DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action has been issued in response to Applicant's Arguments filed November 25, 2025.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 25, 2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Pub. No. 2020/0042707.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2020/0042707 to Kucherov (hereinafter “Kucherov”) and further in view of US Pub. No. 2023/0153438 to Bhagi et al. (hereinafter “Bhagi”).
As to Claim 1, Kucherov discloses a method, comprising:
monitoring, using a cloud storage service executing via cloud storage equipment comprising a processor during at least one first data reduction operation performed with respect to a cloud-based computing storage resource associated with the cloud storage equipment, a characteristic parameter of the cloud-based computing storage resource (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot);
generating, during the at least one first data reduction operation, a first characteristic parameter metric based on the monitoring of the characteristic parameter (Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot);
comparing the characteristic parameter metric to a defined normal characteristic criterion, wherein the defined normal characteristic criterion is based on at least one second data reduction operation performed with respect to the cloud-based computing storage resource, and wherein the at least one second data reduction operation is performed before the at least one first data reduction operation (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot); and
responsive to determining that the characteristic parameter metric does not satisfy the defined normal characteristic criterion, causing a [corrective] action to be performed (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility).
Kucherov does not explicitly disclose a corrective action.
However, Bhagi discloses this. Paragraph [0265] of Bhagi discloses after being invoked or instantiated by the entropy driver 304, the volume driver 306 revokes and/or restricts permissions for data volumes that have been affected by the possible ransomware and/or malware.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine the ransomware detecting system as disclosed by Kucherov, with performing corrective actions as disclosed by Bhagi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. Kucherov and Bhagi are directed toward ransomware detecting systems and as such it would be obvious to use the techniques of one in the other. Kucherov would be improved by enabling the system to fix the detected ransomware activity.
As to Claim 2, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the cloud-based computing resource comprises storage to store one or more storage units and to share and synchronize the one or more storage units between remote computing devices that are communicatively coupled with the cloud-based computing resource (Paragraph [0014] of Bhagi discloses technique for synchronizing primary data to a destination such as a failover site using a secondary copy).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 3, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the corrective action comprises blocking access, by the cloud storage service, to the cloud-based computing resource of one of the remote computing devices that provided a most recent update of a storage unit associated with the characteristic parameter metric that does not satisfy the defined normal characteristic criterion (Paragraph [0265] of Bhagi discloses after being invoked or instantiated by the entropy driver 304, the volume driver 306 revokes and/or restricts permissions for data volumes that have been affected by the possible ransomware and/or malware).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 4, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the corrective action comprises reverting a storage unit associated with the characteristic parameter metric that does not satisfy the defined normal characteristic criterion to a previous version of the storage unit and synchronizing the previous version to remote computing devices that are communicatively coupled with the cloud- based computing resource (Paragraph [0304] of Bhagi discloses the selected file (e.g., a most recent secondary copy or another selected secondary copy) is then restored to primary storage (e.g., primary storage of the client computing device 102 or another device) from the secondary storage device 108 and/or the secure cloud storage 310. Paragraph [0238] of Bhagi discloses the destination site 203 can later be reverse synchronized back to the production site 201, such as after repairs have been implemented or after the failure has passed).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 5, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the characteristic parameter monitored by the cloud service comprises a data reduction parameter applicable to data reduction (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility).
As to Claim 6, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the characteristic parameter metric comprises a percentage data reduction corresponding to a storage unit with respect to which at least some of the at least one first data reduction operation was performed (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
As to Claim 7, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the method of claim 6, wherein the storage unit comprises a folder (Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
As to Claim 8, Kucherov discloses a system, comprising: a processor of a cloud storage computing system configured to execute a cloud storage service, the processor configured to:
generate a first characteristic parameter metric based on monitoring a characteristic parameter of a cloud-based computing storage resource during a first monitoring period (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot);
based on an evaluation of the first characteristic parameter metric with respect to a normal characteristic criterion, determine that the first characteristic parameter metric does not satisfy the normal characteristic criterion (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot); and
responsive to the first characteristic parameter metric being determined not to satisfy the normal characteristic criterion, initiating a [corrective] action (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility), wherein the first characteristic parameter metric comprises a first number of storage units, stored by the cloud-based computing storage resource, that are uncompressible during the first monitoring period, wherein the normal characteristic criterion corresponds to a second number of storage units, stored by the cloud based computing storage resource, that were uncompressible during a second monitoring period, and wherein the second monitoring period occurs before the first monitoring period (Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
Kucherov does not explicitly disclose a corrective action.
However, Bhagi discloses this. Paragraph [0265] of Bhagi discloses after being invoked or instantiated by the entropy driver 304, the volume driver 306 revokes and/or restricts permissions for data volumes that have been affected by the possible ransomware and/or malware.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 9, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the cloud-based computing storage resource comprises storage to store one or more storage units, and to synchronize the one or more storage units between remote computing devices that are communicatively coupled with the cloud-based computing resource (Paragraph [0014] of Bhagi discloses technique for synchronizing primary data to a destination such as a failover site using a secondary copy).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 10, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the corrective action comprises blocking access to the cloud-based computing storage resource of one of the remote computing devices that provided a most recent update of a storage unit, of the one or more storage units and associated with the characteristic parameter metric, that does not satisfy the normal characteristic criterion (Paragraph [0265] of Bhagi discloses after being invoked or instantiated by the entropy driver 304, the volume driver 306 revokes and/or restricts permissions for data volumes that have been affected by the possible ransomware and/or malware).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 11, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the system of claim 8, wherein the corrective action comprises reverting a storage unit associated with the characteristic parameter metric that does not satisfy the normal characteristic criterion to a previous version of the storage unit and synchronizing the previous version to remote computing devices that are communicatively coupled with the cloud-based computing resource (Paragraph [0304] of Bhagi discloses the selected file (e.g., a most recent secondary copy or another selected secondary copy) is then restored to primary storage (e.g., primary storage of the client computing device 102 or another device) from the secondary storage device 108 and/or the secure cloud storage 310. Paragraph [0238] of Bhagi discloses the destination site 203 can later be reverse synchronized back to the production site 201, such as after repairs have been implemented or after the failure has passed).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 12, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the system of claim 8 wherein the characteristic parameter monitored by the cloud service comprises a parameter relating to data reduction (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility).
As to Claim 13, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the system of claim 12, wherein the characteristic parameter metric comprises a percentage data reduction corresponding to a storage unit on which at least some of the data reduction was performed (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot)
As to Claim 14, Kucherov discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
monitoring, with a cloud storage service with respect to a first data reduction operation, a data reduction parameter of a volume corresponding to a cloud-based storage equipment (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot);
generating a first data reduction metric based on the monitoring of the data reduction parameter with respect to the first data reduction operation (Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot);
comparing the first data reduction parameter metric to a defined normal data reduction criterion, wherein the defined normal data reduction criterion is based on a second data reduction operation performed with respect to the volume corresponding to the cloud-based storage equipment, and wherein the second data reduction operation is performed before the first data reduction operation determining that the first data reduction metric does not satisfy the defined normal data reduction criterion (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot); and
responsive to the determining that the first data reduction metric does not satisfy the defined normal data reduction criterion, facilitating a [corrective] action being performed in order to modify the data reduction metric to satisfy the defined normal data reduction criterion (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility), wherein the first data reduction parameter metric corresponds to a first number of storage units, stored by the volume corresponding to the cloud-based storage equipment, that are uncompressible during the first data reduction operation, and wherein the defined normal characteristic criterion corresponds to a second number of storage units, stored by the cloud-based storage equipment, that were uncompressible during the second data reduction operation (Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
Kucherov does not explicitly disclose a corrective action.
However, Bhagi discloses this. Paragraph [0265] of Bhagi discloses after being invoked or instantiated by the entropy driver 304, the volume driver 306 revokes and/or restricts permissions for data volumes that have been affected by the possible ransomware and/or malware.
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 15, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the volume corresponding to the cloud- based storage equipment is configured to store, share, and synchronize one or more files between remote computing devices that are communicatively coupled with the cloud-based storage equipment (Paragraph [0014] of Bhagi discloses technique for synchronizing primary data to a destination such as a failover site using a secondary copy).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 16, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the corrective action comprises blocking access by the cloud storage service to the volume corresponding to the cloud-based storage equipment of one of the remote computing devices that provided a most recent update of a file associated with the characteristic parameter metric that does not satisfy the defined normal characteristic criterion (Paragraph [0265] of Bhagi discloses after being invoked or instantiated by the entropy driver 304, the volume driver 306 revokes and/or restricts permissions for data volumes that have been affected by the possible ransomware and/or malware).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 17, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the facilitating of the corrective action comprises reverting a file associated with the characteristic parameter metric that does not satisfy the defined normal characteristic criterion to a previous version of the file and synchronizing the previous version to remote computing devices that are communicatively coupled with the volume corresponding to the cloud-based storage equipment (Paragraph [0304] of Bhagi discloses the selected file (e.g., a most recent secondary copy or another selected secondary copy) is then restored to primary storage (e.g., primary storage of the client computing device 102 or another device) from the secondary storage device 108 and/or the secure cloud storage 310. Paragraph [0238] of Bhagi discloses the destination site 203 can later be reverse synchronized back to the production site 201, such as after repairs have been implemented or after the failure has passed).
Examiner recites the same rationale to combine used for claim 1.
As to Claim 18, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the data reduction metric comprises a percentage of data reduction corresponding to a folder with respect to which a data reduction operation was performed (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
As to Claim 19, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the data reduction metric comprises a percentage of data reduction corresponding to the volume (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
As to Claim 20, Kucherov-Bhagi discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, wherein the defined normal data reduction criterion is based on the second data reduction being performed with respect to a folder based on the folder and contents of the folder being determined not to have been encrypted by a ransomware attack (Paragraph [0010] of Kucherov discloses generating an alert indicative of at least a potential ransomware attack on the storage system based at least in part on the monitored differential satisfying one or more specified conditions comprises determining that the monitored differential satisfies the one or more specified conditions, determining compressibility of at least a portion of the storage volume, and generating the alert responsive to the monitored differential satisfying the one or more specified conditions and the compressibility of the storage volume being below a specified level of compressibility. Paragraph [0008] of Kucherov discloses comprise a specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume relative to the given snapshot of the storage volume. For example, the specified minimum amount of change in the storage volume is illustratively specified in terms of at least one of a minimum number of storage units of the storage volume that have changed since generation of the given snapshot, and a minimum percentage of the storage volume that has changed since generation of the given snapshot).
Conclusion
/KEVIN S MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499