DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 06/12/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 23-26, and 28-30 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 7-9, filed 06/12/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 23-26, and 28-30 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to include the “the UE triggers the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event; and the UE triggers the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event or the third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured separately” features from now cancelled claims 22 and 27, where independent claim 11 is also amended in a similar way such that it contains analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 7-9 of Remarks that Yiu and Wang does not teach “determining to use either a first reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and the second triggering event, or a second reportOnLeace for the first triggering event and a third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event”. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as Wang does teach this feature, and a claim mapping is provided below. Due to the way the limitation is written (the format of “either (i) or (ii)”), the claim can be interpreted in a way such that only (i) is required (and thus only the first reportOnLeave is used). The cited portions of Wang does teach triggering a second measurement report when multiple predefined criterion such as an event leaving condition being fulfilled when reportOnLeave is set to TRUE, which does read on the (i) limitation. Applicant then goes on to further argue on page 9 of Remarks that Wang does not teach the amended features from previous claims 22 and 27. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as Wang does teach these features, and a claim mapping has been provided below. Again, since the claim language as it is written can be interpreted to mean that only (i) is occurring, where only the first reportOnLeave is used. Thus under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the second reportOnLeave may not be used at all and the final limitation where the measurement report is triggered “based on the second reportOnLeave” is not required. Examiner believes, based on Applicant’s Remarks, that Applicant intends for both the (i) first reportOnLeave and the (ii) second reportOnLeave to be required by the claim language. Examiner recommends that Applicant further amend the claim language to further clarify this. For the reasons discussed above, Claims 1-2, 4-5, 11-12, 14-15, 21, 23-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 14-15, 21, 23-26, and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yiu (US 20210227442 A1), and further in view of Wang et al (US 20180332492 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yiu teaches
A method for a User Equipment (UE), comprising ([0116] methods performed by UE):
receiving a configuration to trigger a measurement report based on a first triggering event of cell quality and a second triggering event of UE location ([0024]-[0025] and [Fig. 5]-[Fig. 6] the UE receives a measurement report configuration, which configures events that trigger measurement reporting (measurement report triggering configuration); [0025]-[0027] events may be defined based on RSRP, RSRQ, SINR (first triggering event of cell quality), or the UE entering or leaving an area (second triggering event of UE location)); and
It should be noted that while the teachings of Yiu describe the functions of a reportOnLeave parameter (and thus it does read on it), Yiu does not explicitly teach the inclusion of the reportOnLeave parameter. Thus, Yiu does not explicitly teach teach determining, based on the configuration, to use either (i) a first reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and the second triggering event, or (ii) a second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and a third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of a leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, wherein:
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event; and
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event or the third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured separately.
However, Wang does teach determining, based on the configuration, to use either (i) a first reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and the second triggering event, or (ii) a second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and a third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of a leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event ([0116] second measurement report is triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (determining to trigger second measurement report when first and second triggering events are fulfilled); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled (first triggering event and second triggering event), measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (based on first reportOnLeave)), wherein:
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event ([0116] both the first and second measurement reports are triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (determining to trigger first/second measurement report when first and second triggering events are fulfilled; i.e. first triggering event and second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled (first triggering event and second triggering event), measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (based on first reportOnLeave)); and
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event or the third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured separately.
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 4, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach further comprising triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to TRUE.
However, Wang does teach further comprising triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to TRUE ([0116] second measurement report is triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (first or second triggering events); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 5, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach further comprising not triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to FALSE.
However, Wang does teach further comprising not triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to FALSE ([0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (report can only be triggered when reportOnLeave is set to TRUE; i.e. when it is anything other than TRUE, report cannot be triggered)).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Yiu teaches
A User Equipment (UE), comprising ([0024]-[0027], [0111], and [Fig. 4] UE comprising various components):
a memory ([0024]-[0027], [0111]-[0113], and [Fig. 4] UE comprising memory); and
a processor operatively coupled with the memory, wherein the processor is configured to execute a program code to ([0024]-[0027], [0111]-[0115], and [Fig. 4] UE comprising processor which is configured to execute instructions):
receive a configuration to trigger a measurement report based on a first triggering event of cell quality and a second triggering event of UE location ([0024]-[0025] and [Fig. 5]-[Fig. 6] the UE receives a measurement report configuration, which configures events that trigger measurement reporting (measurement report triggering configuration); [0025]-[0027] events may be defined based on RSRP, RSRQ, SINR (first triggering event of cell quality), or the UE entering or leaving an area (second triggering event of UE location)); and
It should be noted that while the teachings of Yiu describe the functions of a reportOnLeave parameter (and thus it does read on it), Yiu does not explicitly teach the inclusion of the reportOnLeave parameter. Thus, Yiu does not explicitly determine, based on the configuration, to use either (i) a first reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and the second triggering event, or (ii) a second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and a third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of a leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, wherein:
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event; and
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event or the third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured separately.
However, Wang does teach determine, based on the configuration, to use either (i) a first reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and the second triggering event, or (ii) a second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event and a third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of a leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event ([0116] second measurement report is triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (determining to trigger second measurement report when first and second triggering events are fulfilled); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled (first triggering event and second triggering event), measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (based on first reportOnLeave)), wherein:
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event ([0116] both the first and second measurement reports are triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (determining to trigger first/second measurement report when first and second triggering events are fulfilled; i.e. first triggering event and second triggering event are configured as a specific triggering event); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled (first triggering event and second triggering event), measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (based on first reportOnLeave)); and
the UE triggers the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave for the first triggering event or the third reportOnLeave for the second triggering event, if the first triggering event and the second triggering event are configured separately.
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 14, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to TRUE.
However, Wang does teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to TRUE ([0116] second measurement report is triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (first or second triggering events); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 15, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to not trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to FALSE.
However, Wang does teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to not trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the first reportOnLeave is set to FALSE ([0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (report can only be triggered when reportOnLeave is set to TRUE; i.e. when it is anything other than TRUE, report cannot be triggered)).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 21, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach further comprising:
determining to trigger the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first reportOnLeave is configured; and/or
determining to trigger the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave, if the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is configured.
However, Wang does teach determining to trigger the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first reportOnLeave is configured ([0116] both the first and second measurement reports are triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (determining to trigger first/second measurement report when first and second triggering events are fulfilled); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled (first triggering event and second triggering event), measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (based on first reportOnLeave)); and/or
determining to trigger the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave, if the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is configured.
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 23, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach further comprising triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to TRUE.
However, Wang does teach further comprising triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to TRUE ([0116] second measurement report is triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (first or second triggering events); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 24, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach further comprising not triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to FALSE.
However, Wang does teach further comprising not triggering the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to FALSE ([0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (report can only be triggered when reportOnLeave is set to TRUE; i.e. when it is anything other than TRUE, report cannot be triggered)).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 25, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu further teaches wherein the configuration is a measurement event triggering configuration ([0024]-[0025] and [Fig. 5]-[Fig. 6] the UE receives a measurement report configuration, which configures events that trigger measurement reporting (measurement report triggering configuration)).
Regarding claim 26, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to:
determine to trigger the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first reportOnLeave is configured; and/or
determine to trigger the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave, if the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is configured.
However, Wang does teach determine to trigger the measurement report based on the first reportOnLeave, if the first reportOnLeave is configured ([0116] both the first and second measurement reports are triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (determining to trigger first/second measurement report when first and second triggering events are fulfilled); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled (first triggering event and second triggering event), measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (based on first reportOnLeave)); and/or
determine to trigger the measurement report based on the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave, if the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is configured.
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 28, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to TRUE.
However, Wang does teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute the program code to trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of one of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to TRUE ([0116] second measurement report is triggered and performed when at least one remaining mobile radio cells fulfills the predefined measurement criterion (first or second triggering events); [0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 29, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute theprogram code to not trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to FALSE.
However, Wang does teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute theprogram code to not trigger the measurement report in response to fulfilment of the leaving condition of any of the first triggering event and the second triggering event, if at least the second reportOnLeave or the third reportOnLeave is set to FALSE ([0097] when an event leaving condition is fulfilled, measurement report can be triggered when the UE parameter reportOnLeave is set to TRUE (report can only be triggered when reportOnLeave is set to TRUE; i.e. when it is anything other than TRUE, report cannot be triggered)).
Yiu and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu to include the teachings of Wang where reportOnLeave parameter is used. The rationale behind this would be to allow the reporting of the best neighbor for a mobile radio cell change ([0003] Wang).
Regarding claim 30, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu further teaches wherein the configuration is a measurement event triggering configuration ([0024]-[0025] and [Fig. 5]-[Fig. 6] the UE receives a measurement report configuration, which configures events that trigger measurement reporting (measurement report triggering configuration)).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yiu (US 20210227442 A1), Wang et al (US 20180332492 A1), and further in view of Shrestha et al (US 20200383022 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Yiu modified by Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the first reportOnLeave is configured for the specific triggering event combining the first triggering event and the second triggering event.
However, Shrestha does teach wherein the first reportOnLeave is configured for the specific triggering event combining the first triggering event and the second triggering event ([0033]-[0034] Table 00002 reportOnLeave is configured in the eventTriggerConfig for the eventA3 (first leaving condition of the first triggering event) and eventA5 (second leaving condition of the second triggering event); [0043] eventTriggerConfig can indicate “eventA3andA5”, where both triggering event conditions are required to be met).
Yiu, Wang, and Shrestha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu/Wang to include the teachings of Shrestha where reportOnLeave parameter is used and configured in the eventTriggerConfig. The rationale behind this would be to enhance the robustness and signaling details for the conditional handover ([0020] Shrestha).
Regarding claim 12, Yiu modified by Wang teaches The UE of claim 11, as is described above.
Yiu modified by Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the first reportOnLeave is configured for the specific triggering event combining the first triggering event and the second triggering event.
However, Shrestha does teach wherein the first reportOnLeave is configured for the specific triggering event combining the first triggering event and the second triggering event ([0033]-[0034] Table 00002 reportOnLeave is configured in the eventTriggerConfig for the eventA3 (first leaving condition of the first triggering event) and eventA5 (second leaving condition of the second triggering event); [0043] eventTriggerConfig can indicate “eventA3andA5”, where both triggering event conditions are required to be met).
Yiu, Wang, and Shrestha are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are all in the same field of using triggering events for measurement reporting in handover processes. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yiu/Wang to include the teachings of Shrestha where reportOnLeave parameter is used and configured in the eventTriggerConfig. The rationale behind this would be to enhance the robustness and signaling details for the conditional handover ([0020] Shrestha).
Conclusion
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478