DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/14/22, 4/15/24, 4/28/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note applicable to all claims being rejected in this Office action: Examiner notes that the limitations "overlap", "layer", "portion" “region” are being interpreted broadly in accordance with MPEP. Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification. The claim presently disclose a structural limitation (i.e. overlap, layer, portion, contact) that is taught by prior art of record, therefore, the limitation is considered met by the prior art of record. Additionally, Merriam Webster dictionary defines the above limitations as “to occupy the same area in part”, “one thickness lying over or under another”, “an often limited part of a whole” “a part, portion, or area having no fixed boundaries” respectively. Further note the limitation “contact” is being interpreted to include "direct contact" (no intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between) and "indirect contact" (intermediate materials, elements or space disposed there between).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furuta et al (US 2014/0091478 A1 hereinafter Furuta).
Regarding Claim 1, Furuta discloses in Fig 8-10: An integrated circuit comprising:
a first keep-out zone (KOZ) See Fig 10 having a first vertical zone-boundary;
a second keep-out zone (See Fig 8) having a second vertical zone-boundary;
an array of first-type active-region structures and an array of second-type active-region structures extending in a first direction between the first vertical zone-boundary and the second vertical zone-boundary, and wherein each of the first vertical zone-boundary and the second vertical zone-boundary extends in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction;
an array of first-side boundary cells aligned with the first vertical zone-boundary along the second direction, wherein a first-side boundary cell has one or more ESD protection circuits (1003) and a pick-up region (1002); and
an array of second-side boundary cells aligned with the second vertical zone-boundary along the second direction, wherein a second-side boundary cell has one or more ESD protection circuits. Examiner notes that Figs 10 illustrate a single TSV with a keep-out zone, however, based on Fig 8, the same configuration of I/O pad and ESD devices can be applied to other TSVs on the device [0063-0065].
Regarding Claim 2, Furuta discloses in Fig 8-10: The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein most length of an active-region structure in the first-side boundary cell is occupied by one or more ESD device regions (1003) See Fig 10.
Regarding Claim 6, Furuta discloses in Fig 8-10: The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein most length of an active-region structure in the second-side boundary cell is occupied by one or more ESD device regions (1003) See Fig 10.
Regarding Claim 8, Furuta discloses in Fig 8-10: The integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the second-side boundary cell further has a pick-up region (pad 1002) See Fig 10.
Regarding Claim 9, Furuta discloses in Fig 8-10: An integrated circuit comprising:
a first keep-out zone (KOZ) having a first vertical zone-boundary extending in a second direction that is perpendicular to a first direction;
a second keep-out zone (See Fig 10) having a second vertical zone-boundary extending in the second direction;
an array of active-region structures including a first pair of adjacent active-region
structures and a second pair of adjacent active-region structures, the first pair of adjacent active-region structures having a first first-type active-region structure and a first second-type active-region structure, the second pair of adjacent active-region structures having a second first-type active-region structure and a second second-type active-region structure, wherein the first first-type active-region structure is adjacent to the second first-type active-region structure (See mark-up for claim 1), and (Examiner notes that there are no structural details of the active region structures, first first-type active-region structure, first second-type active-region structure, the second first-type active-region structure and a second second-type active-region structure are claimed and thus each of the cells as disclosed by Furuta reads on the above mentioned limitations. Additionally, the claim does not state that the “first-type” and “second-type” are different in any manner.
wherein each active-region structure in the array of active-region structures extends in the first direction between the first vertical zone-boundary and the second vertical zone-boundary (It is noted that the active region structures are three dimensional structures and thus will extend in a first direction);
a first-side boundary cell adjacent to the first vertical zone-boundary and having one or more ESD protection circuits (1003) and at least one pick-up region (1002); and
a second-side boundary cell adjacent to the second vertical zone-boundary and having one or more ESD protection circuits (See Fig 10) [0063-0065].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: With respect to claim 19, the primary reason for allowance is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “a boundary cell having an ESD device region, a dummy device region, and a pick-up region in the active-region structure, wherein the pick-up region is between the ESD device region and the dummy device region” as recited in claim 19 in combination with the remaining features.
Dependent claim 20 is allowed based on virtue of their dependencies
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 19, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
Claims 3-5, 7, 10-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 3, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “the first-side boundary cell has an ESD device region and a dummy device region therein, and wherein the dummy device region is between the ESD device region and the first vertical zone-boundary” as recited in claim 3 in combination with the remaining features.
Dependent claim 4 is indicated as containing allowable subject matter based on virtue of its dependency.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 3, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
With respect to claim 5, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the pick-up region in the first-side boundary cell is an active-region structure that also has an ESD device region and a dummy device region therein, and wherein the dummy device region is between the pick-up region and the first vertical zone-boundary.” as recited in claim 5 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 5, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
With respect to claim 7, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein an active-region structure in the second-side boundary cell has an ESD device region and a dummy device region therein, and wherein the dummy device region is between the ESD device region and the second vertical zone-boundary.” as recited in claim 7 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 7, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
With respect to claim 10, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the first-side boundary cell includes a first dummy device region in the first first-type active-region structure and a second dummy device region in the first second-type active-region structure, and wherein each of the first dummy device region and the second dummy device region is adjacent to the first vertical zone-boundary.” as recited in claim 10 in combination with the remaining features.
Dependent claims 11-15 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter based on virtue of their dependency.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 10, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
With respect to claim 16, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the second-side boundary cell includes an ESD device region and a dummy device region in the first first-type active-region structure, and wherein the dummy device region is between the ESD device region and the second vertical zone-boundary.” as recited in claim 16 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 16, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
With respect to claim 17, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the second-side boundary cell includes an ESD device region and a dummy device region in the first second-type active-region structure, and wherein the dummy device region is between the ESD device region and the second vertical zone-boundary.” as recited in claim 17 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 17, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
With respect to claim 18, the primary reason for indication of allowable subject matter is that the prior art of record either singularly or in combination fails to teach or suggest the limitation “wherein the second-side boundary cell includes an ESD device region, a pick-up region, and a dummy device region in the first first-type active-region structure, and wherein the pick-up region is between the ESD device region and the
dummy device region.” as recited in claim 18 in combination with the remaining features.
The most relevant prior art references, US 2014/0091478 A1 to Furata et al in Figs 8-10 substantially teaches the limitations of the claim 18, with the exception of the limitations described in the preceding paragraph. None of the references disclose a dummy device region as claimed.
Conclusion
/NISHATH YASMEEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811