DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed August 21, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 12, 21-30 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of 35 USC § 102.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 21-25, 27, 28, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20240056902 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang et al. teaches a method performed by a first entity corresponding to an access and mobility management function (AMF) (Paragraph 111, This identifies the AMF entity and its role in N2 signaling, showing that the described procedure involves an AMF as a participating entity), the method comprising: transmitting, to a second entity corresponding to a session management function (SMF), a first message including location information of a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 88, 195, the AMF sending UE service-related information (which includes UE identifiers and implicitly UE location context) to SMF over N2 reflects transmitting a first message including UE location information): receiving, from the second entity, a second message including packet data unit (PDU) session identification (ID), quality of service (QoS) flow information associated with multicast and broadcast service (MBS), and information on a transmission mode indicating a shared delivery mode (Paragraph 61, 74, 191, these describe a core-to-RAN message containing PDU session ID, QoS flow info, and an indication of shared delivery (i.e., shared MBS mode)): transmitting, to a base station (BS), a request message associated with PDU session resource establishment, the request message including the PDU session ID, QoS flow information and the information on the transmission mode (Paragraph 191, 193, This shows the AMF-equivalent (MN) sending to a RAN node (BS) a request message including session ID, QoS flow data, and the transmission mode context for establishing session resources); receiving, from the BS, a response message associated with the PDU session resource establishment as a response to the request message, the response message including an a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) and indication information indicating whether the BS supports the MBS (Paragraph 83, 145, 148, The BS (SN) replies with a configuration message containing a TMGI and information about MBS support (shared mode capability)); and transmitting, to the second entity, a third message including N2 session management (SM) information (Paragraph 195, 200, This directly maps to transmitting N2 SM information to SMF after resource handling, equivalent to the claimed third message including N2 SM information), wherein, in case that the N2 SM information includes indication information indicating that the BS supports the MBS in the shared delivery mode, MBS data is delivered to multiple UEs on the BS based on the shared delivery mode and interaction between the second entity and a third entity corresponding to user plane function (UPF) is omitted (Paragraph 61, 83, 200, These passages describe shared-delivery MBS where one copy is sent to the BS and shared to multiple UEs, and the UPF interaction is omitted once the shared delivery mode is used).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang et al. teaches a first entity corresponding to an access and mobility management function (AMF), the first entity comprising: a transceiver; memory; and a processor operably connected to the transceiver and the memory (Paragraph 220, FIG. 13 describes an apparatus with a transceiver (receiver + transmitter), memory, and processor connected together, which corresponds to the AMF entity having these components), the processor configured to: transmit, to a second entity corresponding to a session management function (SMF), a first message including location information of a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 88, 111, These passages show that the AMF exchanges N2 interface messages with another entity (e.g., SMF or RAN node) that include UE-related information such as service or location context, teaching transmission of a message including UE-related information), receive, from the second entity, a second message including packet data unit (PDU) session identification (ID), quality of service (QoS) flow information associated with multicast and broadcast service (MBS), and information on a transmission mode indicating a shared delivery mode (Paragraph 59, 191, 192, The cited sections teach the RAN node receiving messages containing PDU session ID, QoS flow info, and transmission mode for shared delivery (shared MBS traffic delivery method)), transmit, to a base station (BS), a request message associated with PDU session resource establishment, the request message including the PDU session ID, QoS flow information and the information on the transmission mode (Paragraph 191, This describes transmission of a request message from the AMF-equivalent node to a base station (SN) including session ID and QoS flow information), receive, from the BS, a response message associated with the PDU session resource establishment as a response to the request message, the response message including a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) and indication information indicating whether the BS supports the MBS (Paragraph 89, 192, The passages indicate that messages exchanged between network entities include identifiers such as TMGI and capability indications regarding MBS support), and transmit, to the second entity, a third message including N2 session management (SM) information (Paragraph 195, This passage describes the AMF-equivalent transmitting a session management message (QoS flow stop) over the core network interface), wherein, in case that the N2 SM information includes indication information indicating that the BS supports the MBS in the shared delivery mode, MBS data is delivered to multiple UEs on the BS based on the shared delivery mode and interaction between the second entity and a third entity corresponding to user plane function (UPF) is omitted (Paragraph 61, 200, Together these teach that when the shared delivery mode is used, the RAN node (BS) delivers one copy to multiple UEs, reducing UPF interaction).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang et al. teaches in case that a handover is initiated from the BS to a target BS, further comprising: receiving, from the target BS, a path switch request message including information indicating whether the target BS supports the MBS; and transmitting, to the target BS, a path switch request acknowledge message (Paragraph 177, 178, The passage shows the RAN node (source BS) receiving from the target BS a handover request carrying MBS information and then sending a response message).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang et al. teaches transmitting, to the second entity, the information indicating whether the target BS supports the MBS, wherein the path switch request acknowledge message includes bearer information of a successful handover, information on a MBS QoS flow, and mode information indicating one of a unicast mode and the shared delivery mode (Paragraph 191-193, These passages teach that the MN transmits MBS support and QoS flow information to the SN, and the acknowledgment message includes bearer and QoS flow configuration corresponding to MBS delivery modes).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang et al. teaches in case that a handover is initiated from the BS to a target BS, the processor is further configured to: receive, from the target BS, a path switch request message including information indicating whether the target BS supports the MBS (Paragraph 93, The target BS sends MBS-related information during handover, indicating whether it supports the MBS service), transmit, to the target BS, a path switch request acknowledge message (Paragraph 178, The BS transmits an acknowledgment message containing configuration after receiving the handover request), and transmit, to the second entity, the information indicating whether the target BS supports the MBS (Paragraph 196, The BS sends MBS service information to a core network entity, reflecting the MBS support status), and wherein the path switch request acknowledge message includes bearer information of a successful handover, information on a MBS QoS flow, and mode information indicating one of a unicast mode and the shared delivery mode (Paragraph 63-65, 102, The acknowledge message includes bearer and QoS flow details, and the PTP/PTM modes correspond to unicast/shared delivery modes).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang et al. teaches a method performed by a second entity corresponding to a session management function (SMF), the method comprising: receiving, from a first entity corresponding to an access and mobility management function (AMF). a first message including location information of a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 160, The SMF receiving information from the AMF via the N2 interface teaches the SMF receiving a first message including UE location information from the AMF) transmitting, to the first entity, a second message including packet data unit (PDU) session identification (ID), quality of service (QoS) flow information associated with multicast and broadcast service (IBS), and information on a transmission mode indicating a shared delivery mode (Paragraph 191, 196, The MN transmitting to the AMF or SMF a message that includes session ID, QoS flow information, and MBS data parameters corresponds to the SMF transmitting to the AMF a message containing PDU session ID, QoS flow information, and shared delivery mode indication) receiving, from the first entity, a third message including N2 session management (SM) information (Paragraph 200, The SMF’s coordination with AMF and exchange of session-related information implies receiving an N2 session management message from the AMF that carries N2 SM information); identifying, based on the third message, whether a base station (BS) supports the MBS (Paragraph 83, The disclosure explicitly teaches that nodes may or may not support MBS, so a message indicating support status allows the SMF to identify whether a BS supports MBS); and in case that the N2 SM information includes indication information indicating that the BS supports the MBS in the shared delivery mode, skipping to transmit, to a third entity corresponding to a user plane function (UPF), a fourth message, MBS data being delivered to multiple UEs on the BS based on the shared delivery mode (Paragraph 59, 199, 200, These portions together show that in the shared delivery mode, MBS data is sent once to a BS for multiple UEs, so the SMF may skip sending a further message to UPF).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang et al. teaches wherein the fourth message includes a PDU session identification (Paragraph 70, The PDU Session Resource Modify Confirm message carries a UL TEID identifying the PDU session, thus including a PDU session identification).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang et al. teaches in case that a handover is initiated from the BS to a target BS, further comprising: obtaining, via the first entity, information indicating whether the target BS supports the MBS (Paragraph 83-84, during handover, the source node obtains and indicates MBS service information to identify whether the target BS supports MBS).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang et al. teaches a second entity corresponding to a session management function (SMF), the second entity comprising: a transceiver; and a processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to: receive, from a first entity corresponding to an access and mobility management function (AMF) a first message including location information of a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 111, This teaches receiving, from the AMF (first entity), a message over N2 that includes UE-related information), transmit, to the first entity, a second message including packet data unit (PDU) session identification (ID), quality of service (QoS) flow information associated with multicast and broadcast service (MBS), and information on a transmission mode indicating a shared delivery mode (Paragraph 59-61, 198-200, Together these passages teach transmission of a message including PDU session ID, QoS flow information, and an indication of shared delivery (shared MBS mode) from one network function to another (e.g., SMF↔AMF)), receive, from the first entity, a third message including N2 session management (SM) information (Paragraph 111, 200, The AMF communicates session management information via N2 messages, corresponding to the third message including N2 SM information received by the SMF), identify, based on the third message, whether a base station {BS) supports the MBS (Paragraph 83, 87-88, These passages describe determining, from N2 messages from AMF, whether a given BS (RAN node) supports MBS services), and in case that the N2 SM information includes indication information indicating that the BS supports the MBS in the shared delivery mode, skip to transmit, to a third entity corresponding to a user plane function (UPF), a fourth message, MBS data being delivered to multiple UEs on the BS based on the shared delivery mode (Paragraph 61, 126-127, These teach that when the RAN (BS) supports shared MBS delivery, the network skips sending data to the UPF for forwarding, instead allowing the BS to deliver to multiple UEs).
Regarding claim 30, Zhang et al. teaches in case that a handover is initiated from the BS to a target BS, the processor is further configured to: obtain, via the first entity, information indicating whether the target BS supports the MBS (Paragraph 177, During handover, the source base station receives a handover request containing MBS information from the target base station, thereby allowing the processor to obtain information indicating whether the target BS supports MBS).
Regarding claim 31, Zhang et al. teaches the response message includes a user plane address and a QoS flow list, and wherein the N2 SM information includes an indication of ignoring the user plane address and ignoring the QoS flow list (Paragraph 195, 196, 200, The passage shows the response message carrying QoS flow information and the N2 SM signaling instructing the UPF to stop using that QoS flow, which corresponds to including a user plane address and QoS flow list and indicating to ignore them).
Regarding claim 32, Zhang et al. teaches the N2 SM information includes information on a QoS flow and identification information of the MBS (Paragraph 111, 119, 191, The passages describe that the N2 interface conveys both MBS identification information (TMGI/session/MBS ID) and QoS flow information (QoS flow ID), thus teaching that N2 SM information includes information on a QoS flow and identification information of the MBS), and wherein, in case that the N2 SM information includes the indication information indicating that the BS supports the NBS in the shared delivery mode (Paragraph 59, 61, 83, These passages define an indication that the base station (RAN node) supports an MBS shared delivery mode, thereby corresponding to the N2 SM information including indication information showing BS capability to support NBS in shared delivery mode), the information on the QoS flow is not transmitted to the third entity in the shared delivery mode (Paragraph 188, 196, 199, These passages show that when the shared delivery mode is used and the SN supports MBS transmission, the MN stops sending QoS flow data (i.e., the QoS flow is not transmitted to the third entity such as the core node or UPF)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Belling et al. (US 20250097274 A1)
Teyeb et al. (US 20240015849 A1)
ADJAKPLE et al. (US 20230362960 A1)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/Chandrahas B Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464