DETAILED ACTION
Office Action: Notice
Claim Status
Claims 1-60, 65, 68, and 70 were previously canceled (11/3/2025). Claim 61 has been amended (4/30/2026). Claims 61-64, 66-67, 69, and 71-78 are pending and thus under examination (4/30/2026).
Priority
Claims 61-64, 66-67, 69, and 71-78 receive a priority date of 6/21/2019, the effective filing date of U.S. Provisional Patent 62/865,094.
Rejections Withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 61-64, 66-67, 69, and 71-78 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Short et al., (02/29032, published 4/11/2002) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s arguments and amendments (4/30/2026). Specifically, Short fails to disclose the use of a flap endonuclease as a functional enzymatic component in the claimed nucleic acid assembly reaction mixture, as now required by amended independent claim 61.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 61-64, 66-67, 69, and 71-78 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Short et al., (02/29032, published 4/11/2002) and Jaiswal et al. (“Assembly of the Base Excision Repair Complex on Abasic DNA and Role of Adenomatous Polyposis Coli on Its Functional Activity”, Biochemistry, published 2011) and in further view of Querol-Audi et al. (“Repair complexes of FEN1 endonuclease, DNA, andRad9-Hus1-Rad1 are distinguished from their PCNAcounterparts by functionally important stability”, PNAS, published 2012).
Regarding claims 61-64, Short teaches that sequences can be obtained or assembled from computer data bases, publications or can be determined or conceived de novo (p. 79, Paragraph 3). Short also teaches that the previously described assembly or cellular transformation includes a first probe set, each having one interrogation position corresponding to a nucleotide of interest in the reference sequence, where the second, third and fourth probe sets each have a corresponding probe for each probe in the first probe or nucleic acid sequence set, and so each also contains a total of fifty probes and the identity of each nucleotide of interest in the reference sequence is determined by comparing the relative hybridization signals at four probes having interrogation positions corresponding to that nucleotide from the four probe sets (p. 82, Paragraph 3). Also, Short teaches that the previously mentioned nucleotide of interest or target sequence includes the variability of the variable regions of both the heavy and light chains is for the most part restricted to three small hypervariable regions in each chain (p. 383, Paragraph 2), including restriction endonuclease-based types for producing a sticky end in a working polynucleotide or target (p. 317, Paragraph 1), and a universal class of recombinase enzymes or primers which promote probe-target pairing reactions (p. 337, Paragraph 2). Further Short teaches that probe or nucleic acid generation in the array include outside sequences as vector sequences to minimize degeneracy (p. 347, Paragraph 1). Further, Short teaches the application of the sequence tag method or barcode into the previously described assembly, which involves generation of a large number of Expressed Sequence Tags ("ESTs") from cDNA libraries (each produced from a different tissue or sample) (p. 108, Paragraphs 5-6).
Additionally, Short teaches the application of the probe assembly system to 11-mer, which involves six nucleotides of interest (p. 83, Paragraphs 5-6). Short teaches that the involvement of additional probes or sequences of interest include preferred attached chemical substituents like cross-linking agents and nucleic acid cleavage agents, metal chelates,
topoisomerases, endonucleases (i.e., flap-endonucleases, XPG family (p. 345, Paragraph 2)), exonucleases, ligases, phosphodiesterases, photodynamic porphyrins, chemotherapeutic drugs, intercalating agents, labels, base-modification agents, agents which normally bind to nucleic acids such as labels or barcodes or tags, immunoglobulin chains, and oligonucleotides (p. 373-374).
Further, Short teaches that the previously described assembly method includes a
collection of selected complementarities determining regions ("CDRs") after the first round of affinity selection (p. 274, Paragraph 3) as part of shuffling of the DNA sequences to reduce error (p. 275, Paragraph 1-3). Short also teaches that CDR3 is used to increase diversity of the CDR regions (p. 721, Paragraph 2).
Further, Short teaches the application of this assembly for the generation and sorting of up to hundreds of nucleotides in length with high fidelity; however, these can be assembled, i.e. using overhangs or sticky ends, to form double-stranded nucleic acids of up to
thousands of base pairs, if not tens of thousands of base pairs, in length if so desired (p. 305, Paragraph 5).
Regarding claims 66-67, Short teaches the application of the previously described synthesizing method to a plurality of sequences (which may but do not necessarily overlap) which can be introduced into a terminal or variable region of an end-selectable polynucleotide by the use of an oligo in a polymerase-based reaction to provide a preferred 5' terminal region that is serviceable for topoisomerase I-based end-selection, which oligo is comprised of: a 1-10 base sequence that is convertible into a sticky end (preferably by a vaccinia topoisomerase I), a ribosome binding site (i.e. and "RBS", that is preferably serviceable for expression cloning), and optional linker sequence followed by an ATG start site and a template-specific or variant-specific sequence of about 100 bases (to facilitate annealment to the template in the polymerase-based reaction) (p. 317, Paragraph 3).
Further, Short teaches the application of a set of primers to a second set of synthesized variant regions, incorporating an additional 10-30 nucleotide long template or variant specific sequence in addition to the initial 100 bases of the first variant or template sequence, as described above (p. 319, Paragraphs 1-3).
Regarding claims 69 and 71, Short teaches that the involvement of additional probes or sequences of interest include preferred attached chemical substituents like cross-linking agents and nucleic acid cleavage agents, metal chelates, topoisomerases, endonucleases (i.e., flap-endonucleases, XPG family (p. 345, Paragraph 2)), exonucleases (i.e., exonuclease III for shuffling (Figure 1)), ligases, phosphodiesterases, photodynamic porphyrins, chemotherapeutic drugs, intercalating agents, labels, base-modification agents, agents which normally bind to nucleic acids such as labels or barcodes or tags, immunoglobulin chains, and oligonucleotides (p. 373-374).
Regarding claims 72-73, Short teaches that for assembly or cellular transformation, standard convention (5' to 3 ') is used herein to describe the sequence of double stranded polynucleotides via DNA polymerase generation (Figures 2 and 26; p. 59, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 74, Short teaches that the previously described de novo method of synthesis and assembly includes ligation, which refers to the process of forming phosphodiester bonds between two double stranded nucleic acid fragments and is accomplished using known buffers and conditions with 10 units ofT4 DNA ligase ("ligase") per 0.5 μg of approximately
equimolar amounts of the DNA fragments to be ligated (p. 54, Paragraph 2).
Regarding claims 75-76, Short teaches that the previously described de novo method of synthesis and assembly includes domain homology clamps or regions of fixed variability (20 to 100 nucleotides long) which are typically located at or near the 5' or 3' end, preferably domain homology clamps are internal or located at each end of the polynucleotide where it believed that the addition of recombinases permits efficient gene targeting with targeting polynucleotides having short (i.e., about 10 to 1000 basepairs long) segments of homology, as well as with targeting polynucleotides having longer segments of homology (p, 361, Paragraphs 1-2).
Short further teaches that a different 20-40 base sequence is amplified on an adjacent gene which contains the complementary strand of the initial or first sequence or site of fixed variability or interest (p. 479, Paragraph 1).
Regarding claim 77, Short teaches that the involvement of additional probes or sequences of interest include preferred attached chemical substituents like cross-linking agents and nucleic acid cleavage agents, metal chelates, topoisomerases, endonucleases (i.e., flap-endonucleases, XPG family, FEN1 (p. 345, Paragraph 2)), exonucleases (i.e., exonuclease III for shuffling (Figure 1)), ligases, phosphodiesterases, photodynamic porphyrins, chemotherapeutic drugs, intercalating agents, labels, base-modification agents, agents which normally bind to nucleic acids such as labels or barcodes or tags, immunoglobulin chains, and oligonucleotides (p. 373-374).
Regarding claim 78, Short teaches that the previously described de novo method of synthesis and assembly can be formed of any number of individual capillaries, for example, a range from 100 to 4,000,000 capillaries, where each capillary applies to an individual nucleic acid (p. 238, Paragraph 2).
Although Short teaches enzymatic nucleic acid assembly, Short does not teach or suggest incorporating a flap endonuclease as a functional component of the claimed assembly reaction mixture.
Jaiswal further teaches a functional multiprotein DNA-processing complex comprising flap endonuclease 1 (FEN1), DNA polymerase β, and DNA ligase I (Abstract; Figure 1; Introduction: Paragraphs 1-3). Jaiswal additionally teaches that FEN1 within the assembled complex catalyzes cleavage of flap-containing DNA substrates (Figure 3), thereby establishing the functional compatibility of FEN1 with polymerase and ligase in a coordinated DNA-processing system (Discussion). Accordingly, Jaiswal provides additional evidence that FEN1 could be employed alongside DNA synthesis and ligation enzymes to process suitable flap-containing DNA intermediates.
Querol-Audi teaches that flap endonuclease (FEN1) catalyzes the cleavage of 5’ single stranded DNA flaps generated during DNA synthesis and processing, thereby producing nicked DNA intermediates capable of being sealed by subsequent DNA ligase activity (Abstract). Querol-Audi further teaches the functional association of FEN1 with DNA polymerase and DNA ligase during coordinated DNA processing (Introduction: Paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the nucleic acid assembly method of Short to incorporate FEN1, as taught by Querol-Audi and Jaiswal, into the enzymatic assembly reaction mixture. Querol-Audi teaches that FEN1 cleaves 5’ single-stranded DNA flap structures generated during DNA processing, producing nicked DNA intermediates suitable for subsequent ligation. Jaiswal further teaches the functional association of FEN1 with DNA polymerase β and DNA ligase I in a coordinated DNA-processing complex. Such a modification would have provided a predictable means of facilitating the processing and ligation of suitable DNA intermediates, consistent with the established enzymatic function of FEN 1 as taught by Querol-Audi and Jaiswal.
Furthermore, Short teaches the assembly of nucleic acid fragments into larger double-stranded nucleic acid constructs using overhangs or sticky ends, as well as the use of vector sequences in nucleic acid generation, as shown above. Accordingly, to the extent that the initial nucleic acid assembly and subsequent vector assembly involve compatible flap-containing DNA intermediates, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reason to employ the FEN1-containing enzymatic reaction mixture in both assembly steps to obtain the same known benefits of flap processing and subsequent ligation.
One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore have been motivated to incorporate FEN1 into Short’s enzymatic assembly reaction to facilitate removal of flap structures from suitable DNA intermediates and promote subsequent ligation, with a reasonable expectation of success based on the established roles and functional compatibility of these enzymes in DNA processing. Specifically, Querol-Audi establishes the ability of FEN1 to process 5’ DNA flap structures into ligatable intermediates, while Jaiswal demonstrates the coordinated participation of FEN1, DNA polymerase, and DNA ligase in an enzymatic DNA-processing system. Thus, incorporating FEN1 into a compatible enzymatic nucleic acid assembly reaction would have represented the application of a known enzymatic function to obtain its predictable result.
Summary of Applicant’s Arguments: Applicant argues that Short fails to disclose the claimed enzymatic-mediated nucleic acid assembly reaction mixture comprising a flap endonuclease. Specifically, Applicant contends that Short’s teachings of XPG-family flap endonucleases concerns genes or gene families targeted for mutation rather than the functional use of a flap endonuclease in the claimed nucleic acid assembly reaction.
Examiner’s Response to Traversal: Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are considered partially persuasive, as the previous 35 USC 102 rejection has been withdrawn and replaced with a 35 USC 103 rejection.
Specifically, this rejection relies upon the combined teachings of Short, Querol-Audi and Jaiswal rather than Short alone, as previously shown.
Although Short does not expressly disclose the use of a flap endonuclease as a functional component of the claimed enzymatic assembly reaction mixture, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate FEN1 into Short’s nucleic acid assembly process in view of the teachings of Querol-Audi and Jaiswal, for the purpose of processing suitable 5’ DNA flap structures and facilitating subsequent ligation, as set forth in the new 35 USC 103 rejection above. Thus, incorporating FEN1 into a compatible nucleic acid assembly reaction would have been an obvious modification for facilitating flap processing and subsequent ligation. And as such, the absence of an express disclosure of the claimed flap endonuclease in Short is not, by itself, sufficient to overcome the obviousness rejection, since the proposed modification relies upon the combined teachings of the cited references.
Furthermore, the Examiner acknowledges that amended claim 61 requires the flap endonuclease-containing reaction mixture in both step (d), involving assembly of the fifth and sixth nucleic acids, and step (h), involving assembly of the seventh nucleic acid into a vector. However, the recitation of FEN1 in both assembly steps does not, by itself, establish nonobviousness where the same known flap processing and ligation functions would be applicable to suitable DNA intermediates in each reaction. Specifically, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ FEN1-containing reaction mixture during Short’s subsequent vector assembly step (h) to facilitate removal of any 5’ flap structures formed during nucleic acid joining, thereby generating ligatable DNA intermediates. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected success based on Querol-Audi and Jaiswal’s teachings that FEN1 functions in coordination with DNA polymerase and ligase to process suitable DNA substrates.
The Examiner notes that Short’s disclosure of nucleic acid assembly using overhangs or sticky ends does not necessarily require the formation of 5’-flap containing intermediates. Nevertheless, the presently claimed method does not exclude the processing of such intermediates during nucleic acid assembly. Accordingly, an amendment further defining the particular nucleic acid assembly mechanism, substrate structures, or reaction conditions that distinguish the claimed assembly process from the combined teaches of Short, Querol-Audi, and Jaiswal may overcome the presently asserted rejection, provided such limitations are supported by the originally filed disclosure and are not otherwise taught or suggest by the prior art.
Conclusions
No claim is allowed.
/ELIZABETH ROSE LAFAVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684