DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aoki (US 2022/0184793, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses a grinding machine tool (tool is capable of driving a grinding tool accessory) comprising a motor (4), a casing comprising a head (21) with the motor disposed therein (as shown in fig 1) and a body (including elements 22, 23) extending along a radial direction of the motor (from left to right as viewed in fig 1) and formed with at least one air inlet (801), and an air guider (31) comprising: a main body (33), disposed at a junction between the head and the body (as shown in fig 1); and an ascending diversion portion, integrally formed with the main body (see annotated fig 9 below) and located on a side of the main body facing the body (right side as shown in fig 1), and the ascending diversion portion comprising a main guide surface (see annotated fig below) which guides a first heat dissipation airflow entering from the air inlet to flow toward a top of the motor (as shown by arrows in fig 8), and two auxiliary guide surfaces which are respectively disposed on two sides of the main guide surface (see annotated fig below) and configured to receive a portion of the first heat dissipation airflow to generate a second heat dissipation airflow, wherein the second heat dissipation airflow flows along a side of the motor (shown by dotted arrows in fig 8 and fig 11).
Regarding claim 2, Aoki further discloses the air guider comprises two descending diversion portions (one labeled in annotated fig 9 below; the other is on the opposite side) respectively connected to two sides of the ascending diversion portion (at sides of the auxiliary guide surfaces), and the two descending diversion portions are integrally formed with the main body (as shown in fig 9).
Regarding claim 3, Aoki further discloses at least one of the two descending diversion portions tapers from a apart thereof connected to the ascending diversion portion toward a direction opposite from the ascending diversion portion (as shown in fig 9, tapers away from ascending diversion portion at element 337).
Regarding claims 4-7, Aoki further discloses the ascending diversion portion extends from a bottom edge of the main body to reach a top edge of the main body, and a width of the ascending diversion portion at the bottom edge of the main body is smaller than a width of the ascending diversion portion at the top edge of the main body (see dashed lines in annotated fig below depicting widths at top and bottom edges); wherein the two auxiliary guide surfaces are composed of a plurality of curved surfaces (inner and outer surfaces of each auxiliary guide surface are curved); wherein the main body is in an arc shape (entire outer surface of main body is arced); and wherein two sides of the main body are respectively an inclined surface (as best shown in fig 11, the main body inclines outward from the body toward the head of the casing).
Regarding claim 8, Aoki further discloses at least one of the two descending diversion portions gradually expands from a part thereof connected to the ascending diversion portion toward a direction opposite from the ascending diversion portion (as shown in fig 9; expands outwardly from ascending diversion portion).
Regarding claims 9-12, Aoki further discloses the ascending diversion portion extends from a bottom edge of the main body to reach a top edge of the main body, and a width of the ascending diversion portion at the bottom edge of the main body is smaller than a width of the ascending diversion portion at the top edge of the main body (see dashed lines in annotated fig below depicting widths at top and bottom edges); wherein the two auxiliary guide surfaces are composed of a plurality of curved surfaces (inner and outer surfaces of each auxiliary guide surface are curved); wherein the main body is in an arc shape (entire outer surface of main body is arced); and wherein two sides of the main body are respectively an inclined surface (as best shown in fig 11, the main body inclines outward from the body toward the head of the casing).
Regarding claim 13, Aoki further discloses the main body comprises two flow blockers (one labeled in annotated fig below; second flow blocker is on opposite side) respectively disposed on two sides of the ascending diversion portion, and the two flow blockers are integrally formed with the main body (as shown in fig 9).
Regarding claim 14, Aoki further discloses the main body is in an arc shape (entire body is arced), and the two flow blockers are respectively located on two sides of the main body (as shown in fig 9).
Regarding claims 15-16, Aoki further discloses the ascending diversion portion extends from a bottom edge of the main body to reach a top edge of the main body, and a width of the ascending diversion portion at the bottom edge of the main body is smaller than a width of the ascending diversion portion at the top edge of the main body (see dashed lines in annotated fig below depicting widths at top and bottom edges); wherein the two auxiliary guide surfaces are composed of a plurality of curved surfaces (inner and outer surfaces of each auxiliary guide surface are curved).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niwa (US 2016/0211730, previously cited).
Regarding claim 17, Aoki teaches all the elements of claim 1 as described above. Aoki is silent as to how power is supplied to the motor from the power supply and thus does not teach the air guider comprising a wire opening disposed on the main body. Niwa teaches a grinding machine tool including an air guider (70) with a wire opening disposed on its main body (fig 7; see opening on left side for wires 97. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a wire opening on the main body of the air guider of Aoki, achieving the predictable result of allowing lead wires to pass to the motor as taught by Niwa (figs 5, 7; [0055]) and thus supplying the power to the motor necessary to the operation of the tool of Aoki (Aoki [0033]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 Sep 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Aoki does not teach the claimed functions of the main guide surface and auxiliary guide surfaces for respectively guiding an airflow toward a top of the motor and a side of the motor. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in fig 8 of Aoki, there is a “first heat dissipation airflow” above the main guide surface (unlabeled in fig 8, but identified in the annotated fig above) of the main body 33. This airflow is identified by solid and dashed arrows in an airflow path above the main guide surface. Contrary to applicant’s arguments, this airflow clearly flows towards a top of the motor as shown by the solid arrows in fig 8 of Aoki. Additionally, as shown by figs 8 and 11, Aoki’s dashed arrows show a “second heat dissipation airflow” which flows along a side of the motor. This second airflow is guided by the curved auxiliary guide surfaces identified in the annotated figure of Aoki above. Applicant argues that the second airflow of Aoki is not guided by the auxiliary guide surfaces. However, the claimed receiving of the first airflow and generation of a second airflow can be easily seen from figures 8 and 11. The auxiliary guide surfaces of Aoki provide the claimed structure, and serve to allow this airflow to happen, as claimed. Applicant provides further arguments against modifying Aoki. However, as Aoki anticipates the argued claim, these arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12355304 is cited to show another example of a machine tool with similar airflow characteristics.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723