DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Response re: 112b
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, filed 21 Jul 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 under 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response re: 101
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 9, filed 21 Jul 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 20 under 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response re: 103
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 10-12, filed 21 Jul 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kul, Hou, Beckman, Gil, and Ford.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al. US 20180137454 A1 (herein, Kul), in view of Hou et al. US 20210406810 A1 (herein, Hou), Gil US 20170313421 A1 (herein, Gil), and in further view of Ford US 20180060813 A1 (herein, Ford).
Regarding Claim 1, Kul discloses, a method for a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) multimodal transportation in a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system), the method comprising:
receiving a confirmation message of freight transfer approval information (¶[0064] – “…may download requisite information prior to beginning or during delivery of an item …”) provided by a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAVs, ¶[0064] – “…the UAV 202 may have a wired communication port, also represented by 236, and may download requisite information prior to beginning or during delivery of an item (e.g., at a dispatch facility, remote docking stations 204, etc.).),that approaches a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, # 204 – docking station);
setting an entry lane (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242) as a set entry lane (¶[0050] – “…The docking station 204 may include a handling system 244 that is capable of receiving one or more items from a docked UAV 202, such as UAV 202 e depicted in FIG. 2, which is shown as docked to the port 242…”) for freight handling in a stop facility (FIG. 2, #242 – port) in response to a demand for freight handling of the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0039] – “…the shipping system 308 may be controlled and managed by a fulfillment application 310.) based on the freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”),
wherein:
controlling freight loading (FIG. 2, #220 – fulfillment center) or unloading of the freight transfer object that passes the set entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates the transfer of object).
Kul discloses freight transfer but does not disclose, wherein confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on second server which performs management of freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, wherein confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on second server which performs management of freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Modified Kul discloses the condition information and the entry lane and but does not disclose,
the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane.
However, Ford teaches, the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane (¶[0012] – “In response to receiving valid lading information, the instructions may direct delivery vehicle 100 to a designated location, such as an unloading/loading area, for example a loading dock, or to a waiting area such as a parking area or temporary holding area. A waiting area may be selected when this may reduce congestion in the secure facility. Secure facility server 105 is aware that the unloading/loading areas is not available. Rather than sending the delivery vehicle to an unavailable unloading/loading area the secure facility server may direct the delivery vehicle 100 to a waiting area where the delivery vehicle 100 will wait until again instructed by the secure facility server 105 to proceed to the unloading/loading area.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include a moving object and a number of the same as taught by Ford. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability that considers moving object so as to improve the efficiency of the method.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kul discloses, wherein setting the entry lane for freight handling includes:
setting the entry lane among the plurality of entry lanes for freight handling (FIG. 2, ¶[0050] – “…a handling system 244 that is capable of receiving one or more items from a docked UAV 202, such as UAV 202 e…”), the plurality of entry lanes being prepared in the multimodal transportation system (¶[0050] – “…manual and/or automatic components for unloading and/or receiving and/or conveying…”); and
providing the entry lane to the freight transfer object (FIG. 2 illustrates the entry lane).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises loading or unloading freight of the freight transfer object located on the entry lane (¶[0051] – “…the handling system 244 may be automated. The fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230 of the UAV 202 e to the handling system 244 of the docking station 204,…”) for freight handling by controlling a freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 2, #230 – handling mechanism).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kul discloses, wherein loading or unloading the freight of the freight transfer object comprises transferring the freight to the freight transfer object located on the entry lane for freight handling by controlling a freight transfer element (FIG. 2, #226 – convey) provided in the freight transfer apparatus.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kul discloses, herein loading or unloading the freight of the freight transfer object comprises:
transferring the freight to the entry lane for freight handling by controlling the freight transfer element (FIG. 2 illustrates freight handling); and
transferring the freight to a temporary freight rack adjacent to the freight transfer object (FIG. 2 illustrates a freight rack on which 226 rests).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises:
detecting a state in which the freight transfer object stops on the entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates 202 e stopped on 242 thus a state, ¶[0050]);
unloading freight from a loading device (FIG. 2, #230) of the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0050] – “…and release the item via its handling mechanism (e.g., an attachment mechanism) to unload the item from the payload area…”); and
transferring the freight by controlling a freight transfer element (FIG. 2, #244 – handling system).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises:
requesting the freight transfer object to switch the loading device to an open or closed state (FIG. 2, ¶[0051] – “…fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230..”; and
confirming the open (¶[0051] – “…then automatically convey the transferred item(s)…” – i.e., its open) or closed state of the loading device.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises:
retrieving, from the freight transfer object (202), control of the loading device that controls opening or closing of the loading device provided in the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0051]; and
returning, to the freight transfer object, the control of the loading device that controls opening or closing of the loading device provided in the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0050]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kul discloses, wherein the setting of the freight transfer approval information includes:
providing freight information on at least one piece of transferred freight (¶[0051] – barcode etc.);
determining at least one piece of freight that is to be transferred by the freight transfer object (FIG. 2 illustrates freight being transferred by 202); and
generating the freight transfer approval information corresponding to the at least one piece of freight that is determined (FIG. 2 ¶[0051] – “RFID”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kul modified discloses, wherein the freight transfer approval information comprises an identifier of freight (¶[0051] – “QR code”), an identifier of an object that will transfer the freight (¶[0052] – “…transmits a unique identifier…the identifier and determine the identity of the UAV 202 e and the contents of its cargo…”), information on a departure point of transfer (FIG. 2 illustrates the departure point from 202e to 244), information on a destination of transfer (¶[0029] – “…UAV 202 may traverse a substantially straight flight path between a dispatch point and the item transfer point,…”), a departure time of transfer (¶[0030] – “…delivery of the package to a particular timeframe…”), or an arrival time of transfer.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kul discloses, further comprising: receiving a message that includes the freight transfer approval information from the freight transfer object (¶[0025] – “…generally may include information such as items in the order, delivery point,…” – i.e., a message).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kul discloses, wherein the message includes a second message transmitted from a personal air vehicle (¶[0004] – “drone”) and requests entry into the multimodal transportation facility.
Kul discloses the air vehicle and multimodal transportation facility but does not disclose, wherein the message includes a second message transmitted from a personal air vehicle and requests entry into the multimodal transportation facility.
However, Kul (embodiment) teaches, wherein the message includes a second message (¶[0123] – electronic message) transmitted from a personal air vehicle and requests entry into the multimodal transportation facility (¶[0123] – “…, input initially specifying or confirming (changing or reconfirming) the delivery point….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freight transfer approval information as disclosed by Kul to include the second message as taught by Kul’s embodiment. Doing so provides increased information regarding the delivery of items by adding the requisite information provided by a second message.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kul discloses the message and multimodal transportation facility but does not disclose, wherein the message includes a second message transmitted from a moving object and notifies entry into the multimodal transportation facility.
However, Kul (embodiment) teaches, wherein the message includes a second message ([0149] – “..message”) transmitted from a moving object (FIG. 9, #908) and notifies entry into the multimodal transportation facility (¶[0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freight transfer approval information as disclosed by Kul to include the second message transmitted from a moving object as taught by Kul’s embodiment. Doing so provides increased information regarding the delivery of items by adding the requisite information provided by a second message pertaining to the moving object.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kul discloses, wherein the freight transfer object (202) comprises a freight transfer personal air vehicle (FIG. 2, #202b) or a freight transfer moving object.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kul discloses, further comprising a freight stop zone comprising a freight air vehicle stop zone in which the freight transfer personal air vehicle stops (FIG. 2 illustrates a freight stop zone that encompasses the region from 240 to 206b in the drawing) or a freight moving object stop zone in which the freight transfer moving object stops.
Regarding Claim 17, Kul discloses, a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system) for processing freight transportation through a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAVs), the multimodal transportation system comprising:
a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, # 204 – docking station) including a stop facility (FIG. 2, #242 – port), an entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242), and a freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 2, #230 – handling mechanism) for transferring freight to the entry lane for freight handling (¶[0051] – “…the handling system 244 may be automated. The fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230 of the UAV 202 e to the handling system 244 of the docking station 204,…”);
a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) (FIG. 3C, #370 – web server) configured to manage freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object; and control freight transfer of the freight transfer apparatus (¶[0086] – “…web server 370 may be coupled to the data store 372 to store retrieve, and/or manipulate data stored therein and may be coupled to the e-commerce application 108 and/or the fulfillment application 310 to facilitate their operations….” – i.e. the fulfillment application per FIG. 2 ¶[0039]), and
wherein:
the first server receives confirmation message of freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches the multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2 illustrates approach to facility of 236 and ¶[0069] – “…the AGV 206 may use the communication device 236 to notify the shipping system 208 that the package has been delivered, and any delivery remarks, such as a locker combination, a photo of a person receiving the package, other confirmation and/or authentication information…”), and
Kul does not disclose, a second server configured to manage freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, a second server configured to manage freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on the second server (Hou, Claim 11).
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the first server determines the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the first server determines the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Modified Kul discloses the condition information and the entry lane and but does not disclose,
the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane.
However, Ford teaches, the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane (¶[0012] – “In response to receiving valid lading information, the instructions may direct delivery vehicle 100 to a designated location, such as an unloading/loading area, for example a loading dock, or to a waiting area such as a parking area or temporary holding area. A waiting area may be selected when this may reduce congestion in the secure facility. Secure facility server 105 is aware that the unloading/loading areas is not available. Rather than sending the delivery vehicle to an unavailable unloading/loading area the secure facility server may direct the delivery vehicle 100 to a waiting area where the delivery vehicle 100 will wait until again instructed by the secure facility server 105 to proceed to the unloading/loading area.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include a moving object and a number of the same as taught by Ford. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability that takes into account moving object so as to improve the efficiency of the method.
Regarding Claim 18, Kul discloses, a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAVs) configured to process freight transfer, the freight transfer object comprising:
a communication unit (FIG. 2, #264 – communication device);
a storage medium (FIG. 2, #310 – fulfillment application, illustrates storage medium); and
a processor configured to (FIG. 3B, #334, ¶[0072]):
determine freight to be loaded or unloaded based on freight information (¶[0104] – “…UAV attributes include a payload capacity, a range, a remaining time in service, …”)provided by a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”), based on freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”);
identify an entry lane (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242) for freight handling to be used to enter a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, # 204 – docking station) based on freight transfer approval information (FIG. 2, ¶[0030] – “…the recipient to specify whether to pick up a package from a docking station 204, have the package delivered to an alternative location…”); and
process loading (FIG. 2, #220 – fulfillment center) or unloading of the freight,
wherein:
the first server receives confirmation message of freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches the multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2 illustrates approach to facility of 236 and ¶[0069] – “…the AGV 206 may use the communication device 236 to notify the shipping system 208 that the package has been delivered, and any delivery remarks, such as a locker combination, a photo of a person receiving the package, other confirmation and/or authentication information…”), and
confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on the second server (Hou, Claim 11) which performs management of freight transfer.
Kul does not disclose, a second server configured to manage freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, a second server configured to manage freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes,, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Modified Kul discloses the condition information and the entry lane and but does not disclose,
the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane.
However, Ford teaches, the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane (¶[0012] – “In response to receiving valid lading information, the instructions may direct delivery vehicle 100 to a designated location, such as an unloading/loading area, for example a loading dock, or to a waiting area such as a parking area or temporary holding area. A waiting area may be selected when this may reduce congestion in the secure facility. Secure facility server 105 is aware that the unloading/loading areas is not available. Rather than sending the delivery vehicle to an unavailable unloading/loading area the secure facility server may direct the delivery vehicle 100 to a waiting area where the delivery vehicle 100 will wait until again instructed by the secure facility server 105 to proceed to the unloading/loading area.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include a moving object and a number of the same as taught by Ford. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability that takes into account moving object so as to improve the efficiency of the method.
Regarding Claim 19, Kul discloses, a method for a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) multimodal transportation in a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system), the first server comprising:
a communication unit(¶[0036] – “…backhaul link 282 may be implemented with various wired or wireless technology);
a storage medium(¶[0037] – “…determination system 280 may provide the positioning signals via wireless transmitters and receivers,…”); and
a processor configured to (¶[0037] – “…synchronize their clocks and execute instructions…”):
check and manage freight information for freight handled through the multimodal transportation system (¶[0026] – “…estimated order fulfillment time, order cancellation requests, order return requests, and other information pertinent to fulfillment of the order…”);
check a condition of a stop facility (FIG. 2, #242 – port) and a condition of an entry lane (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242) for freight handling (¶[0050] – “…docking station 204 may include a handling system 244 that is capable of receiving one or more items from a docked UAV 202…” - i.e. that the condition is receptive to a UAV);
control freight loading (FIG. 2, #220 – fulfillment center) or unloading of a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAV), based on the freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”); and
control a freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 2, #230 – handling mechanism) configured to transfer freight to the entry lane for freight handling (¶[0051] – “…the handling system 244 may be automated. The fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230 of the UAV 202 e to the handling system 244 of the docking station 204,…”) based on the freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”).
wherein the processor further configured to:
receive confirmation message of the freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system and FIG. 2 illustrates the communication of freight transfer).
Kul does not disclose, confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on a second server which performs management of freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on a second server which performs management of freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes,, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Modified Kul discloses the condition information and the entry lane and but does not disclose,
the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane.
However, Ford teaches, the condition information of the plurality of entry lanes includes whether or not there is a moving object in the entry lane and a number of moving objects that enter or stand by on the entry lane (¶[0012] – “In response to receiving valid lading information, the instructions may direct delivery vehicle 100 to a designated location, such as an unloading/loading area, for example a loading dock, or to a waiting area such as a parking area or temporary holding area. A waiting area may be selected when this may reduce congestion in the secure facility. Secure facility server 105 is aware that the unloading/loading areas is not available. Rather than sending the delivery vehicle to an unavailable unloading/loading area the secure facility server may direct the delivery vehicle 100 to a waiting area where the delivery vehicle 100 will wait until again instructed by the secure facility server 105 to proceed to the unloading/loading area.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include a moving object and a number of the same as taught by Ford. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability that takes into account moving object so as to improve the efficiency of the method.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kul, in view of Hou, Gil, Ford and in further view of Beckman et al. US 20180265295 A1 (herein, Beckman).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kul discloses, wherein loading or unloading the freight of the freight transfer object comprises:
transferring the freight to the entry lane for freight handling by controlling the freight transfer element (FIG. 2) but does not disclose,
loading the freight located in the freight transfer element by controlling a loading arm provided in the freight transfer apparatus.
However, Beckman teaches,
loading the freight located in the freight transfer element by controlling a loading arm provided in the freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 1B, #158, ¶[0018] – “…item engagement system 158 comprises one or more components (e.g., robotic arms or other like elements) for engaging items or materials, such as one or more of the items 10-n, and loading such items or materials onto the aerial vehicle 170…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freight transfer apparatus as disclosed by modified Kul to include the loading arm as taught by Beckman. Doing so provides the freight transfer apparatus with necessary mechanical means to grip the requisite package or item.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited but not utilized in the Office Action pertain to a multimodal transportation system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS G DEL VALLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666