DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed May 14, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-6, and 9 have been amended, and claims 12-13 are new; support for the amendments and new claims can be found at least in Figures 2 and 5. Claims 1-13 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed May 14, 2025 have been fully considered but are considered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection below in view of Applicant’s amendments to the independent claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Sawada (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20160197372 A1) in view of Ho et al. (KR 20160133243 A), hereinafter referred to as Ho.
Regarding claim 1, Sawada teaches an electrical device comprising a positive electrode, a pair of separators, and a negative electrode (“an electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0029]). Sawada teaches a power generating element 60 for the electrical device is formed by laminating a plurality of first electrodes (positive electrode 10) and a plurality of second electrodes (negative electrode 20) of polarity different from the first electrode (positive electrode 10) with a plurality of separators 30 interposed therebetween (“a unit stack part having a stacked structure comprising a plurality of radical units”) (see e.g., paragraph [0041] and Figure 2). Sawada teaches the power generating element 60 is sealed with an outer or exterior material 40 (see e.g., paragraph [0029]) comprising laminate sheets 41 and 42 in which the periphery of the laminate sheet 41 and 42 are sealed together (“an outer sealing part formed outside the unit stack part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Sawada teaches the pair of separators 30 are sealed along the periphery of the separators 30 to sandwich the sides of the positive electrode 10 with the negative electrode 20 stacked on the other side of the separator 30 (“wherein each of the radical units is formed by alternately stacking electrodes and separators and comprises a first inner sealing part in which a plurality of separators alternately and vertically stacked with the electrodes are sealed to each other on a side surface of each of the electrodes”) (see e.g., Figures 4 and 10B).
Sawada does not explicitly teach the outer sealing part is formed by bonding the separators of the plurality of radical units to each other outside the first inner sealing part.
However, Ho teaches an electrode assembly comprising a unit body stack part laminated with a plurality of basic unit bodies in which an electrode and a separation membrane are arranged in an alternate manner (see e.g., Abstract). Ho teaches a region in which bonding between the separators 112 and 114 included in different basic unit bodies is defined as a sealing region S (“an outer sealing part formed outside the unit stack part” and “the outer sealing part is formed by bonding the separators of the plurality of radical units to each other”) (see e.g., Figure 7 and paragraph [0056]). Ho teaches sealing the separators in the sealing area S prevents the problem of the separator folding in an undesirable direction and resulting in a defective appearance (see e.g., paragraph [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the sealing of the power generation element with the exterior material of Sawada to also bond the separators, as taught by Ho, to produce an outer sealing portion in which the exterior materials and separators are bonded in order to prevent the problem of the separator folding in an undesirable direction and resulting in a defective appearance (see e.g., paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Sawada teaches the separators 30 are sealed to protrude past the dimensions of the electrode (see e.g., Figures 3 and 4); therefore, there is a length of the separators that remains outside of where the separators are first sealed, meeting the claim limitation of “wherein the first inner sealing parts are sealed so that the separators remain outside the first inner sealing parts.” As previously described in claim 1, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the outer sealing portion in which the exterior materials and separators are bonded outside of the inner sealing part in order to prevent the problem of the separator folding in an undesirable direction and resulting in a defective appearance (see e.g., Ho paragraph [0058]), meeting the claim limitation of “the outer sealing part is formed by bonding the separators remaining outside the first inner sealing parts.”
Regarding claim 3, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Sawada teaches power generating element 60 is formed by laminating and stacking cells formed of the positive electrode 10, the separator 30, the negative electrode 20, and the separator 30 (“wherein the radical unit is a mono-cell in which a first separator of the plurality of separators, a first electrode, a second separator of the plurality of separators, and a second electrode are stacked”) (see e.g., Figures 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Sawada teaches the separators 30 are sealed together to cover the side of the positive electrode 10 (“wherein the first inner sealing part is formed by sealing the first and second separators vertically stacked on the first electrode to each other on a side surface of the first electrode”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 5, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Sawada, as modified by Ho, does not explicitly teach wherein the unit stack part further comprises an auxiliary unit stacked at the uppermost end of the plurality of radical units, and the auxiliary unit is a half-cell in which a separator, a third electrode, and a separator are stacked.
However, Ho teaches the unit stack may further include at least one of the first auxiliary units that has an electrode at one end and a separator at the other end (“wherein the unit stack part further comprises an auxiliary unit stacked at the uppermost end of the plurality of radical units, and the auxiliary unit is a half-cell in which a separator, a third electrode, and a separator are stacked”) (see e.g., paragraph [0083] and Figure 14). Ho teaches the auxiliary unit provides further separation from the positive electrode and the negative electrode as the cathode may cause a reaction with an aluminum layer of the battery case (see e.g., paragraph [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the power generation element of Sawada, as modified by Ho, to include an auxiliary unit, as taught by Ho, in order to provide further separation from the positive electrode and the negative electrode as the cathode may cause a reaction with the battery case (see e.g., paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 6, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Ho teaches the separation membranes of the basic unit are bonded to each other at a predetermined sealing region and the separation membranes of the auxiliary unit are bonded to a different region of the adjacent basic unit (“wherein the auxiliary unit comprises a second inner sealing part formed by sealing the separators vertically stacked on the third electrode to each other on a side surface of the third electrode”) (see e.g., paragraph [0089]).
Regarding claim 7, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Ho teaches the separation membranes of the basic unit are bonded to each other at a predetermined sealing region and the separation membranes of the auxiliary unit are bonded to a different region of the adjacent basic unit (“wherein the second inner sealing part is sealed so that the separator remains outside the second inner sealing part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0089]). Ho teaches the region in which bonding between the separators 112 and 114 included in different basic unit bodies is defined as a sealing region S of the electrode assembly is formed outside of the bonding region of the separation membranes of the auxiliary unit (“the outer sealing part is formed by sealing the separators remaining outside the first inner sealing part of the radical unit and the second inner sealing part of the auxiliary unit together”) (see e.g., Figures 13 and 23).
Regarding claim 8, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Sawada teaches power generating element 60 is formed by laminating and stacking cells formed of the positive electrode 10, the separator 30, the negative electrode 20, and the separator 30 (“the radical unit is a C-type bi-cell, in which a separator, a first electrode, a separator, a second electrode, a separator, and a first electrode are stacked”) (see e.g., Figures 2 and 4).
Sawada does not explicitly teach the unit stack part is formed by alternately stacking the C-type bi-cell and the A-type bi-cell.
However, Ho teaches the radical unit 110c is a separator 112, and electrode 113, a separator 114, an electrode 111, and followed by another separator 112 (“the radical unit is a C-type bi-cell, in which a separator, a first electrode, a separator, a second electrode, a separator, and a first electrode are stacked”) (see e.g., Figure 4). Ho teaches the radical unit 110d is a separator 114, an electrode 111, a separator 112, an electrode 113, and followed by another separator 114 are stacked (“or an A-type bi-cell, in which a separator, a second electrode, a separator, a first electrode, a separator, and a second electrode are stacked”) (see e.g., Figure 5). Ho teaches the cell 110c is stacked alternately with the cell 110d (“the unit stack is formed by alternately stacking the C-type bi-cell and the A-type bi-cell”) (see e.g., Figure 6) in order to significantly improve the productivity of the unit stack section and simplify the assembly process by aligning the basic units with great precision (see e.g., paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the power generation element of Sawada, as modified by Ho, to alternately stack a C-type bi-cell and A-type bi-cell, as taught by Ho, in order to significantly improve the productivity of the unit stack section and simplify the assembly process by aligning the basic units with great precision (see e.g., paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Sawada teaches a method for forming an electrical device comprising a positive electrode, a pair of separators, and a negative electrode (“a method for manufacturing an electrode assembly”) (see e.g., paragraph [0064]). Sawada teaches a power generating element 60 for the electrical device is formed by laminating a plurality of first electrodes (positive electrode 10) and a plurality of second electrodes (negative electrode 20) of polarity different from the first electrode (positive electrode 10) with a plurality of separators 30 interposed therebetween (“alternately stacking electrodes and separators to manufacture a radical unit; stacking a plurality of radical units to form a unit stack part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0041] and Figure 2). Sawada teaches the power generating element 60 is sealed with an outer or exterior material 40 (see e.g., paragraph [0029]) comprising laminate sheets 41 and 42 in which the periphery of the laminate sheet 41 and 42 are sealed together (“forming an outer sealing part outside the unit stack part”) (see e.g., paragraph [0038]). Sawada teaches the pair of separators 30 are sealed along the periphery of the separators 30 to sandwich the sides of the positive electrode 10 with the negative electrode 20 stacked on the other side of the separator 30 (“wherein, in the manufacturing of each radical unit, after the electrodes and separators are alternately stack, the plurality of separators alternately and vertically stack with the electrodes are sealed to each other on a side surface of each of the electrodes to form a first inner sealing part”) (see e.g., Figures 4 and 10B).
Sawada does not explicitly teach in the forming of the outer sealing part, the separators of the plurality of radical units are bonded to each other outside the first inner sealing parts to form an outer sealing parts.
However, Ho teaches an electrode assembly comprising a unit body stack part laminated with a plurality of basic unit bodies in which an electrode and a separation membrane are arranged in an alternate manner (see e.g., Abstract). Ho teaches a region in which bonding between the separators 112 and 114 included in different basic unit bodies is defined as a sealing region S (“in the forming of the outer sealing part, the separators of the plurality of radical units are bonded to each other outside the first inner sealing parts to form an outer sealing parts”)(see e.g., Figure 7 and paragraph [0056]). Ho teaches sealing the separators in the sealing area S prevents the problem of the separator folding in an undesirable direction and resulting in a defective appearance (see e.g., paragraph [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the sealing of the power generation element with the exterior material of Sawada to also bond the separators, as taught by Ho, to form an outer sealing portion in which the exterior materials and separators are bonded in order to prevent the problem of the separator folding in an undesirable direction and resulting in a defective appearance (see e.g., paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 10, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 9, as previously described.
Sawada teaches the separators 30 are sealed to protrude past the dimensions of the electrode (see e.g., Figures 3 and 4); therefore, there is a length of the separators that remains outside of where the separators are first sealed, meeting the claim limitation of “wherein, in the manufacturing of each radical unit, the first inner sealing parts is formed so that the separators remain outside the first inner sealing parts.” As previously described in claim 1, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the outer sealing portion in which the exterior materials and separators are bonded outside of the inner sealing part in order to prevent the problem of the separator folding in an undesirable direction and resulting in a defective appearance (see e.g., Ho paragraph [0058]), meeting the claim limitation of “in the forming of the outer sealing part, bonding separators remaining outside the first inner sealing parts.”
Regarding claim 11, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 9, as previously described.
Sawada, as modified by Ho, does not explicitly teach wherein, in the forming of the unit stack part, wherein an auxiliary unit stacked at the uppermost portion.
However, Ho teaches the unit stack may further include at least one of the first auxiliary units that has an electrode at one end and a separator at the other end (“wherein the unit stack part further comprises an auxiliary unit stacked at the uppermost end of the plurality of radical units, and the auxiliary unit is a half-cell in which a separator, a third electrode, and a separator are stacked”) (see e.g., paragraph [0083] and Figure 14). Ho teaches the auxiliary unit provides further separation from the positive electrode and the negative electrode as the cathode may cause a reaction with an aluminum layer of the battery case (see e.g., paragraph [0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the formation of the power generation element of Sawada, as modified by Ho, to include an auxiliary unit, as taught by Ho, in order to provide further separation from the positive electrode and the negative electrode as the cathode may cause a reaction with the battery case (see e.g., paragraph [0092]).
Regarding claim 12, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Sawada teaches the separators 30 are sealed to each other next to the side surface of the positive electrode in order to sandwich the positive electrode 10 (“wherein in each radical unit, the plurality of separators alternately and vertically stacked with the electrode of the first inner sealing part are sealed directly to each other and next to a side surface of each of the electrodes”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Regarding claim 13, Sawada, as modified by Ho, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 9, as previously described.
Sawada teaches the separators 30 are sealed to each other next to the side surface of the positive electrode in order to sandwich the positive electrode 10 (“wherein in each radical unit, the plurality of separators alternately and vertically stacked with the electrode of the first inner sealing part are sealed directly to each other and next to a side surface of each of the electrodes”) (see e.g., Figure 4).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728