl) 128-192 mg, and excipients such as microcrystalline cellulose (Tables 2, 4; see title; abstract; claim 1). Regarding “for reducing HbA1c levels…” it is noted that the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. MPEP § 2111.02. Here Giampapa teaches “a dietary supplement system for supporting multifunctional anti-aging management”. The formulations of Tables 2 and 4 are capable of being administered orally and therefore could reduce HbA1c levels.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 50-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (US 20080213239).
Morris teaches dietary formulations comprising polyunsaturated fatty acids and vitamin E, combined with the five active agents in claim 50 and pharmaceutical carriers and/or excipients (title; abstract; paras.0008-11, 0025, 0028, 0062-64, 0091-93, 0124, 0129, p.16 Exemplary formulation 27; claims 1, 3, 13, 25). Morris teaches administering the formulation “for treating various disorders, including, but not limited to,… diabetes;…” (para.0161; see para.0175). The carrier includes “any of the standard pharmaceutical carriers such as a phosphate buffered saline solution” (para.0010).
Regarding claim 55, Morris teaches the alpha-lipoic acid can be present in a subject formulation in an amount of from about 50 mg to about 1000 mg, including about 600 or about 800 mg (para.0040). The carnitine can be present in a subject formulation in an amount of from about 150 mg to about 3000 mg, e.g., “from about 400 mg to about 450 mg” (para.0041). CoQ can be present in a subject formulation in an amount of from about 4 mg to about 250 mg, e.g., “from about 100 mg to about 125 mg” (para.0064). “[W]here a subject formulation includes … both arginine and glutamine, the arginine and glutamine are each present in an amount of from about 500 mg to about 10 g per unit dose, e.g.,… from about 750 mg to about 1 g, from about 1 g to about 2.5 g,…”, e.g., 1.5 g (para.0124 (emphasis added)).
Morris does not teach a single example formulation precisely as recited in claim 50. However it would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to prepare such a composition. The skilled person would have been suggested to do so because Exemplary formulation 27 comprises all of the five active agents but for L-glutamine, and Morris expressly teaches, “in some embodiments, a subject formulation includes arginine, glutamine, or both arginine and glutamine” (para.0124).
Regarding the percent ranges in claim 54 and the ratios in claim 56, as noted above Morris teaches dosages of each active agent as recited in claim 55. Furthermore “the amounts of additional components such as carnitine and α-lipoic acid, can vary according to various factors, including, e.g., the age of the individual, the weight of the individual, the genetic makeup of the individual, and the severity of symptoms exhibited by the individual to whom a subject formulation is administered” (para.0029). Therefore the skilled person could optimize the relative concentration of each active agent within Morris’s ranges. Optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Double Patenting
Claims 50-56 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. US 11337960.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to thiol-containing alkyl fatty acid formulations for reducing HbA1c levels in mammalian subjects in need thereof containing alpha-lipoic acid, L-carnitine, CoQ10, L-glutamine, and L-arginine as active ingredients, and pharmaceutically acceptable carriers and/or excipients. The differences are that the ‘960 patent claims limit the active agents to the five, and each to a specific dose, whereas the present claims encompass formulations comprising other active agents. However the “consisting of” in the ‘960 claims and the doses anticipate the current claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614