DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner notes that the amendment to claim 14 has cured the indefiniteness referenced in the rejection of the original filed claims 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), but does not appear to significantly change the scope of the claim compared to those original filed claims. Applicant argues that “the LED of the Locke reference does not determine whether or not the water is being filtered by way of the filter unit, as now recited within amended claim 14. Instead, the Locke reference simply monitors the remaining life of the filter” (Remarks page 8, second from last paragraph).
Examiner asserts that the teaching by Locke of detecting the presence or absence of the filter unit (see 760 in Fig. 7) is equivalent to determining whether the water is being filtered. Furthermore, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, Locke teaches a printed circuit board and LED in accordance with the claimed invention, and further teaches that the structure is capable of detecting the filter, tracking its lifespan, and emitting at least three different colors or patterns based on related thresholds. Thus it is capable of performing the intended use recited in amended claim 14. If additional structure is intended to be required by the amendment, it is not apparent according to Examiner’s best understanding.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter et al. (US 10,934,694) in view of Locke et al. (US 9,704,329).
Porter et al. substantially disclose the claimed invention, including a water dispensing station (102, Fig. 2) comprising: a basin (107) comprising: a drain located at a lowest point of the basin (Figs. 1-2); a bubbler mount (raised area holding bubbler 105 in Figs. 1-2; Col. 4, lines 1-4); and a connection mount (110) located proximate to a back end of the basin (Fig. 2), wherein the connection mount includes an elevated surface (114), wherein the elevated surface defines a set of mounting holes (see annotated Fig. 2 below) and defines a set of cutouts (see annotated Fig. 2 below) through which at least one of plumbing or electrical wiring is to extend (see pipe 130 of water bottle filling station 100, Figs. 3-4; Col. 4, lines 36-39); and a bubbler (105) coupled to the bubbler mount of the basin such that the bubbler is oriented to face toward the drain (Figs. 1-2).
Porter et al. further disclose a bottle filler (100) configured to be mounted to the connection mount of the basin (Fig. 1; Col. 3, lines 55-58) and fastened to an adjacent wall (104, Fig. 1), as recited in claim 18, but Porter et al. do not disclose a filter unit or a filtration status dashboard.
Locke et al. teach a water dispensing station (LDS) with a bottle filler (204; Fig. 2), a filter unit (216; Fig. 2), and a filtration status dashboard (210), wherein the filtration status dashboard includes an LED to identify a filtration status (Col. 35, line 49 - Col. 36, line 13). Locke et al. further teach that the filtration status dashboard includes a printed circuit board (controller 206 including a programmed processor, Col. 26, lines 28-31) that is electrically connected to the LED (Col. 27, lines 26-31), wherein the printed circuit board is configured to cause the LED to emit (see Col. 27, line 57 - Col. 28, line 56; Fig. 7): a first light color or pattern for when the water being dispensed by the bubbler is being filtered by way of the filter unit; (green LED 768 in Fig. 7 indicates that filter is present and has not reached end of life warning level); a second light color or pattern for when the water being dispensed by the bubbler is not being filtered by way of the filter unit (red LED 762 in Fig. 7 indicates that filter is not present); and a third light color or pattern for when the filter unit has expired (yellow LED 766 in Fig. 7 indicates that filter has reached an end of life warning level). Locke et al. further teach that the filtration status dashboard provides a visual indication of filter health (Col. 26, lines 55-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the bottle filler of Porter et al. with a filtration status dashboard including an LED and printed circuit board, as taught by Locke et al., in order to indicate filter health for maintenance purposes (e.g., replacing the filter as needed). Doing so would result in a filtration status dashboard that is configured to be mounted to the connection mount of the basin (via the bottle filler). Examiner notes that Locke et al. does not apply the same terminology as that of the instant invention (e.g., “end of life warning level” rather than “expired”), but that the claimed structure (LED and printed circuit board) is present and appears to be capable of performing the recited function (i.e., the printed circuit board of Locke et al. monitors filter presence and lifespan and thus could be configured to emit a variety of LED colors for a variety of filter lifespan metrics as a user defined variable).
Fig. 2 of Porter et al., cropped and annotated by Examiner
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter et al. in view of Locke et al., as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Spurlock (US 2010//0083440).
Porter et al.-Locke et al. in combination disclose the water dispensing station of claim 14, but do not explicitly disclose a gasket configured to sealingly engage a lip formed by the connection mount.
Spurlock teaches a basin (50, Fig. 3) with a connection mount (10, having mounting base 22 with elevated surface 26A), to which a dispenser is mounted with a gasket (64) configured to sealingly engage a lip (periphery of 22/26A) formed by the connection mount (Paragraph 0038, see Fig. 6). Spurlock teaches that this configuration prevents communication of water between an interior and an exterior of the connection mount that may occur from splashing or leakage (Paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the filtration status dashboard (incorporated into the bottle filler) of the combined invention of Porter et al.-Locke et al. with a gasket configured to sealingly engage a lip formed by the connection mount in order to prevent the communication of water from splashing or leakage. According to Examiner’s best understanding, a gasket that surrounds the periphery of the elevated surface 114 of Porter et al. would satisfy the requirements of the instant claim.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Porter et al. in view of Locke et al., as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Leeds et al. (US 11,724,221) and Cushman et al. (US 4,597,525).
Regarding claim 19, Porter et al.-Locke et al in combination disclose the water dispensing station of claim 18. Porter et al. further disclose that the bottle filler comprises a shroud (122, Fig. 3) and a spout (128, Fig. 3). Porter et al. do not explicitly disclose that the shroud is configured to house a filter, or that the spout is vertically aligned with the drain located in the basin (instead, Porter et al. disclose a spout vertically aligned with a separate drain 112; Col. 4, lines 34-36; Fig. 1).
Leeds et al. teach a water dispensing station (200, Fig. 2) with a bottle filler (210) having a shroud (outer covering of 210, including access door 234) configured to house a filter (Col. 3, lines 12-25). Leeds et al. teach that a bottle filler with a shroud having an access door facilitates replacement of the filter (Col. 1, lines 13-20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the shroud of the combined invention of Porter et al.-Locke et al. with a door, providing access to a filter (the filter unit as described in claim 1) housed within the shroud, in order to facilitate replacement of the filter unit.
Porter et al.-Locke et al.-Leeds et al. in combination thus teach all the features of the claimed invention except a spout that is vertically aligned with the drain.
Cushman et al. teach a water dispensing station (10, Figs. 1 and 5) with a basin (40) having a connection mount (42), a drain (56), and a bottle filler (170) with a spout (176) that is vertically aligned with the drain when the bottle filler is mounted to the connection mount of the basin (see Fig. 5; Col. 6, line 66 - Col. 7, line 13). Cushman et al. teach that the disclosed configuration provides more convenient use of the bottle filler for disabled users (Col. 2, lines 58-63; Col. 7, lines 13-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the water dispensing station of the combined invention of Porter et al.-Locke et al.-Leeds et al., with a bottle filler having a spout that is vertically aligned with the drain in the basin, as taught by Cushman et al., in order to improve convenience for disabled users by arranging the bottle filler spout in a more accessible location. Doing so would simply require eliminating the separate bottle filler drain disclosed by Porter et al. and arranging the bottle filler to extend over the lowest point in the basin, a modification within the capabilities of one having ordinary skill in the art that would lead to predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Porter et al.-Locke et al.-Leeds et al.-Cushman et al. in combination disclose the water dispensing station of claim 19. Porter et al. further discloses protruding surfaces that extend radially outward from a drain (see Figs. 1-2; at least a portion of the protruding surfaces are illustrated as radially extending from the drain) to define a resting surface for a bottle during a filling process, but does not disclose the protruding surfaces extending from the drain in the basin.
However, when modifying the combined invention to have a single drain located in the basin, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the same protruding surfaces extending radially outward from the drain in the basin, thus arriving at the claimed invention. One having ordinary skill in the art would be capable of applying this feature to the drain in the basin in order to perform the same function with predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 January 27, 2026