DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19-23, 27-31, 37 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Coakley et al (US# 2023/0112874).
Coakley et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a vibration isolation assembly configured to reduce the communication of at least one excitation vibration between at least one supporting surface (wheel side connection) and at least one payload (chassis/frame), comprising: at least one housing assembly having at least one housing body 101 with at least one pneumatic chamber 107 formed therein, the at least one pneumatic chamber configured to accept at least one fluid, wherein the at least one housing assembly is supported by the at least one supporting surface (surface of fastener extending through lower eyelet); at least one mass engaging member 104 and/or 102 supported by the at least one pneumatic chamber, the at least one mass engaging member configured to support at least a portion of the at least one payload; at least one first thermally conductive member 109 positioned within the at least one pneumatic chamber, the at least one first thermally conductive member 109 in thermal communication with the at least one housing body 101, wherein the at least one first thermally conductive member is configured to transfer thermal energy from the at least one fluid in the at least one pneumatic chamber to the at least one housing body [0089]. Figures 1-2 and 4-5.
Regarding claim 4, the at least one first thermally conductive member 405/503/505 includes at least one thermally conductive body with a plurality of channels 504 formed therein. Figure 5.
Regarding claim 19, at least one second thermally conductive member is secured to at least one outer surface of the housing body. [0057]
Regarding claim 20, the at least one second thermally conductive member is at least one heat sink. [0057] Cooling fins.
Regarding claim 21, at least one of the at least one housing body 101 and the at least one mass engaging member 104 are formed from a material selected from a group consisting of aluminum, steel, stainless steel, copper, brass, bronze, polymer, composite materials, and ceramic materials. [0075][0089].
Regarding claim 22, the at least one first thermally conductive member is formed from a material selected from a group consisting of aluminum, steel, stainless steel, copper, copper-tungsten, brass, bronze, polymers, diamond, composite materials, and ceramic materials. [0087]
Regarding claim 23, the at least one pneumatic chamber 107 is placed in thermal communication with at least one thermally conductive fluid that is in contact with at least one outer surface of the at least one housing body. Note the fins conduct heat to the outside air [0057].
Regarding claim 27, the at least one first thermally conductive member 503 is in thermal communication with the at least one mass engaging member 502 at least via the oil and housing wall.
Regarding claim 28, the at least one first thermally conductive member 503 is in thermal communication with the at least one payload 502.
Regarding claim 29, the thermal energy is transferred away from the at least one housing body by forced convection. Note the fins 505 transfer thermal energy to the surrounding air, which includes an airstream when the vehicle moves.
Regarding claims 30-31, free convection and radiation are inherent modes of heat transfer for the device.
Regarding claim 37, the at least one mass engaging member 104 is configured to adjust the vertical position of the at least one payload. Note higher charge pressures would extend the rod 104 and raise the vehicle.
Regarding claim 39, Coakley et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claim including; a vibration isolation assembly comprising: at least one housing assembly having at least one housing body 101 with at least one fluid chamber 107 formed therein, the at least one fluid chamber configured to accept at least one fluid therein, at least one mass engaging member 104 and/or 102 supported by the at least one fluid chamber, the at least one mass engaging member configured to support at least a portion of the at least one payload; at least one first thermally conductive member 109 positioned within the at least one fluid chamber, the at least one first thermally conductive member 109 in thermal communication with the at least one housing body 101 and configured to transfer thermal energy from the at least one fluid in the at least one fluid chamber to the at least one housing body [0089]. Figures 1-2 and 4-5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley et al (US# 2023/0112874) in view of Weickert et al (US# 2018/0328601).
Coakley et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the at least one first thermally conductive member being at least one honeycomb structure (claim 2), metallic honeycomb (claim 3), or channels having square, rectangular, triangular, pentagonal, hexagonal, octagonal, trapezoidal, circular, elliptical, or oval shape (claim 5). Coakley suggests an open-cell foam adsorptive material [0017][0030]. Weickert et al teaches adsorptive structures having honeycomb or metallic honeycomb form [0031]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a honeycomb structure or metallic honeycomb structure, such as taught by Weickert et al with the adsorptive material of Coakley as an obvious alternative structure that provides adequate structure while ensuring maximum contact area with the gas in the chamber.
Regarding claim 5, “honeycomb” suggests a hexagonal shape.
Claim(s) 1, 19-21, 23, 27-31 and 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley et al (US# 2016/0186829) in view of Coakley et al (US# 2023/0112874).
Coakley et al disclose a vibration isolation assembly 1 configured to reduce the communication of at least one excitation vibration between at least one supporting surface 40 and at least one payload (load [0015]), comprising: at least one housing assembly having at least one housing body 20/30 with at least one pneumatic chamber 50 formed therein, the at least one pneumatic chamber configured to accept at least one fluid, wherein the at least one housing assembly is supported by the at least one supporting surface 40; at least one mass engaging member 10 supported by the at least one pneumatic chamber, the at least one mass engaging member configured to support at least a portion of the at least one payload; at least one adsorptive member 70 positioned within the at least one pneumatic chamber. Coakley et al ‘829 lack the disclosure of the adsorptive material being a thermal conductive member. Coakley et al ‘874 teach a similar use of adsorptive material and further teach the inclusion of a heat conductive additive to facilitate the transfer of thermal energy from a fluid to a housing body [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air spring including a heat conductive additive in the adsorptive material of Coakley et al ‘829, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 to and provide consistent performance by removing generated heat from the fluid.
Regarding claim 19, Coakley et al ‘874 further teach at least one second thermally conductive member secured to at least one outer surface of the housing body. [0057] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the fins taught by Coakley et al ‘874 in the device of Coakley et al ‘829 to further improve heat dissipation, thereby improving performance.
Regarding claim 20, the at least one second thermally conductive member is at least one heat sink. [0057] Cooling fins.
Regarding claim 21, Coakley et al ‘829 further lack the disclosure of at least one of the at least one housing body and the at least one mass engaging member being formed from a material selected from a group consisting of aluminum, steel, stainless steel, copper, brass, bronze, polymer, composite materials, and ceramic materials. Coakley et al ‘874 further teach a housing body made of plastics (polymer) or aluminum [0075][0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the housing or mass engaging member of aluminum or plastic, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 to provide strength and/or further heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 23, the at least one pneumatic chamber 50 is placed in thermal communication with at least one thermally conductive fluid that is in contact with at least one outer surface of the at least one housing body. Note exterior conducts heat to the outside air.
Regarding claim 27, the at least one first thermally conductive member 70 is in thermal communication with the at least one mass engaging member [0062].
Regarding claim 28, the at least one first thermally conductive member 70 is in thermal communication with the at least one payload via 10.
Regarding claim 29, the thermal energy is transferred away from the at least one housing body by forced convection. Note thermal energy is transferred to the surrounding air, which includes an airstream when the vehicle moves.
Regarding claims 30-31, free convection and radiation are inherent modes of heat transfer for the device.
Regarding claim 37, the at least one mass engaging member 10 is configured to adjust the vertical position of the at least one payload. Note higher charge pressures would extend the plate and raise the platform.
Regarding claim 38, the at least one mass engaging member 10 is configured to absorb thermal energy from the at least one pneumatic chamber. [0062] suggest the mass engaging member can be configured with the casing of the adsorptive material.
Regarding claim 39, Coakley et al a vibration isolation assembly comprising: at least one housing assembly 20/30 having at least one housing body 30 with at least one fluid chamber 50 formed therein, the at least one fluid chamber configured to accept at least one fluid therein, at least one mass engaging member 10 supported by the at least one fluid chamber, the at least one mass engaging member configured to support at least a portion of the at least one payload; at least one adsorptive member 70 positioned within the at least one fluid chamber. Coakley et al ‘829 lack the disclosure of the adsorptive material being a thermal conductive member. Coakley et al ‘874 teach a similar use of adsorptive material and further teach the inclusion of a heat conductive additive to facilitate the transfer of thermal energy from a fluid to a housing body [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air spring including a heat conductive additive in the adsorptive material of Coakley et al ‘829, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 to and provide consistent performance by removing generated heat from the fluid.
Claims 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coakley et al (US# 2016/0186829) and Coakley et al (US# 2023/0112874), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Weickert et al (US# 2018/0328601).
Coakley et al disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the at least one first thermally conductive member being at least one honeycomb structure (claim 2), metallic honeycomb (claim 3), or channels (claim 4) having square, rectangular, triangular, pentagonal, hexagonal, octagonal, trapezoidal, circular, elliptical, or oval shape (claim 5). Weickert et al teaches adsorptive structures having honeycomb or metallic honeycomb form [0031]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a honeycomb structure or metallic honeycomb structure, such as taught by Weickert et al with the adsorptive material of Coakley as an obvious alternative structure that provides adequate structure while ensuring maximum contact area with the gas in the chamber.
Regarding claim 5, “honeycomb” suggests a hexagonal shape.
Claim(s) 1, 18-21, 23, 27-31 and 37-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al (US# 2010/0001445) in view of Coakley et al (US# 2023/0112874) and Coakley et al (US# 2016/0186829).
Maruyama et al disclose a vibration isolation assembly configured to reduce the communication of at least one excitation vibration between at least one supporting surface 1 and at least one payload 4 and/or 19, comprising: at least one housing assembly having at least one housing body 2/6 with at least one pneumatic chamber 5 formed therein, the at least one pneumatic chamber configured to accept at least one fluid, wherein the at least one housing assembly is supported by the at least one supporting surface 1; at least one mass engaging member 7 supported by the at least one pneumatic chamber, the at least one mass engaging member configured to support at least a portion of the at least one payload. Maruyama et al lack the disclosure of at least one first thermally conductive member positioned within the at least one pneumatic chamber, the at least one first thermally conductive member in thermal communication with the at least one housing body, wherein the at least one first thermally conductive member is configured to transfer thermal energy from the at least one fluid in the at least one pneumatic chamber to the at least one housing body. Coakley et al ‘829 disclose pneumatic spring similar to that of Maruyama et al and further teach an adsorptive member 70. Coakley et al ‘874 teach a similar use of adsorptive material and further teach the inclusion of a heat conductive additive to facilitate the transfer of thermal energy from a fluid to a housing body [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air spring including an adsorptive material such as taught by Coakley et al ‘829 with heat conductive additive, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 in the vibration isolation assembly of Maruyama et al to allow a reduction in size of the air springs and provide consistent performance by removing generated heat from the fluid.
Regarding claim 18, at least one payload is at least one optical table top. [0046]
Regarding claim 19, Coakley et al ‘874 further teach at least one second thermally conductive member secured to at least one outer surface of the housing body. [0057] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the fins taught by Coakley et al ‘874 in the device of Maruyama et al to further improve heat dissipation, thereby improving performance.
Regarding claim 20, the at least one second thermally conductive member is at least one heat sink. [0057] Cooling fins.
Regarding claim 21, Maruyama et al further lack the disclosure of at least one of the at least one housing body and the at least one mass engaging member being formed from a material selected from a group consisting of aluminum, steel, stainless steel, copper, brass, bronze, polymer, composite materials, and ceramic materials. Coakley et al ‘874 further teach a housing body made of plastics (polymer) or aluminum [0075][0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the housing or mass engaging member of aluminum or plastic, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 to provide strength and/or further heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 23, the at least one pneumatic chamber 5 is placed in thermal communication with at least one thermally conductive fluid that is in contact with at least one outer surface of the at least one housing body. Note exterior conducts heat to the outside air.
Regarding claim 27, Coakley et al ‘829 teaches the at least one first thermally conductive member 70 is in thermal communication with the at least one mass engaging member [0062].
Regarding claim 28, the at least one first thermally conductive member is in thermal communication with the at least one payload via 7.
Regarding claim 29, Maruyama et al lack the disclosure of the thermal energy being transferred away from the at least one housing body by forced convection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use forced convection as an obvious means of increasing heat transfer.
Regarding claims 30-31, free convection and radiation are inherent modes of heat transfer for the device.
Regarding claim 38, Coakley et al ‘829 teach at least one mass engaging member 10 in contact with the adsorptive member [0062], which, as modified, would be configured to absorb thermal energy from the at least one pneumatic chamber.
Regarding claim 29, Maruyama et al disclose a vibration isolation assembly comprising: at least one housing assembly having at least one housing body 2/6 with at least one fluid chamber 5 formed therein, the at least one fluid chamber configured to accept at least one fluid; at least one mass engaging member 7 supported by the at least one fluid chamber, the at least one mass engaging member configured to support at least a portion of the at least one payload. Maruyama et al lack the disclosure of at least one first thermally conductive member positioned within the at least one fluid chamber, the at least one first thermally conductive member in thermal communication with the at least one housing body, wherein the at least one first thermally conductive member is configured to transfer thermal energy from the at least one fluid in the at least one fluid chamber to the at least one housing body. Coakley et al ‘829 disclose pneumatic spring similar to that of Maruyama et al and further teach an adsorptive member 70. Coakley et al ‘874 teach a similar use of adsorptive material and further teach the inclusion of a heat conductive additive to facilitate the transfer of thermal energy from a fluid to a housing body [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air spring including an adsorptive material such as taught by Coakley et al ‘829 with heat conductive additive, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 in the vibration isolation assembly of Maruyama et al to allow a reduction in size of the air springs and provide consistent performance by removing generated heat from the fluid.
Claim(s) 10-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maruyama et al (US# 2010/0001445), Coakley et al (US# 2023/0112874) and Coakley et al (US# 2016/0186829), as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hembacher et al (US# 2018/0275527).
Maruyama et al, as modified above, disclose all the limitations of the instant claims with exception to the specific disclosure of the recited excitation frequencies (5-30, 30-70, 70-150, 100-150 and 100-500Hz) and resonant frequencies (1-5Hz). Hembacher et al disclose a similar vibration isolation assembly and further teach excitation frequencies of .05-1000hz, more specific ranges of .5-100, 1-30 and 1-5Hz [0045] as well as resonant frequencies of 10-1, 3-.5 and 1-.1 Hz [0047]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the assembly of Maruyama et al for excitation frequencies and resonant frequencies in the ranges taught by Hembacher et al to provide optimum isolation for particular applications.
Regarding claims 16-17, Hembacher et al teach preferred excitation frequencies of 1-5Hz and preferred resonant frequencies of 1-.1Hz. Five times the resonant frequency of 1Hz equals 5 Hz which is an excitation value suggested by Hembacher et al and ten times the resonant frequency .1Hz equals 1Hz which is also an excitation value suggested by Hembacher et al.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Coakley, Applicant argues that 109 is a floating piston or separator, not a thermally conductive insert. This is not persuasive as [0110] states “A mass of adsorptive material (109) is disposed within the first portion volume (107) (i.e. the pressurised gas chamber).” This passage also makes it clear the material is positioned within the pneumatic chamber 107. Applicant also argues that Coakley fails to disclose the conductive member in thermal communication with the housing body, and configured to transfer thermal energy from the chamber fluid to the housing. [0089] indicates that “The portion of the walls containing activated carbon and/or open cell foam and possibly a heat conductive additive, such as graphite, will aid heat conduction to the outer wall.” Applicant argues that activated carbon is not a thermally conductive material and Coakley ‘874 never teaches it as such. It is noted that [0089] states that the addition of a heat conductive additive, such as graphite, will aid heat conduction to the outer wall. The mass of absorbative material, with the heat conductive additive, forms a thermally conductive member such as required by the claims.
In response to applicant's argument that Weickert et al is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Weickert et al is pertinent to the particular problem of heat transfer in an air or pneumatic system or device. It is further noted that Coakley et al disclose the thermal conductive member, Weickert et al is merely relied upon for structures in alternative to the open-cell foam of Coakley.
Regarding Maruyama et al, [0049][0050] describe the influence of the temperature in the pneumatic actuator. Coakley et al ‘829 disclose pneumatic spring similar to that of Maruyama et al and further teach an adsorptive member 70. Coakley et al ‘874 teach a similar use of adsorptive material and further teach the inclusion of a heat conductive additive to facilitate the transfer of thermal energy from a fluid to a housing body [0089]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an air spring including an adsorptive material such as taught by Coakley et al ‘829 with heat conductive additive, such as taught by Coakley et al ‘874 in the vibration isolation assembly of Maruyama et al to allow a reduction in size of the air springs and provide consistent performance by removing generated heat from the fluid. Maruyama et al does not need to identify heat build as a problem for one of ordinary skill in the art to appreciate the control of heat buildup to be beneficial. Further, the fields are related as they relate to pneumatic isolators.
Regarding claims 10-17, Applicant argues that Hembacher’s frequency ranges are not applicable to Maruyama’s system. The only support for this appears to be that the systems are different. This is not persuasive. Also note MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Hembacher establishes that the frequencies are result effective variables.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY T KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
BTK