DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 14, 16, 17, and 20-31 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
b. This is a second non final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 12/12/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “In claim 1, the first configuration information is used for determining the maximum number of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted. In contrast, the link budget of Ericsson is used for determining the actual number of simultaneously transmitted PSFCH (not exceeding the maximum number). Therefore, the function of the link budget in Ericsson is totally different from the function of the first configuration information in claim 1.” on page 4, filed on 04/10/2026, with respect to Ericsson NPL “on simultaneous transmission of PSFCH”, 3GPP R4-1912301, Aug 26-30, 2019 (hereinafter “Ericsson”), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ericsson NPL “on simultaneous transmission of PSFCH”, 3GPP R4-1912301, Aug 26-30, 2019 (hereinafter “Ericsson”), and further in view of Nguyen et al. US Pub 2021/0105728, claiming provisional application 62909553 priority 2019-10-02 (hereinafter “Nguyen”). See section 35 USC 103 rejection below for complete details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 11, 14, 16, 17, 20, and 21-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson NPL “on simultaneous transmission of PSFCH”, 3GPP R4-1912301, Aug 26-30, 2019 (hereinafter “Ericsson”), and in view of Nguyen et al. US Pub 2021/0105728, claiming provisional application 62909553 priority 2019-10-02 (hereinafter “Nguyen”).
Regarding claim 1
Ericsson discloses a sidelink feedback method (“RAN1 discussed how many PSFCH a UE can transmit simultaneously”, Introduction), comprising:
determining, by a first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), first configuration information (e.g. “link budget”) based on pre-configured capability information of the first terminal device (“Observation-2: In network situation, the # of the PSFCH will be limited as the allocated power to remote UE may consume all power budget where no power budget left to second PSFCH. As UE need calculate the PSFCH power and if there are multiple PSFCH mapped to the different subchannel of associated PSSCH, there could be power backoff needed due to the different PSD for different PSFCH. So the calculation would also take account this power backoff so further limit the total # of the PSFCH channel.” Section 2),
Ericsson does not specifically teach wherein the first configuration information is used to determine a maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device; determining, by the first terminal device, the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device based on the first configuration information.
In an analogous art, Nguyen discloses wherein the first configuration information is used to determine a maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels (i.e. “PSFCH”) that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device (“the UE may be configured with a parameter that indicates a maximum quantity of PSFCH transmissions that the UE is permitted to transmit in a single HARQ feedback occasion” [0087]); and
determining, by the first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device based on the first configuration information (“For example, in some aspects, the parameter that indicates the maximum quantity of PSFCH transmissions that the UE is permitted to transmit in a single HARQ feedback occasion may be configured by a base station and/or another component in the wireless network based at least in part on a concurrent transmission capability of the UE, a configured limit, congestion on a PSSCH channel, congestion on a PSCCH channel, congestion on a PSFCH channel, and/or the like. Accordingly, in some aspects, the UE may select up to the maximum quantity of PSFCH transmissions to transmit in the next HARQ feedback occasion.” [0087]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ericsson’s method of simultaneous transmission of PSFCH, to include Nguyen’s method for configuring multiple candidate sets of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions, in order to efficiently facilitate feedback transmissions (Nguyen [0002]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Nguyen’s method for configuring multiple candidate sets of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions into Ericsson’s method of simultaneous transmission of PSFCH since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 5
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Ericsson further discloses transmitting, by the first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), all sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted in a case where a number of the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device (“the # of the simultaneously transmitted PSFCH would be decided on below factors:
1. Total allowed # of the subchannel of PSSCH
2. Power budget limitation with aggregated for # PSFCH, each PSFCH power need to set to reach its remote receiver.” Observation 3).
Nguyen further discloses transmitting, by the first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), all sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted in a case where a number of the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device (“the UE may identify one or more candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority. For example, a parameter (M) may represent the maximum quantity of concurrent PSFCH transmissions, and the UE may identify candidate sets of n PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority for each n≤M (e.g., if the maximum quantity of concurrent PSFCH transmissions is five (5), the UE may identify one or more candidate sets that include one (1) PSFCH transmission with a highest priority, one or more candidate sets that include two (2) PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority, and/or the like).” [0089])
Regarding claim 7
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Ericsson further discloses determining, by the first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), transmission power of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted (“In real network situation, the power setting of one PSFCH channel should at least meet the link budget to its target receiver, i.e. if the receiver is located at the coverage edge, the maximum power should be used and thus there will be no other PSFCH channel allowed to be allocated.” Observation 1).
Nguyen further discloses determining, by the first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), transmission power of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted (“Accordingly, based on the maximum transmit power capability of the UE and the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff (e.g., MPR, A-MPR, and/or the like), the UE may determine a maximum transmit power that is available to allocate among a quantity of n concurrent PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set.” [0094]) in a case where a number of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is two (“one or more candidate sets that include two (2) PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority” [0089]) or more than two (“identify candidate sets of n PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority for each n≤M (e.g., if the maximum quantity of concurrent PSFCH transmissions is five (5).” [0089]).
Regarding claim 8
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 7, further comprising:
Ericsson further discloses equally allocating, by the first terminal device (i.e. “UE”), the transmission power for the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted according to maximum transmission power of the first terminal device (“the # of the simultaneously transmitted PSFCH would be decided on below factors:
1. Total allowed # of the subchannel of PSSCH
2. Power budget limitation with aggregated for # PSFCH, each PSFCH power need to set to reach its remote receiver.
3. The power calculation need take account the additional power backoff due to the PSD difference of the different PSFCH power.” Observation 3)
Regarding claim 11
Ericsson discloses a first terminal device (i.e. “UE” in section 2)
Ericsson does not specifically teach a first terminal device, comprising: a processor, and a memory for storing a computer program.
In an analogous art, Nguyen discloses a first terminal device (“UE 120” [0045]; Fig. 2), comprising:
a processor (“controller/processor 280” [0045]; Fig. 2), and
a memory (“memory 282” [0045]; Fig. 2) for storing a computer program that, when executed by the processor, causes the first terminal device to:
determine first configuration information based on pre-configured capability information of the first terminal device, wherein the first configuration information is used to determine a maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device (as afore-mentioned in Claim 1 discussion); and
determine the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device based on the first configuration information (as afore-mentioned in Claim 1 discussion).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ericsson’s method of simultaneous transmission of PSFCH, to include Nguyen’s method for configuring multiple candidate sets of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions, in order to efficiently facilitate feedback transmissions (Nguyen [0002]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Nguyen’s method for configuring multiple candidate sets of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions into Ericsson’s method of simultaneous transmission of PSFCH since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 14
The first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
transmit all sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted in a case where a number of the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 14 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 5. Therefore apparatus claim 14 corresponds to method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 5 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16
The first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to determine, by the first terminal device, the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted in a case where the number of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is two or more than two.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 16 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 7. Therefore apparatus claim 16 corresponds to method claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 7 rejection above.
Regarding claim 17
The first terminal device according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to equally allocate the transmission power for the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted according to the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 17 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 8. Therefore apparatus claim 17 corresponds to method claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 8 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing an executable program that, when being executed by a processor of a first terminal device, causes the first terminal device to perform a sidelink feedback method comprising:
determining first configuration information based on pre-configured capability information of the first terminal device, wherein the first configuration information is used to determine a maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device; and
determining the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device based on the first configuration information.
The scope and subject matter of non-transitory computer readable medium claim 20 is drawn to the computer program product of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in claim 11. Therefore computer program product claim 20 corresponds to apparatus claim 11 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 11 rejection above.
Regarding claim 21
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Nguyen further discloses determining, by the first terminal device, transmission power of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted according to priorities of sidelink data (“a remaining delay budget associated with a corresponding sidelink communication (e.g., a PSFCH transmission to indicate a NACK (i.e. sidelink feedback channels) for a delay-sensitive packet may be assigned a relatively higher utility value to ensure that the delay-sensitive packet is retransmitted before the remaining delay budget is exhausted), a current packet reception rate or a bit rate on a link between the UE and the other UE intended to receive the PSFCH transmission (e.g., relatively higher utility values may be assigned to a bit associated with a PSFCH transmission related to a PSSCH, a PSCCH, or another suitable link that has a high packet fail rate or a low bit rate), and/or the like.” [0098]) corresponding to the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted (“In some aspects, the UE may apply one or more power sharing rules to determine an allocation of the maximum available transmit power among the n PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set. For example, in some aspects, the UE may equally divide the maximum available transmit power among the n PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set, in which case the transmit power available to allocate to an individual PSFCH transmission (P.sub.1) may be the maximum available transmit power divided by n. Additionally, or alternatively, in some aspects, all RBs may have an equal power spectrum density, in which case the maximum available transmit power may be divided among a quantity of RBs in which the n PSFCH transmissions are to be sent, and power allocated to a particular RB is divided among PSFCH transmissions allocated to the particular RB (e.g., equally, according to priority, according to an estimated link budget requirement, and/or the like).” [0095]);
wherein determining the transmission power of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted comprises:
in a case where a sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is greater than maximum transmission power of the first terminal device, not allocating, by the first terminal device, the transmission power to the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to the sidelink data with a low priority (“Additionally, or alternatively, the total transmit power available to use in the HARQ feedback occasion may be equally divided among a set of RBs that are allocated to the PSFCH transmissions (i.e. sidelink feedback channels), and in some cases, a portion of the total transmit power allocated to a particular RB may be divided among multiple PSFCH transmissions that share the RB (e.g., the portion of the total transmit power allocated to the particular RB may be divided equally among the PSFCH transmissions that share the RB, divided according to priority such as allocating more transmit power to higher priority PSFCH transmissions, divided according to an estimated link budget requirement, and/or the like).” [0100] and furthermore “power may be allocated to each individual PSFCH transmission in a candidate set according to a descending priority until a total power budget has been exhausted.” [0095]).
Regarding claim 22
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Nguyen further discloses in a case where a number of sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted is greater than the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device, determining, by the first terminal device, among the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted, M sidelink feedback channels with highest priorities as sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted according to priorities of data corresponding to the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted (“For example, the SCI may be included in a control portion associated with the data portion of the sidelink communication, and the SCI may include a field or value that indicates or specifies the priority of the sidelink communication. In other examples, the priority for a particular PSFCH transmission may be based at least in part on a distance between the UE and the (other) UE that transmitted the sidelink communication (e.g., prioritizing PSFCH transmissions for other UEs that are located closer to the UE to ensure that data sent from nearby transmitters is successfully decoded, prioritizing PSFCH transmissions for other UEs that are located farther from the UE to provide the transmitter with feedback roughly indicating a transmission range for the sidelink communication), signal measurements such as RSRP, RSSI, RSRP, CQI, and/or the like (e.g., prioritizing PSFCH transmissions with a larger RSRP, as a larger RSRP measurement may indicate that the other UE is closer to the UE), a frequency location to be used for the PSFCH transmission (e.g., as indicated by a time and/or frequency location of a data channel), a transmission mode associated with the sidelink communication (e.g., with a unicast transmission mode having a greater priority than a groupcast transmission mode, and the groupcast transmission mode having a higher priority than a broadcast transmission mode), and/or the like.“ [0090]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ericsson’s method of simultaneous transmission of PSFCH, to include Nguyen’s method for configuring multiple candidate sets of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions, in order to efficiently facilitate feedback transmissions (Nguyen [0002]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Nguyen’s method for configuring multiple candidate sets of physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmissions into Ericsson’s method of simultaneous transmission of PSFCH since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 23
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein determining, by the first terminal device, the first configuration information comprises:
Nguyen further discloses determining, by the first terminal device, the first configuration information (i.e. “candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions”) based on a correspondence between the capability information and the first configuration information (“For example, when a UE has multiple PSFCH transmissions to transmit in a given HARQ feedback occasion (e.g., based at least in part on a plurality of sidelink communications that are received from one or more other UEs on a sidelink, such as a PSSCH, a PSCCH, and/or the like), the UE may identify a subset of the PSFCH transmissions to be transmitted in a next HARQ feedback occasion using the techniques described in further detail herein. For example, in some aspects, the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions that the UE has a capability to transmit and/or is permitted to transmit in a single HARQ feedback occasion). For each candidate set, the UE may estimate a link budget requirement for each individual PSFCH transmission and generate a bitmap indicating whether the estimated link budget requirement can be met for each individual PSFCH transmission, based at least in part on a transmit power constraint (e.g., a maximum power reduction (MPR) value, an additional MPR (A-MPR) value, and/or the like). In some aspects, the UE may assign a utility value to each bit in the bitmap and select a particular candidate set that provides a highest combined utility return. Accordingly, the UE may transmit the candidate set that provides the highest combined utility return in the next HARQ feedback occasion. In this way, the UE may provide HARQ feedback for multiple sidelink communications in a single HARQ feedback occasion in a manner that allocates appropriate transmit power to each PSFCH transmission, complies with transmit power constraints, provides a maximum return on transmission utility, and/or the like.” [0082]).
Regarding claim 24
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Nguyen further discloses determining, by the first terminal device, second configuration information (i.e. a subset of PSFCH transmissions that meet a threshold criteria) based on the first configuration information (i.e. initial candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions; “the UE may identify a subset of the PSFCH transmissions to be transmitted in a next HARQ feedback occasion using the techniques described in further detail herein. For example, in some aspects, the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions that the UE has a capability to transmit and/or is permitted to transmit in a single HARQ feedback occasion).” [0082]), wherein the second configuration information is used to determine a maximum number N of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device to at least one of a second terminal device or a third terminal device, and N equals to M divided by a number of the second terminal device and the third terminal device (“As shown in FIG. 8B, and by reference number 806, the UE may identify one or more candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority. For example, a parameter (M) may represent the maximum quantity of concurrent PSFCH transmissions, and the UE may identify candidate sets of n PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority for each n≤M (e.g., if the maximum quantity of concurrent PSFCH transmissions is five (5), the UE may identify one or more candidate sets that include one (1) PSFCH transmission with a highest priority, one or more candidate sets that include two (2) PSFCH transmissions with a highest priority, and/or the like).” [0089]); and
transmitting, by the first terminal device, the second configuration information to the at least one of the second terminal device or the third terminal device (“Accordingly, the UE may transmit the candidate set that provides the highest combined utility return in the next HARQ feedback occasion. In this way, the UE may provide HARQ feedback for multiple sidelink communications in a single HARQ feedback occasion in a manner that allocates appropriate transmit power to each PSFCH transmission, complies with transmit power constraints, provides a maximum return on transmission utility, and/or the like.” [0082]).
Regarding claim 25
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
Nguyen further discloses determining, by the first terminal device, transmission power of each of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted;
in a case where a sum of transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is greater than maximum transmission power of the first terminal device, reducing, by the first terminal device, the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to sidelink data with a lowest priority until the sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device (“In some aspects, the one or more transmit power constraints may generally include a maximum transmit power capability of the UE (e.g., a maximum output power), one or more parameters that relate to a power backoff, one or more power sharing rules to be applied to concurrent PSFCH transmissions, and/or the like. For example, the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff may include a maximum power reduction (MPR) value by which the maximum transmit power capability of the UE is to be reduced (e.g., to control adjacent channel leakage). In some aspects, the parameters that relate to the power backoff may further include an additional MPR (A-MPR) value that is added to the MPR value to provide additional spectral emission control (e.g., the A-MPR value specifies a further amount by which the maximum transmit power capability of the UE is to be reduced due to regulatory, deployment, or other constraints). Accordingly, based on the maximum transmit power capability of the UE and the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff (e.g., MPR, A-MPR, and/or the like), the UE may determine a maximum transmit power that is available to allocate among a quantity of n concurrent PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set.” [0094]); and
in a case where the sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is greater than the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device when the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to the sidelink data with the lowest priority is 0, reducing, by the first terminal device, the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to sidelink data with a second-lowest priority (“In some aspects, the one or more transmit power constraints may generally include a maximum transmit power capability of the UE (e.g., a maximum output power), one or more parameters that relate to a power backoff, one or more power sharing rules to be applied to concurrent PSFCH transmissions, and/or the like. For example, the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff may include a maximum power reduction (MPR) value by which the maximum transmit power capability of the UE is to be reduced (e.g., to control adjacent channel leakage). In some aspects, the parameters that relate to the power backoff may further include an additional MPR (A-MPR) value that is added to the MPR value to provide additional spectral emission control (e.g., the A-MPR value specifies a further amount by which the maximum transmit power capability of the UE is to be reduced due to regulatory, deployment, or other constraints). Accordingly, based on the maximum transmit power capability of the UE and the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff (e.g., MPR, A-MPR, and/or the like), the UE may determine a maximum transmit power that is available to allocate among a quantity of n concurrent PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set.” [0094]) until the sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device (“power may be allocated to each individual PSFCH transmission in a candidate set according to a descending priority until a total power budget has been exhausted.” [0095]).
Regarding claim 26
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses the first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
Nguyen further discloses determine transmission power of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted according to priorities of sidelink data corresponding to the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted;
wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
in a case where a sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is greater than maximum transmission power of the first terminal device, not allocate the transmission power to the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to the sidelink data with a low priority (“Furthermore, in some aspects, the PSFCH transmissions may be transmitted according to the one or more power sharing rules described in further detail above. For example, a total transmit power that is available to use in the HARQ feedback occasion (e.g., subject to a transmit power constraint, such as an MPR value, an A-MPR value, and/or the like) may be equally divided among the PSFCH transmissions that are included in the selected candidate set. Additionally, or alternatively, the total transmit power available to use in the HARQ feedback occasion may be equally divided among a set of RBs that are allocated to the PSFCH transmissions, and in some cases, a portion of the total transmit power allocated to a particular RB may be divided among multiple PSFCH transmissions that share the RB (e.g., the portion of the total transmit power allocated to the particular RB may be divided equally among the PSFCH transmissions that share the RB, divided according to priority such as allocating more transmit power to higher priority PSFCH transmissions, divided according to an estimated link budget requirement, and/or the like). Additionally, or alternatively, available transmit power may be allocated to individual PSFCH transmissions in the selected candidate set according to a descending priority until a total power budget has been exhausted.” [0100]).
Regarding claim 27
The first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
in a case where a number of sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted is greater than the maximum number M of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device, determine, among the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted, M sidelink feedback channels with highest priorities as sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted according to priorities of data corresponding to the sidelink feedback channels that need to be transmitted.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 27 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 22. Therefore apparatus claim 27 corresponds to method claim 22 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 22 rejection above.
Regarding claim 28
Ericsson, as modified by Nguyen, previously discloses The first terminal device according to claim 11,
Nguyen further discloses wherein the capability information of the first terminal device comprises a capability level (e.g. different threshold levels; “the threshold value is based at least in part on one or more of a capability associated with the UE, a configured value, or congestion on one or more of the PSFCH, a PSSCH, or a PSCCH.” [0111]) or a capability category (e.g. power related category) of the first terminal device (“In some aspects, the one or more transmit power constraints may generally include a maximum transmit power capability of the UE (e.g., a maximum output power), one or more parameters that relate to a power backoff, one or more power sharing rules to be applied to concurrent PSFCH transmissions, and/or the like. For example, the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff may include a maximum power reduction (MPR) value by which the maximum transmit power capability of the UE is to be reduced (e.g., to control adjacent channel leakage). In some aspects, the parameters that relate to the power backoff may further include an additional MPR (A-MPR) value that is added to the MPR value to provide additional spectral emission control (e.g., the A-MPR value specifies a further amount by which the maximum transmit power capability of the UE is to be reduced due to regulatory, deployment, or other constraints). Accordingly, based on the maximum transmit power capability of the UE and the one or more parameters that relate to the power backoff (e.g., MPR, A-MPR, and/or the like), the UE may determine a maximum transmit power that is available to allocate among a quantity of n concurrent PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set.” [0094]).
Regarding claim 29
The first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
determine the first configuration information based on a correspondence between the capability information and the first configuration information.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 29 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 23. Therefore apparatus claim 29 corresponds to method claim 23 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 23 rejection above.
Regarding claim 30
The first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
determine second configuration information based on the first configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is used to determine a maximum number N of sidelink feedback channels that can be simultaneously transmitted by the first terminal device to at least one of a second terminal device or a third terminal device, and N equals to M divided by a number of the second terminal device and the third terminal device; and
transmit the second configuration information to the at least one of the second terminal device or the third terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 30 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 24. Therefore apparatus claim 30 corresponds to method claim 24 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 24 rejection above.
Regarding claim 31
The first terminal device according to claim 11, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the computer program to cause the first terminal device to:
determine transmission power of each of sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted;
in a case where a sum of transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is greater than maximum transmission power of the first terminal device, reduce the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to sidelink data with a lowest priority until the sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device; and
in a case where the sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is greater than the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device when the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to the sidelink data with the lowest priority is 0, reduce the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channel corresponding to sidelink data with a second-lowest priority until the sum of the transmission power of the sidelink feedback channels to be transmitted is less than or equal to the maximum transmission power of the first terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 31 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 25. Therefore apparatus claim 31 corresponds to method claim 25 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 25 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411