DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 9th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 7th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8-9, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould (US Patent 4,322,860) in view of Walsh et al. (US 20160121345 A1), embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D.
Regarding claim 1, Gould discloses an incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head (1, entire structure, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a retainer body (7, Fig. 2) comprising a first end (top end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2), and a second end (bottom end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2) opposite the first end of the retainer body (top end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2) with a plurality of locking lugs (interpreting a lug as a ridge to increase traction, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, annotated in Fig. 2) on an outer surface of the retainer body (external surface of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2) adjacent the second end of the retainer body (bottom end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2);
a nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2) extending through the retainer body (7, shown in Fig. 2), the nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2) comprising a cleaning nozzle opening (24, Figs. 1-2) adjacent a first end of the nozzle stem (top end of cylindrical wall 19, shown in Figs. 1-2);
a cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2) coupled to the first end of the nozzle stem (top end of cylindrical wall 19, shown in Fig. 2);
a ratcheting pin (23, Fig. 2) coupled to the nozzle stem (19, shown in Fig. 2); and
a removable locking top ring (3, Fig. 1) removably coupled to the first end of the retainer body (7, shown in Fig. 2) around the cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2);
a cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) surrounding a side-wall of the cleaning head cap (9, shown in Fig. 2) and engaging the ratcheting pin (23, shown in Figs. 2-3), the cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) having a cam first half (25A, Figs. 2-4) with a plurality of cam first half teeth (33, Fig. 4) on an inner surface of the cam first half (34, 37, Fig. 4) oriented with a narrow end of each tooth of the plurality of cam first half teeth closer to a center of the cam unit than to a first outer edge of the cam first half (shown in Fig. 4), and having a cam second half (25B, Figs. 2-4) with a plurality of cam second half teeth (33, Fig. 4) on an inner surface of the cam second half (35, 39, Fig. 4) oriented with a narrow end of each tooth of the plurality of cam second half teeth closer to the center of the cam unit than to a second outer edge of the cam second half (shown in Fig. 4), wherein the cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) is stationary without moving parts, and wherein all components of the cam unit are stationary in relation to each other during reciprocating use (camming means is fixed and attached to stationary means, Claim 2).
However, Gould does not disclose the cam first half is permanently attached to the cam second half.
In the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C, Walsh teaches a cam first half (1128, Fig. 18C) is permanently attached to a cam second half (1130, upper section 1128 and lower section 1130 can be fixedly coupled together through, by non-limiting example, a sonic weld, heat staking, etc, Fig. 18C, Paragraph 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the motivation to have the two injection molded plastic outer cylinder sections including the two camming rings in Gould permanently attached via sonic weld or heat staking together as taught by Walsh as Walsh discloses these are known methods of fixedly coupling two plastic parts together (Walsh, Paragraph 0087).
Gould and Walsh, embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C, do not teach when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin in a first orientation with the first outer edge of the cam first half oriented closest to the removable locking top ring, the nozzle stem is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem, and when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin in a second orientation with the second outer edge of the cam second half closest to the removable locking top ring, the nozzle stem is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a counter-clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem.
In the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, Walsh teaches when the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 1B-17D) engages the ratcheting pin (1070, 1072, not explicitly shown, but there is a pair of diametrically opposed pins that extend radially from the flow control device 1012 that engage with saw tooth members 1046, 1048, Paragraph 0078) in a first orientation with the first outer edge of the cam first half, the nozzle stem (1060, Figs. 17B-17C) is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem (pattern cam 1080 rotates commensurately clockwise based on a force that allows one of the edges of disc 1082 to contact roundel 1054, Paragraph 0080), and when the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) engages the ratcheting pin (1070, 1072, not explicitly shown, but there is a pair of diametrically opposed pins that extend radially from the flow control device 1012 that engage with saw tooth members 1046, 1048, Paragraph 0078) in a second orientation with the second outer edge of the cam second half, the nozzle stem (1060, Figs. 17B-17C) is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a counter-clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem (pattern cam 1080 rotates commensurately counter-clockwise based on a force that allows one of the edges of disc 1082 to contact roundel 1054 in the other side from the clockwise position, Paragraph 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the cam unit taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to reduce turnover efficiency and improve circulation and push debris from the bottom of the pool into the circulation path towards the filter (Walsh, Paragraphs 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 2, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 1. However, Gould does not disclose a positioning key.
Walsh, embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, teaches an outer surface (outer surface of cam parts 1040, 1050, and 1080, shown in Figs. 17B-17D) of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) comprises a positioning key (not explicitly shown, but pattern cam 1080 includes an annular arc which includes a key mating with keyway of sleeve 1060, Paragraph 0080) configured to mate with an inner surface (inner surface of retainer 1032, shown in Fig. 17C) of the retainer body (1032, not explicitly shown, but pattern cam 1080 includes an annular arc which includes a key mating with keyway of sleeve 1060 and retainer 1032, shown in Fig. 17C-17D, Paragraph 0080) to positionally retain an angular orientation of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in relation to the retainer body (1032, Figs. 17C-17D) when the positioning key is mated with the retainer body during reciprocating use (keyway serves as an index, Paragraph 0080); the inner surface (shown in Fig. 17C) of the retainer body (1032, Figs. 17C-17D) further comprising angled surfaces (1081, 1038, shown in Fig. 17C) permitting ratcheting rotation of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in a first rotational direction through manual manipulation of the nozzle stem (1060, as sleeve 1060 rotates, pattern cam 1080 rotates, Figs. 17B-17C, Paragraphs 0079-0080), and restricting rotational movement of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (a user can select an angle of reciprocating rotation of 180 or 90 degrees, or a greater or lesser angle, and there would be an angle that permits rotation while the opposing angle restricts rotation, Paragraphs 0079-0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the positioning key taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to allow a secure connection due to mating of parts and allow indexing in the system (Walsh, Paragraphs 0080).
With respect to claim 5, Gould discloses an incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head (1, entire structure, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a retainer body (7, Fig. 2) comprising a first end (top end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2);
a nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2) extending through the retainer body (7, shown in Fig. 2), and having a cleaning nozzle opening (24, Figs. 1-2) at a first end of the nozzle stem (top end of cylindrical wall 19, shown in Figs. 1-2);
a ratcheting pin (23, Fig. 2) coupled to the nozzle stem (19, shown in Fig. 2); and
a cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4), is stationary without moving parts (camming means is fixed and attached to stationary means, Claim 2), the cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) surrounding the nozzle stem (19, shown in Fig. 2) and engaging the ratcheting pin (23, shown in Figs. 2), the cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) having a cam first half (25A, Figs. 2-4) with a plurality of cam first half teeth (33, Fig. 4) on an inner surface of the cam first half (34, 37, Fig. 4), and having a cam second half (25B, Figs. 2-4) in fixed positional relationship with respect to the cam first half (25A, Figs. 2-4), wherein all components of the cam unit are stationary in relation to each other during reciprocating use (camming means is fixed and attached to stationary means, Claim 2); and
a top ring (3, Fig. 1) removably coupled to the first end of the retainer body (7, Fig. 2) around the first end of the nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2);
wherein the cam first half (25A, Fig. 2) is fixedly attached (col. 4, lines 45-47) to the cam second half (25B, Fig. 2).
Gould does not teach when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin in a first orientation with the first outer edge of the cam first half oriented closest to the top ring, the nozzle stem is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem.
However, in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, Walsh teaches when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin in a first orientation with the first outer edge of the cam first half, the nozzle stem is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem (pattern cam 1080 rotates commensurately clockwise based on a force that allows one of the edges of disc 1082 to contact roundel 1054, Paragraph 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the cam unit taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to reduce turnover efficiency and improve circulation and push debris from the bottom of the pool into the circulation path towards the filter (Walsh, Paragraphs 0007-0008).
In regards to claim 6, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 5. However, Gould does not disclose a positioning key.
Walsh, in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, teaches an outer surface (outer surface of cam parts 1040, 1050, and 1080, shown in Figs. 17B-17D) of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) comprises a positioning key (not explicitly shown, but pattern cam 1080 includes an annular arc which includes a key mating with keyway of sleeve 1060, Paragraph 0080) configured to positionally engage with an inner surface (inner surface of retainer 1032, shown in Fig. 17C) of the retainer body (1032, not explicitly shown, but pattern cam 1080 includes an annular arc which includes a key mating with keyway of sleeve 1060 and retainer 1032, shown in Fig. 17C-17D, Paragraph 0080) to retain an angular orientation of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in relation to the retainer body (1032, Figs. 17C-17D) when the positioning key is engaged with the retainer body (keyway serves as an index, Paragraph 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the positioning key taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to allow a secure connection due to mating of parts and allow indexing in the system (Walsh, Paragraphs 0080).
Regarding claim 8, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 5. Gould further discloses comprising a cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2) coupled to the first end of the nozzle stem (top end of cylindrical wall 19, shown in Fig. 2), the ratcheting pin (23, Fig. 2) extending from the cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2) and coupled to the nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2) by way of the cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 9, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 5. Gould discloses the cam second half (25B, Figs. 2-4) further comprising a plurality of cam second half teeth (33, Fig. 4) on an inner surface of the cam second half (35, 39, Fig. 4) oriented with a narrow end of each tooth of the plurality of cam second half teeth closer to the center of the cam unit than to a second outer edge of the cam second half (shown in Fig. 4).
In the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, Walsh further teaches when the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) engages the ratcheting pin (1070, 1072, not explicitly shown, but there is a pair of diametrically opposed pins that extend radially from the flow control device 1012 that engage with saw tooth members 1046, 1048, Paragraph 0078), the nozzle stem (1060, Figs. 17B-17C) is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a counter-clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem (pattern cam 1080 rotates commensurately counter-clockwise based on a force that allows one of the edges of disc 1082 to contact roundel 1054 in the other side from the clockwise position, Paragraph 0080). In the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C, Walsh further discloses a second orientation (shown in Fig. 18B) with the second outer edge (bottom outer edge of lower section 1130, Fig. 18B) of the cam second half (1130, Figs. 18A-18B) closest to the removable locking top ring (1134, shown in Figs. 18A-18C).
Regarding claim 13, Gould discloses an incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head (1, entire structure, Figs. 1-2) comprising:
a retainer body (7, Fig. 2) comprising a first end (top end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2);
a nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2) extending through the retainer body (7, shown in Fig. 2);
a ratcheting pin (23, Fig. 2) coupled to the nozzle stem (19, shown in Fig. 2);
a cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) surrounding the nozzle stem (19, shown in Fig. 2) and engaging the ratcheting pin (23, shown in Figs. 2-3), the cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) having a cam first half (25A, Figs. 2-4) with a plurality of cam first half teeth (33, Fig. 4) on an inner surface of the cam first half (34, 37, Fig. 4), and having a cam second half (25B, Figs. 2-4) with a plurality of cam second half teeth (33, Fig. 4) on an inner surface of the cam second half (35, 39, Fig. 4); and
a top ring (3, Fig. 1) removably coupled to the first end of the retainer body (7, Fig. 2);
wherein the cam unit (25A, 25B, Figs. 2-4) is replaceable as a unit (as the claimed structure of the cam unit appears to be fully present, the prior art is fully capable of performing the claimed recitation), and is stationary without moving parts, and wherein all components of the cam unit are stationary in relation to each other during reciprocating use (camming means is fixed and attached to stationary means, Claim 2).
Gould does not teach when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin in a first orientation with the first outer edge of the cam first half oriented closest to the top ring, the nozzle stem is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem.
Walsh, in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, teaches when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin in a first orientation with the first outer edge of the cam first half, the nozzle stem is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem (pattern cam 1080 rotates commensurately clockwise based on a force that allows one of the edges of disc 1082 to contact roundel 1054, Paragraph 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the cam unit taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to reduce turnover efficiency and improve circulation and push debris from the bottom of the pool into the circulation path towards the filter (Walsh, Paragraphs 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 14, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 13. Walsh further teaches in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D an outer surface (outer surface of cam parts 1040, 1050, and 1080, shown in Figs. 17B-17D) of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) comprises a positioning key (not explicitly shown, but pattern cam 1080 includes an annular arc which includes a key mating with keyway of sleeve 1060, Paragraph 0080) configured to positionally engage with an inner surface (inner surface of retainer 1032, shown in Fig. 17C) of the retainer body (1032, not explicitly shown, but pattern cam 1080 includes an annular arc which includes a key mating with keyway of sleeve 1060 and retainer 1032, shown in Fig. 17C-17D, Paragraph 0080) to retain an angular orientation of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in relation to the retainer body (1032, Figs. 17C-17D) when the positioning key is engaged with the retainer body (keyway serves as an index, Paragraph 0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the positioning key taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to allow a secure connection due to mating of parts and allow indexing in the system (Walsh, Paragraphs 0080).
In regards to claim 15, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 14. However, Gould does not disclose a ratcheting surface.
In the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D, Walsh further teaches the inner surface (shown in Fig. 17C) of the retainer body (1032, Figs. 17C-17D) further comprising a ratcheting surface (1081, 1038, Fig. 17C) having angled surfaces (shown in Fig. 17C) permitting ratcheting rotation of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in a first rotational direction through manual manipulation of the nozzle stem (1060, as sleeve 1060 rotates, pattern cam 1080 rotates, Figs. 17B-17C, Paragraphs 0079-0080), and restricting rotational movement of the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) in a second rotational direction opposite the first rotational direction (a user can select an angle of reciprocating rotation of 180 or 90 degrees, or a greater or lesser angle, and there would be an angle that permits rotation while the opposing angle restricts rotation, Paragraphs 0079-0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the ratcheting surface taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C of Walsh above, to reduce turnover efficiency and improve circulation and push debris from the bottom of the pool into the circulation path towards the filter (Walsh, Paragraphs 0007-0008).
In regards to claim 16, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 13. Gould discloses a cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2) coupled to the first end of the nozzle stem (top end of cylindrical wall 19, shown in Fig. 2), the ratcheting pin (23, Fig. 2) extending from the cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2) and coupled to the nozzle stem (19, Fig. 2) by way of the cleaning head cap (9, Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 17, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 13. Gould discloses the retainer body (7, Fig. 2) comprising a second end (bottom end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2) opposite the first end (top end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2), the retainer body second end (bottom end of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2) comprising a plurality of locking lugs (interpreting a lug as a ridge to increase traction, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, annotated in Fig. 2) on an outer surface of the retainer body (external surface of outer cylinder 7, shown in Fig. 2) configured to engage a housing (3, Figs. 1-2) mounted in a swimming pool floor (4, shown in Fig. 1).
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould (US Patent 4,322,860) in view of Walsh et al. (US 20160121345 A1), embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Walsh et al. (US 20160121345 A1), embodiment of Figs. 16A-16I.
Regarding claim 3, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 1. However, Gould and Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 17A-17D and 18A-18C, do not teach the plurality of cam first half teeth includes at least one cam first half tooth shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam first half teeth, and the plurality of cam second half teeth includes at least one cam second half tooth shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam second half teeth.
In the embodiment of Figs. 16A-16I, Walsh discloses the plurality of cam first half teeth (2046, 2048, Fig. 16H) includes at least one cam first half tooth (2048, Fig. 16H) shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam first half teeth (2046, although the lower or second cam half is shown, cam teeth can vary in dimensions and lower cam half is positioned within the upper cam half where it corresponds to the upper edge so there would be a corresponding tooth to the larger teeth 2048, shown in Fig. 16H, Paragraph 0067, 0072), and the plurality of cam second half teeth (2046, 2048, Fig. 16H) includes at least one cam second half tooth (2048, Fig. 16H) shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam second half teeth (2046, shown in Fig. 16H), and wherein when the cam unit (2030, 2032, Fig. 16C) engages the ratcheting pin (2052, Fig. 16C) and the ratcheting pin (2052, Fig. 16C) incrementally rotates through the at least one cam first half tooth and the at least one cam second half tooth (use of a cam pin through the upper cam teeth and lower cam teeth allows stem to rotate, Paragraph 0068), the nozzle stem (2008, Fig. 16C) incrementally rotates a greater incremental distance than when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin and the ratcheting pin incrementally rotates through any of the remainder of the cam first half teeth and any of the remainder of the cam second half teeth (the incremental distance is greater at teeth 2048 than teeth 2046, shown in Fig. 16H, Paragraphs 0068, 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the removable locking top ring and the cam first half and the cam second half taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 16A-16I to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by Walsh, embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C and 17A-17D above, to allow the assembly to avoid or minimize time spent spraying obstacles such as stairs or walls when it is installed close to an edge of a pool (Walsh, Paragraph 0073).
With respect to claim 7, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 5. However, Gould and Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 17A-17D and 18A-18C, do not teach the plurality of cam first half teeth includes at least one cam first half tooth shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam first half teeth, and the plurality of cam second half teeth includes at least one cam second half tooth shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam second half teeth.
In the embodiment of Figs. 16A-16I, Walsh discloses the plurality of cam first half teeth (2046, 2048, Fig. 16H) includes at least one cam first half tooth (2048, Fig. 16H) shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam first half teeth (2046, although the lower or second cam half is shown, cam teeth can vary in dimensions and lower cam half is positioned within the upper cam half where it corresponds to the upper edge so there would be a corresponding tooth to the larger teeth 2048, shown in Fig. 16H, Paragraph 0067, 0072), and the plurality of cam second half teeth (2046, 2048, Fig. 16H) includes at least one cam second half tooth (2048, Fig. 16H) shaped different from a shape of a remainder of the cam second half teeth (2046, shown in Fig. 16H), and wherein when the cam unit (2030, 2032, Fig. 16C) engages the ratcheting pin (2052, Fig. 16C) and the ratcheting pin (2052, Fig. 16C) incrementally rotates through the at least one cam first half tooth and the at least one cam second half tooth (use of a cam pin through the upper cam teeth and lower cam teeth allows stem to rotate, Paragraph 0068), the nozzle stem (2008, Fig. 16C) incrementally rotates a greater incremental distance than when the cam unit engages the ratcheting pin and the ratcheting pin incrementally rotates through any of the remainder of the cam first half teeth and any of the remainder of the cam second half teeth (the incremental distance is greater at teeth 2048 than teeth 2046, shown in Fig. 16H, Paragraphs 0068, 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the removable locking top ring and the cam first half and the cam second half taught in Walsh’s cleaning head in the embodiment of Figs. 16A-16I to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and 17A-17D above, to allow the assembly to avoid or minimize time spent spraying obstacles such as stairs or walls when it is installed close to an edge of a pool (Walsh, Paragraph 0073).
Claims 4, 10-12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gould (US Patent 4,322,860) in view of Walsh et al. (US 20160121345 A1), embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, as applied to claims 1, 5, and 13 above, and further in view of Capdevila Arnau (US Patent 6,438,766).
In regards to claim 4, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 1. Gould discloses a spring (73, Figs. 2-3) around the nozzle stem (19, shown in Figs. 2-3) for retracting the nozzle stem (19, Figs. 2-3) with the spring (73, Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, Ln. 13-25, 48-66).
However, Gould and Walsh do not teach a reversible bayonet connector, and the nozzle stem to receive a weight around the nozzle stem. Capdevila Arnau teaches an incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) comprising a reversible bayonet connector (18, Fig. 3) is configured to reversibly couple to a second end (13’, Fig. 3) of the nozzle stem (13, Figs. 1-4, Col. 2, Ln. 18-21) opposite a first end of the nozzle stem (opposite end of notches 13’ on bushing 20, shown in Fig. 3), wherein the reversible bayonet (18, Fig. 3) is configured to removably engage the nozzle stem (13, Figs. 1-4) in a first orientation (orientation opposite of downward vertical motion, shown in Fig. 2, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34) to configure the nozzle stem (13, Figs. 1-4) to receive a weight (25, shown in Figs. 2, 4) around the nozzle stem (13, shown in Figs. 2, 4) for retracting the nozzle stem (13, shown in Fig. 2) with the weight (25, shown in Figs. 2, 4, Col. 2, Ln. 22-36), and removably engage the nozzle stem (13, Figs. 1-4) in a second orientation 180 degrees opposite the first orientation (downward vertical shifting motion, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34) to configure the nozzle stem (13, Figs. 1-4) to receive a spring (24, shown in Figs. 1, 3) around the nozzle stem (13, shown in Figs. 1, 3) for retracting the nozzle stem (13, shown in Fig. 1) with the spring (24, shown in Figs. 1, 3, Col. 2, Ln. 22-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the reversible bayonet connector and the weight taught in Capdevila Arnau’s cleaning head to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by Walsh, embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D above, to have a reversible bayonet connector configured to reversibly couple to a second end of the nozzle stem opposite the first end of the nozzle stem, wherein the reversible bayonet is configured to removably engage the nozzle stem in a first orientation to configure the nozzle stem to receive a weight around the nozzle stem for retracting the nozzle stem with the weight, and removably engage the nozzle stem in a second orientation 180 degrees opposite the first orientation to configure the nozzle stem to receive a spring around the nozzle stem for retracting the nozzle stem with the spring.
Although Capdevila Arnau teaches a bayonet connector, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the incrementally rotating in-floor cleaning head comprising a reversible bayonet connector, since such a modification would have involved a reversal of parts. A reversal of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). In addition, since there is only a finite number of solutions to reverse the bayonet connector, with a reasonable expectation of success, a person of ordinary skill would have a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. Doing so allows improves the movement of the tubular body downwards in a vertically shifting motion (Capdevila Arnau, Col. 1, Ln. 29-39).
In regards to claim 10, Gould, as modified by Walsh, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 5. Gould discloses a spring retraction system (73, Figs. 2-3).
However, Gould and Walsh do not teach a reversible bayonet, and a weighted retracted system as claimed. Capdevila Arnau teaches an incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) comprising a reversible bayonet connector (18, Fig. 3) configured to reversibly couple to a second end (13’, Fig. 3) of the nozzle stem (13, Fig. 3, Col. 2, Ln. 18-21) opposite a first end of the nozzle stem (opposite end of notches 13’, shown in Fig. 3) in either of a first orientation (orientation opposite of downward vertical motion, shown in Fig. 2, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34) or a second orientation opposite the first orientation (downward vertical shifting motion, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34) to adapt the cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) between a weighted retraction system (25, 29, 31, Figs. 2, 4) and a spring retraction system (24, Figs. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the reversible bayonet connector and the weighted retraction system taught in Capdevila Arnau’s cleaning head to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by Walsh, embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D above, to have a reversible bayonet connector configured to reversibly couple to a second end of the nozzle stem opposite the first end of the nozzle stem in either of a first orientation or a second orientation opposite the first orientation to adapt the cleaning head between a weighted retraction system and a spring retraction system.
Although Capdevila Arnau teaches a bayonet connector, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the incrementally rotating in-floor cleaning head comprising a reversible bayonet connector, since such a modification would have involved a reversal of parts. A reversal of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). In addition, since there is only a finite number of solutions to reverse the bayonet connector, with a reasonable expectation of success, a person of ordinary skill would have a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. Doing so allows improves the movement of the tubular body downwards in a vertically shifting motion (Capdevila Arnau, Col. 1, Ln. 29-39).
In regards to claim 11, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, and Capdevila Arnau, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 10. Capdevila Arnau further teaches the cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) further comprising a weight (25, Figs. 2, 4) removably coupled around the nozzle stem (13, shown in Fig. 4) with the reversible bayonet connector (18, Fig. 3) attached to the second end (13’, Fig. 3) of the nozzle stem (13, Fig. 4) oriented in the first orientation (orientation opposite of downward vertical motion, shown in Fig. 2, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34).
With respect to claim 12, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, and Capdevila Arnau, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 10. Capdevila Arnau teaches the cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) further comprising a spring (24, Figs. 1, 3) removably coupled around the nozzle stem (13, shown in Fig. 3) with the reversible bayonet connector (18, Fig. 3) attached to the second end (13’, Fig. 3) of the nozzle stem (13, Fig. 3) oriented in the second orientation (downward vertical shifting motion, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34).
With respect to claim 18, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, and Capdevila Arnau, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 13. Gould discloses a spring retraction system (73, Figs. 2-3).
However, Gould and Walsh do not teach a reversible bayonet, and a weighted retracted system as claimed. Capdevila Arnau teaches an incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) comprising a reversible bayonet connector (18, Fig. 3) configured to reversibly couple to a second end (13’, Fig. 3) of the nozzle stem (13, Fig. 3, Col. 2, Ln. 18-21) opposite a first end of the nozzle stem (opposite end of notches 13’, shown in Fig. 3) in either of a first orientation (orientation opposite of downward vertical motion, shown in Fig. 2, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34) or a second orientation opposite the first orientation (downward vertical shifting motion, shown in Fig. 1, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34) to adapt the cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) between a weighted retraction system (25, 29, 31, Figs. 2, 4) and a spring retraction system (24, Figs. 1, 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the reversible bayonet connector and the weighted retraction system taught in Capdevila Arnau’s cleaning head to Gould’s cleaning head, as modified by Walsh, embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D above, to have a reversible bayonet connector configured to reversibly couple to a second end of the nozzle stem opposite the first end of the nozzle stem in either of a first orientation or a second orientation opposite the first orientation to adapt the cleaning head between a weighted retraction system and a spring retraction system.
Although Capdevila Arnau teaches a bayonet connector, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to have the incrementally rotating in-floor cleaning head comprising a reversible bayonet connector, since such a modification would have involved a reversal of parts. A reversal of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). In addition, since there is only a finite number of solutions to reverse the bayonet connector, with a reasonable expectation of success, a person of ordinary skill would have a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. Doing so allows improves the movement of the tubular body downwards in a vertically shifting motion (Capdevila Arnau, Col. 1, Ln. 29-39).
Regarding claim 19, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, and Capdevila Arnau, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 18. Capdevila Arnau further teaches the cleaning head (1, Figs. 1-2) further comprising a weight (25, Figs. 2, 4) removably coupled around the nozzle stem (13, shown in Fig. 4) with the reversible bayonet connector (18, Fig. 3) attached to the second end (13’, Fig. 3) of the nozzle stem (13, Fig. 4) oriented in the first orientation (orientation opposite of downward vertical motion, shown in Fig. 2, Col. 2, Ln. 33-34).
With respect to claim 20, Gould, as modified by Walsh, embodiments of Figs. 18A-18C and Figs. 17A-17D, and Capdevila Arnau, discloses the incrementally rotating in-floor swimming pool cleaning head of claim 18. Walsh in the embodiment of Figs. 17A-17D further discloses when the cam unit (1040, 1050, 1080, Figs. 17B-17D) engages the ratcheting pin (1070, 1072, not explicitly shown, but there is a pair of diametrically opposed pins that extend radially from the flow control device 1012 that engage with saw tooth members 1046, 1048, Paragraph 0078), the nozzle stem (1060, Figs. 17B-17C) is configured to reciprocally ratchet in a counter-clockwise direction in response to intermittent water pressure passing through the nozzle stem (pattern cam 1080 rotates commensurately counter-clockwise based on a force that allows one of the edges of disc 1082 to contact roundel 1054 in the other side from the clockwise position, Paragraph 0080). In the embodiment of Figs. 18A-18C, Walsh further discloses a second orientation (shown in Fig. 18B) with the second outer edge (bottom outer edge of lower section 1130, shown in Fig. 18B) of the cam second half (1130, Figs. 18A-18B), opposite the first outer edge (top outer edge of lower section 1130, shown in Fig. 18B) closest to the top ring (1134, shown in Figs. 18A-18C).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752 /STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752