Final Rejection
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipate by Akdogen (US 2016/0042151 A1).
Referring to claim 21. Akdogen discloses a method of controlling a vacuum system of a retrieval device for pills (The device 100 may include a container 104, a tube 106 with a nib 108, a vacuum device 110, a valve 112, a positioner 114, and a controller 116; Figure 1; Para. [0038]), the method comprising:
generating vacuum (110; The vacuum source 130 may include a vacuum pump or the like, which provides a vacuum pressure in the hollow core 126 of the tube 106; Para. [0046]) pressure in the vacuum system in fluid communication (through member 106) with an opening (128) defined by a nib (The disposable unit 102 may thus be held by the tube 106 due to the force of the vacuum pressure, which is selected to be sufficiently strong to keep the disposable unit 102 connected to the nib 106 against the force of the weight of the disposable unit 102 and any disturbing or resistive forces such as that imposed by other disposable units 102 nearby, heavy vibrations, movement of the nib 108 or tube 106, or otherwise; Para. [0073]);
receiving, from a pressure sensor (The control system may also or instead include a pressure sensor; Para. [0099]), a pressure signal indicative of pressure at the opening of the nib (e.g., via a pressure sensor that detects when the vacuum line is no longer sealed; Para. [0102]) with vacuum pressure in the vacuum system and the nib unobstructed by material external to the nib (a pressure sensor that detects when the vacuum line is no longer sealed; Para. [012] thus it is construed the pressure in the tube when no articles are attached to be nib is a first pressure measurement; P1);
comparing the pressure signal to a predetermined threshold pressure value (pressure in 106 when nib is sealed; Ps), the predetermined threshold pressure value (Ps pressure indicated the nib has retrieved and articles, the opening is sealed) indicative of blockage in the vacuum system (The disposable unit 102 may thus be held by the tube 106 due to the force of the vacuum pressure, which is selected to be sufficiently strong to keep the disposable unit 102 connected to the nib 106 against the force of the weight of the disposable unit 102 and any disturbing or resistive forces such as that imposed by other disposable units 102 nearby; Para. [0073])
(The pressure sensor may be able to detect whether a dispensable unit has been retrieved, as retrieving a unit and forming a full seal in the vacuum line would result in a drop of pressure below that of the environment outside the mechanism, i.e., a drop measurable by the pressure sensor; Para. [0099]);
initiating a remedial action for the nib if the pressure signal is below the predetermined threshold pressure value (pressure sensor does not detect a pressure increase as the member 106 is driven downwards towards stored members 102, if not articles is connected to the nib, no change detected by the pressure sensor the member 106 moves upwards to retreat to a safe distance, thus aborting the first attempt), wherein the remedial action of the nib includes aborting an attempt to dispense the pills (thus aborting the first attempt).
Referring to claims 22 and 23. Akdogen discloses a method of controlling a vacuum system of a retrieval device for pills (The device 100 may include a container 104, a tube 106 with a nib 108, a vacuum device 110, a valve 112, a positioner 114, and a controller 116; Figure1; Para. [0038]), the method comprising:
wherein adjustment of the first threshold pressure value includes initiating a remedial action for a vacuum pump in fluid communication with the nib (In an aspect, the vacuum device 110 is capable of reversing the direction of air flow, e.g., provided by the vacuum source 130. The direction of the air flow may be reversed, for instance, using a branching line with one or more solenoid valves or using a reversible air pump; Para. [0047]) (The valve 112 may be disposed between the nib 108 and the vacuum device 110, where the valve 112 is operable to controllably apply a vacuum force from the vacuum source 130 through the hollow core 126 to the nib 108. The valve 112 may provide for a suction state when in a first position and a releasing state when in a second position; Para. [0048]).
Referring to claim 25. Akdogen discloses a method of controlling a vacuum system of a retrieval device for pills (The device 100 may include a container 104, a tube 106 with a nib 108, a vacuum device 110, a valve 112, a positioner 114, and a controller 116; Figure1; Para. [0038]), the method comprising:
wherein controlling operation of the vacuum pump includes controlling a supply voltage of the vacuum pump (power (or a related property thereof, e.g., current) supplied to the positioner 114, power supplied to the vacuum device 110 or another component of the device 100, a pulse width modulation (PWM) frequency and duty cycle for a powered component, a property or state of the valve 112 (e.g., the length of time the valve 112 is in a released state or time the tube 106 is in an equalized or equalizing pressure state), Para. [0061]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akdogen (US 2016/0042151 A1) in view of Dunn (US 8,636,172).
Referring to claims 24 and 27. Akdogen discloses a method of controlling a vacuum system of a retrieval device for pills (The device 100 may include a container 104, a tube 106 with a nib 108, a vacuum device 110, a valve 112, a positioner 114, and a controller 116; Figure1; Para. [0038]), the method comprising:
wherein initiating the remedial action further includes aborting an attempt to retrieve the pill, sending an error condition to a server in communication with the retrieval device, or a combination thereof (The control systems described herein may employ a state machine, such that there are states for normal operation and states for particular or groupings of errors, for example, a state where actuation has been jammed. The state machine may be configured as a directed graph such that a fault results in an observable error state and the device does not remain in a normal operation state when in this condition; Para. [0100]).
Akdogen does not disclose sending an error condition to a server in communication with the retrieval device.
Dunn disclose a medication dispensing apparatus wherein the remedial action includes aborting an attempt to retrieve the pill, sending an error condition to a server in communication with the retrieval device, or a combination thereof (Controller 30 can then render dispenser 20 inoperable and it can also forward a message to Internet Service Provider 66 and onto the clinician browser 74, pharmacist browser 76, or administrator browser 78 (see FIG. 1); Col. 8 line 55).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Akdogen to include sending an error condition to a server in communication with the retrieval device as taught by Dunn because providing an update status of the dispenser to an administrator via a server would allow the administrator to know the dispensing operation has failed and appropriate remedy may be initiated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See modified rejections in view of Akdogen (US 2016/0042151 A1) in view of above Dunn (US 8,636,172).
Applicant argues the limitations added in claim 1 specifically “if the pressure signal is below the predetermined threshold pressure value, wherein the remedial action of the nib includes aborting an attempt to dispense the pills” are disclosed the prior references. In view of the Examiner, Akdogen discloses the pressure sensor detects the pressure at the nib as being a pressure indicative of an unsealed nib as the dispensing member is moved downwards in the article storage chamber. The unsealed pressure is a pressure of the vacuum in member 106 when no article is grasped by the nib, which inherently will be lower than the vacuum pressure detected by the sensor when the nib has effectively grasped an article. Therefore, the limitations as recited in claim 1 are disclosed the Akdogen reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAKESH KUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3651