DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the amending of claims 1, 3-4, 9, 16, 18-20, the specification, and the drawings, and the cancellation of claims 2, 6, 15. Drawing objection withdrawn. Specification objection withdrawn. All 112b rejections withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 19-20 (electrode arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Kobayashi used to read on new limitations of amended claims 1, 19-20.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 09/22/2025, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
For Ni, the following interpretations apply:
Applicant’s “light emitting region” [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] a region encompassing a plurality of shaded circles in Ni
Applicant’s “light emitting element” [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] one of the emitting elements present within one of the shaded circles
Ni device contains plurality of shaded circles, each shaded circle labelled a “region”. Even though Ni “region” is not same to Applicant’s “region”, each Ni shaded circle/region contains a plurality of emitting elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For Ni, the following interpretations apply:
Applicant’s “light emitting region” [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] a region encompassing a plurality of shaded circles in Ni
Applicant’s “light emitting element” [Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0] one of the emitting elements present within one of the shaded circles
Ni device contains plurality of shaded circles, each shaded circle labelled a “region”. Even though Ni “region” is not same to Applicant’s “region”, each Ni shaded circle/region contains a plurality of emitting elements.
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-10, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niinami (US-20200301011-A1, hereinafter “Ni”) in view of Kobayashi (US-20220260684-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ni discloses a detection apparatus (fig. 1, 0024) comprising: a light emitting unit (fig. 1 20) including a first light emitting region that has at least one light emitting element and radiates light to a first radiation region (annotated fig. 2 region 1E has at least one light emitting element and radiates to annotated fig. 1 1R (x2), 0033) and a second light emitting region that has at least one light emitting element and radiates light to a second radiation region (annotated fig. 2 region 2E has at least one emitting element and radiates light to annotated fig. 1 2R); a drive unit that drives the light emitting unit (fig. 1 41+50, 0026, 0031 lines 1-8); and a detection unit that detects an object based on a time until light radiated from the light emitting unit is reflected by the object and is received (fig. 1 60+42, 0029, 0031 lines 8-end) wherein the first radiation region is positioned outside with respect to the second radiation region (annotated fig. 1 1R positioned outside 2R), an amount of light radiated from the first light emitting region is greater than an amount of light radiated from the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 initial emission equal for each gray circle + more gray circles in 1E than 2E, light 1E > light 2E, 0052 fig. 6 step S601), in the light emitting unit, the first light emitting region is positioned outside with respect to the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 1E outside 2E).
Ni does not disclose the light emitting unit includes an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit, the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region, and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region.
Kobayashi discloses a light-emitting element and ranging apparatus with an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit (figs. 1 + 23 electrode 141 supplies current to emitters 111a, par. 0077, 0171-0175), the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other (fig. 23 141 arranged along entire area of equivalent first light emitting region (w/ 111a3) in direction (left/right on page) in which first region and 141 face each other), the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region (fig. 23 141 uses current supply paths La to power first region 111a3), and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region (fig. 23 path from 141 to 111a3 using La shorter than 141 to 111a1 (equivalent second region) using La+Lb+Lc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit, the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region, and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region to facilitate powering the apparatus + light emitting regions in a manner that provides higher intensities among peripheral emitters (first region (due to lower resistance/shorter wire length)) than among central emitters (second region) to compensate for reduction in light receiving sensitivity for wide angle light (from first region) received by a receiver + increase accuracy in ranging performed with respect to a surrounding region in a measurement target range (Kobayashi 0140).
Note, Ni labels each shaded circle as its own region. However, Examiner interprets Applicant’s “region” as a plurality of these shaded circles (1E or 2E). Each shaded circle in Ni comprises a plurality of VCSEL elements/emitters.
Annotated fig. 2
Annotated fig. 1
Regarding claim 3, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first light emitting region is provided on one side or both sides of the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 1E provided on both sides of 2E).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first light emitting region is provided to surround the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 1E surrounds 2E).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the first light emitting region and the second light emitting region is divided into a plurality of light emitting sections having at least one light emitting element (annotated fig. 2+2a 1E divided into twelve sections of four shaded circles, 2E divided into two sections of eight shaded circles), the drive unit makes each of the plurality of light emitting sections emit light independently (fig. 1 41+50 operates each shaded circle independently, 0025 lines 4-6, see also fig. 6 S603+604 + par. 0054, S601 set same for all elements), and an area of a first light emitting section of the plurality of light emitting sections belonging to the first light emitting region is smaller than an area of a second light emitting section of the plurality of light emitting sections belonging to the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2+2a area of a 1E section holds four shaded circles, roughly half area of a 2E section).
Annotated fig. 2a
Regarding claim 10, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the first light emitting region and the second light emitting region is divided into a plurality of light emitting sections having at least one light emitting element (annotated fig. 2 + annotated fig. 5b 1E divided into twelve sections of four shaded circles, 2E divided into four sections of four shaded circles), the drive unit makes each of the plurality of light emitting sections emit light independently (fig. 1 41+50 operates each shaded circle independently, 0025 lines 4-6, see also fig. 6 S603+604 + par. 0054, S601 set same for all elements), wherein an amount of power supplied to the light emitting section belonging to the first light emitting region is greater than an amount of power supplied to the light emitting section belonging to the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 + 5b power supplied to bottom right 1E section (4x Max) greater than power supplied to any of the 2E sections, 0045+0047+0049+0050).
Claim 10 anticipated by identical device at a different stage of operation (fig. 6 S603/604).
Annotated fig. 5b
Regarding claim 12, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the light emitting unit includes an optical member that changes a path of radiated light to make an amount of light radiated from the first light emitting region greater than an amount of light radiated from the second light emitting region (fig. 1 20 includes convex lens 22, 22 changes path of radiated light + makes radiated light from first emitting region (top 2 and bottom 2 arrow through 20) greater than amount from second region (center arrow through 20), 0025, see Applicant’s analogous figs. 9A+B).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one light emitting element is a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (0033 final 2 lines).
Claim(s) 5, 7-8, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Kobayashi and Yuen (US-10714903-B2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Modified Ni does not disclose wherein the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region is greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region.
Yuen discloses a VCSEL emitter array with a lower element density in the center of the array than on the periphery (fig. 1B spacing between 135 emitters higher in center (lower density) than on periphery w/ higher density 140 emitters, col. 4 lines 10-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region to improve temperature and power uniformity within the device without needing to increase size of device (col. 4 lines 20-35).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 3.
Modified Ni does not disclose wherein the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region is greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region.
Yuen discloses a VCSEL emitter array with a lower element density in the center of the array than on the periphery (fig. 1B spacing between 135 emitters higher in center (lower density) than on periphery w/ higher density 140 emitters, col. 4 lines 10-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region to improve temperature and power uniformity within the device without needing to increase size of device (col. 4 lines 20-35).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 4.
Modified Ni does not disclose wherein the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region is greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region.
Yuen discloses a VCSEL emitter array with a lower element density in the center of the array than on the periphery (fig. 1B spacing between 135 emitters higher in center (lower density) than on periphery w/ higher density 140 emitters, col. 4 lines 10-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region to improve temperature and power uniformity within the device without needing to increase size of device (col. 4 lines 20-35).
Regarding claim 20, Ni discloses a light emitting device (fig. 1, 0024) comprising: a first light emitting region that has at least one light emitting element and radiates light to a first radiation region (annotated fig. 2 region 1E has at least one light emitting element and radiates to annotated fig. 1 1R (x2), 0033); and a second light emitting region that has at least one light emitting element and radiates light to a second radiation region positioned inside with respect to the first light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 region 2E has at least one emitting element and radiates light to annotated fig. 1 2R, 2E inside of 1E), and the first light emitting region is positioned outside with respect to the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2 1E outside 2E).
Ni does not disclose wherein the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region is greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region.
Yuen discloses a VCSEL emitter array with a lower element density in the center of the array than on the periphery (fig. 1B spacing between 135 emitters higher in center (lower density) than on periphery w/ higher density 140 emitters, col. 4 lines 10-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the first light emitting region greater than the number of light emitting elements per unit area in the second light emitting region to improve temperature and power uniformity within the device without needing to increase size of device (col. 4 lines 20-35).
Ni, as modified, does not disclose the light emitting unit includes an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting device, the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region, and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region.
Kobayashi discloses a light-emitting element and ranging apparatus with an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit (figs. 1 + 23 electrode 141 supplies current to emitters 111a, par. 0077, 0171-0175), the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other (fig. 23 141 arranged along entire area of equivalent first light emitting region (w/ 111a3) in direction (left/right on page) in which first region and 141 face each other), the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region (fig. 23 141 uses current supply paths La to power first region 111a3), and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region (fig. 23 path from 141 to 111a3 using La shorter than 141 to 111a1 (equivalent second region) using La+Lb+Lc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit, the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region, and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region to facilitate powering the apparatus + light emitting regions in a manner that provides higher intensities among peripheral emitters (first region (due to lower resistance/shorter wire length)) than among central emitters (second region) to compensate for reduction in light receiving sensitivity for wide angle light (from first region) received by a receiver + increase accuracy in ranging performed with respect to a surrounding region in a measurement target range (Kobayashi 0140).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Kobayashi and Izumi (US-20190073781-A1).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1, wherein each of the first light emitting region and the second light emitting region is divided into a plurality of light emitting sections having at least one light emitting element (annotated fig. 2 + annotated fig. 5b 1E divided into twelve sections of four shaded circles, 2E divided into four sections of four shaded circles), the light emitting unit has a third light emitting region that shares at least a part of light emitting sections with the first light emitting region and/or the second light emitting region (fig. 1 + annotated fig. 2c 20 contains 3E (leftmost column of 1E w/ 16 shaded circles) shares part of sections with annotated fig. 2 1E), the third light emitting region radiates light to a third radiation region that shares at least a part of a region with the first radiation region and/or the second radiation region (annotated fig. 2c+1b 3E radiates light to 3R shared with part of 1R, shared region labelled 1R/3R), and the drive unit makes each of the light emitting sections emit light independently (fig. 1 41+50 operates each shaded circle independently, 0025 lines 4-6, see also fig. 6 S603+604 + par. 0054, S601 set same for all elements).
Modified Ni does not disclose in a case where radiation of light to the third radiation region is not required, makes light emitting sections configuring the third light emitting region not emit light.
Izumi discloses a three-dimensional distance measurement apparatus with the ability to selectively power off laser light sources (figs. 1 + 6A 12a+b with irradiation area 3a/b ON 12c with 3c OFF, Abstract+0056+0058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to, in a case where radiation of light to the third radiation region is not required, make light emitting sections configuring the third light emitting region not emit light to reduce/remove ambient light during distance measurement and improve measurement accuracy (Izumi 0059).
Annotated fig. 2c
Annotated fig. 1b
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Kobayashi and Gross (US-8761594-B1).
Regarding claim 13, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 12,
Modified Ni does not disclose wherein the optical member is provided corresponding to each of the light emitting elements belonging to the first light emitting region in the light emitting unit.
Gross discloses a system for spatially dynamic illumination in camera systems with a separate optical element for each light-emitting element (fig. 6 one 626 element + one 624 element for each 620 element, col. 1 lines 5-20, col. 2 lines 5-25, col. 7 lines 50-end + col. 8 lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide one optical member convex lens corresponding to each of the light emitting elements belonging to the first light emitting region in the light emitting unit to allow for more precise control over each optical member/emitting element set (Gross col. 5 lines 5-8).
Regarding claim 14, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the optical member provided corresponding to each of the light emitting elements belonging to the first light emitting region in the light emitting unit is a convex lens (each optical member is convex lens after claim 13 rejection modification).
Modified Ni does not disclose an optical axis is shifted with respect to the light emitting element, and directs light radiated from the first light emitting region to the first radiation region side.
Ni discloses using a large convex lens where first light emitter optical axes are not aligned with convex lens optical axis and convex lens directs light from first emitters to first radiation region side (annotated fig. 1 lens 22 optical axis not aligned with first emitter optical axes (top 2 + bottom 2 arrows through 22) and 22 directs top 2+bottom 2 to 1R regions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each first emitter optical axis shifted with respect to its corresponding convex lens element to direct light radiated from first emitter to the first radiation region side to maintain function of the large convex lens (ie. enlarge the field of view and allow for adjustments to be made to the field of view) (Ni 0025 lines 6-11).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Kobayashi and Ogura (US-20220007482-A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Ni discloses the detection apparatus according to claim 1.
Modified Ni does not disclose a detection system comprising: a plurality of detection apparatuses according to claim 1, wherein an interval between one detection apparatus and another detection apparatus is greater in a direction in which the first light emitting region of the one detection apparatus is positioned in the light emitting unit than in a direction in which the second light emitting region of the one detection apparatus is positioned in the light emitting unit.
First light emitting region surrounds second light emitting region. Any two separate apparatuses that do not overlap in position as shown in fig. X will necessarily have an interval greater in a first light emitting region direction than in a second light emitting direction, since the second light emitting region direction can be interpreted as a direction perpendicular to the plane on which the apparatuses are located. Fig. X Two solid horizontal lines represent two separate apparatuses. Two apparatuses in fig. X will have distance/interval of 0 in the second region direction shown because they lie on the same plane, and some non-zero distance/interval in the first region direction.
Ogura discloses a plurality of floodlight control apparatuses with a plurality of light projecting parts located on the same plane (i.e. first interval > second interval) and a desire to attain a wide viewing angle with the multiple apparatuses (fig. 20, 3/2-1 and 3/2-2 are 2 separate apparatuses, 0208+0209).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a plurality of detection apparatuses according to claim 1, wherein an interval between one detection apparatus and another detection apparatus is greater in a direction in which the first light emitting region of the one detection apparatus is positioned in the light emitting unit than in a direction in which the second light emitting region of the one detection apparatus is positioned in the light emitting unit to maximize the field of view and allow for continued operation in case there are issues with one of the apparatuses (Ogura 0208). Keeping the devices on the same plane (first interval > second interval) would provide for easier calibration and tracking/detection and communication between the apparatuses.
Figure X
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Kobayashi, Ogura and Uchimara (US-20220358745-A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Ni discloses the detection system according to claim 17.
Modified Ni does not disclose wherein the plurality of detection apparatuses are arranged on a ceiling side of a passage provided between two rows of display racks arranged to face each other in a store.
Uchimara discloses a store monitoring apparatus with a series of imaging apparatuses located between rows of display shelves (fig. 2 imaging apparatuses 2 w/ cameras 21 located on ceiling between shelves 6, 0060).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the plurality of detection apparatuses on a ceiling side of a passage provided between two rows of display racks arranged to face each other in a store to monitor the area (Uchimara 0007).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ni in view of Hotta (US-20170356852-A1) and Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 19, Ni discloses a light emitting device (fig. 1 0024) comprising: a first light emitting region that has at least one light emitting element that radiates light to a first radiation region (annotated fig. 2x 1E has at least one light emitting element and radiates to annotated fig. 1x 1R (x2), 0033); and a second light emitting region that has at least one light emitting element that radiates light to a second radiation region positioned inside with respect to the first light emitting region (annotated fig. 2x 2E has at least one light emitting element and radiates to annotated fig. 1x 2R and is positioned inside 1E), wherein the first light emitting region is smaller in area than the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2x 1E area contains 28 shaded circles less than area containing 36 shaded circles in 2E), and the first light emitting region is positioned outside with respect to the second light emitting region (annotated fig. 2x 1E positioned outside 2E).
Ni does not explicitly disclose the first/second emitting regions + emitting elements being disposed on a substrate.
Hotta discloses a measurement apparatus with light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (fig. 1 emitters 12 disposed on substrate 14A, Abstract, 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the first/second emitting regions with emitting elements on a substrate to allow for easier transport and control of the group of individual emitting elements.
Ni, as modified, does not disclose the light emitting unit includes an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting device, the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region, and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region.
Kobayashi discloses a light-emitting element and ranging apparatus with an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit (figs. 1 + 23 electrode 141 supplies current to emitters 111a, par. 0077, 0171-0175), the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other (fig. 23 141 arranged along entire area of equivalent first light emitting region (w/ 111a3) in direction (left/right on page) in which first region and 141 face each other), the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region (fig. 23 141 uses current supply paths La to power first region 111a3), and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region (fig. 23 path from 141 to 111a3 using La shorter than 141 to 111a1 (equivalent second region) using La+Lb+Lc).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an electrode that is provided to supply a current to the light emitting unit, the electrode is arranged along an entire area of the first light-emitting region in a direction in which the first light emitting region and the electrode face each other, the electrode is provided with a current supply path through which the current is supplied along the first light emitting region, and the current supply path from the electrode to the first light-emitting region is shorter than the current supply path from the electrode to the second light emitting region to facilitate powering the apparatus + light emitting regions in a manner that provides higher intensities among peripheral emitters (first region (due to lower resistance/shorter wire length)) than among central emitters (second region) to compensate for reduction in light receiving sensitivity for wide angle light (from first region) received by a receiver + increase accuracy in ranging performed with respect to a surrounding region in a measurement target range (Kobayashi 0140).
Annotated fig. 2x
Annotated fig. 1x
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828