DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 02/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 14-17, 20, 22 and 29-30 have been amended. Claims 1-9, 13-25 and 28-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 13-25 and 28-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 16-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (US 20240032143 A1) in view of Kung et al. (US 20210227464 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (Terminal of Fig. 12), comprising: a processor (processor 1210), memory coupled with the processor (memory 1209); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (operating system 1209) to cause the apparatus to:
receive a message indicating a configuration for a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) timer for the first UE (A first terminal receives a sidelink discontinuous reception command media access control control element SL DRX command MAC CE sent by a second terminal, where the SL DRX command MAC CE carries a valid object and/or a range of the SL DRX command MAC CE, [0042]; the MAC CE payload carries at least one of…a set of SL DRX parameters may include at least one of the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimer, drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer, and drx-Cycle, DRX-CycleStartOffset, [0077]), the single MAC-CE timer being for a directional communication via MAC-CE signaling (direction information, where the direction information is used to indicate an active direction in which the SL DRX Command MAC CE activates/deactivates DRX, [0082]);
transmit a sidelink signal to a second UE (The sidelink is used for direct data transmission between user equipments, [0003], Fig. 1).
However, Zheng does not clearly teach activate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration; receive, via the MAC-CE signaling, a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration; and terminate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink response.
In an analogous art, Kung teaches activate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration (in response to performing the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to transmitting the SCI and/or in response to transmitting the sidelink data), the Tx UE may start or restart a timer at a time t2, [0478]);
receive, via the MAC-CE signaling, a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration (The Rx UE may transmit a CSI report MAC CE 604 (e.g., a MAC CE comprising the CSI report) to the Tx UE in response to receiving the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to receiving the SCI and/or the CSI report request). In some examples, the Rx UE may transmit the CSI report MAC CE 604 using mode-1 sidelink grant and/or mode-2 sidelink grant. The CSI report MAC CE 604 may be transmitted by the Rx UE (and/or the CSI report MAC CE 604 may reach the Tx UE) at a time t3, [0478]); and
terminate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink response (the Tx UE may stop the timer in response to receiving the CSI report MAC CE 604 at the time t3, [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 2, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kung further teaches wherein the sidelink signal comprises a triggering indication (For aperiodic CSI-report triggering, the TX UE can trigger sidelink report when it is needed, e.g., to perform link adaptation, adaptation of transmission layers, etc. For this purpose, the TX UE can include an indication in SCI to trigger the CSI report from the RX UE, Kung [0445]), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the sidelink signal during a first symbol or a first slot within an active duration of a first discontinuous cycle for sidelink communications for the first UE (When DRX is configured, the MAC entity shall: [0059] 1>if a MAC PDU is received in a configured downlink assignment: [0060] 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback, Kung [0058]-[0060]), wherein the first active duration is during the active duration of the first discontinuous cycle (When a DRX cycle is configured, the Active Time includes the time while: [0055] drx-onDurationTimer, Kung [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 3, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 2. Kung further teaches wherein the triggering indication comprises a channel state information request, a reference signal received power request, a channel busy ratio request, a beam request, or any combination thereof (first terminal device 120 performs a sidelink transmission, a higher layer (For aperiodic CSI-report triggering, the TX UE can trigger sidelink report when it is needed, e.g., to perform link adaptation, adaptation of transmission layers, etc. For this purpose, the TX UE can include an indication in SCI to trigger the CSI report from the RX UE, Kung [0445]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 4, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kung further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: switch from a sidelink reception mode to a sidelink transmission mode after the first active duration (The Tx UE may be in active time and/or may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) when the timer is running. The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 5, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kung further teaches wherein the first active duration of the MAC-CE timer is based at least in part on a latency value associated with the sidelink signal, the sidelink response, or both (the time t2 is the same as the time t1. Alternatively and/or additionally, the time t2 may be after the time t1, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 6, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kung further teaches wherein the first active duration is based at least in part on a reliability target associated with the sidelink signal or the sidelink response, a priority associated with the sidelink signal, the sidelink response, or both (the sidelink transmission is prioritized over uplink transmission, Kung [0246]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 7, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Kung further teaches wherein the instructions to activate the MAC-CE timer are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: activate a first portion of the first active duration, the first portion comprising a duration for switching from a sidelink transmission mode to a sidelink reception mode (The Tx UE may be in active time and/or may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) when the timer is running. The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 8, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 7. Kung further teaches wherein the second portion of the first active duration is activated upon expiration of the first portion of the first active duration (The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604. In some examples, the timer may run until the timer expires at a time t4, after the time t3. Alternatively and/or additionally, the Tx UE may stop the timer in response to receiving the CSI report MAC CE 604 at the time t3, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sidelink signal comprises sidelink control information or a medium access control (MAC) control element (In NR sidelink, CSI reporting may be transmitted via a MAC control element (MAC CE), Kung [0463]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 16, Zheng teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (Terminal of Fig. 12), comprising: a processor (processor 1210); memory coupled with the processor (memory 1209); and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (operating system 1209) to cause the apparatus to:
receive a message indicating a configuration for a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) timer for the first UE (A first terminal receives a sidelink discontinuous reception command media access control control element SL DRX command MAC CE sent by a second terminal, where the SL DRX command MAC CE carries a valid object and/or a range of the SL DRX command MAC CE, [0042]; the MAC CE payload carries at least one of…a set of SL DRX parameters may include at least one of the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimer, drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer, and drx-Cycle, DRX-CycleStartOffset, [0077]), the single MAC-CE timer being for a directional communication (direction information, where the direction information is used to indicate an active direction in which the SL DRX Command MAC CE activates/deactivates DRX, [0082]);
receive a sidelink signal from a second UE (The sidelink is used for direct data transmission between user equipments, [0003], Fig. 1).
However, Zheng does not clearly teach activate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration; transmit a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration; and terminate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink response.
In an analogous art, Kung teaches activate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration (in response to performing the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to transmitting the SCI and/or in response to transmitting the sidelink data), the Tx UE may start or restart a timer at a time t2, [0478]);
transmit a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration (The Rx UE may transmit a CSI report MAC CE 604 (e.g., a MAC CE comprising the CSI report) to the Tx UE in response to receiving the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to receiving the SCI and/or the CSI report request). In some examples, the Rx UE may transmit the CSI report MAC CE 604 using mode-1 sidelink grant and/or mode-2 sidelink grant. The CSI report MAC CE 604 may be transmitted by the Rx UE (and/or the CSI report MAC CE 604 may reach the Tx UE) at a time t3, [0478]); and
terminate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink response (the Tx UE may stop the timer in response to receiving the CSI report MAC CE 604 at the time t3, [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 17, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the sidelink signal comprises a triggering indication (For aperiodic CSI-report triggering, the TX UE can trigger sidelink report when it is needed, e.g., to perform link adaptation, adaptation of transmission layers, etc. For this purpose, the TX UE can include an indication in SCI to trigger the CSI report from the RX UE, Kung [0445]), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit the sidelink signal during a first symbol or a first slot within an active duration of a first discontinuous cycle for sidelink communications for the first UE (When DRX is configured, the MAC entity shall: [0059] 1>if a MAC PDU is received in a configured downlink assignment: [0060] 2>start the drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process in the first symbol after the end of the corresponding transmission carrying the DL HARQ feedback, Kung [0058]-[0060]), wherein the first active duration is during the active duration of the first discontinuous cycle (When a DRX cycle is configured, the Active Time includes the time while: [0055] drx-onDurationTimer, Kung [0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 18, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 17. Kung further teaches wherein the triggering indication comprises a channel state information request, a reference signal received power request, a channel busy ratio request, a beam request, or any combination thereof (first terminal device 120 performs a sidelink transmission, a higher layer (For aperiodic CSI-report triggering, the TX UE can trigger sidelink report when it is needed, e.g., to perform link adaptation, adaptation of transmission layers, etc. For this purpose, the TX UE can include an indication in SCI to trigger the CSI report from the RX UE, Kung [0445]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 19, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: process the sidelink signal within the first active duration (The Rx UE may transmit a CSI report MAC CE 604 (e.g., a MAC CE comprising the CSI report) to the Tx UE in response to receiving the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to receiving the SCI and/or the CSI report request). In some examples, the Rx UE may transmit the CSI report MAC CE 604 using mode-1 sidelink grant and/or mode-2 sidelink grant. The CSI report MAC CE 604 may be transmitted by the Rx UE (and/or the CSI report MAC CE 604 may reach the Tx UE) at a time t3, [0478]); switch from a sidelink reception mode to a sidelink transmission mode during the first active duration, wherein the transmission mode comprises sensing and resource selection for the sidelink signal ((The Tx UE may be in active time and/or may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) when the timer is running. The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 20, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the first active duration of the MAC-CE timer is based at least in part on a latency value associated with the sidelink signal, the sidelink response, or both (the time t2 is the same as the time t1. Alternatively and/or additionally, the time t2 may be after the time t1, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 21, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the instructions to activate the MAC-CE timer are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: activate a first portion of the first active duration, the first portion comprising a duration for switching from a sidelink transmission mode to a sidelink reception mode (The Tx UE may be in active time and/or may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) when the timer is running. The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 22, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the instructions to activate the MAC-CE timer are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: activate a first portion of the first active duration, the first portion comprising a duration for switching from a sidelink transmission mode to a sidelink reception mode (The Tx UE may be in active time and/or may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) when the timer is running. The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 23, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 22. Kung further teaches wherein the second portion of the first active duration is activated upon expiration of the first portion of the first active duration (The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604. In some examples, the timer may run until the timer expires at a time t4, after the time t3. Alternatively and/or additionally, the Tx UE may stop the timer in response to receiving the CSI report MAC CE 604 at the time t3, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 24, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: switch from the transmission mode to the reception mode after the first active duration ((The Tx UE may be in active time and/or may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) when the timer is running. The timer may be running during the time t3. Accordingly, the Tx UE may monitor PSCCH (and/or monitor SCI from the Rx UE) at the time t3 and the Tx UE may receive the CSI report MAC CE 604, Kung [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 25, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16. Kung further teaches wherein the sidelink signal comprises sidelink control information or a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC- CE) and the sidelink response comprises one or more MAC-CEs (In NR sidelink, CSI reporting may be transmitted via a MAC control element (MAC CE), Kung [0463]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 29, Zheng teaches a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (method of Figs. 5), comprising:
receiving a message indicating a configuration for a single medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) timer for the first UE (A first terminal receives a sidelink discontinuous reception command media access control control element SL DRX command MAC CE sent by a second terminal, where the SL DRX command MAC CE carries a valid object and/or a range of the SL DRX command MAC CE, [0042]; the MAC CE payload carries at least one of…a set of SL DRX parameters may include at least one of the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimer, drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer, and drx-Cycle, DRX-CycleStartOffset, [0077]), the MAC-CE timer being for a directional communication (direction information, where the direction information is used to indicate an active direction in which the SL DRX Command MAC CE activates/deactivates DRX, [0082]);
transmitting a sidelink signal to a second UE (The sidelink is used for direct data transmission between user equipments, [0003], Fig. 1).
However, Zheng does not clearly teach activate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration; receive, via the MAC-CE signaling, a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration; and terminate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink response.
In an analogous art, Kung teaches activate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration (in response to performing the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to transmitting the SCI and/or in response to transmitting the sidelink data), the Tx UE may start or restart a timer at a time t2, [0478]);
receive, via the MAC-CE signaling, a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration (The Rx UE may transmit a CSI report MAC CE 604 (e.g., a MAC CE comprising the CSI report) to the Tx UE in response to receiving the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to receiving the SCI and/or the CSI report request). In some examples, the Rx UE may transmit the CSI report MAC CE 604 using mode-1 sidelink grant and/or mode-2 sidelink grant. The CSI report MAC CE 604 may be transmitted by the Rx UE (and/or the CSI report MAC CE 604 may reach the Tx UE) at a time t3, [0478]); and
terminate the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink response (the Tx UE may stop the timer in response to receiving the CSI report MAC CE 604 at the time t3, [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Regarding claim 30, Zheng teaches a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE)(method of Figs. 5), comprising:
receiving a message indicating a configuration for a medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) timer for the first UE (A first terminal receives a sidelink discontinuous reception command media access control control element SL DRX command MAC CE sent by a second terminal, where the SL DRX command MAC CE carries a valid object and/or a range of the SL DRX command MAC CE, [0042]; the MAC CE payload carries at least one of…a set of SL DRX parameters may include at least one of the following parameters: drx-onDurationTimer, drx-InactivityTimer, drx-RetransmissionTimer, drx-HARQ-RTT-Timer, and drx-Cycle, DRX-CycleStartOffset, [0077]), the MAC-CE timer being for a directional communication (direction information, where the direction information is used to indicate an active direction in which the SL DRX Command MAC CE activates/deactivates DRX, [0082]);
receiving a sidelink signal from a second UE (The sidelink is used for direct data transmission between user equipments, [0003], Fig. 1).
However, Zheng does not clearly teach activating the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration; transmitting a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration; and terminating the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink response.
In an analogous art, Kung teaches activating the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on receiving the sidelink signal based at least in part on the configuration (in response to performing the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to transmitting the SCI and/or in response to transmitting the sidelink data), the Tx UE may start or restart a timer at a time t2, [0478]);
transmitting a sidelink response to the sidelink signal from the second UE during a first active duration of the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on activating the single MAC-CE timer and in accordance with the configuration (The Rx UE may transmit a CSI report MAC CE 604 (e.g., a MAC CE comprising the CSI report) to the Tx UE in response to receiving the one or more sidelink transmissions 602 (and/or in response to receiving the SCI and/or the CSI report request). In some examples, the Rx UE may transmit the CSI report MAC CE 604 using mode-1 sidelink grant and/or mode-2 sidelink grant. The CSI report MAC CE 604 may be transmitted by the Rx UE (and/or the CSI report MAC CE 604 may reach the Tx UE) at a time t3, [0478]); and terminating the single MAC-CE timer based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink response (the Tx UE may stop the timer in response to receiving the CSI report MAC CE 604 at the time t3, [0478]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of timer configuration of Zheng with the timer activation of Kung to provide a communication method and system to terminate the configured timer once the response is received to avoid unnecessary expiration handing and retransmission.
Claims 13 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng in view of Kung and further in view of Ji et al. (US 20230354388 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Zheng and Kung do not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first active duration overlaps with a second active duration within an active duration of a second discontinuous cycle associated with the second UE; and modify the first active duration based at least in part on the determining.
In an analogous art, Ji teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first active duration overlaps with a second active duration within an active duration of a second discontinuous cycle associated with the second UE (the first slot where the selection window of the first terminal equipment overlaps with the first or next continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment during the selection window period, [0122]); and modify the first active duration based at least in part on the determining (For example, the physical layer of the first terminal equipment instructs the starting time T1 of the selection window of the first terminal equipment to be postponed, and a specific time-domain position after the postponing is the starting time of the first slot where the selection window of the first terminal equipment overlaps with the first or next continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment during the selection window, [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of Zheng and Kung with the resource section of Ji to provide a communication method and system wherein time corresponding to the resources selected by the transmitting device is at the SL DRX active time of the receiving device, thereby avoiding drop of packets due to the receiving device not being in a receiving state, and on the other hand, reliability degradation due to introduction of the SL DRX may be avoided as suggested, Ji [0008].
Regarding claim 28, Zheng as modified by Kung teaches the apparatus of claim 16.
However, Zheng and Kung do not teach wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first active duration overlaps with a second active duration within an active duration of a second discontinuous cycle associated with the second UE; and modify the first active duration based at least in part on the determining.
In an analogous art, Ji teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: determine that the first active duration overlaps with a second active duration within an active duration of a second discontinuous cycle associated with the second UE (the first slot where the selection window of the first terminal equipment overlaps with the first or next continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment during the selection window period, [0122]); and modify the first active duration based at least in part on the determining (For example, the physical layer of the first terminal equipment instructs the starting time T1 of the selection window of the first terminal equipment to be postponed, and a specific time-domain position after the postponing is the starting time of the first slot where the selection window of the first terminal equipment overlaps with the first or next continuous SL DRX active time of the second terminal equipment during the selection window, [0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sidelink communication of Zheng and Kung with the resource section of Ji to provide a communication method and system wherein time corresponding to the resources selected by the transmitting device is at the SL DRX active time of the receiving device, thereby avoiding drop of packets due to the receiving device not being in a receiving state, and on the other hand, reliability degradation due to introduction of the SL DRX may be avoided as suggested, Ji [0008].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al. (US 20240244527 A1): A method for determining an activation state of a terminal is performed by a sending terminal. The method includes: determining a state of a first-type local timer on the sending terminal corresponding to a receiving terminal, wherein the receiving terminal is a terminal communicating with the sending terminal via a sidelink; and determining the activation state of the receiving terminal based on the state of the first-type local timer.
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641