DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-11, filed 22 Oct 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kul, Hou, Beckman, and Gil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first server" in the third to last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As such, in order to advance prosecution, the Examiner will interpret the aforementioned limitation as a server.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis of Claim 20:
STEP 1: Does claim 20 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claim is directed toward an apparatus which falls within one of the statutory categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Claim 20. A second server in a multimodal transportation system, the second server comprising:
a communication unit;
a storage medium; and
a processor configured to:
provide freight information for freight to be handled through the multimodal transportation system;
identify the freight that is to be transferred through at least one freight transfer object; and provide information on the identified freight,
wherein:
the processor further configured to:
confirm a freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches a multimodal transportation facility; and
transmit a confirmation message of the freight transfer approval information to a first server, and
the first server determines an entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
The limitations bolded in claim 20 above are a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and utilizing pen and paper and, therefore, an abstract idea. The limitations of claim 20 highlighted above merely consists of providing freight information, identify the same, provide information on the freight, confirm and transmit the message regarding the freight. Then, determine the lane for the transfer of freight. Thus, the claim recites a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 20. A second server in a multimodal transportation system, the second server comprising:
a communication unit;
a storage medium; and
a processor configured to:
provide freight information for freight to be handled through the multimodal transportation system;
identify the freight that is to be transferred through at least one freight transfer object; and provide information on the identified freight,
wherein:
the processor further configured to:
confirm a freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches a multimodal transportation facility; and
transmit a confirmation message of the freight transfer approval information to a first server, and
the first server determines an entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
Claim 20 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The additional elements underlined above do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application. The providing step is recited at a high level of generality and amount to mere data gathering which is a form of insignificant extra solution activity. Further, the transmit step is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions. The additional elements underlined above, a second server, multiple transportation system, a communication unit, storage medium, and processor do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application as these components are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea which is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application. Still further, these components are recited at a high level of generality and is at best the equivalent of adding the words “apply it” to the claim. Thus, it is clear that the abstract idea is merely implemented on a computer, which is indicative of the abstract idea having not been integrated into a practical application.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 20 does not recite any specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional (WURC) activity in the field. Providing, identifying, confirming, and transmitting are fundamental, i.e. WURC, activities performed by the server.
CONCLUSION
Thus, since claim 20 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 1 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni et al. US 20180137454 A1 (herein, Kul), in view of Hou et al. US 20210406810 A1 (herein, Hou), in further view of Gil US 20170313421 A1 (herein, Gil).
Regarding Claim 1, Kul discloses, a method for a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) multimodal transportation in a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system), the method comprising:
receiving a confirmation message of freight transfer approval information (¶[0064] – “…may download requisite information prior to beginning or during delivery of an item …”) provided by a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAVs, ¶[0064] – “…the UAV 202 may have a wired communication port, also represented by 236, and may download requisite information prior to beginning or during delivery of an item (e.g., at a dispatch facility, remote docking stations 204, etc.).),that approaches a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, # 204 – docking station);
setting an entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242) in a stop facility (FIG. 2, #242 – port) in response to a demand for freight handling of the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0039] – “…the shipping system 308 may be controlled and managed by a fulfillment application 310.) based on the freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”); and
controlling freight loading (FIG. 2, #220 – fulfillment center) or unloading of the freight transfer object that passes the set entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates the transfer of object).
Kul discloses freight transfer but does not disclose, wherein confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on second server which performs management of freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, wherein confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on second server which performs management of freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kul discloses, wherein setting the entry lane for freight handling includes:
setting the entry lane among the plurality of entry lanes for freight handling (FIG. 2, ¶[0050] – “…a handling system 244 that is capable of receiving one or more items from a docked UAV 202, such as UAV 202 e…”), the plurality of entry lanes being prepared in the multimodal transportation system (¶[0050] – “…manual and/or automatic components for unloading and/or receiving and/or conveying…”); and
providing the entry lane to the freight transfer object (FIG. 2 illustrates the entry lane).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises loading or unloading freight of the freight transfer object located on the entry lane (¶[0051] – “…the handling system 244 may be automated. The fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230 of the UAV 202 e to the handling system 244 of the docking station 204,…”) for freight handling by controlling a freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 2, #230 – handling mechanism).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kul discloses, wherein loading or unloading the freight of the freight transfer object comprises transferring the freight to the freight transfer object located on the entry lane for freight handling by controlling a freight transfer element (FIG. 2, #226 – convey) provided in the freight transfer apparatus.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Kul discloses, herein loading or unloading the freight of the freight transfer object comprises:
transferring the freight to the entry lane for freight handling by controlling the freight transfer element (FIG. 2 illustrates freight handling); and
transferring the freight to a temporary freight rack adjacent to the freight transfer object (FIG. 2 illustrates a freight rack on which 226 rests).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises:
detecting a state in which the freight transfer object stops on the entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates 202 e stopped on 242 thus a state, ¶[0050]);
unloading freight from a loading device (FIG. 2, #230) of the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0050] – “…and release the item via its handling mechanism (e.g., an attachment mechanism) to unload the item from the payload area…”); and
transferring the freight by controlling a freight transfer element (FIG. 2, #244 – handling system).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises:
requesting the freight transfer object to switch the loading device to an open or closed state (FIG. 2, ¶[0051] – “…fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230..”; and
confirming the open (¶[0051] – “…then automatically convey the transferred item(s)…” – i.e., its open) or closed state of the loading device.
Regarding Claim 9, modified Kul discloses, wherein controlling the freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object comprises:
retrieving, from the freight transfer object (202), control of the loading device that controls opening or closing of the loading device provided in the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0051]; and
returning, to the freight transfer object, the control of the loading device that controls opening or closing of the loading device provided in the freight transfer object (FIG. 2, ¶[0050]).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Kul discloses, wherein the setting of the freight transfer approval information includes:
providing freight information on at least one piece of transferred freight (¶[0051] – barcode etc.);
determining at least one piece of freight that is to be transferred by the freight transfer object (FIG. 2 illustrates freight being transferred by 202); and
generating the freight transfer approval information corresponding to the at least one piece of freight that is determined (FIG. 2 ¶[0051] – “RFID”).
Regarding Claim 11, Kul modified discloses, wherein the freight transfer approval information comprises an identifier of freight (¶[0051] – “QR code”), an identifier of an object that will transfer the freight (¶[0052] – “…transmits a unique identifier…the identifier and determine the identity of the UAV 202 e and the contents of its cargo…”), information on a departure point of transfer (FIG. 2 illustrates the departure point from 202e to 244), information on a destination of transfer (¶[0029] – “…UAV 202 may traverse a substantially straight flight path between a dispatch point and the item transfer point,…”), a departure time of transfer (¶[0030] – “…delivery of the package to a particular timeframe…”), or an arrival time of transfer.
Regarding Claim 12, modified Kul discloses, further comprising: receiving a message that includes the freight transfer approval information from the freight transfer object (¶[0025] – “…generally may include information such as items in the order, delivery point,…” – i.e., a message).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kul discloses, wherein the message includes a second message transmitted from a personal air vehicle (¶[0004] – “drone”) and requests entry into the multimodal transportation facility.
Kul discloses the air vehicle and multimodal transportation facility but does not disclose, wherein the message includes a second message transmitted from a personal air vehicle and requests entry into the multimodal transportation facility.
However, Kul (embodiment) teaches, wherein the message includes a second message (¶[0123] – electronic message) transmitted from a personal air vehicle and requests entry into the multimodal transportation facility (¶[0123] – “…, input initially specifying or confirming (changing or reconfirming) the delivery point….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freight transfer approval information as disclosed by Kul to include the second message as taught by Kul’s embodiment. Doing so provides increased information regarding the delivery of items by adding the requisite information provide by a second message.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kul discloses the message and multimodal transportation facility but does not disclose, wherein the message includes a second message transmitted from a moving object and notifies entry into the multimodal transportation facility.
However, Kul (embodiment) teaches, wherein the message includes a second message ([0149] – “..message”) transmitted from a moving object (FIG. 9, #908) and notifies entry into the multimodal transportation facility (¶[0149]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freight transfer approval information as disclosed by Kul to include the second message transmitted from a moving object as taught by Kul’s embodiment. Doing so provides increased information regarding the delivery of items by adding the requisite information provide by a second message pertaining to the moving object.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kul discloses, wherein the freight transfer object (202) comprises a freight transfer personal air vehicle (FIG. 2, #202b) or a freight transfer moving object.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kul discloses, further comprising a freight stop zone comprising a freight air vehicle stop zone in which the freight transfer personal air vehicle stops (FIG. 2 illustrates a freight stop zone that encompasses the region from 240 to 206b in the drawing) or a freight moving object stop zone in which the freight transfer moving object stops.
Regarding Claim 17, Kul discloses, a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system) for processing freight transportation through a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAVs), the multimodal transportation system comprising:
a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, # 204 – docking station) including a stop facility (FIG. 2, #242 – port), an entry lane for freight handling (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242), and a freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 2, #230 – handling mechanism) for transferring freight to the entry lane for freight handling (¶[0051] – “…the handling system 244 may be automated. The fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230 of the UAV 202 e to the handling system 244 of the docking station 204,…”);
a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) (FIG. 3C, #370 – web server) configured to manage freight loading or unloading of the freight transfer object; and control freight transfer of the freight transfer apparatus (¶[0086] – “…web server 370 may be coupled to the data store 372 to store retrieve, and/or manipulate data stored therein and may be coupled to the e-commerce application 108 and/or the fulfillment application 310 to facilitate their operations….” – i.e. the fulfillment application per FIG. 2 ¶[0039]), and
wherein:
the first server receives confirmation message of freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches the multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2 illustrates approach to facility of 236 and ¶[0069] – “…the AGV 206 may use the communication device 236 to notify the shipping system 208 that the package has been delivered, and any delivery remarks, such as a locker combination, a photo of a person receiving the package, other confirmation and/or authentication information…”), and
Kul does not disclose, a second server configured to manage freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, a second server configured to manage freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on the second server (Hou, Claim 11).
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the first server determines the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the first server determines the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Regarding Claim 18, Kul discloses, a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAVs) configured to process freight transfer, the freight transfer object comprising:
a communication unit (FIG. 2, #264 – communication device);
a storage medium (FIG. 2, #310 – fulfillment application, illustrates storage medium); and
a processor configured to (FIG. 3B, #334, ¶[0072]):
determine freight to be loaded or unloaded based on freight information (¶[0104] – “…UAV attributes include a payload capacity, a range, a remaining time in service, …”)provided by a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”), based on freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”);
identify an entry lane (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242) for freight handling to be used to enter a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, # 204 – docking station) based on freight transfer approval information (FIG. 2, ¶[0030] – “…the recipient to specify whether to pick up a package from a docking station 204, have the package delivered to an alternative location…”); and
process loading (FIG. 2, #220 – fulfillment center) or unloading of the freight,
wherein:
the first server receives confirmation message of freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches the multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2 illustrates approach to facility of 236 and ¶[0069] – “…the AGV 206 may use the communication device 236 to notify the shipping system 208 that the package has been delivered, and any delivery remarks, such as a locker combination, a photo of a person receiving the package, other confirmation and/or authentication information…”), and
Kul does not disclose, a second server configured to manage freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, a second server configured to manage freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on the second server (Hou, Claim 11) which performs management of freight transfer.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
wherein setting the entry lane includes determining the entry lane among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes,, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Regarding Claim 19, Kul discloses, a method for a first server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) multimodal transportation in a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system), the first server comprising:
a communication unit(¶[0036] – “…backhaul link 282 may be implemented with various wired or wireless technology);
a storage medium(¶[0037] – “…determination system 280 may provide the positioning signals via wireless transmitters and receivers,…”); and
a processor configured to (¶[0037] – “…synchronize their clocks and execute instructions…”):
check and manage freight information for freight handled through the multimodal transportation system (¶[0026] – “…estimated order fulfillment time, order cancellation requests, order return requests, and other information pertinent to fulfillment of the order…”);
check a condition of a stop facility (FIG. 2, #242 – port) and a condition of an entry lane (FIG. 2 illustrates and entry lane by 242) for freight handling (¶[0050] – “…docking station 204 may include a handling system 244 that is capable of receiving one or more items from a docked UAV 202…” - i.e. that the condition is receptive to a UAV);
control freight loading (FIG. 2, #220 – fulfillment center) or unloading of a freight transfer object (FIG. 2, #202 – UAV), based on the freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”); and
control a freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 2, #230 – handling mechanism) configured to transfer freight to the entry lane for freight handling (¶[0051] – “…the handling system 244 may be automated. The fulfillment system 110 may automatically coordinate the docking of the UAV 202 e to the port 242 of the docking station 204, automatically initiate the transfer of the item(s) to be transferred from the handling mechanism 230 of the UAV 202 e to the handling system 244 of the docking station 204,…”) based on the freight transfer approval information (¶[0134] – “…the fulfillment application 310 may relay a signal to the AGV 206 authorizing the AGV 206…”).
wherein the processor further configured to:
receive confirmation message of the freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system and FIG. 2 illustrates the communication of freight transfer).
Kul does not disclose, confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on a second server which performs management of freight transfer.
However, Hou teaches, confirming the freight transfer approval information is executed on a second server which performs management of freight transfer (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the freight transfer approval as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes,, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Regarding Claim 20, Kul discloses, a second server (FIG. 1. #108 ecommerce system - ¶[0025] – “…the ecommerce system 108 may be hosted from a common set of hardware, such as a server…”) in a multimodal transportation system (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system), the second server comprising:
a communication unit(¶[0036] – “…backhaul link 282 may be implemented with various wired or wireless technology);
a storage medium(¶[0037] – “…determination system 280 may provide the positioning signals via wireless transmitters and receivers,…”); and
a processor configured to (¶[0037] – “…synchronize their clocks and execute instructions…”):
provide freight information for freight to be handled through the multimodal transportation system (¶[0052] – “…the identity of the UAV 202 e and the contents of its cargo, such as the items that it is carrying…”);
identify the freight that is to be transferred through at least one freight transfer object (¶[0053] – “…the UAV 202 e may drop the items at the port 242,); and
provide information on the identified freight (¶[0053] – “…and manual handling may be used to scan the items and store them in their respective storage locations.).
confirm a freight transfer approval information provided by the freight transfer object that approaches a multimodal transportation facility (FIG. 2, #308 – shipping system and FIG. 2 illustrates the communication of freight transfer).
Kul discloses a confirmation message (FIG. 2 illustrates approach to facility of 236 and ¶[0069] – “…the AGV 206 may use the communication device 236 to notify the shipping system 208 that the package has been delivered, and any delivery remarks, such as a locker combination, a photo of a person receiving the package, other confirmation and/or authentication information…”) but does not disclose, transmit a confirmation message of the freight transfer approval information to a first server.
However, Hou teaches transmit a confirmation message of the freight transfer approval information to a first server. (¶[0035] – “TuSimple Connect for managing customers for truck delivery and operating a network of shipping hub facilities to execute truck delivery using autonomous self-driving vehicles are based on a network of computers or computer servers to enable (1) monitoring and tracking status and operations of trucks including autonomous self-driving vehicles and other trucks registered to TuSimple Connect…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the multimodal transportation system as disclosed by Kul to include first and second server along with the confirmation message as taught by Hou. Doing so provides the freight transfer method that provides greater detail as to the transfer of freight and thus permits increased monitoring of the process that permits issues to be addressed in a timelier manner. Thus, a cost savings.
Modified Kul discloses the entry lane and freight transfer object but does not disclose,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes.
However, Gil teaches,
the entry lane is determined among a plurality of entry lanes,, which enables the freight transfer object to enter, based on condition information of the plurality of entry lanes (FIGS. 46 and 48, and ¶[0387] – “[0387] In various embodiments, UAVs 100 can operate autonomously. In an autonomous embodiment, UAVs 100 may navigate between vehicles 10 and serviceable points 5901 along predetermined/configurable flight routes/paths. A predetermined/configurable flight path may include a direct line of flight between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The UAV 100 may proceed along a direct line between a vehicle 10 and a serviceable point 5901, and the UAV 100 may deviate from the predetermined/configurable flight path in response to receiving an indication of an object or obstacle in the flight path from the flight guidance sensor 166. In some embodiments, the predetermined/configurable flight path may include one or more waypoints (e.g., geocodes or geo coordinates), or one or more geographic locations that the UAV 100 will travel to between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901. The waypoints may be determined to provide an efficient flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., minimizing flight time), and be determined based on known obstacles that would prevent a direct flight path between the vehicle 10 and the serviceable point 5901 (e.g., buildings, power lines, etc.).”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed by modified Kul to include the plurality of entry lanes and condition of information of the same as taught by Gil. Doing so provides the freight transfer method with the enhanced capability of utilizing a plurality of entry lanes.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kul, in view of Hou, Gil, and in further view of Beckman et al. US 20180265295 A1 (herein, Beckman).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kul discloses, wherein loading or unloading the freight of the freight transfer object comprises:
transferring the freight to the entry lane for freight handling by controlling the freight transfer element (FIG. 2) but does not disclose,
loading the freight located in the freight transfer element by controlling a loading arm provided in the freight transfer apparatus.
However, Beckman teaches,
loading the freight located in the freight transfer element by controlling a loading arm provided in the freight transfer apparatus (FIG. 1B, #158, ¶[0018] – “…item engagement system 158 comprises one or more components (e.g., robotic arms or other like elements) for engaging items or materials, such as one or more of the items 10-n, and loading such items or materials onto the aerial vehicle 170…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the freight transfer apparatus as disclosed by modified Kul to include the loading arm as taught by Beckman. Doing so provides the freight transfer apparatus with necessary mechanical means to grip the requisite package or item.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited but not utilized in the Office Action pertain to a multimodal transportation system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS G DEL VALLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666