DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment filed 06 January 2026. Claims 1-14, 16, and 17 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 2, 10, 13, and 16, as well as the cancelation of claim 15.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 9: “the electrical signals” should apparently read --the plurality of electrical signals--.
In line 14: there should apparently be a semi-colon at the end of the line (following “the signal data”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haeusser et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0245885 A1; hereinafter known as “Haeusser”).
Regarding claim 1, Haeusser discloses a system (Abstract; Figs. 1, 12) comprising: a body surface device 420 carrying a plurality of electrodes 430 configured to be in contact with a body surface of a subject, the plurality of electrodes configured to cover one or more areas on the body surface, wherein the plurality of electrodes are configured to detect a plurality of electrical signals generated by the heart of the subject, wherein the body surface device is configured to record from an area of less than one half of a torso surface of the subject ([0217]-[0223]; e.g., in Fig. 12(b), only an upper half of the vest is used; the electrodes may be only on the anterior side of the vest; the electrodes do not cover the full surface of the vest; thus, clearly the body surface device records from less than half of the torso surface of the subject); and a computing device 300 configured to receive signal data of the electrical signals generated from the body surface device, the computing device comprising a processor and memory, the memory storing instructions, the instructions, when executed by the processor, causing the processor to perform operations ([0056]; [0080]-[0086]) comprising: determining one or more locations of the heart that are associated with a heart rhythm disorder based on the signal data ([0225]; [0233]); extracting features from the detected electrical signals and the determined one or more locations and inputting the features into a machine learning model that is trained based on population-level outcomes of other patients to specific treatments ([0016]-[0017]; [0232]; [0244]; [0249]-[0256]) and computing, based on the machine learning model, a predicted success score that the subject will benefit from a planned therapy for the heart rhythm disorder ([0265]; [0267]; predict that the patient has a substantial probability of successful treatment with pulmonary vein isolation and/or atrial ablation).
Regarding claim 2, Haeusser discloses that the operations performed by the processor further comprise computing the predicted success score for the planned therapy for eliminating one or more regions that initiate an onset of the heart rhythm disorder or regions that maintain the heart rhythm disorder ([0265]; [0267]; predict that the patient has a substantial probability of successful treatment with pulmonary vein isolation and/or atrial ablation).
Regarding claim 3, Haeusser discloses that the planned therapy targets pulmonary veins ([0265]; [0267]; pulmonary vein isolation).
Regarding claim 4, Haeusser discloses that the planned therapy targets regions are in the left side or right side of the heart ([0265]; [0267]).
Regarding claim 5, Haeusser discloses that the heart rhythm disorder is atrial fibrillation ([0244]).
Regarding claim 6, Haeusser discloses that the operations performed by the processor further comprise guiding a probe towards one of the locations of the heart that are associated with the heart rhythm disorder ([0062]; [0066]; [0225]).
Regarding claim 7, Haeusser discloses that the probe contains sensors for recording ([0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Haeusser discloses that the probe is capable of delivering energy to modify tissue regions related to the heart rhythm disorder ([0071]).
Regarding claim 9, Haeusser discloses that the computing device is a computing server that is geographically remote from the body surface device ([0058]; [0084]; [0227]; [0262]).
Regarding claim 10, Haeusser discloses that the body surface device further comprises a substrate that comprises one or more regions, each region configured to be in contact with one of torso quadrants of the subject, the torso quadrants being a right anterior, a left anterior, a left posterior, and a right posterior (Fig. 12; [0218]-[0223]).
Regarding claim 11, Haeusser discloses that determining the one or more locations of the heart that are associated with the heart rhythm disorder comprises a phase analysis, an analysis of spatial patterns of electrical activation over time, a vectorial analysis, a spectral analysis, and/or signal featurization ([0243]-[0246]; [0256]; [0265]).
Regarding claim 12, Haeusser discloses that determining the one or more locations of the heart that are associated with the heart rhythm disorder comprises determining whether one of the locations is the left atrium, the right atrium, the left ventricle, or the right ventricle of the heart of the subject ([0052]; [0232]-[0233]; [0265]).
Regarding claim 13, Haeusser discloses that determining one or more locations of the heart that are associated with the heart rhythm disorder comprises inputting a version of the signal data to the machine learning model to determine one of the locations, the machine learning model is iteratively trained based on training samples of data associated with known heart rhythm disorders ([0016]-[0017]; [0232]; [0244]; [0249]).
Regarding claim 16, Haeusser discloses that the one or more locations of the heart that are associated with the heart rhythm disorder comprise a location of a beat that initiates onset of a heart rhythm disorder, and/or a location of a source region of the heart rhythm disorder ([0065]; [0232]-[0233]).
Regarding claim 17, Haeusser discloses that the body surface device is wearable during daily activities of the subject ([0217]; wearable vest).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haeusser as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Cahan et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0224279 A1; hereinafter known as “Cahan”). Haeusser discloses the invention as claimed, see rejection supra, but fails to disclose that the operations performed by the processor further comprise calculating a cardiac output, determining if the cardiac output is reduced, and sending an alert that the cardiac output is reduced. Cahan discloses a similar system (Abstract), wherein atrial fibrillation may reduce cardiac output ([0008]), and wherein operations performed include calculating a cardiac output, determining if the cardiac output is reduced, and sending an alert that the cardiac output is reduced, in order to guide diagnosis and treatment ([0027]; [0061]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Haeusser by calculating a cardiac output, determining if the cardiac output is reduced, and sending an alert that the cardiac output is reduced, as taught by Cahan, in order to guide diagnosis and treatment in such a situation as atrial fibrillation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim objections and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. The objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims are distinguished from the prior art by certain recitations and improvements. However, Applicant does not make any arguments regarding Haeusser (or Cahan). As detailed supra, Haeusser does still anticipate most of the claims, as it recites such a trained machine learning model, as well as making predictions that the patient has a substantial probability of being successfully treated with certain planned therapies.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THADDEUS B COX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791