Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) for application number 17/522,517 received on 10/16/2025.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 10/16/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Response to §112(f) arguments – Upon review of the claims and arguments (Remarks at pgs. 9-10) presented with the RCE, the interpretations are maintained.
Response to §101 arguments – Upon review of the claims and arguments (Remarks at pgs. 9-14) presented with the RCE, Examiner determined that the arguments are persuasive. The §101 rejections previously applied to the claims are withdrawn.
Response to §102 arguments - Upon review of the claims presented with the RCE, the rejections previously applied to claims 1, and 7-12 are withdrawn. The amendments to said claims necessitated new grounds of rejections as set forth in the §103 section of the instant office action.
Response to §103 arguments – Applicant's arguments with respect to the §103 rejections previously applied to claims 2-6, and 13-18 (Remarks at pgs. 14-20) are primarily raised in support of the amendments to independent claims 1 and 13, and dependent claims 2-6, and 14-18. The amendments and supporting arguments are believed to be fully addressed in the updated §103 rejections.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
From Claim 1: “…wherein the ecommerce interface, via the communications module, is configured to receive a request from the consumer for one or more utility services…”
From Claim 7: “…wherein the communications module is configured to provide telecommunications services to the consumer.”
From Claim 11: “…utilities interface for delivering the utilities services.”.
From Claim 13: “…network interface configured to communicatively couple…”, “…communications module is configured to receive and forward utility service requests…”, and “…communications module is configured to receive utility service requests…”.
When looking to the specification, the hardware structure associated with these, are:
“ecommerce interface” is being interpreted as: from [0024], “a mobile application or Internet based browser application”.
“communications module” is being interpreted as: from [0005], “network interface for communicatively coupling to a plurality of consumers, and a controller managing communications”.
“utilities interface” is being interpreted as: from fig 5A, and 5B, and [0030-0031], “water faucet or connection point”, “opening 536 for coupling the wastewater storage tanks of the consumer”, and “electrical outlets”.
“network interface” is being interpreted as: from [0033], “landline telecommunications, wireless telecommunications (e.g., cellular telecommunications, satellite telecommunications, and other wireless technologies), and Internet connections”.
This is to be the structure required for the claims, or equivalents thereof, and the interpretation applies to all dependent claims from claims 1, 7, 11, and 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falvey (US 20220414800 A1, hereinafter “Falvey”), in view of Bartolotta (US 9010358 B2, hereinafter “Bartolotta”), in further view of Schomburg et al. (US 20170051486 A1, hereinafter “Schomburg”).
Regarding claim 1: Falvey discloses a utility provisioning station with the following limitations:
an electrical power supply configured to supply electrical power via an electrical power outlet, ([0039] the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities.; [0062] Referring now to FIG. 6, a drawing of a site of the automated RV park 100 of FIG. 1 is shown, according to an exemplary embodiment. RV 60 is shown connected to utility kiosk 80 via electricity 610 and sewer 620.);
a water supply configured to supply water via a water outlet, ([0039] the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities.; Fig. 7: Water Hookup 760);
wherein the selected utility services comprise selected ones of the electrical power supply, the water supply, and the wastewater storage, ([0039] the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities.);
a communications module communicatively coupled to an ecommerce interface, wherein the ecommerce interface, via the communications module, is configured to receive a request from the consumer for one or more of the utility services selected from the electrical power supply, the water supply, and the wastewater storage; (Fig. 5; [0060] Still referring to FIG. 5, memory 506 is shown to include reservation module 508 and payment module 510. Modules 508-510 can be configured to receive data from communications interface 520, user interface 530, and/or payment interface 512. Reservations module 510 can be configured to provide the check-in and reservation services of control kiosk 300 as described above with reference to FIG. 4. Payment module 510 may be configured to receive payment details from payment interface 512. In some embodiments, user interface 530 is a touchscreen display for displaying park information and receiving user inputs. In some embodiments, user interface 530 includes a display and a user interface system such buttons, switches, keypads, etc., for a guest to interact with control kiosk 300. In some embodiments, communications interface 520 is configured to connect control kiosk 300 to a network, such as network 160 of FIG. 4. Communications interface 520 may also be configured to receive information, such as reservation details from a guest device.);
a housing configured to retain and hold at least one of the electrical power supply, the water supply, and wastewater storage within the housing; ([0066] utility control is achieved by locking the utility hookups within a structure, such as utility kiosk 80, and unlocking the structure and providing access to the utility hookups only to a guest with a validated reservation. In some embodiments, the key to unlock the utility hookups is a password such as a numerical sequence.);
and a controller configured to control the supply of electrical power and water the selected utility services to the utility provisioning station, ([0039] the utility kiosk 80 may include a utility controller for controlling the supply of utilities at the site.);
and to selectively provide access to the electrical power outlet, the water outlet, and the wastewater inlet supplied utility services for the consumer, ([0037] Automated access control system 50 may unlock the central access controlled room and allow a guest to operate the utility controls to activate a utility hookup located at the guest's site.).
Falvey doesn’t explicitly teach:
and a wastewater storage configured to receive and retain wastewater via a wastewater inlet,
wherein at least one of the electrical power supply, the water supply, and the wastewater storage comprises a respective storage tank configured to retain an associated liquid;
wherein the controller is configured to determine a status of the at least one storage tank,
and to send, via the communications module, a utility service request to a utility provider based upon the status of the at least one storage tank,
and wherein the utility provider is configured to fill or empty the at least one storage tank in accordance with the utility service request.
Bartolotta teaches:
and a wastewater storage configured to receive and retain wastewater via a wastewater inlet, ([Column 3, Lines 49-59] In FIG. 1 a block diagram illustrates the Operational Flow Chart used for the operation of the self service automated dump station. In following the flow chart, the operation of the automated dump station can be explained. Prior to starting the operation of the automated dump station, the RV operator will need to position the vehicle or trailer next to a dump station 40, see FIG. 2., and in close enough proximity so the operator is able to run a sewer or sanitary hose from the RV's holding tanks to a dump station's drain line 41. A drain line 41 is the surface or above ground inlet for a waste tank or a connection to a sewer line located below the dump station.);
wherein at least one of the electrical power supply, the water supply, and the wastewater storage comprises a respective storage tank configured to retain an associated liquid; ([Column 7, Lines 13-26] the automated dump station has automated sensors that are able to detect with the dump station waste tank is full or unable to collect additional waste. A signal or switch would indicate to a person that attempts to use the automated dump station that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. A remote sensor could automatically transmit a signal informing the dump station operator or owner that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. By not allowing additional waste to be collected when the waste tank is full and notifying the dump station operator of the situation minimizes the amount of time in which the dump station is not operable and prevents the spillage of waste from the dump station when too much waste is transferred into the dump station waste tank.);
wherein the controller is configured to determine a status of the at least one storage tank, ([Column 7, Lines 13-26] the automated dump station has automated sensors that are able to detect with the dump station waste tank is full or unable to collect additional waste. A signal or switch would indicate to a person that attempts to use the automated dump station that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. A remote sensor could automatically transmit a signal informing the dump station operator or owner that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. By not allowing additional waste to be collected when the waste tank is full and notifying the dump station operator of the situation minimizes the amount of time in which the dump station is not operable and prevents the spillage of waste from the dump station when too much waste is transferred into the dump station waste tank.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey with Bartolotta’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to provide RV operators with a means for transferring the collected waste to a dump station at any time without the need for the dump station to be monitored by a clerk or attendant (Bartolotta; [Column 1, Lines 17-21]). By incorporating the teachings of Bartolotta, one would’ve been able to use a tank to store wastewater and use sensor to monitor its status.
The combination of Falvey and Bartolotta doesn’t teach:
and to send, via the communications module, a utility service request to a utility provider based upon the status of the at least one storage tank,
and wherein the utility provider is configured to fill or empty the at least one storage tank in accordance with the utility service request.
Schomburg teaches:
and to send, via the communications module, a utility service request to a utility provider based upon the status of the at least one storage tank, ([0013] Sensors monitor various levels and usage. A controller monitors the sensed data and wirelessly alerts a service provider);
and wherein the utility provider is configured to fill or empty the at least one storage tank in accordance with the utility service request. ([0054] A waste water level sensor 131 can be disposed within the waste tank 110 and coupled to the processor to allow for level monitoring and call for service when needed. Likewise, a hand wash fresh water level sensor 137 can be disposed inside of the fresh water tank 136 and monitored by the processor for service needs.; [0003] Servicing of the restroom includes vacuuming out the waste, putting a charge of clean water; [0013] A controller monitors the sensed data and wirelessly alerts a service provider).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey and Bartolotta with Schomburg’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to notify the service provider of the need for service or of an emergency situation (Schomburg; [0008]). By incorporating the teachings of Schomburg, one would’ve been able to monitor a tank’s status and request service from a utility provider based on the status of the tank.
Regarding claim 2: Falvey further teaches:
and wherein the communications module and the controller are contained within the housing. ([0058] Referring now to FIG. 5, a block diagram of a control kiosk 300 for use in an automated RV park of FIG. 1 is shown, according to an exemplary embodiment. In some embodiments, control kiosk 300 includes controller 501 for operating control kiosk 300 and controlling the activation and deactivation of the one or more utility supplies included in control kiosk 300. Controller 501 is shown to include processing circuit 502 including a processor 404 and memory 506. Processing circuit 502 can be communicably connected to communications interface 520 such that processing circuit 502 and the various components thereof can send and receive data via interface 520. Processor 504 can be implemented as a general purpose processor, an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), one or more field programmable gate arrays (FPGAs), a group of processing components, or other suitable electronic processing components.).
Falvey doesn’t teach:
wherein the at least one storage tank comprises at least one of a water storage tank configured to retain water and supply water to the consumer, a wastewater storage tank configured to receive and retain wastewater from the consumer, and a fuel storage tank configured to retain fuel and supply fuel to the electrical power supply,
Bartolotta further teaches:
wherein the at least one storage tank comprises at least one of
a water storage tank configured to retain water and supply water to the consumer,
a wastewater storage tank configured to receive and retain wastewater from the consumer, ([Column 7, Lines 13-26] the automated dump station has automated sensors that are able to detect with the dump station waste tank is full or unable to collect additional waste. A signal or switch would indicate to a person that attempts to use the automated dump station that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. A remote sensor could automatically transmit a signal informing the dump station operator or owner that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. By not allowing additional waste to be collected when the waste tank is full and notifying the dump station operator of the situation minimizes the amount of time in which the dump station is not operable and prevents the spillage of waste from the dump station when too much waste is transferred into the dump station waste tank.).
and a fuel storage tank configured to retain fuel and supply fuel to the electrical power supply,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey with Bartolotta’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to provide RV operators with a means for transferring the collected waste to a dump station at any time without the need for the dump station to be monitored by a clerk or attendant (Bartolotta; [Column 1, Lines 17-21]). By incorporating the teachings of Bartolotta, one would’ve been able to use a tank to store wastewater.
Regarding claim 7: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the communications module is configured to provide telecommunications services to the consumer. ([0056] network 160 includes a Wi-Fi network for guests. For example, upon making a reservation a guest may be provided a Wi-Fi password to access network 160 on guest devices 64. Network 160 may include multiple modems throughout the site to provide each guest with reliable speeds for streaming, web browsing, etc. In some embodiments, network 160 includes a satellite link to establish connection between network 160 and the internet.).
Regarding claim 8: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the telecommunications services comprise at least one of telephonic services and Internet access. ([0065] cable hookup 770 is a network connection such as an Ethernet hookup for providing internet access.).
Regarding claim 9: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the consumer is one of a recreational vehicle, a temporary residence, and an emergency service vehicle. ([0034] an area designed to accommodate recreational vehicles and provide the recreational vehicles with various services (e.g., power, water, wastewater handling, internet access, etc.).).
Regarding claim 10: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the ecommerce interface is configured to receive electronic payment as part of a request for selected utility services. ([0060] memory 506 is shown to include reservation module 508 and payment module 510. Modules 508-510 can be configured to receive data from communications interface 520, user interface 530, and/or payment interface 512.).
Regarding claim 11: Falvey further teaches:
further comprising a utilities interface for delivering the utilities services. ([0035] an automated RV park may include one or more automated utility hookups with computer-controlled access for turning on and turning off various utilities at sites within the park.; [0078] a utility kiosk may contain utility hookups for electricity, water, sewer, and cable.).
Regarding claim 12: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the utilities interface includes a security housing for securing access to the utilities services. ([0066] utility control is achieved by locking the utility hookups within a structure, such as utility kiosk 80, and unlocking the structure and providing access to the utility hookups only to a guest with a validated reservation.).
Claims 3, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falvey US 20220414800 A1 (“Falvey”), in view of Bartolotta (US 9010358 B2, hereinafter “Bartolotta”), in further view of Schomburg et al. (US 20170051486 A1, hereinafter “Schomburg”) as applied to claims 1, and 2 above, in further view of Venderirinho (WO 2016173622 A1, hereinafter “Vendeirinho”)
Regarding claim 3: Falvey doesn’t teach:
wherein the electrical power supply comprises an energy storage module comprising at least one battery.
Vendeirinho teaches:
wherein the electrical power supply comprises an energy storage module comprising at least one battery. ([Column 8, Lines 29-31] The solar plant 145 may comprise photovoltaic panels that may generate electricity to be stored, e.g. in a battery bank 175 hosted in the interior of the container.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey, Bartolotta and Schomburg with Vendeirinho’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so, so that electricity may be provided to the battery bank 175 (Vendeirinho; [Column 9, Lines 13-14]). By incorporating the teachings of Vendeirinho, one would’ve been able to store energy in a battery bank to supply the needs of consumers.
Regarding claim 4: Falvey doesn’t teach:
wherein the electrical power supply further comprises a solar panel array and/or a generator configured to produce electrical power and to supply electrical power to the energy storage module,
and wherein the fuel storage tank is configured to supply fuel to the generator.
Vendeirinho further teaches:
wherein the electrical power supply further comprises a solar panel array and/or a generator configured to produce electrical power and to supply electrical power to the energy storage module, ([Column 8, Lines 29-31] The solar plant 145 may comprise photovoltaic panels that may generate electricity to be stored, e.g. in a battery bank 175 hosted in the interior of the container.; [Column 9, Line 12] The container may also comprise a biomass power generation plant 185 that may co-produce electricity with the solar power plant 145.);
and wherein the fuel storage tank is configured to supply fuel to the generator. ([Column 11, Lines 21-31] The renewable energy input 310 may comprise solar panels that may provide the container with solar energy and/or wind turbines that may provide the container with wind energy. The biomass input 315 may be in the form of a tank or a pre-treatment passageway that may provide pre-treated biomass to the container. The solar energy input 310 and the biomass input 315 may be coupled to a solar PV hybrid gasification plant 330 that may generate electricity at an output. AC power generated by the biomass system may be fed into a battery bank inverter, which may control the allocation of power directly to the consumers during scenarios of low solar irradiation and/or during high power demand periods, e.g. at evening time, allocating the surplus power being produced to charge the battery bank as needed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey, Bartolotta and Schomburg with Vendeirinho’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to co-produce electricity with the solar power plant 145 (Vendeirinho; [Column 9, Line 13]), and so biogas may be provided from biogas plant 335 (Vendeirinho; [Column 12, Lines 11-12]). By incorporating the teachings of Vendeirinho, one would’ve been able to generate electrical power with a generator, as well as with a solar panel array.
Regarding claim 5: Falvey doesn’t teach:
wherein the water storage tank comprises a water pump configured to selectively pump the water from the water storage tank to the consumer
Vendeirinho further teaches:
wherein the water storage tank comprises a water pump configured to selectively pump the water from the water storage tank to the consumer ([Column 10, Line 32 – Column 11, Line 2] The raw water input 305 may be in the form of a tube or a tank… The system may include five core components, namely an external water pump, a buffer tank & UV pre-treatment, a DC pump, an ultra- filter and an operator control panel.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey, Bartolotta and Schomburg with Vendeirinho’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to dispense a predetermined quantity, e.g. 10, 20 or 40L as requested by the operator, within a few seconds (Vendeirinho; [Column 11, Lines 10-11]). By incorporating the additional teachings of Vendeirinho, one would’ve been able to use a water pump to move water.
Claims 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falvey US 20220414800 A1 (“Falvey”), in view of Bartolotta (US 9010358 B2, hereinafter “Bartolotta”), in further view of Schomburg et al. (US 20170051486 A1, hereinafter “Schomburg”) as applied to claims 1, and 2 above, in further view of McKiernan et al. (US 5937888 A, hereinafter “McKiernan”).
Regarding claim 6: Falvey doesn’t teach:
wherein the sewage storage tank comprises a wastewater pump configured to selectively pump wastewater from the consumer to the sewage storage tank.
McKiernan teaches:
wherein the sewage storage tank comprises a wastewater pump configured to selectively pump wastewater from the consumer to the sewage storage tank. ([Column 6, Lines 22-23] Where the at least one stationary vacuum source is a vacuum pump 15 and a plurality of vacuum tanks 16, one for each vacuum hookup 14.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey, Bartolotta and Schomburg with McKiernan’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to isolate each vacuum tank 16 from the other vacuum tanks (McKiernan; [Column 6, Lines 25-26]). By incorporating the additional teachings of McKiernan, one would’ve been able to use a wastewater pump to suction wastewater.
Claims 13, 15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falvey US 20220414800 A1 (“Falvey”), in view of Bartolotta (US 9010358 B2, hereinafter “Bartolotta”), in further view of Turtine (US 11215958 B1, hereinafter “Turtine”), in further view of Schomburg et al. (US 20170051486 A1, hereinafter “Schomburg”).
Regarding claim 13: Falvey teaches a utility kiosk interface system for coordinating the supply of utility services from a plurality of utility kiosks to a plurality of requesting consumers with the following limitations:
a plurality of utility kiosks, ([0039] located near one or more sites (e.g., site 10, site 20) in automated RV park 100 are utility hookups, shown as utility kiosk 80.)
each configured to provide one or more respective selected utility services to a corresponding requesting consumer, ([0039] In some embodiments, utility kiosk 80 includes one or more utilities. For example, the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities. In some embodiments, the utility kiosk 80 may include a utility controller for controlling the supply of utilities at the site. In some embodiments, the utilities provided by utility kiosk 80 are controlled by master controls in main utility room 90, and the utility hookups at the site are simply manual connection points.; [0035] An automated RV park may include as mentioned an access control system and a utility provisioning system, as well as a security system, a lighting system, and/or various amenities desirable to transient consumers or any combination thereof.);
wherein each of the plurality of utility kiosks comprises: a respective electrical power supply configured to supply electrical power via an electrical power outlet; ([0062] Referring now to FIG. 6, a drawing of a site of the automated RV park 100 of FIG. 1 is shown, according to an exemplary embodiment. RV 60 is shown connected to utility kiosk 80 via electricity 610 and sewer 620.; [0086] electricity supply 730 includes an electrically operated breaker, shown as smart breaker 732. Smart breaker 732 is configured to control the supply of electricity to site 20 for use by a guest via the electricity supply 730.);
a respective water supply configured to supply water via a water outlet; and (Fig. 7: Water Hookup 760; [0064] to activate the water supply an actuator at the site is activated when allows the passage of water through the water utility hookup, shown as water hookup 760.);
wherein each of the respective selected utility services comprises one or more of the electrical power supply, the water supply, and the wastewater storage, ([0039] In some embodiments, utility kiosk 80 includes one or more utilities. For example, the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities.);
a communications module communicatively coupled to respective ecommerce interfaces of each of the plurality of utility kiosks, the communications module comprising a network interface configured to communicatively couple to each of the plurality of requesting consumers, and a controller configured to manage communications between the plurality of requesting consumers and the plurality of utility kiosks; (Fig. 5 (Controller 501, Communications Interface 520); [0011] the automated vehicle park further includes a remote device communicatively connected... In some embodiments, the remote device further configured to receive the guest stay information, and transmit the guest stay information to the automated access control system. The automated access control system further configured to generate a site reservation based on the guest stay information, and transmit the site reservation to the utility kiosk, the utility kiosk configured to control the utility supply according to the site reservation.);
and wherein a first utility kiosk of the plurality of kiosks comprises a first electrical power supply, ([0039] In some embodiments, located near one or more sites (e.g., site 10, site 20) in automated RV park 100 are utility hookups, shown as utility kiosk 80. In some embodiments, each site may have a dedicated utility hookup. In some embodiments, utility hookups may only be provided to a selection of sites. In some embodiments, utility kiosk 80 includes one or more utilities. For example, the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret all utility kiosks 80, including the first utility kiosk 80, having any combination of electricity, water, sewer, cable access, as well as other utilities, as equivalent to the first utility kiosk having a first electrical power supply.);
and wherein a second utility kiosk of the plurality of kiosks comprises a second electrical power supply; ([0039] In some embodiments, located near one or more sites (e.g., site 10, site 20) in automated RV park 100 are utility hookups, shown as utility kiosk 80. In some embodiments, each site may have a dedicated utility hookup. In some embodiments, utility hookups may only be provided to a selection of sites. In some embodiments, utility kiosk 80 includes one or more utilities. For example, the utility kiosk 80 may include electricity, water, sewer, cable access, and/or any combination thereof as well as other utilities. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret all utility kiosks 80, including the second utility kiosk 80, having any combination of electricity, water, sewer, cable access, as well as other utilities, as equivalent to the second utility kiosk having a second electrical power supply.);
and wherein the communications module is configured to receive utility service requests from any one or more of the plurality of requesting consumers, and is configured to forward a reservation request to a particular utility kiosk for selected utility services from that particular utility kiosk for a particular consumer. ([0063] Although the functions of control kiosk 300 and utility kiosk 80 are described separately it is contemplated that either kiosk could have any of the functions described.; Fig. 5 of Control Kiosk 300 (Controller 501, Communications Interface 520, Reservation Module 508, User Interface 530); [0060] Reservations module 510 can be configured to provide the check-in and reservation services of control kiosk 300.; [0063] the utility kiosk may be configured to make reservations and receive payment from a user.; [0064] control kiosk 300 of FIG. 4, may validate that the active reservation provides a user access to a site and/or one or more utility hookups at the site and may send a signal to utility kiosk 80 to activate the various hookups associated with the reservation.).
Falvey doesn’t teach:
a respective wastewater storage configured to receive and retain wastewater via a wastewater inlet;
and wherein at least one of the respective electrical power supplies, the respective water supplies, and the respective wastewater storages comprises a respective storage tank configured to retain an associated liquid
and a plurality of utility providers, each configured to provide at least one utility service to at least one of the utility kiosks, the utility services comprising electrical power service, water service, and wastewater service
wherein the communications module is configured to receive and forward utility service requests for selected utility services from one or more of the plurality of utility kiosks to selected ones of the plurality of utility providers,
wherein at least one of the plurality of utility providers is configured to fill or empty at least one of the respective storage tanks in accordance with a corresponding utility service request,
Bartolotta teaches:
a respective wastewater storage configured to receive and retain wastewater via a wastewater inlet; ([Column 3, Lines 49-59] In FIG. 1 a block diagram illustrates the Operational Flow Chart used for the operation of the self service automated dump station. In following the flow chart, the operation of the automated dump station can be explained. Prior to starting the operation of the automated dump station, the RV operator will need to position the vehicle or trailer next to a dump station 40, see FIG. 2., and in close enough proximity so the operator is able to run a sewer or sanitary hose from the RV's holding tanks to a dump station's drain line 41. A drain line 41 is the surface or above ground inlet for a waste tank or a connection to a sewer line located below the dump station.);
and wherein at least one of the respective electrical power supplies, the respective water supplies, and the respective wastewater storages comprises a respective storage tank configured to retain an associated liquid ([Column 7, Lines 13-26] the automated dump station has automated sensors that are able to detect with the dump station waste tank is full or unable to collect additional waste. A signal or switch would indicate to a person that attempts to use the automated dump station that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. A remote sensor could automatically transmit a signal informing the dump station operator or owner that the dump station is unable to collect additional waste. By not allowing additional waste to be collected when the waste tank is full and notifying the dump station operator of the situation minimizes the amount of time in which the dump station is not operable and prevents the spillage of waste from the dump station when too much waste is transferred into the dump station waste tank.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey with Bartolotta’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to provide RV operators with a means for transferring the collected waste to a dump station at any time without the need for the dump station to be monitored by a clerk or attendant (Bartolotta; [Column 1, Lines 17-21]). By incorporating the teachings of Bartolotta, one would’ve been able to use a tank to store wastewater and use sensor to monitor its status.
Bartolotta doesn’t teach:
and a plurality of utility providers, each configured to provide at least one utility service to at least one of the utility kiosks, the utility services comprising electrical power service, water service, and wastewater service
wherein the communications module is configured to receive and forward utility service requests for selected utility services from one or more of the plurality of utility kiosks to selected ones of the plurality of utility providers,
wherein at least one of the plurality of utility providers is configured to fill or empty at least one of the respective storage tanks in accordance with a corresponding utility service request,
Turtine teaches:
and a plurality of utility providers, each configured to provide at least one utility service to at least one of the utility kiosks, the utility services comprising electrical power service, water service, and wastewater service ([Column 7, Lines 5-11] The multiservice hookup pedestals each connect to the utility services that are provided to each one of the RV parking sites, namely, at least one electrical line transmissively connected to the electric power grid 210, a dump station inlet 215 fluidly connected to the sewer pipe, and a plumbing fixture 225 fluidly connected the potable water mains.; [Column 14, Lines 44-48] It is expected that for many RV parking facilities, the centralized grouping of the smart switches and smart valves with the PLC in the control building will be the most efficient way to incorporate the smart switches and smart valves into the multiservice hookup pedestals.; [Column 20, Lines 64-67] The innovative automated and remote control features of the present invention are also beneficial to retail stores and the service providers who may want to provide hookup pedestals with only electric utility service.);
wherein the communications module is configured to receive and forward utility service requests for selected utility services from one or more of the plurality of utility kiosks to selected ones of the plurality of utility providers, ([Column 16, Lines 43-54] guests also have the option to have private video conferences regarding issues that may arise during their stay and may also conference in a service provider when necessary. It will also be appreciated that the software for the automated reservation system, the automated control system, and the security/issues resolution communications can be integrated into a single software system that has front end functionalities for the guests (i.e., reservation, service, and/or security requests) as well as the backend control functionalities for the staff (management and control of reservations and hookup services, additional service and/or security requests, and guest communications).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey and Bartolotta with Turtine’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so, so that staff has access to and can contact local service providers on behalf of guests (Turtine; [Column 16, Lines 38-40]). By incorporating the teachings of Turtine, one would’ve been able to offer the customers functionality to communicate with providers.
Turtine doesn’t teach:
wherein at least one of the plurality of utility providers is configured to fill or empty at least one of the respective storage tanks in accordance with a corresponding utility service request,
Schomburg teaches:
wherein at least one of the plurality of utility providers is configured to fill or empty at least one of the respective storage tanks in accordance with a corresponding utility service request, ([0054] A waste water level sensor 131 can be disposed within the waste tank 110 and coupled to the processor to allow for level monitoring and call for service when needed. Likewise, a hand wash fresh water level sensor 137 can be disposed inside of the fresh water tank 136 and monitored by the processor for service needs.; [0003] Servicing of the restroom includes vacuuming out the waste, putting a charge of clean water; [0013] A controller monitors the sensed data and wirelessly alerts a service provider).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey, Bartolotta, and Turtine with Schomburg’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so in order to notify the service provider of the need for service or of an emergency situation (Schomburg; [0008]). By incorporating the teachings of Schomburg, one would’ve been able to monitor a tank’s status and request service from a utility provider based on the status of the tank.
Regarding claim 15: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the consumer is one of a recreational vehicle, a temporary residence, and an emergency service vehicle. ([0034] Referring generally to the FIGURES, an automated RV park is described. An RV park is, in general, an area designed to accommodate recreational vehicles and provide the recreational vehicles with various services (e.g., power, water, wastewater handling, internet access, etc.).).
Regarding claim 17: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the communications module comprises a network interface configured to communicatively couple the communications module to the consumers, the utility kiosks, ([0063] Although the functions of control kiosk 300 and utility kiosk 80 are described separately it is contemplated that either kiosk could have any of the functions described.; Fig. 5 of Control Kiosk 300 (Controller 501, Communications Interface 520); [0061] communications interface 520 may be configured to send and receive messages (e.g., SMS, email, HTTP, etc.) with a guest device, such as guest device 64.).
Falvey doesn’t teach:
and the utility providers.
Turtine teaches:
and the utility providers. ([Column 16, Lines 43-51] guests also have the option to have private video conferences regarding issues that may arise during their stay and may also conference in a service provider when necessary. It will also be appreciated that the software for the automated reservation system, the automated control system, and the security/issues resolution communications can be integrated into a single software system that has front end functionalities for the guests (i.e., reservation, service, and/or security requests).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention, to combine Falvey, Bartolotta, Turtine and Schomburg with Turtine’s features listed above. One would’ve been motivated to do so, so that staff has access to and can contact local service providers on behalf of guests (Turtine; [Column 16, Lines 38-40]). By incorporating the teachings of Turtine, one would’ve been able to offer the customers functionality to communicate with providers.
Regarding claim 18: Falvey further teaches:
wherein the network interface comprises telecommunications hardware comprising at least one of
cellular telecommunications hardware for communicatively coupling to a cellular network,
satellite telecommunications hardware for communicatively coupling to a satellite communications network, ([0056] network 160 includes a satellite link to establish connection between network 160 and the internet.).
landline telephone technology,
and Internet connections. ([0056] network 160 includes a satellite link to establish connection between network 160 and the internet.).
Claims 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falvey US 20220414800 A1 (“Falvey”), in view of Bartolotta (US 9010358 B2, hereinafter “Bartolotta”), in further view of Turtine (US 11215958 B1, hereinafter “Turtine”), in further view of Schomburg et al. (US 20170051486 A1, hereinafter “Schomburg”), as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Venderirinho (WO 2016173622 A1, hereinafter “Vendeirinho”).
Regarding claim 14: Falvey doesn’t explicitly teach:
wherein each of the plurality of utility kiosks comprises a respective one of:
a utility provisioning device arranged as a self-contained system ("off-grid"),
a utility provisioning device coupled to publicly provided utilities ("on-grid"),
and a utility provisioning device configured as a hybrid system with some utility services provided internally ("off-grid"),
while other utility services are provided by public utilities ("on-grid"),
wherein the first utility kiosk is arranged as a self-contained system, and wherein the second utility kiosk comprises at least one on-grid utility service.
Turtine further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of utility kiosks comprises a respective one of:
a utility provisioning device arranged as a self-contained system ("off-grid"),
a utility provisioning device coupled to publicly provided utilities ("on-grid"), ([Column 7, Lines 1-11] Each RV parking site has the parking space for the RV along with an adjacent multiservice hookup pedestal; preferably, the hookup pedestals are positioned in service islands 260 that are slightly elevated from the surface of their corresponding parking spaces. The multiservice hookup pedestals each connect to the utility services that are provided to each one of the RV parking sites, namely, at least one electrical line transmissively connected to the electric power grid 210, a dump station inlet 215 fluidly connected to the sewer pipe, and a plumbing fixture 225 fluidly connected the potable water mains.);
and a utility provis