DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 09/22/26. Claim(s) 1-3 and 7 have been amended, no new claims have been added, and claims 10-20 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-9 and 21-25 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 17 the limitation “an oblique pressure can be applied” is unclear if the pressure head can or cannot applying an oblique pressure.
All remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostopoulos (WO2023/155972) in view of Gaquer (3,739,771).
Annotated fig 1 of Kostopoulos.
With respect to claim 1, Kostopoulos discloses a device for massage, physical therapy, chiropractic therapy, and myofascial release (fig 1), the device comprising a pressure head (8, fig 1) for applying a pressure to a tissue (see pg. 6, 3rd paragraph) of a patient (person to be treated), a lever arm (5, fig 1) comprising a first end (left side near 1b in fig 1; see annotated fig 1 of Kostopoulos) and a second end (right side, see annotated fig 1 of Kostopoulos) coupled to the pressure head (via 7/7a, fig 1), wherein the pressure head protruding below the lever arm (see fig 1) and a force acting on the second end of the lever arm multiplies the force applied to the tissue by the pressure head (see pg. 7), a first hinge (4, fig 1 and rotation β) attached to the first end of the lever arm (see fig 1) and configured to allow the pressure head to pivot into and out of contact with the tissue of the patient (see pg. 6, 2nd paragraph), a support (2, fig 1) coupled to the first hinge elevating the first hinge above a fastening point (3a, fig 1), and a fastener (fixing screw 12a, fig 1) coupled to the support, for fixing the device to a surface (3, fig 1) when the pressure is applied to the tissue of the patient (see pg. 5, 4th paragraph) positioned against the surface (see fig 1); wherein the surface defining a plane along a first axis referred to as an x axis (see annotated fig 1 of Kostopoulos with defined axes) and a second axis referred to as a y axis (see annotated fig 1 of Kostopoulos with defined axes; note the surface is 3D and has three axes); and a second hinge coupled to the support and configured to rotate the lever arm around the y-axis (see rotation of 2 around element α which is aligned with the y axis as seen in annotated fig 1 of Kostopoulos), the second hinge enabling rotation of the lever arm such that an oblique pressure can be applied from the pressure head to the tissue of the patient at least partially in the direction the x axis while the patient is positioned against the surface (the rotation of the hinge allows the lever arm to move and additionally the patients position is adjustable and allows the pressure to be applied obliquely), but is silent regarding the pressure head comprising a friction surface for engagement with skin over the tissue for gripping the skin during application of the pressure to assist the oblique pressure on the tissue without the pressure head slipping across the tissue.
However, Gaquer teaches a massage device (20, fig 1) comprising a pressure head (44, fig 1) comprising a friction surface (outer surface of 44, fig 1) for engagement with skin over the tissue for gripping the skin during application of the pressure to provide a sheer pressure to the tissue (note the surface of the pressure head would provide pressure and grip the skin due to the use and material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure head of Kostopoulos to be made of friction surface as taught by Gaquer so as to provide a resilient material to maintain and provide pressure to the user during use.
With respect to claim 4, the modified Kostopoulos shows a first grip (10a, fig 1 of Kostopoulos) located on the lever arm at least one of at the second end of the lever arm (see fig 1 of Kostopoulos), the first grip for receiving an extremity of a practitioner to apply the force acting on the second end of the lever arm (see pg. 7, 2nd paragraph of Kostopoulos), wherein the first grip positioned such that the force applied to the tissue by the pressure head is an integer multiple of the force acting on the second end of the lever arm (note the force applied is dependent on the practitioner’s application and would inherently be a multiplied force).
With respect to claim 7, the modified Kostopoulos shows the friction surface comprises rubber (see col. 8, lines 35-37 of Gaquer).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostopoulos and Gaquer as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Chavanne (3,904,195).
With respect to claim 2, the modified Kostopoulos shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks a track configured to translate of the device along the x axis, wherein the surface is elongated along the x-axis and usable to receive the patient positioned against the surface in a substantially flat position, and wherein the fastener fixes the device at a location in the track along the x axis.
However, Chavanne teaches a massage device (see col. 3, lines 50-51 and fig 3) comprising a track (12, fig 3) configured to translate of the device (frame 13 of device; see col. 3, lines 55-62) along a first axis (longitudinal edge), referred to as an x-axis, along a surface (1’, fig 3) that is elongated and usable to receive the patient in a substantially flat position (see col. 4, lines 10-13), wherein a fastener (handle 13b for locking, fig 3) fixes the device at a location in the track along the first axis (col. 3, lines 60-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface of Kostopoulos to include a track as taught by Chavanne so as to allow the device to be slidably adjustable.
Note the device of Kostopoulos is connectable to different surfaces as seen on pg. 5, 6th paragraph of Kostopoulos.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostopoulos and Gaquer as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Hill (20190365597) and Chavanne (3,904,195).
With respect to claim 5, the modified Kostopoulos shows the fastener coupled to a surface (see table in fig 2, not labeled) that is a table on which the patient rests in the substantially flat position, but lacks the table comprising a head space comprising a cavity and a hole for receiving a head of the patient when the patient is positioned on their stomach on the surface.
Annotated fig 1 of Hill.
However, Hill teaches a massage device (10, fig 1) comprising a surface (14, fig 1) that is a table (see 14 on table 11, fig 1) on which the patient rests in the substantially flat position (see para. 43), the table comprising a head space (16, fig 1) comprising a cavity (see annotated fig 1) and a hole (see fig 8 where 16 is a through hole to the opposite side) for receiving a head of the patient when the patient is positioned on their stomach on the surface (see para. 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface of Kostopoulos to include a headspace as taught by Hill so as to provide comfortability to the user when laid on the surface.
Further, the modified Kostopoulos lacks a track extends along one edge of the table such that the pressure head may be translated to different locations along the table.
However, Chavanne teaches a massage device (see col. 3, lines 50-51 and fig 3) comprising a track (12, fig 3) configured to translate of the device (frame 13 of device; see col. 3, lines 55-62) along a first axis (longitudinal edge), referred to as an x-axis, running parallel to a surface (1’, fig 3) that is elongated and usable to receive the patient in a substantially flat position (see col. 4, lines 10-13), wherein a fastener (handle 13b for locking, fig 3) fixes the device at a location in the track along the first axis (col. 3, lines 60-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface of Kostopoulos to include a track as taught by Chavanne so as to allow the device to be slidably adjustable.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostopoulos and Gaquer as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Lee (2020/0085675).
With respect to claim 6, Clowdus discloses an attachment point (193, fig 1) located on the lever arm coupling the pressure head to the lever arm (see fig 1 and para. 44) but lacks the pressure head detachable from the lever arm.
However, Lee teaches a massage device (10, fig 1) with a replaceable pressure head (24, fig 1 and para. 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pressure head of Kostopoulos to be changeable as taught by Lee so as to feature a variety of different massage heads to provide different therapies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 8-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-25 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
The arguments to the newly added claim limitations in claims 1-9 have been addressed in the above rejections.
Conclusion
/KELSEY E BALLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785