DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response/application filed on 07/17/2025.
The Examiner notes that citations to United States Patent Application Publication paragraphs are formatted as [####], #### representing the paragraph number.
Status of Claims
Claims 7, 8, 17, 18, and 20 have been amended.
Claims 2, 12 have been canceled.
Claims 23-24 have been added.
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-24 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claims 23-24 are allowed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 11, 14, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20100017259), in view of Ahmed (US 20230306390), further in view of Yang (CN 111681018A), and Delgado (US 11276247).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 11, and 21, Luo discloses:
a non-transitory computer readable medium having instructions stored thereon ([0029] of Luo);
at least one server computer comprising at least one processor ([0029] of Luo) and memory storing instructions ([0029] of Luo) that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one server computer to:
provide a graphical representation of a digital asset (By disclosing, “The publisher publishes a series of articles on the content platform and titles them Grandma's Diary of WWII in Paris (the underlying content)” ([0075] and Fig. 6A-6D of Luo));
track user attention to the graphical representation of the digital asset (By disclosing, an “activity tracking subsystem” for tract user activities regards the digital asset ([0038]-[0039] of Luo));
combining a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset (By disclosing, “The activity tracking subsystem (also referred to as multi-factor/multi-angle visitor activity tracking system) 330 is designed to comprehensively track and store all user activities related to content on the content platform in real time (or close to real time). As described in detail below with regard to the content pricing subsystem 340, the tracked user activities are used to derive market data for determining market acceptance for content and content prices. Examples of the user activities include, but are not limited to, content viewing, content/publisher bookmarking, content/publisher rating, content/publisher sharing with other user/non-user, commenting, content purchasing, discussing content or publisher in in-site forums or out-site forums/BLOGs, searching content or publisher in-site or out-site.” ([0038] of Luo); “These tracked data create a comprehensive and relatively accurate picture about the marketability (or popularity, potential sellability) of the content in its reader market.” ([0072] of Luo); and “In one embodiment, the user activities tracked at different granularity levels are given different weights in a measurable manner, as detailed below with respect to activity factor constants.” ([0044], [0052]-[0054] of Luo)); and
adjust a value of the digital asset based on the combined level of attention ([0044], [0051]-[0054]),
providing a virtual environment and providing the graphical representation within the virtual environment ([0023]-[0025] of Luo); and
wherein tracking user attention to the graphical representation of the digital asset includes tracking user attention to the graphical representation within the virtual environment ([0023]-[0025] of Luo).
Luo does not disclose:
a digital asset associated with a non-fungible token stored in a distributed ledger connected to the at least one server computer via a network;
associating the digital asset to a physical asset in a physical world, wherein a value of the physical asset is associated to the value of the digital asset;
tracking attention to the physical asset in the physical world; and
wherein providing the virtual environment comprises 3D modelling a real-world construct or a virtual construct, and providing the graphical representation of the digital asset comprises modelling the graphical representation of the digital asset with a software platform or software engine.
However, Ahmed teaches:
a digital asset associated with a non-fungible token stored in a distributed ledger connected to the at least one server computer via a network (By disclosing, “An NFT is a unique digital asset that is stored on a distributed ledger (e.g., blockchain) and represents ownership of a specific digital asset, such as a piece of artwork, a video, or a collectible.” ([0031] of Ahmed)); and
associating the digital asset to a physical asset in a physical world, wherein a value of the physical asset is associated to the value of the digital asset (By disclosing, a physical ST token which includes a digital asset, and a backing component of the digital asset. The backing component is a physical asset associated with the digital asset and placed in a physical vault. The physical asset can be provided to the user when the physical ST token is “destroyed” and the funds is collected ([0056], [0064], [0081] of Ahmed)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Luo in view of Ahmed to include a digital asset associated with a non-fungible token stored in a distributed ledger connected to the at least one server computer via a network; and associating the digital asset to a physical asset in a physical world, wherein a value of the physical asset is associated to the value of the digital asset. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using a blockchain to record digital asset information (transparency, immutable records, etc.). Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the users to trade physical items in an virtual environment.
Yang teaches:
tracking attention to the physical asset in the physical world; (By disclosing, “The embodiment of the invention further claims a customer behaviour analysis system, comprising at least one camera and a processor. The camera is used for obtaining the image of the target area. The processor is connected to the camera. The processor is configured to analyze the image via an image recognition module to detect customer behaviour of at least one customer within the target area. the processor is further used for automatically generating customer behaviour information according to the customer behaviour. The customer behaviour information reflects the degree of interest of the customer for at least one commodity.” ([0005] of Yang); and “The customer behaviour information corresponding to the member also can be used for helping the shop to understand the preference and requirement of most member, so as to adjust the type and/or price of the selling goods.” ([0062] of Yang)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Luo and Ahmed that adjusting price based on a combined level of attention, in view of Yang to include tracking attention to the physical asset in the physical world and adjusting the price of the physical asset based on the tracked attention, therefore to achieve combining a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset, and the tracked attention to the physical asset in the physical world. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would improve the financial efficiency by adjusting the price based on real demand in the physical world.
And Delgado teaches:
wherein providing the virtual environment comprises 3D modelling a real-world construct or a virtual construct, and providing the graphical representation of the digital asset comprises modelling the graphical representation of the digital asset with a software platform or software engine (Col 20 line 59- Col 21 line 39, Fig. 6, Fig. 7, Fig. 13 of Delgado).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Luo, Ahmed and Yang, in view of Delgado to include 3D modelling a real-world construct or a virtual construct, and providing the graphical representation of the digital asset comprises modelling the graphical representation of the digital asset with a software platform or software engine. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using 3D modeling (e.g. improved design and visualization, increased accuracy, reduced prototyping time, and reduced cost of errors, etc.).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 13, and 22, Luo does not disclose, but Yang teaches:
wherein the level of attention of the tracked attention of the physical asset in the physical world is based on a time of engagement with the physical asset in the physical world (By disclosing, “For example, if a certain customer is interested in a certain commodity (but has not purchased the goods), then the customer may directly travel to the shelf of the goods from the store entrance, long time staying before the shelf, from the shelf the goods and/or the customer of the customer continuously watching the goods and so on.” ([0040], [0041] of Yang)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Luo, Ahmed and Delgado, in view of Yang to include wherein the level of attention of the tracked attention of the physical asset in the physical world is based on a time of engagement with the physical asset in the physical world. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would improve the financial efficiency by adjusting the price based on real demand.
Regarding claim(s) 4, and 14 Luo discloses:
wherein the graphical representation of the digital asset is connected to one or more external channels that further drive attention to the digital asset (By disclosing, “For example, the activity tracking subsystem 330 may install applets in the users' client systems 120 to track their activities outside the platform. In one implementation, the activity tracking subsystem 330 may selectively crawl/index a few major websites (e.g., NY Times) to retrieve user activities (e.g., book reviews).” ([0044] of Luo)).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20100017259), in view of Ahmed (US 20230306390), further in view of Yang (CN 111681018A), Delgado (US 11276247), and Vandenberg (US 20210358038).
Regarding claim(s) 5 and 15, Luo does not disclose, but Vandenberg teaches:
wherein the non-fungible token is fractionalized into a plurality of ownership tokens, wherein the value of the asset is distributed amongst the ownership tokens, and wherein the plurality of ownership tokens are assigned to two or more owners of the asset (By disclosing, “In response to receiving the non-fungible token, the smart contract may be configured to generate a plurality of fungible tokens of a token category associated with the physical asset, the plurality of fungible tokens comprising a number (N) tokens which collectively represent 100% ownership of the non-fungible token.” ([0006] of Vandenberg); and “In some embodiments, tokens T1 representing fractionalized interests in a physical asset may be held by any number of users U1, U2, Un. To provide a simplified example, user U1 is shown holding two tokens T1 in a wallet W1 owned by user U1” ([0045] and Fig. 4 of Vandenberg)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Luo, Ahmed, Yang and Delgado, in view of Vandenberg to include techniques of wherein the non-fungible token is fractionalized into a plurality of ownership tokens, wherein the value of the asset is distributed amongst the ownership tokens, and wherein the plurality of ownership tokens are assigned to two or more owners of the asset. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow more than one owner to share the interest of the digital asset, thus improving the flexibility of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 16, Luo does not disclose, but Vandenberg teaches:
wherein each ownership token represents one or more of a voting right, a transferability right, an authorship right, an access right, a selling right, and a payoff right (By disclosing, “In step s312, a seller 304, who may own one or more such tokens, may submit an offer to sell the tokens.” ([0044] of Vandenberg)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Luo, Ahmed, Yang and Delgado, in view of Vandenberg to include techniques of wherein each ownership token represents one or more of a voting right, a transferability right, an authorship right, an access right, a selling right, and a payoff right. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the owner to sell the ownership of the digital asset when the owner is not interested in the digital asset anymore, thus improving the flexibility of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20100017259), in view of Ahmed (US 20230306390), further in view of Yang (CN 111681018A), Delgado (US 11276247), and Nieuwenhuys (US 10051327).
Regarding claim(s) 7 and 17, Luo does not disclose, but Nieuwenhuys teaches:
wherein the level of attention is measured by comparing a score with a threshold value, the score being determined based on at least one of a time of engagement with the graphical representation of the digital asset and a type of engagement with the graphical representation of the digital asset. (By disclosing, “the content provider module 140 receives a user's predicted attention score and compares the received predicted attention score to a threshold value.” (Col 5 lines 4-32 of Nieuwenhuys); and “In various embodiments, each user action may correspond to a timestamp of the live stream, such as a timestamp in the live stream when the content item was presented. Examples of a user action can include a click (e.g., a click-through), a conversion, a change of the volume (e.g., volume up, volume down, mute, unmute), a skip of the content item, a joining of a live stream, an exiting of the live stream, placing a client device 110 facedown, a change in orientation of the client device 110, a raising of the client device 110, turning on or off the display of the client device 110, any interaction with the user interface 125 such as accessing an options menu, whether an output device such as speakers or headphones are connected through a port of the client device 110, if the client device is wirelessly connected (e.g., through Bluetooth) to an external device such as headphones or the speaker system of a car, if the user interface is running in the foreground or in the background on the client device 110.” (Col 7 lines 7-29 of Nieuwenhuys)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify modify the combination of Luo, Ahmed, Yang and Delgado, in view of Nieuwenhuys to include techniques of wherein the level of attention is measured by comparing a score with a threshold value, the score being determined based on at least one of a time of engagement with the graphical representation of the digital asset and a type of engagement with the graphical representation of the digital asset. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the system to make an easier decision based on a quantitative value.
Claim(s) 8, 9, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20100017259), in view of Ahmed (US 20230306390), further in view of Yang (CN 111681018A), Delgado (US 11276247), Nieuwenhuys (US 10051327), and Choi (US 9912768).
Regarding claim(s) 8 and 18, Luo does not disclose, but Choi teaches:
wherein the score based on the time of engagement is calculated relative to a time of engagement spent on other digital assets (By disclosing, a content consumption map shows a percentage of time spent on viewing each digital asset. (Col 8 lines 18-54 and Fig. 8 of Choi)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Luo, Ahmed, Yang, Delgado, and Nieuwenhuys, in view of Choi to include techniques of wherein the level of attention based on the time of engagement is calculated relative to a time of engagement spent on other digital assets. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would provide a more intuitive way to express the popularity of the digital assets.
Regarding claim(s) 9, and 19 Luo discloses:
wherein the type of engagement includes at least one of looking at the graphical representation of the digital asset, clicking on the graphical representation of the digital asset, and performing a transaction related to the digital asset (By disclosing, “A visitor may conduct user activities such as: browsing content (also referred to as content page view), bookmarking or tracking content or publisher, making recommendations to acquaintances, voting or rating content or publisher, purchasing content, commenting or providing feedbacks to content or publishers, conducting content searches (within or outside the content platform), participating in discussions (within or outside the content platform).” ([0028], [0038] of Luo)).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20100017259), in view of Ahmed (US 20230306390), further in view of Yang (CN 111681018A), Delgado (US 11276247), and Gray (US 20170353309).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Luo does not disclose, but Ahmed teaches:
storing a smart contract associated to the digital asset, wherein the smart contract is configured to authenticate ownership of the digital asset (By disclosing, “the smart contract code can be used to ensure that the terms of the transaction are met and that ownership of the NFT is securely transferred between parties.” ([0035] of Ahmed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Luo, Yang and Delgado, in view of Ahmed to include techniques of storing a smart contract associated to the digital asset, wherein the smart contract is configured to authenticate ownership of the digital asset. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage of using a smart contract (e.g. automation, efficiency, etc.).
Luo does not disclose, but Gray teaches:
using a smart contract to track any adjustments to the value of digital asset (By disclosing, “The initialization function of the smart contract may then subscribe 322 to receive notifications for the cryptlet (e.g., changes in the price of a commodity) by sending a request to the cryptlet via the cryptodelegate…. Upon receiving the request, the cryptlet records 371 the request. Eventually, the cryptlet may decide to publish to the smart contract an event (e.g., change in commodity price) based on the subscription. In such a case, the cryptlet sends the event via the cryptlet container service to the blockchain which the cryptodelegate validates” ([0022] of Gray)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Luo, Ahmed, Tsuruta and Delgado, in view of Gray to include techniques of using a smart contract to track any adjustments to the value of digital asset. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow every price change to be recorded on the blockchain for easy retrieving in the future.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo (US 20100017259), in view of Ahmed (US 20230306390), further in view of Yang (CN 111681018A), Delgado (US 11276247), Zhang (CN 110110148 A).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Luo does not disclose, but Zhang teaches:
wherein interactions with the graphical representation of the digital asset are performed via a user graphical representation created from a user video feed with a removed background that is inserted into a virtual environment, the video feed being obtained from a user device (Abstract, [0002] of Zhang).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Luo, Ahmed, Yang, Delgado, in view of Zhang to include techniques of wherein interactions with the graphical representation of the digital asset are performed via a user graphical representation created from a user video feed with a removed background that is inserted into a virtual environment, the video feed being obtained from a user device. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the users to get a better idea of the digital asset while protecting the details of the asset before the user accessing the digital asset.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are allowed.
As per claim 23, the closest prior art of record, Luo (US 20100017259) discloses an invention for tracking user attention to the graphical representation of the digital asset; combining a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset; and adjusting a value of the digital asset based on the combined level of attention. In addition, Ahmed (US 20230306390) discloses an invention for a digital asset associated with a non-fungible token stored in a distributed ledger connected to the at least one server computer via a network; and associating the digital asset to a physical asset in a physical world. In addition, Delgado (US 11276247) discloses an invention for providing a virtual environment comprises 3D modelling a real-world construct or a virtual construct, and modelling a graphical representation of a digital asset with a software platform or software engine.
The closest prior art of record fail to teach or suggest, in the context of the ordered combination of the claim:
A system of managing value of digital assets, comprising:
at least one server computer comprising at least one processor and memory storing instructions that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one server computer to:
provide a graphical representation of a digital asset associated with a non-fungible token stored in a distributed ledger connected to the at least one server computer via a network;
track user attention to the graphical representation of the digital asset;
wherein the digital asset is associated to a physical asset in a physical world;
wherein a value of the physical asset is associated to the value of the digital asset;
track attention to the physical asset in the physical world using at least one sensor;
combine a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset, and the tracked attention to the physical asset in the physical world; and
adjust a value of the digital asset based on the combined level of attention;
wherein providing the graphical representation of the digital asset associated with the non-fungible token stored in the distributed ledger includes providing a virtual environment and providing the graphical representation within the virtual environment;
wherein providing the virtual environment comprises 3D modelling a real-world construct or a virtual construct, and providing the graphical representation of the digital asset comprises modelling the graphical representation of the digital asset with a software platform or software engine;
wherein tracking user attention to the graphical representation of the digital asset includes tracking user attention to the graphical representation within the virtual environment;
wherein interactions with the graphical representation of the digital asset are performed via a user graphical representation created from a user video feed with a removed background that is inserted into a virtual environment, the video feed being obtained from a user device; and
wherein the user graphical representation is a user real-time 3D virtual cutout created based on a real-time 2D or 3D live video stream data feed with a removed background obtained from the user device.
Claims 24 is dependent on claim 23 and would be allowable for the same reasons stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been considered but are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose the limitation “combining a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset, and the tracked attention to the physical asset in the physical world; and adjusting a value of the digital asset based on the combined level of attention”. The Examiner, respectfully disagrees. The Examiner notes that Luo discloses: combining a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset (By disclosing, “The activity tracking subsystem (also referred to as multi-factor/multi-angle visitor activity tracking system) 330 is designed to comprehensively track and store all user activities related to content on the content platform in real time (or close to real time). As described in detail below with regard to the content pricing subsystem 340, the tracked user activities are used to derive market data for determining market acceptance for content and content prices. Examples of the user activities include, but are not limited to, content viewing, content/publisher bookmarking, content/publisher rating, content/publisher sharing with other user/non-user, commenting, content purchasing, discussing content or publisher in in-site forums or out-site forums/BLOGs, searching content or publisher in-site or out-site.” ([0038] of Luo); “These tracked data create a comprehensive and relatively accurate picture about the marketability (or popularity, potential sellability) of the content in its reader market.” ([0072] of Luo); and “In one embodiment, the user activities tracked at different granularity levels are given different weights in a measurable manner, as detailed below with respect to activity factor constants.” ([0044], [0052]-[0054] of Luo)); and adjust a value of the digital asset based on the combined level of attention ([0044], [0051]-[0054]). In addition, Yang teaches tracking attention to the physical asset in the physical world; (By disclosing, “The embodiment of the invention further claims a customer behaviour analysis system, comprising at least one camera and a processor. The camera is used for obtaining the image of the target area. The processor is connected to the camera. The processor is configured to analyze the image via an image recognition module to detect customer behaviour of at least one customer within the target area. the processor is further used for automatically generating customer behaviour information according to the customer behaviour. The customer behaviour information reflects the degree of interest of the customer for at least one commodity.” ([0005] of Yang); and “The customer behaviour information corresponding to the member also can be used for helping the shop to understand the preference and requirement of most member, so as to adjust the type and/or price of the selling goods.” ([0062] of Yang)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Luo that adjusting a value of a digital asset based on different features of user attention, in view of Yang to include tracking attention to the physical asset in the physical world and adjusting the price of the physical asset based on the tracked attention, therefore to achieve combining a level of attention of the tracked user attention of the digital asset, a number of users interacting with the graphical representation of the digital asset, and the tracked attention to the physical asset in the physical world. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would improve the financial efficiency by adjusting the price based on real demand in the physical world.
Accordingly, the 103 rejection will be maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180082323 to Tsuruta for disclosing:
A selling item transaction processing device disclosed herein includes a setting reception unit, a transaction price changing unit, a purchase reception unit, and a processing unit. The setting reception unit receives setting of a transaction price of a selling item. The transaction price changing unit gradually lowers the transaction price. The purchase reception unit receives a purchase request on the selling item at the transaction price. The processing unit performs processing in response to the purchase request. The transaction price changing unit dynamically changes a mode of lowering the transaction price.
WO 2014026064 to Poreh for disclosing:
A computer-implemented system and method that provide dynamic, essentially real time pricing of users' access to content represented by articles, which pricing varies over time with user behavior to reflect actual values that users place on access to the articles. The system includes an improvement that freezes the access price of an article for some period of time after a user selects the article to enable the user to make a purchasing decision based on the access price at a time related to the time the user selected the article, while the access price for the same article may change for other users.
US 20190378164 to Eich for disclosing:
An attention application measures a user's attention focused on publisher content and advertisements to create an attention metric. Attention can be measured via hardware sensors or by user interactions with input/output hardware. A user attention metric profile can be used to modify content, content presentation, and/or match ads. Aggregate attention metrics can be used by publishers or third parties. Attention consumers may reward attention with a digital asset. A proof-of-attention can be made based on secure attention sensor hardware and/or a zero-knowledge proof.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685