DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims status
Claims 4-9 is/are cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 10-15 is/are currently pending and is/are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Withdrawn
Rejection of Claims 1, 3-15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in light of claim amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection of Claim(s) 4-7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durack et al (US 2011/0217722 A1, Sep 8, 2011; ref of record) in view of Nagai et al (J.Pharm.Dyn., 5, 564-567 (1982); IDS 4/15/2022) is moot due to claim cancellation.
Rejection of Claim(s) 1, 3, 10-15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durack et al (US 2011/0217722 A1, Sep 8, 2011; ref of record) in view of Nagai et al (J.Pharm.Dyn., 5, 564-567 (1982); IDS 4/15/2022) is withdrawn in light of claim amendment that now requires the first media to comprise 10mM glucose instead of previously recited 1mM and is limited to porcine sperm.
Rejection of Claim(s) 8, 9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durack and Nagai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ellington et al (US 2004/0073964 A1, April 15 2004; IDS 4/15/2022) is withdrawn due to withdrawal of the rejection the instant rejection relied upon.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durack et al (US 2011/0217722 A1, Sep 8, 2011; ref of record).
Regarding claim 1, Durack teaches a method of processing sperm cells for sex-sorting ([002, 008, 012, 014, 760], Q. Sperm Sorting Method Including High-Recovery Sort Strategy). Durack teaches their method is applicable for porcine species [762, 763].
The method comprises:
forming a stream comprising sperm cells in a sample media (=first media) encased in sheath media (Figure 1, steps 53-54; [792], [794]),
determining specified DNA characteristics, such as presence of X or Y chromosome, in the sperm cells and
sorting/selecting the sperm cells according to the specified DNA characteristics (Figure 1, step 55),
collecting the desired subpopulation in a collection media (=second media) (Figure 1, step 57-58).
Durack teaches a sperm cell staining step prior to the forming the stream that allows for distinguishing sperms cells with X vs Y chromosome based on fluorescence intensity during the determining step of their method [0784]. Durack teaches that desired DNA characteristics, such as presence of X or Y chromosome, can be distinguished by their method that comprises photodetector [795, 802-804].
Durack teaches several media for sperm cells that comprise buffers along with additives [766-774]. Durack teaches “One or more energy sources may be added to minimize or inhibit the sperm cells from oxidizing intracellular phospholipids and other cellular components. Exemplary energy sources include monosaccharides, such as fructose, glucose, galactose and mannose, and disaccharides, such as sucrose, lactose, maltose, and trehalose, as well as other polysaccharides. For example, the resulting sperm suspension may include about 1 % (w/v) to about 4% (w/v) of the energy source(s ).” [770]
For the sample media (=first media), Durack teaches media such as PBS, Na citrate, HEPES, TL that comprise no sugar additive (i.e. 0mM sugar), other media such a TCA#1, TCA#2 and TEST that comprise ~70mM fructose, ~15mM fructose and ~11mM glucose sugar additives respectively ([766], Table 1; TCA#1 has 12.5g/L fructose = ~70mM, TCA#2 has 2.67g/L fructose = ~15mM, TEST has 2g/L glucose = ~11mM).
Although Durack does not teach a first media with 10mM glucose, Durack teaches a first media with a concentration of glucose (11mM) that is approaches the claimed glucose concentration (10mM). According to MPEP 2144.05 (I), “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” In the instant case, Durack’s 11mM glucose is so close to the claimed 10mM glucose that a skilled artisan would expect Durack’s first media to have the same properties as the claimed media. Therefore, in teaching a first media with 11mM glucose, Durack renders the instant claim that recites a first media with 10mM glucose prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 3, for collection media (=second media), Durack teaches that “the collection fluid may also contain a range of additives that are beneficial to sperm viability or motility. Examples of such additives include an energy source” [1048]. Regarding energy sources, Durack teaches “One or more energy sources may be added to minimize or inhibit the sperm cells from oxidizing intracellular phospholipids and other cellular components. Exemplary energy sources include monosaccharides, such as fructose, glucose, galactose and mannose, and disaccharides, such as sucrose, lactose, maltose, and trehalose, as well as other polysaccharides. For example, the resulting sperm suspension may include about 1 % (w/v) to about 4% (w/v) of the energy source(s ).” [770]. An exemplary collection media taught by Durack comprises Dulbecco’s PBS or Na citrate based media along with additives such as 1% (w/v) fructose (= 10g/L fructose = ~56mM; [1045, 1048, 1049]).
Although Durack does not explicitly teach a collection media with 1-10mM glucose, Durack teaches the equivalency of fructose and glucose in sperm media as energy sources [770]. Furthermore, identification of optimal sugar, fructose or glucose, concentration in a sperm media is routine in the art.
According to MPEP 2144.06 (II), substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious. See Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.). In the instant case, Durack itself provides evidence that both glucose and fructose were considered equivalent in the art with both monosaccharides performing the function of an energy source to the sperm cells [770].
According to MPEP 2144.05 (II), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.” and “"It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").” In the instant case, Durack teaches an exemplary collection media with 56mM fructose [1049], however identification of a lower sugar concentration, such as 1-10mM glucose, could be done using routine lab techniques such as by making buffers with different sugars at different concentration and identifying cells with the desired characteristics. Such a method would be considered routine by an ordinary artisan. Therefore, in teachings a collection media with a sugar, such as fructose, at 56mM, Durack renders a collection media with an equivalent sugar, such as glucose, at an concentration of 1-10mM optimized using routine methods prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 10, Durack teaches a sorting step which isolates selected sperm cells from the unselected sperm (Figure 1, step 57 in [761] is collecting sorted cells, [795] describes sorting system 119 for separating sorted population, [850]).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Durack teaches media additives for regulating oxidation/reduction reactions to protect sperm cells (=OSRs) such as pyruvate, vitamin K, lipoic acid, glutathione, flavins, quinones, superoxide dismutase (SOD), and SOD mimics [0774].
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Durack teaches centrifugation step to concentrate the collected subpopulation [1056, 1058, 1061, 1063]. In order to test centrifugation parameters, Durack resuspends the centrifuged concentrated sperm cells in a Tris Citric Acid media with yolk proteins [1058, 1061, 1063]. However, the purpose of centrifugation is to concentrate the sperm for further use in artificial insemination or for cryopreservation (step 58 in [761], [1056]). Durack teaches suspending concentrated sperm in collection fluid such as cryoextenders and additive such as energy sources, i.e. sugars, and regulators of oxidation/reduction reactions, i.e. OSRs (= third media; step 58 in [761], sugars as energy sources in [770], OSRs in [0774]). A sample collection fluid may comprise 1% w/v fructose (= 10g/L fructose = ~56mM) and OSRs such as pyruvate, vitamin K or lipoic acid [1049].
Although Durack does not explicitly teach a collection media with 1-20mM glucose, Durack teaches the equivalency of fructose and glucose in sperm media as energy sources [770]. Furthermore, identification of optimal sugar, fructose or glucose, concentration in a sperm media is routine in the art.
According to MPEP 2144.06 (II), substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious. See Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980) (The mere fact that phthalocyanine and selenium function as equivalent photoconductors in the claimed environment was not sufficient to establish that one would have been obvious over the other. However, there was evidence that both phthalocyanine and selenium were known photoconductors in the art of electrophotography. "This, in our view, presents strong evidence of obviousness in substituting one for the other in an electrophotographic environment as a photoconductor." 209 USPQ at 759.). In the instant case, Durack itself provides evidence that both glucose and fructose were considered equivalent in the art with both monosaccharides performing the function of an energy source to the sperm cells [770].
According to MPEP 2144.05 (II), “Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical.” and “"It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.").” In the instant case, Durack teaches an exemplary collection media with 56mM fructose [1049], however identification of a lower sugar concentration, such as 1-20mM glucose, could be done using routine lab techniques such as by making buffers with different sugars at different concentration and identifying cells with the desired characteristics. Such a method would be considered routine. Therefore, in teachings a collection media with a sugar, such as fructose, at 56mM, Durack renders a collection media with an equivalent sugar, such as glucose, at an concentration of 1-20mM optimized using routine methods prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 15, Durack teaches a method of processing sperm cells for sex-sorting ([002, 008, 012, 014, 760], Q. Sperm Sorting Method Including High-Recovery Sort Strategy). Durack teaches their method is applicable for porcine species [762, 763]. The method comprises forming a stream comprising sperm cells in a sample media (=first media) encased in sheath media (Figure 1, steps 53-54; [792], [794]), determining specified DNA characteristics in the sperm cells and sorting the sperm cells according to the specified DNA characteristics using laser ablation based sorting which ablates cells with undesired characteristics (Figure 1, step 55; [1213-1215]) (Figure 1, step 57-58). Durack teaches a sperm cell staining step prior to the forming the stream that allows for distinguishing sperms cells with X vs Y chromosome based on fluorescence intensity during the determining step of their method [0784]. Durack teaches that desired DNA characteristics, such as presence of X or Y chromosome, can be distinguished by their method that comprises photodetector [795, 802-804].
For the sample media (=first media), Durack teaches media such as PBS, Na citrate, HEPES, TL that comprise no sugar additive (i.e. 0mM sugar), other media such a TCA#1, TCA#2 and TEST that comprise ~70mM fructose, ~15mM fructose and ~11mM glucose sugar additives respectively ([766], Table 1; TCA#1 has 12.5g/L fructose = ~70mM, TCA#2 has 2.67g/L fructose = ~15mM, TEST has 2g/L glucose = ~11mM).
Although Durack does not teach a first media with 10mM glucose, Durack teaches a first media with a concentration of glucose (11mM) that is approaches the claimed glucose concentration (10mM). According to MPEP 2144.05 (I), “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” In the instant case, Durack’s 11mM glucose is so close to the claimed 10mM glucose that a skilled artisan would expect Durack’s first media to have the same properties as the claimed media. Therefore, in teaching a first media with 11mM glucose, Durack renders the instant claim that recites a first media with 10mM glucose prima facie obvious.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the
contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim(s) 1, 3-7, 10-15 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection necessitated by claim amendments.
Arguments pertinent to instant U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims are addressed below.
Applicant argue that “the cited combination cannot establish prima facie obviousness since it fails to teach or suggest a step of ''forming a stream comprising the sperm cells and a first media, wherein the first media comprises glucose at a concentration of 10 mM," (page 4, para 9).
In response, as noted in the instant U.S.C. 103 rejection above, Durack teaches a first media comprising 11mM glucose that approaches the claimed 10mM glucose. According to MPEP 2144.05 (I), “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close”. Thus, Durack alone renders the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MATASHA DHAR/Examiner, Art Unit 1632