Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first roller adjustment unit actuatable in three-dimensional directions of movement by the first actuator” of claims 1, 9, and 15 and “the second roller adjustment unit actuatable in the three dimensional directions of movement by the second actuator” of claims 1 and 9, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6, and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the three dimensional directions" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 positively recites the limitation “three-dimensional directions” in lines 6-7, thus examiner assumes applicant intends to refer to said limitation and interprets claim 1, lines 11-12 to read “the three-dimensional directions” and has interpreted the claim as such.
Claims 2-6, and 8 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the three dimensional directions” in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 positively recites the limitation “three-dimensional directions” in lines 7-8, thus examiner assumes applicant intends to refer to said limitation and interprets claim 1, lines 11-12 to read “the three-dimensional directions” and has interpreted the claim as such.
Claims 10-14 are rejected because they depend from rejected claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-10, 14-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells, US4501642 in view of Hein, US9206008.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 9, Wells discloses:
a web processing apparatus ("paper manufacturing" Column 1, line 10), and a web tension adjustment unit (44, 46, 48, Figure on Page 2) for guiding a web (10, Figure on Page 2), the web tension adjustment unit, comprising:
a first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2), wherein the first guide roller, comprises:
a first actuator (44, Figure on Page 2)
a first roller adjustment unit (44, 46, Figure on Page 2) the first roller adjustment unit coupled to an end of the first guide roller (44, 46, Figure on Page 2 is coupled to end of 48), the first roller adjustment unit actuatable in a three-dimensional direction of movement by the first actuator (“when auxiliary roller 48 is moved by tension controller 44 in the direction marked x” Column 4, lines 22-23; direction x-y shown on the Figure on page 2 is a three-dimensional direction as consistent with applicant’s element 460 in Fig. 4 and Paragraphs [0055] and [0060]);
one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2) positioned to measure displacement data of the web at a first location (50, 52, Figure on Page 2); and a system controller (36, Figure on Page 2) for controlling the first roller adjustment unit (42, Figure on Page 2; "tension controller 44 is controlled by process control unit 36 through line 42" Column 4, lines 29-30) based on the displacement data (34, Figure on Page 2).
Wells does not disclose the first roller adjustment unit is actuatable in three-dimensional directions of movement by the first actuator, a second guide roller, wherein the second guide roller, comprises: a second actuator; and a second roller adjustment unit, the second roller adjustment unit coupled to an end of the second guide roller, the second roller adjustment unit actuatable in the three dimensional direction by the second actuator.
However, Hein, teaches a web tension adjustment unit wherein the first roller adjustment unit is actuatable in three-dimensional directions of movement by the first actuator (Column 5, lines 54-59; horizontal and vertical are three-dimensional directions); a second guide roller (roller 210, Fig. 3; 10, Fig. 5 shows two guide rollers), wherein the second guide roller, comprises: a second actuator (311, Fig. 4); and a second roller adjustment unit (310, Fig. 4), the second roller adjustment unit (310, Fig. 4) coupled to an end of the second guide roller (end of second guide roller 215, Fig. 4 coupled to 310), the second roller adjustment unit actuatable in the three dimensional directions of movement (Column 5, lines 54-59; horizontal and vertical are three-dimensional directions; see interpretation under U.S.C. 112(b) above) by the second actuator (Column 4, lines 60-65). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the web tension adjustment unit of Wells to add the capability of moving the roller in more than one three-dimensional direction and to add a second guide roller as taught by Hein to more accurately and precisely monitor and control the tension of the web. One would have been motivated to make such a modification because the guide roller can be “moved in a dimension that corresponds to the dimension in which the force caused by the web tension acts on the shaft of the guide roller” (Column 5, lines 62-64; Hein).
Regarding claim 8, Wells, in view of Hein, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and wherein the system controller (36, Figure on Page 2) is a closed-loop controller, and the displacement data is used as variable feedback signal (Sensor 20 measures web flutter, sends to data analyzer 34, to process control 36, then through 42 to adjustment unit 44, which increases or decreases the length of the web path by adjusting roller 48, adjusting the tension of the web 10 necessitates new measurement data by sensor 20, which repeats the feedback process, Figure on Page 2).
Regarding claim 10, Wells, in view of Hein, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 9, and further comprising a coating unit for coating the web ("such as xerography and other graphic applications" Column 1, lines 23-24).
Regarding claim 14, Wells, in view of Hein, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 9, and the one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2) measure an angle of reflection of the web (angle of reflection shown at 30, Figure on Page 2); and the system controller (36, Figure on Page 2) is configured to calculate a signal (42, Figure on Page 2) for adjusting a position (44, Figure on Page 2) of the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2) based on the measured angle of reflection of the web (based on data 34, Figure on Page 2) such that after adjustment, the tension of the web on both sides is identical ("the tension in the paper web can be maintained at a desired level" Abstract, lines 10-11).
Regarding independent claim 15, Wells discloses
a method for processing a web ("a method for sensing and controlling the tension of a paper web during the paper manufacturing process" Column 1, lines 11-13), comprising:
guiding the web (10, Figure on Page 2) using at least one web tension adjustment unit (44, 46, 48, Figure on Page 2), wherein the web tension adjustment unit comprises:
a first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2), the first guide roller comprising:
an actuator (44, Figure on Page 2);
a first roller adjustment unit (44, 46 Figure on Page 2), the first roller adjustment unit coupled to an end of the first guide roller (44, 46, Figure on Page 2 is coupled to end of 48), the first roller adjustment unit actuatable in a three-dimensional direction by the first actuator (“when auxiliary roller 48 is moved by tension controller 44 in the direction marked x” Column 4, lines 22-23; direction x-y shown on the Figure on page 2 is a three-dimensional direction as consistent with applicant’s element 460 in Fig. 4 and Paragraphs [0055] and [0060]); and
one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2) positioned to measure displacement of the web at a first location (displacement of web 10 at 50, 52, Figure on Page 2);
measuring the displacement of the web at the first location (50, 52, Figure on Page 2) to provide measured displacement data of the web (reflected at 30, data is sent to 34, Figure on Page 2); and
adjusting a position of the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2) by actuating the first roller adjustment unit (“when auxiliary roller 48 is moved by tension controller 44 in the direction marked x” Column 4, lines 22-23), wherein adjusting is based on the measured displacement of the web (42, Figure on Page 2;"tension controller 44 is controlled by process control unit 36 through line 42" Column 4, lines 29-30, which receives displacement data through data analyzer 34).
Wells does not disclose the first roller adjustment unit is actuatable in three-dimensional directions of movement. However, Hein, teaches a web tension adjustment unit wherein the first roller adjustment unit is actuatable in three-dimensional directions of movement by the first actuator (Column 5, lines 54-59; horizontal and vertical are three-dimensional directions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the web tension adjustment unit of Wells to add the capability of moving the roller in more than one three-dimensional direction as taught by Hein to more accurately and precisely monitor and control the tension of the web. One would have been motivated to make such a modification because the guide roller can be “moved in a dimension that corresponds to the dimension in which the force caused by the web tension acts on the shaft of the guide roller” (Column 5, lines 62-64; Hein).
Regarding claim 16, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 15, and further comprising calculating a signal (42, Figure on Page 2) for adjusting the position of the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2) based on the measured displacement data of the web (34, Figure on Page 2). Wells does not disclose wherein after adjustment, a tension of the web on both longitudinal sides is identical. Hein teaches a method for processing a web wherein after adjustment, a tension of the web on both longitudinal sides is identical (“the adjustment unit 310 is operated in order to equalize the tension measured at both sides of the guide roller 201” Column 7, lines 29-31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of modified Wells to add the adjustment to have equal tension on both longitudinal sides of the web as taught by Hein, in order to avoid “tilted feeding in the installation [which] may lead to a diagonal pull in the winding system” Column 1, lines 41-42; Hein).
Regarding claim 17, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 15, and further comprising coating the web with a layer of material (end uses of paper, such as xerography and other graphic applications" Column 1, lines 23-24) after adjusting the position of the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2; coating is an end use after tension has been adjusted, Column 1, lines 22-24).
Regarding claim 20, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 15, and the one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2) measure an angle of reflection of the web (angle difference between 5, 52 shown at 30, Figure on Page 2); and the method further comprises calculating a signal (42, Figure on Page 2) for adjusting the position of the first guide roller (44, 48, Figure on Page 2) based on the measured angle of reflection of the web (34, Figure on Page 2), wherein after adjustment, a tension of the web on both sides is identical ("the tension in the paper web can be maintained at a desired level" Abstract, lines 10-11).
Claim(s) 2-5, 11-13, 18-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells US4501642 in view of Hein, US9206008 and Morel, Foreign Patent Document, FR2705041.
Regarding claim 2, modified Wells, discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described in claim 1 above, and the one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2; "The non-contacting sensor means 20 also includes an optoelectronic detector 24 which is positioned to detect light from light source 22 which has been reflected by paper web 10" Column 3, lines 16-19).
Wells does not disclose confocal laser sensors, triangulation-based laser sensors, line-based laser sensors, or capacitance sensors. Morel teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, wherein the one or more first non-contact sensors are confocal laser sensors, triangulation-based laser sensors, line-based laser sensors, or capacitance sensors ("each sensor is a non-contact measuring device operating by laser or capacitive effect" Page 5, lines 165-166). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of modified Wells to add a laser based or capacitive sensor as taught by Morel to precisely measure variations in the position of the strip (Page 5, lines 166-167; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 3, modified Wells discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and one first non-contact sensor.
Wells does not disclose wherein the one or more first non- contact sensors include at least two sensors arranged in a transverse direction across the web perpendicular to a travel direction of the web. Morel, teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, wherein the one or more first non- contact sensors (42, 44, Fig. 2) include at least two sensors (42, 44, Fig. 2) arranged in a transverse direction across the web perpendicular to a travel direction of the web (sensors 42, 44 are arranged along the transverse direction L to the travel direction, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of modified Wells to add a second sensor as taught by Morel to obtain a distribution of stresses across the web in order “to make the desired corrections” (Page 6, lines 243-246; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension across the transverse direction of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 4, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 3, and wherein the first location (50, 52, Figure on Page 2) is between the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2) and a second roller (14, Figure Page 2), where the web is in a free span position (web 10 is in free-span position between roller 14 and roller 48, Figure on Page 2).
Wells does not disclose the second roller is a second guide roller. Hein teaches a second guide roller (10, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the web tension adjustment unit of Wells to add the second guide roller of Hein to further monitor and control the tension of the web.
Regarding claim 5, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 4, and wherein the one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2) measure an angle of reflection of the web (light reflects from web 10 at locations 50 and 52 which reflects at a different angle shown as light enters 32 and is measured at 30, Figure on Page 2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Wells discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described in claim 9 above, and the one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2; "The non-contacting sensor means 20 also includes an optoelectronic detector 24 which is positioned to detect light from light source 22 which has been reflected by paper web 10" Column 3, lines 16-19).
Wells does not disclose confocal laser sensors, triangulation-based laser sensors, line-based laser sensors, or capacitance sensors. Morel teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, wherein the one or more first non-contact sensors are confocal laser sensors, triangulation-based laser sensors, line-based laser sensors, or capacitance sensors ("each sensor is a non-contact measuring device operating by laser or capacitive effect" Page 5, lines 165-166). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of modified Wells to add a laser based or capacitive sensor as taught by Morel to precisely measure variations in the position of the strip (Page 5, lines 166-167; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 12, modified Wells discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 9, and the one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2) include at least a first sensor (20, Figure on Page 2) arranged in a transverse direction across the web perpendicular to a travel direction of the web (perpendicular to web 10 direction of travel, Figure on Page 2); and the first location (50, 52, Figure on Page 2) is between the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2) and a second roller (14, Figure on Page 2), where the web is in a free span position (web 10 is in free span between roller 48 and 14, Figure on Page 2).
Wells does not disclose a second sensor. Morel, teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, and a second sensor in the transverse direction (42, 44, Fig. 2, first and second sensors arranged transverse to travel direction of strip). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of modified Wells to add a second sensor as taught by Morel to obtain a distribution of stresses across the web in order “to make the desired corrections” (Page 6, lines 243-246; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension across the transverse direction of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 13, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 12, and wherein the first sensor (20, Figure on Page 2) is positioned to measure displacement of the web (50, 52, Figure on Page 2) at the first location (50, 52, Figure on Page 2) along the transverse direction (opposite to direction of running web 10, Figure on Page 2).
Wells does not disclose the second sensor is positioned to measure displacement of the web at a second location along the transverse direction. Morel, teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, and the second sensor (one of 42, 44, Fig. 2) is positioned to measure displacement of the web at a second location along the transverse direction (one of sensors 42, 44 are arranged along the transverse direction L to the travel direction to measure tension at a second location, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of modified Wells to add a second sensor as taught by Morel to obtain a distribution of stresses across the web in order “to make the desired corrections” (Page 6, lines 243-246; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension across the transverse direction of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 18, modified Wells discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described in claim 15 above, and one or more first non-contact sensors (20, Figure on Page 2; "The non-contacting sensor means 20 also includes an optoelectronic detector 24 which is positioned to detect light from light source 22 which has been reflected by paper web 10" Column 3, lines 16-19).
Wells does not disclose confocal laser sensors, triangulation-based laser sensors, line-based laser sensors, or capacitance sensors. Morel teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, wherein the one or more first non-contact sensors are confocal laser sensors, triangulation-based laser sensors, line-based laser sensors, or capacitance sensors ("each sensor is a non-contact measuring device operating by laser or capacitive effect" Page 5, lines 165-166). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Wells to add a laser based or capacitive sensor to precisely measure variations in the position of the strip (Page 5, lines 166-167; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 19, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described below in claim 21, and the first location (50, 52, Figure on Page 2) is between the first guide roller (48, Figure on Page 2) and a second roller (14, Figure on Page 2), where the web is in a free span position (web 10 is in free span between rollers 48 and 14, Figure on Page 2); and the first sensor is positioned to measure displacement of the web at a first location along the transverse direction (sensor 20 measures displacement 50, 52 at a first location, Figure on Page 2).
Wells does not disclose the second roller is a guide roller and the second sensor is positioned to measure displacement of the web at a second location along the transverse direction.
Hein teaches a second guide roller (10, Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the web tension adjustment unit of Wells to add the second guide roller of Hein to further monitor and control the tension of the web.
Morel, teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, and the second sensor (one of 42, 44, Fig. 2) is positioned to measure displacement of the web at a second location along the transverse direction (one of sensors 42, 44 are arranged along the transverse direction L to the travel direction to measure tension at a second location, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Wells to add a second sensor as taught by Morel to obtain a distribution of stresses across the web in order “to make the desired corrections” (Page 6, lines 243-246; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension across the transverse direction of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Regarding claim 21, modified Wells teaches the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 18, and one or more first non-contact sensors.
Wells does not teach wherein the one or more first non-contact sensors comprises at least a first sensor and a second sensor arranged in a transverse direction across the web perpendicular to a travel direction of the web. Morel, teaches sensors for products in a tensioned strip, and the second sensor (one of 42, 44, Fig. 2) is positioned to measure displacement of the web at a second location along the transverse direction (one of sensors 42, 44 are arranged along the transverse direction L to the travel direction to measure tension at a second location, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Wells to add a second sensor as taught by Morel to obtain a distribution of stresses across the web in order “to make the desired corrections” (Page 6, lines 243-246; Morel). One would have been motivated to make this modification to obtain a detailed representation of the tension across the transverse direction of the web so as to adjust the tension more accurately.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells, US4501642, and Hein, US9206008 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wilhelm, US20130083324.
Regarding claim 6, modified Wells discloses the invention substantially as claimed as described above in claim 1, and a first non-contact sensor.
Wells does not disclose further comprising one or more second non-contact sensors positioned opposite the one or more first non-contact sensors to monitor cross-web tension to monitor a second side of the web at the first location. Wilhelm teaches sensors for sensing a moving web, and one or more second non-contact sensors positioned opposite the one or more first non-contact sensors to monitor cross-web tension to monitor a second side of the web at the first location ("an opposed pair of laser triangulation displacement sensors measuring the top and bottom surfaces of the passing web, is positioned at some chosen cross-direction location" Paragraph [0119], lines 7-10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor of Wells to add a sensor on the opposite side of the web as taught by Wilhelm in order to measure the thickness of the web and other web parameters. One would have been motivated to make this modification to collect additional data about web characteristics in order to more accurately tension the web.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument on page 8, of Remarks filed 2/11/2026 that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “actuatable in three directions of movement”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant claims “three-dimensional directions of movement”, however the argument on page 8 is directed towards “three directions of movement”, thus the arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 9, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground of rejection set forth above. Examiner relies on Hein to teach the amended features of independent claims 1, 9, and 15, namely “three-dimensional directions of movement” which can be found in Hein, US9206008, Column 5, lines 54-59.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO2012045622 – Guide Roller adjustable in three-dimensional directions
US5397043 – Guide roller adjustable in three-dimensional directions
US8403252 – Guide roller adjustable in three-dimensional directions
/K.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654