DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Claims 1-4, 6-11 are pending. Claims 5 is cancelled. Claims 1-4, 7 are currently amended. Claims 9-11 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s argument/remarks, filed 06/08/2025, with respect to Amended claim 1 has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive.
Applicant appears to argue that the anode active material of Qien is a mixture of a silicon-based active material and a carbon-based active material in a weight ratio of 1:9, and MWCNTs are included in an amount of 3 wt% based on the total weight of the anode active material. Accordingly, when recalculated based on 100 wt% of the silicon of the silicon-based active material, the MWCNT content corresponds to 33.15 wt% (i.e., 3/9.05), which does not fall within the claimed range of “3 wt% to 9 wt% with respect to a total of 100 wt% of the silicon-based active material (pg 3).
In this regard, Examiner notes that the new grounds of rejection now relies on Example 5 of Qien, wherein the negative electrode active material layer includes 94.25 wt% silicon-carbon negative electrode material mixture comprising 20% Si-based active material and 80% carbon-based active material (i.e., 18.85 wt% Si-based active material), 0.25 wt% SWCNT, 1.5 wt% MWCNT (see Example 5 of the Table in [0127] of Qien’s original copy).
When recalculated based on 100 wt% of the silicon-based active material, the MWCNT content corresponds to 8wt% (i.e., 1.5/18.85), which falls within the claimed range of “3wt% to 9wt%”.
Applicant further appears to provide additional experimental data in pg 4-5 to show the critical significance of including 3 to 9 wt% of TWCNT relative to 100 wt% of the silicon-based active material. Examiner notes that such evidence of unexpected results must be submitted as part of a declaration to be considered (see MPEP 716.01(c)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qien (CN110444746A, translation attached for citation), in view of Yang (US20180277837A1, IDS cited 12/29/2022)
Regarding claims 1-2, Qien discloses a negative electrode for a secondary battery comprising:
a negative electrode current collector (porous copper foil; Example 5; [0112]); and a negative electrode active material layer formed on the negative electrode current collector [0112],
wherein the negative electrode active material layer includes a silicon-based active material (“silicon-carbon negative electrode material” comprising silicon active material and carbon active material [0045]) and a conductive material (muti-walled CNTs and single-walled CNTs [0109]),
the conductive material includes thin-walled carbon nanotubes (i.e., multi-walled CNTs [0109]) and single-walled carbon nanotubes (single-walled CNTs [0109])
Qien further discloses the lengths of the carbon nanotubes [0016], but does not disclose wherein the thin-walled carbon nanotubes have a diameter of 4 to 9 nm and 3 to 7 walls, as claimed.
In this regard, Yang teaches an electrode comprising a silicon-containing material [Yang 0029] and a conductive shell material preferably selected from the group consisting of single-walled carbon nanotube, double-walled carbon nanotube, and multi-walled carbon nanotube having 3-6 walls [Yang 0022-0023], which is wholly within the claimed range of “3 to 7 walls”. Yang further teaches that the carbon nanotube has an inner diameter of 0.5-5nm, which overlaps with the claimed “diameter of 4 to 9nm”. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the MWCNT of Qien such that it has the overlapping diameter and number of walls, with a reasonable expectation to provide a conductive additive that enhances electrical conductivity [Yang 0004].
Qien further discloses in Example 5, wherein a silicon-carbon anode slurry comprises 94.25 wt% silicon-carbon negative electrode material (20% Si active material + 80% Carbon active material; i.e., 18.85wt% Si active material based on a 100wt% of the slurry), 0.25 wt% SWCNT, 1.5 wt% MWCNT, 2wt% CMC, and 2wt% SBR (see Example 5 in Table 1), which a person having ordinary skill in the art would calculate and recognize that the MWCNTs are included in an amount of 8 wt% with respect to a total of 100wt% of the silicon-based active material, which falls within the claimed range of “3 wt% to 9 wt%”.
A person having ordinary skill would further calculate and recognize that a weight ratio between the thin-walled carbon nanotubes and the single-walled carbon nanotubes is 1.5:0.25 (i.e., 1:0.17), which falls within the claimed range of “1:0.05 to 0.25”.
Regarding claim 4, modified Qien discloses the negative electrode for a secondary battery of claim 1, comprising 18.85wt% Si active material, 1.5 wt% MWCNT, 0.25 wt% SWCNT (see rejection for claim 1). When recalculated based on a total 100wt% of the silicon-based active material, the SWCNT content corresponds to 1.3 wt%, which is close but does not fall within the claimed range of “0.15 wt% or more and 1 wt% or less with respect to a total of 100 wt% of the silicon-based active material”. Qien further does not explicitly disclose a SWCNT wt% range.
However, Qien recognizes that using SWCNT alone provides high energy density (See comparative Examples 1, 3, 4 in the Table) and using both SWCNT and MWCNT improves the negative electrode sheet expansion rate and cycle performance of lithium ion batteries [0133]. Thus, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of SWCNT in the negative electrode active material layer, by way of routine experimentation, to arrive at a desired balance between energy density and electrode expansion rate [0113].
Regarding claim 8, modified Qien discloses the negative electrode for a secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the negative electrode active material layer further includes a binder (i.e., SBR in Example 5 [0111]).
Claim(s) 3,6,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over unpatentable over Qien (CN110444746A, translation attached for citation), in view of Yang (US20180277837A1, IDS cited 12/29/2022) and Zhao (CN105576185A, translation attached)
Regarding claim 3, modified Qien discloses the negative electrode for a secondary battery of claim 1. However, Qien does not disclose “wherein the conductive material further includes one or more selected multi-walled carbon nanotubes having 8 or more walls and carbon black” as claimed.
In this regard, Zhao also teaches a negative electrode material comprising 80-99.5% silicon-carbon composite material, 0-15% carbon nanotube conductive agent, 0-15% carbon black conductive agent [0047], wherein the carbon nanotube is at least one of single-walled carbon nanotubes, multi-walled carbon nanotubes, and modified carbon nanotubes [0050].
A person having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably add carbon black to the conductive materials (MWCNT and SWCNT) of Qien, as Zhao teaches that the point-line-surface multidimensional conductive network formed by carbon nanotubes and carbon black conductive agent establishes good conductive channels between the silicon-carbon anode particles, resulting in a silicon-carbon composite anode sheet with low surface resistivity. It further reduces the charge transfer impedance of lithium-ion batteries and improves the cycle stability of lithium-ion batteries [Zhao 0075].
Regarding claim 6, modified Qien discloses the negative electrode for a secondary battery of claim 1. However, Qien does not disclose:
wherein the conductive material further includes carbon black, and the carbon black is included in an amount of 6 wt% or more and 15 wt% or less with respect to a total of 100 wt% of the silicon-based active material
In this regard, Zhao also teaches a negative electrode material comprising 80-99.5% silicon-carbon composite material, 0-15% carbon nanotube conductive agent, 0-15% carbon black conductive agent [0047], wherein the carbon nanotube is at least one of single-walled carbon nanotubes, multi-walled carbon nanotubes, and modified carbon nanotubes [Zhao 0050].
A person having ordinary skill in the art would calculate and recognize that 0-15 wt% of carbon black relative to 80-99.5wt% of silicon-carbon composite material is equivalent to 0-18.8 wt% carbon black with respect to 100 wt% of the silicon-based active material, which encompasses the claimed range of “6 wt% or more and 15 wt% or less”. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added the encompassed amount of carbon black, with a reasonable expectation to form a multidimensional conductive network that establishes good conductive channels between the silicon-carbon anode particles [Zhao 0075].
Regarding claim 7, modified Qien discloses the negative electrode for a secondary battery of claim 6, comprising thin-walled carbon nanotubes having a diameter of 4 to 9nm and 3 to 7 walls (see rejection for claim 1).
However, Qien does not disclose wherein a weight ratio between the thin-walled carbon nanotubes and the carbon black is 1:2 to 4, as claimed.
In this regard, Zhao also teaches a negative electrode material comprising 80-99.5% silicon-carbon composite material, 0-15% carbon nanotube conductive agent, 0-15% carbon black conductive agent [0047], wherein the carbon nanotube is at least one of single-walled carbon nanotubes, multi-walled carbon nanotubes, and modified carbon nanotubes [0050] (i.e., CNT:carbon black ratio is 0-15wt% : 0-15 wt%), which encompasses the claimed weight ratio between the thin-walled carbon nanotubes and the carbon black of 1:2-4. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the encompassed ratio of thin-walled carbon nanotubes and the carbon black, with a reasonable expectation to form a multidimensional conductive network that establishes good conductive channels between the silicon-carbon anode particles [Zhao 0075].
Conclusion
/T.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 3/18/2026