DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
The Examiner acknowledges receipt of the amendments filed on 10/7/2026 wherein claim 1 has been amended and claim 6 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-4 are presented for examination on the merits.
It is noted that claim 6 was previously objected to as being allowable. However, upon further search, an applicable prior art reference was identified which discussed in the rejection below.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicants amendments filed 10/7/2026 overcomes the rejection of claims 1-4 made by the Examiner under 35 USC 103 over Kim et al. (WO 2019/078583) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0101054) and Srinivas et al. (US 2008/0226742). This rejection has been withdrawn.
New Rejections, Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (Biomaterials, 28, 2007, 1882-1888) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0101054) and Srinivas et al. (US 2008/0226742; of record).
Zhang describes a sustained release microparticle containing a polymer such as PLGA (see abstract) (see instant claims 1 and 4) and a drug such as donepezil (see abstract) (see instant claim 1) wherein the microparticles contains the polymer and drug in a weight ratio of 4:1 (see page 1883) (see instant claim 3). A ratio of 4:1 equates to 80% polymer (math not shown). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 60-97% by weight (see instant claim 2). See MPEP 2144.05(I) regarding obviousness of overlapping ranges.
The microparticle’s of Zhang are to be smooth (see Figure 1a) and be capable of sustained release for a period of time of up to 30 days (see Figure 3) (see instant claim 1). Zhang teaches that the microparticles are to have a spherical shape (see Figure 1a) and that the drug appears uniformly distributed within the microparticle (see page 1883) (see instant claim 1). The microparticles are to have a diameter of between 10-200 microns (see Figure 1b) (see instant claim 1) wherein the microparticles exhibit a homogenous particle distribution (see page 1883).
Zhang teaches that their microparticles at to be formulated into injectable compositions comprising 0.5% carboxymethylcellulose, 5% mannitol and 0.1% Tween 80 (i.e. polysorbate 80) (see page 1883) which overlaps with the suspension composition of instant claim 1 which stipulates that carboxymethylcellulose be present in an amount of 0.5% (10mg/2000mg assuming density is 1 g/mL), 5% mannitol (100/2000 mg) and 0.1% polysorbate 80 (2/2000 mg).
Zhang fails to teach their microparticles have a D90-D10 particle size of 25 microns or less, a (D90-D10)/D50 ratio of 0.35 and a specific surface area per mass unit of 0.75x10-1 to 2.0x10-1 m2/g.
Lee, like Zhang, is directed to sustained-release donepezil microparticles comprising a polymer, e.g. polylactide acid, and donepezil (see claim 1). Lee’s particles are to have a uniform particle size with an average particle size of between 40-130 microns (see [0021]) and possess a Span index (D90-D10)/D50) of 1.2 or less (see [0024]) with specific examples having a Span value of 0.57 (see Table 2). It is taught that compositions comprising such uniform therapeutic microparticles effectively maintains an effective blood concentration thereby improving patient compliance and maximizing therapeutic outcome (see [0015]). Although Lee does not teach a D90-D10 range as being 25 microns or less, one of ordinary skill in the art would desire to minimize the particle size distribution so as to produce a microparticle best capable of providing therapeutic benefit. Given that the prior art, Zhang and Lee, desires uniform monodisperse donepezil microparticles, one of ordinary skill in the art would seek to minimize the size variance. If such an undertaking resulted in a D90-D10 range of 25 microns or less, then this would have been a product of ordinary skill in the art, rather than one of innovation. It is noted that the size distribution is controlled by modulating the pore size of the separating membrane which one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of performing (see [0117]). Regarding the Span value being less than 0.35, this is obvious in view of Lee as the general feature of a homogenous particle distribution is taught as desired for donepezil microparticles. Lee’s teaching that the Span value be less than 1.2 overlaps with the 0.35 as well. See MPEP 2144.05(I). In any regard, reducing the distribution in particle size would necessarily result in reducing the Span value as the Span value is a measure of size distribution, i.e. the more narrow the distribution the smaller the Span value. See MPEP 2144.05.02 which states that where the general conditions of a claim are described by the prior art, it is not inventive to discover optimum ranges by routine experimentation. Such is relevant here as the basic framework is provided by the prior art and carrying forward the desires of the prior art forward so as to arrive at microparticles having the physical properties so claimed would have been an obvious manipulation.
Srinivas is directed to compositions for drug delivery the composition being in the form of polymeric microparticles. Srinivas teaches that their microparticles may possess particle size of between 0.01 microns to 1 mm and possess a surface area of 0.01-500 m2g (see [0046] and claim 2). As the property of specific surface area is understood to be tunable to a desired outcome, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to identify a surface area which best resulted in a microparticle capable of excellent therapeutic benefit. Moreover, the property of specific surface area as claimed would be expected to flow from the obvious PLGA donepezil particles resulting from Zhang and Berkland because the resulting particles would have the same composition and physical dimensions with that claimed and would therefore be reasonably expected to possess such a physical property.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, as evidenced by the references, especially in absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
/KYLE A PURDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611