DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action responsive to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination filed 12/30/2025.
Claims 8-13 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 2020/0372588) in view of Bailey et al. (US 2005/0120111).
With respect to claim 8, Shi discloses: A method for generating a sustainability utilization metric associated with a computing device, the method comprising:
capturing, by a sensor of the computing device, a device utilization data at least during a time segment of a predetermined time period (Abstract, [0024], where “power quantity” and “data/time” corresponds to “device utilization data” and “time segment of a predetermined time period”, [0023], where “grid monitoring device” corresponds to “sensor”) according to a predetermined sustainability forecast of the computing device for the predetermined time period ([0063] where “predetermined sustainability forecast” corresponds to “machine learning algorithm”. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the training data from the predetermined time is captured/stored in accordance to a format that is used by the machine language algorithm); and
presenting, to a user of the computing device through a graphical user interface, a visual indication of the sustainability utilization metric in conjunction with at least a part of the sustainability forecast, wherein the sustainability utilization metric is converted into graphical form (Figs. 8-11, where the dashed lines in Fig. 9 correspond to “sustainability forecast”. The graph itself corresponds to the “utilization metric”. According to the claim language the “utilization metric” is based on converting various captured data and forecasted data into “graphical form”).
Shi does not specifically disclose: generating the sustainability utilization metric for the computing device based on both the device utilization data and a sustainability forecast entry of the sustainability forecast during the time segment.
However, Bailey discloses: generating the sustainability utilization metric for the computing device based on both the device utilization data and a sustainability forecast entry of the sustainability forecast during the time segment ([0104]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Bailey to ensure analysis of resource usage of a large number of computer systems does not have to be done manually which can be burdensome, thereby improving efficiency by incorporating Baileys resource usage reporting system.
With respect to claim 9, Shi discloses: wherein the generated sustainability utilization metric is presented in conjunction with at least a part of the sustainability forecast (Fig. 9).
With respect to claim 10, Shi discloses: wherein the visual indication comprises includes a divider and the generated sustainability utilization metric is presented on a first side of the divider and the part of the sustainability forecast is presented on a second side of the divider (Fig. 9, “actual” and “forecasted” impacts are illustrated separately and the separation space is interpreted as the divider. The first and second side is relative to the separation space. If one is side is labeled the first, then the other is the second and vice versa).
With respect to claim 11, Shi discloses: wherein the captured determined device utilization includes an energy consumption of the computing device during the time segment and the sustainability forecast entry includes an estimated environmental impact associated with energy consumption (Fig. 9, carbon intensity corresponds to “impact”).
With respect to claim 12, Shi discloses: wherein obtaining the sustainability forecast comprises: providing, to a sustainability platform, a sustainability forecast request; and receiving, from the sustainability platform, the sustainability forecast request for an energy grid associated with the computing device ([0021]).
With respect to claim 13, Shi discloses: wherein the visual indication of the generated sustainability utilization metric is presented as one of: an indication on a lock screen of the computing device; a notification to the user; or an indication via a settings user interface (Fig. 9 “user interface”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/WISSAM RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195