DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the claims filed on 01/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined below. Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 04/20/2022 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
The foreign reference JP 7010073A was not considered as it does not have an abstract provided.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In par. 44, “The fluid drive source supplies elevated fluid pressure to a fluid conduit that is in communication with both a fluid-driven cover actuator and a fluid-driven lock actuator” is objected because it is unclear what is ‘elevated’ mean. Are the pressures elevated from a state when the cover and lock actuators are not actuating the respective cover and latch or that the second internal pressure is an elevated first internal pressure?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 14
The term “elevated” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “elevated” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Is applicant attempting to claim that the internal fluid pressure is continued to rise past the second internal pressure, or is the limitation merely a statement that the second internal pressure is the elevated pressure of the first internal pressure, or that the first internal pressure and second internal pressure are higher pressures compared to the internal pressure when none of the actuators were actuated? Also, the limitation ‘elevated’ blurs the scope of the claim as it is unclear how ‘elevated’ actually are both first internal pressure and second internal pressure.
All claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected for including the 112 issues of the claim from which it depends. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schulte (DE 102010002625).
Note that a translated copy of Schulte was attached with this Office Action, please refer to that document for reference to the specification.
Claim 1
(Schulte discloses) A fluid-driven hatch (figure 1) for a bulk material container (intended use; the invention of Schulte can be used to operate openings of a bulk material container), said hatch comprising:
a fluid-driven cover actuator (9 and 10) configured to be coupled at a hatch opening in the bulk material container (intended use);
a cover (door; not shown but disclosed at least on abstract and page 9 of the specification) coupled to said fluid-driven cover actuator and movable in response to said fluid-driven cover actuator (last par. of page 9), between an open configuration (movement towards direction 6) wherein the hatch opening is substantially uncovered, and a closed configuration (movement towards direction 5) wherein the hatch opening is substantially covered (page 9 and first par. of page 10);
a locking device (3 and 14-16) comprising a latch (3) and a fluid-driven lock actuator (14) adapted to selectively move said latch from a locked position (last 4 lines of page 11 to the first par. of page 12 discusses the closing mechanics of the door and latch which discusses that the latch 3 is raised in the stroke direction 4 when the door is closed) to an unlocked position (when the latch 3 is pressed down) when said cover is in said closed configuration (lines 24-32 of page 11 discussing the unlocked position of the latch prior to movement of the door to the open position); and
a fluid conduit (17 and 22-23) that fluidly connects said fluid-driven cover actuator, said fluid-driven lock actuator, and a fluid drive source (21), wherein said fluid conduit is configured so that during an unlocking operation a fluid pressure in said fluid conduit is conveyed to both said fluid-driven cover actuator and said fluid-driven lock actuator (line 22 of page 10 to line 4 of page 11);
wherein said fluid-driven lock actuator is configured to move said latch from said locked position to said unlocked position when the fluid pressure in said fluid conduit reaches a first internal pressure (the first internal pressure in the actuator 14 to operate latch 3; lines 24-34 of page 11); and
wherein said fluid-driven cover actuator is configured to urge said cover from said closed configuration to said open configuration when the fluid pressure in said fluid conduit reaches a second internal pressure (the second internal pressure in the actuator 9 which leads to movement of rack 8 to the right; lines 20-36 of page 11) that is higher than the first internal pressure (Excerpt 1 from page 11 discusses an increased pressure in the cover actuator 9; note that lines 20-24 of page 11 discusses that there is already fluid pressure in the chamber 10 of the actuator 9 thus the additional increased pressure discussed in Excerpt 1 below teaches a higher internal pressure; also see definition of ‘increase’ below), wherein the second internal pressure is also applied to said fluid-driven lock actuator by the fluid drive source to maintain said latch in the unlocked position (this is taught since both actuators are always connected [see figure 1] thus the pressure in the cover actuator is also directed to the lock actuator).
Excerpt 1
Source: American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition. Copyright © 2016 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. All rights reserved.
Claim 2
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 1, wherein when said cover is in said closed configuration, said latch is configured to move from said locked position to said unlocked position in response to said first internal pressure before said cover begins to move from said closed configuration to said open configuration in response to said second internal pressure (lines 20-34 of page 11).
Claim 4
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 1, wherein said fluid-driven cover actuator and said fluid-driven lock actuator are fluidly connected in parallel by said fluid conduit (figure 1; through line 22 and line 23).
Claim 5
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 1, wherein said first internal pressure and said second internal pressure are both elevated (lines 20-34 of page 11).
Claim 7
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 1, further comprising a bidirectional valve (double-piston-cylinder 13) that is fluidly connected to said fluid conduit and configured to be selectively toggled between an opening state (state associated when rack 8 is moved to the right) that increases the fluid pressure at said fluid-driven lock actuator to said first internal pressure, and a closing state (state associated when rack 8 is moved to the left) that reduces the fluid pressure at said fluid-driven lock actuator to less than said first internal pressure (line 35 of page 11 to line 24 of page 12).
Claim 8
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 7, wherein said fluid-driven cover actuator comprises a first end, a second end, and a cover actuation rod (all three parts shown in Partial Annotated figure 1 below), wherein when said bidirectional valve is in said opening state a fluid pressure of said second end increases to said second internal pressure to urge said cover actuation rod away from said second end of said fluid-driven cover actuator (lines 20-34 of page 11).
Partial Annotated figure 1
Claim 9
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 8, further comprising a rack and pinion assembly (7 and 8; figure 1) coupled to said cover and to said cover actuation rod, wherein as said cover actuation rod is urged away from said second end of said fluid-driven cover actuator, said rack and pinion assembly is actuated to rotate said cover towards said open configuration (lines 20-34 of page 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte, as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-9 above, in view of Matye (US 20180313131).
Claims 3 and 10
(Schulte discloses)
“The fluid-driven hatch of claim 1” (claim 3);
“The fluid-driven hatch of claim 9” (claim 10);
Schulte is silent regarding wherein said locking device further comprises a latch pivot, said latch pivotably coupled to said latch pivot and adapted to selectively move about said latch pivot in response to said fluid-driven lock actuator, wherein said latch is engaged with a latch receiver in said locked position to secure said cover in said closed configuration, and wherein said latch is disengaged from the latch receiver in said unlocked position.
(However, Matye teaches) a locking device (121; Matye figures 15-17A) further comprises a latch pivot (123), said latch pivotably coupled to said latch pivot and adapted to selectively move about said latch pivot in response to a fluid-driven lock actuator (160), wherein said latch is engaged with a latch receiver (129) in a locked position to secure a cover (114) in a closed configuration (Matye figure 17), and wherein said latch is disengaged from the latch receiver in said unlocked position (Excerpt 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Schulte with the locking device of Matye, with a reasonable expectation of success, to further improve the locking of the device of Schulte as such improving security and further reducing the chances of accidental unlatching.
Excerpt 2
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte, as applied to claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-9 above, in view of Strab (US 5515649).
Claim 6
(Schulte discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 1.
Schulte fails to disclose further comprising a remote hatch control operable to selectively move said cover between said open configuration and said closed configuration.
(However, Strab discloses) a remote hatch control (13 and 14; Strab figure 1) operable to selectively move a cover (17) between an open configuration and a closed configuration (lines 35-38 of col. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of Schulte with the remote hatch control of Strab, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the expected and predictable benefits of long distance actuation and control of the cover therefore improving user convenience.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte in view of Matye, as applied to claims 3 and 10 above, in further view of Kelton (US 3964280).
Claim 11
(Schulte, as modified above, discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 10.
Modified Schulte fails to disclose wherein said latch comprises a distal portion having a ramp surface and a catch surface, said ramp surface configured to slide along the latch receiver as said cover moves to said closed configuration, wherein said latch pivots away from said locked position as said ramp surface slides along the latch receiver and said latch pivots back towards said locked position once said ramp surface has slid past the latch receiver, wherein said catch surface engages with the latch receiver to secure said cover in said closed configuration.
(However, Kelton teaches) a latch (28; Kelton figures 1-5) comprises a distal portion (top portion by 36) having a ramp surface (36) and a catch surface (horizontal flat surface below 36 engaging 34 in figure 1), said ramp surface configured to slide along a latch receiver (34) as a cover (14) moves to a closed configuration, wherein said latch pivots away from said locked position as said ramp surface slides along the latch receiver and said latch pivots back towards said locked position once said ramp surface has slid past the latch receiver (Excerpt 3 from col. 3 below), wherein said catch surface engages with the latch receiver to secure said cover in a closed configuration (Excerpt 3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shape of the latch of modified Schulte with the shape of the latch of Kelton, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the feature of the inclined surface and the function of the ramp and catch surfaces of the latch of Kelton (described in Excerpt 3 below) thus the shape of the modified latch engages with the latch receiver upon bearing the weight of the cover thus the camming engagement of the latch and latch receiver moves the cover to the closed configuration without significant force required therefore improving the security of the hatch.
Excerpt 3
Claim 12
(Schulte, as modified above, discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 11, further comprising a resilient member (31) coupled to said fluid-driven lock actuator and configured to exert a biasing force on said fluid-driven lock actuator in a direction opposite to a fluid force exerted upon said fluid-driven lock actuator by the fluid drive source (lines 14-20 of page 12).
Claim 13
(Schulte, as modified above, discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 12, wherein said locking device is coupled to said cover (figure 1).
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte in view of Strab.
Claim 14
(Schulte discloses) A fluid-driven hatch (figure 1) for a bulk material container (intended use; the invention of Schulte can be used to operate openings of a bulk material container), said hatch comprising:
a fluid-driven cover actuator (9 and 10) configured to be coupled at a hatch opening in the bulk material container (intended use);
a cover (door; not shown but disclosed at least on abstract and page 9 of the specification) coupled to said fluid-driven cover actuator, between an open configuration (movement towards direction 6) wherein the hatch opening is substantially uncovered, and a closed configuration (movement towards direction 5) wherein the hatch opening is substantially covered (page 9 and first par. of page 10);
a locking device (3 and 14-16) comprising a latch (3) and a fluid-driven lock actuator (14) adapted to selectively move said latch from a locked position (last 4 lines of page 11 to the first par. of page 12 discusses the closing mechanics of the door and latch which discusses that the latch 3 is raised in the stroke direction 4 when the door is closed) to an unlocked position (when the latch 3 is pressed down) when said cover is in said closed configuration (lines 24-32 of page 11 discussing the unlocked position of the latch prior to movement of the door to the open position); and
a fluid conduit (17 and 22-23) that fluidly connects said fluid-driven cover actuator, said fluid-driven lock actuator, and a fluid drive source (21), wherein said fluid conduit is configured so that during an unlocking operation a fluid pressure in said fluid conduit is conveyed to both said fluid-driven cover actuator and said fluid-driven lock actuator (line 22 of page 10 to line 4 of page 11);
wherein said fluid-driven lock actuator is configured to move said latch from said locked position to said unlocked position when the fluid pressure in said fluid conduit reaches a first elevated internal pressure (the first internal pressure in the actuator 14 to operate latch 3; lines 24-34 of page 11); and
wherein said fluid-driven cover actuator is configured to urge said cover from said closed configuration to said open configuration when the fluid pressure in said fluid conduit reaches a second elevated internal pressure (the second internal pressure in the actuator 9 which leads to movement of rack 8 to the right; lines 20-36 of page 11) that is higher than the first elevated internal pressure (Excerpt 1 from page 11 discusses an increased pressure in the cover actuator 9; note that lines 20-24 of page 11 discusses that there is already fluid pressure in the chamber 10 of the actuator 9 thus the additional increased pressure discussed in Excerpt 1 below teaches a higher internal pressure), wherein the second elevated internal pressure is also applied to said fluid-driven lock actuator by the fluid drive source (this is taught since both actuators are always connected [see figure 1] thus the pressure in the cover actuator is also directed to the lock actuator).
Schulte fails to disclose a remote hatch control operable to selectively move said cover between said open configuration and said closed configuration, and to selectively move said latch between said locked position and said unlocked position.
(However, Strab discloses) a remote hatch control (13 and 14; Strab figure 1) operable to selectively move a cover (17) between an open configuration and a closed configuration (lines 35-38 of col. 4), and to selectively move a latch (58; Strab figure 4) between a locked position (position shown in Strab figure 4) and a unlocked position (depressed position of 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the system of Schulte with the remote hatch control of Strab, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the expected and predictable benefits of long distance actuation and control of the cover therefore improving user convenience.
Claim 15
(Schulte, as modified above, discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 14, wherein said fluid-driven cover actuator and said fluid-driven lock actuator are fluidly connected in parallel by said fluid conduit (figure 1; through line 22 and line 23).
Claim 16
(Schulte, as modified above, discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 14, further comprising a bidirectional valve (double-piston-cylinder 13) that is fluidly connected to said fluid conduit and configured to be selectively toggled between an opening state (state associated when rack 8 is moved to the right) that increases the fluid pressure at said fluid-driven lock actuator to said first elevated internal pressure, and a closing state (state associated when rack 8 is moved to the left) that reduces the fluid pressure at said fluid-driven lock actuator to less than said first elevated internal pressure (line 35 of page 11 to line 24 of page 12).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schulte in view of Strab, as applied to claims 14-16 above, in view of Matye.
Claim 17
(Schulte, as modified above, discloses) The fluid-driven hatch of claim 14.
Modified Schulte is silent regarding wherein said locking device further comprises a latch pivot, said latch pivotably coupled to said latch pivot and adapted to selectively move about said latch pivot in response to said fluid-driven lock actuator, wherein said latch is engaged with a latch receiver in said locked position to secure said cover in said closed configuration, and wherein said latch is disengaged from the latch receiver in said unlocked position.
(However, Matye teaches) a locking device (121; Matye figures 15-17A) further comprises a latch pivot (123), said latch pivotably coupled to said latch pivot and adapted to selectively move about said latch pivot in response to a fluid-driven lock actuator (160), wherein said latch is engaged with a latch receiver (129) in a locked position to secure a cover (114) in a closed configuration (Matye figure 17), and wherein said latch is disengaged from the latch receiver in said unlocked position (Excerpt 2 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide modified Schulte with the locking device of Matye, with a reasonable expectation of success, to further improve the locking of the device of Schulte as such improving security and further reducing the chances of accidental unlatching.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments directed to the claim objections have been considered.
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because the new ground of rejection for the independent claims does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634