Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 112(b) for lack of clarity in regards to the joining of multiple support units via the interlocking structures of claim 1. Claim 1 discusses joining multiple units by inserting a lower end of a first unit into an upper end of a second unit to increase the length, and first and second interlocking structures that engage one another to prevent separate of the first unit from the second unit. However, the drawings and specification lack necessary supporting details. The specification states that the interlocking structures “may each comprise an embossing made in the sheet.” The specification also states that the first and second interlocking structures “may each comprise a flap defined by a U-shaped cut made in the sheet… wherein when the first and second units of the support are joined to create the extended support, the first U-shaped cut of the first unit of the support is congruent with the second U-shaped cut of the second unit.” However, the specification does not discuss how the multiple units fit together, regardless of what type of interlocking structures are used. Is the tubular support narrower at its lower end such that it can be inserted into the upper end of another support? Is the lower end of the tubular support flexible such that it can be squeezed inward to be inserted into the upper end of another support? While the specification describes the interlocking structures themselves, there is no discussion of the structural specifics that allow the support tubes to be inserted into one another for stacking. Claims 4-6, 8, 11-13 and 27 are rejected by virtue of their dependency. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 12-13 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLean (US 5471783 A) in view of Wilson (US 6088952 A), Rouxel (US 20210392834 A1), and O’Hare (US 4454684 A).
Regarding claim 1, McLean discloses a support for a climbing plant, the support comprising:
a tubular structure (tree guard 1, see fig 2) defining a volume (interior of tube 20, see figs 2-2)
for containing therein a substrate, the tubular structure having a plurality of root-passage holes (26, see fig 2) for passage therethrough of roots of the climbing plant to engage the substrate, wherein the tubular structure comprises a single sheet (20, see fig 4) of plastic material (plastic sheet material, see col 3, lines 2-6) having a first long edge (see fig 2, edge with tabs 21), a first short edge (top, see figs 2-3), a second long edge (edge with holes 22, see fig 2-3), and a second short edge (bottom, see figs 2-3);
the sheet (20) having the plurality of root-passage holes (26) provided therethrough, wherein
each of the plurality of root-passage holes (26) is sized to allow the roots of the climbing plants to pass through the root-passage hole (holes 26 would allow for roots to pass through the support), while to prevent the substrate contained in the support from falling out of the root-passage hole (substrate would be contained by the tubular element 20, see figs 2-3); wherein the plurality of root-passage holes are arranged in a grid configuration through the sheet (see fig 4);
the sheet (20) having an integral plurality of tabs (21) extending from the first long edge and
spaced apart from each other at intervals along the first long edge (see figs 2-4);
the sheet (20) having a corresponding plurality of tab-engagement holes (22, see figs 2-4)
provided adjacent the second long edge and spaced apart from each other at intervals along the second long edge (see figs 2-4);
wherein the plurality of tabs (21) and the corresponding plurality of tab-engagement holes (22)
are in engagement with each other such that the sheet is assembled into the tubular structure (see figs 2-3); wherein the tubular structure assembled has open ends each defined by the first short edge or the second short edge (see figs 2-3);
wherein the sheet comprises a first longitudinal portion comprising the first long edge (edge
with tabs 21, see figs 2-4), a second longitudinal portion comprising the second long edge (edge with tab holes 22, see figs 2-4), and a central longitudinal portion (portion making up rest of tubular structure, see figs 2-4) provided between the first and second longitudinal portion, wherein the plurality of root-passage holes are provided on at least the central longitudinal portion (see figs 2-4, holes provided in space between two long edges).
Mclean fails to disclose wherein the each of the plurality of root-passage holes is configured to
have a dimension ranging from 5 mm to 25 mm; wherein the sheet comprises a first longitudinal score line provided to facilitate bending without breaking of the sheet between the first longitudinal portion and the central longitudinal portion, wherein the sheet comprises a second longitudinal score line provided to facilitate bending without breaking of the sheet between the second longitudinal portion and the central longitudinal portion, and wherein bending of the sheet along both the first and second longitudinal score lines facilitates meeting and engagement of the plurality of tabs with the plurality of tab-engagement holes, when the plurality of tabs are in engagement with the plurality of tab-engagement holes, the tubular structure has a semi-circular cross-section, wherein multiple units of the support are joinable by insertion of a lower end of a first unit the support into an upper end of a second unit of the support to create an extended support of increased length, wherein the support includes a first interlocking structure located adjacent the lower end of the support and a second interlocking structure located adjacent the upper end of the support, wherein the first and second interlocking structures are longitudinally aligned in parallel with the first long edge of the sheet, wherein when the first and second units of the support are joined to create the extended support of increased length, the first interlocking structure of the first unit of the support engages the second interlocking structure of the second unit of the support to prevent separation of the first unit of the support from the second unit of the support.
Wilson teaches wherein the sheet (see fig 1) comprises a first longitudinal score line (left folding line 21, see fig 1) provided to facilitate bending without breaking of the sheet between the first longitudinal portion and the central longitudinal portion, wherein the sheet comprises a second longitudinal score line (right folding line 22, see fig 1) provided to facilitate bending without breaking of the sheet between the second longitudinal portion and the central longitudinal portion, and wherein bending of the sheet along both the first and second longitudinal score lines facilitates meeting and engagement of the plurality of tabs with the plurality of tab-engagement holes (tabs 14 and notches 15, see figs 1-2), wherein the plurality of tabs and the corresponding plurality of tab-engagement holes are in engagement with each other such that the sheet is assembled into the tubular structure (see figs 1-2, multiple cross section types, see col 3, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support of McLean with the score lines of Wilson with a reasonable expectation of success because adding score lines will provide a more easily assembled support tube, and a sturdier foundation, to ensure the plants have a secure structure upon which to grow.
Rouxel teaches wherein multiple units of the support are joinable by insertion of a lower end of a first unit the support into an upper end of a second unit of the support to create an extended support of increased length (see fig 4), wherein the support includes a first interlocking structure (362, see fig 4 and para 0060) located adjacent the lower end of the support and a second interlocking structure (450, see fig 4 and para 0062) located adjacent the upper end of the support, wherein the first and second interlocking structures (362, 450, see fig 4) are longitudinally aligned in parallel with the first long edge of the sheet, wherein when the first and second units of the support are joined to create the extended support of increased length, the first interlocking structure of the first unit of the support engages the second interlocking structure of the second unit of the support to prevent separation of the first unit of the support from the second unit of the support (see figs 1D and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support of McLean with multiple units as taught by Rouxel with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for continued support throughout a plant’s growth cycle and variation in support height based on plant type.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the each of the plurality of root-passage holes is configured to have a dimension ranging from 5 mm to 25 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the root holes being 5-25mm with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow for large enough holes for root growth, while ensuring the substrate is contained within the support, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except explicitly when the plurality of tabs are in engagement with the plurality of tab-engagement holes, the tubular structure has a semi-circular cross section. However, Wilson teaches score lines as claimed, and due to the flexible nature of the primary reference, McLean, adding the score lines of Wilson would result in a generally semi-circular cross section. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the plant support with a semi-circular cross section with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide more growing space and a more stable foundation, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
If for any reason Applicant disagrees that McLean discloses the root passage holes as mapped
above, then O’Hare teaches a tubular structure (cylinder 1) defining a volume for containing therein a substrate (4, 10), the tubular structure having a plurality of root-passage holes (2) for passage therethrough of roots of the climbing plant to engage the substrate, wherein each of the plurality of root-passage holes is sized to allow the roots of the climbing plants to pass through the root-passage hole, while to prevent the substrate contained in the support from falling out of the root-passage hole (see figs 1-5, holes sized to keep substrate 4, 10 within cylinder 1 but allow plant roots or stems to grow through the root-passage holes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system with the holes sized for root passage but small enough to contain the substrate with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure the nutrient composition (substrate) is contained to provide the plants with an optimal growing medium while passage through the holes ensures plant growth is not constrained.
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 1 and McLean further
discloses wherein each of the plurality of tabs comprises a tab head and a tab neck connecting the tab head to the first long edge (fig 4, see semicircular tab head and nipped/narrower neck connecting head to edge), wherein the tab head is configured to be manipulated through a corresponding one of the plurality of tab- engagement holes and to prevent slipping of the tab head back out of the tab- engagement hole, and wherein the tab neck has a width able to be accommodated by the tab-engagement hole (see figs 2 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 1 and McLean further
discloses wherein the plurality of root-passage holes (26) are arranged in a grid configuration through the sheet 20, (see fig 4).
Regarding claim 12, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 11, and Rouxel further
teaches wherein the first and second interlocking structures each comprise a flap defined by a U-shaped cut (362, see fig 4, see para 0060 and 0062, upper interlocking structure identical to lower) made in the sheet wherein legs of the U-shaped cut are parallel with the first and second short edges (legs of 362 parallel to top and bottom edges, see fig 4), wherein when the first and second units of the support are joined to create the extended support (see fig 4), the first U-shaped cut of the first unit of the support is congruent with the second U- shaped cut of the second unit (upper engagement feature may be identical to lower feature, see paras 0060 and 0062), such that bending the flaps together in a same direction away from a surface of the extended support prevents separation of the first unit of the support from the second unit of the support (see fig 4 and para 0060 and 0062, flaps or tabs identical upper and lower features for support and stacking).
Regarding claim 13, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 1 and McLean further
discloses further comprising at least one anchor tab (33) provided adjacent the first short edge for engaging a growing medium in which the support is embedded to anchor the support in the growing medium (see figs 3-4), the anchor tab (33, see figs 3-4) comprising an upward facing and outwardly extending tab assembled from a further U-shaped cut made in the sheet wherein legs of the further U-shaped cut point towards the first short edge (legs of tab 33 pointing towards first short edge, i.e. top edge).
Regarding claim 27, the modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the
each of the plurality of root-passage holes is configured to have the dimension of 12 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the root-passage holes to be 12 mm with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure the roots or stems of the plant are able to grow through the holes, while containing the substrate within the support to provide an optimal growing medium, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim(s) 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLean (US 5471783 A) in view of Wilson (US 6088952 A), Rouxel (US 20210392834 A1) and O’Hare (US 4454684 A) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Schmitt (US 4317311 A).
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 4 and McLean further
discloses wherein each of the plurality of tab-engagement holes (22) comprises a slit provided through the sheet, wherein each tab head (21) has a free end and a necked end adjoining the tab neck (see fig 4).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the free end has a width less than the length of the slit, and wherein the necked end has a width greater than a length of the slit.
Schmitt teaches wherein the free end has a width less than the length of the slit (free end of trapezoid 106, see fig 5), and wherein the necked end has a width greater than a length of the slit (102/104, see fig 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tab of McLean with the proportions of Schmitt with a reasonable expectation of success because this configuration will ensure the tab cannot unintentionally slip out and come apart, and since there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23.
Regarding claim 6, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 5 and Schmitt further
teaches wherein the tab head has a shape that is one of: a triangle, a semi-circle, and an isosceles trapezoid (isosceles trapezoid, see fig 5).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLean (US 5471783 A) in view of Wilson (US 6088952 A), Rouxel (US 20210392834 A1) and O’Hare (US 4454684 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kleinhert (CA 2391840 A1).
Regarding claim 8, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the plastic material comprises polyethylene
terephthalate.
Kleinhert teaches wherein the plastic material comprises polyethylene terephthalate (pet, easily
moldable, see page 7, lines 7-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sheet of McLean to be polyethylene terephthalate as taught by Kleinhert with a reasonable expectation of success because it is easily moldable without risk of breakage, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McLean (US 5471783 A) in view of Wilson (US 6088952 A), Rouxel (US 20210392834 A1) and O’Hare (US 4454684 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richman (US 20210345568 A1).
Regarding claim 11, the modified reference teaches the support of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the first and second interlocking structures each
comprise an embossing made in the sheet.
Richman teaches wherein the first and second interlocking structures each comprise an embossing made in the sheet (embossed feature for locking lid to tray, see para 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the interlocking features to be an embossing in the sheet as taught by Richman with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure a secure fit so the plants are protected and the supports are not separated or broken by wind.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not entirely
persuasive. Applicant’s arguments regarding Greer were persuasive and therefore a new reference has been brought in to teach the limitations previously taught by Greer.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, Greer is no longer relied upon, and a new reference has been brought in to teach the score lines and semi-circular cross section.
Applicant argues that the apertures of McLean are designed to keep young plants inside and that this would prevent roots from penetrating the protector. The Office respectfully disagrees. The holes of the claimed invention are provided “for passage therethrough of the roots” which is functional language. Additionally, the claim does not specify the direction in which the roots are growing through the plant protector. Therefore this argument is not persuasive and the holes 25 of McLean satisfy the claim language.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach a support “for a climbing plant.” The structural limitations of the claims are taught by the cited references, and a support “for a climbing plant” is a functional and intended use recitation that does not require further structural limitations. In response to applicant's argument that the cited art fails to teach “a support for a climbing plant”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further, Applicant’s arguments regarding the support for “a climbing plant” rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13 and 27. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation support for a climbing plant is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Applicant argues that the holes of O’Hare are too large and would be unsuitable for retaining substrate inside the support. However, O’Hare also utilizes a substrate, and has holes sized to retain the substrate, also referred to as a nutrient composition, while allowing passage of branches outward. See col 2, lines 42-67. Further, the claim limitations regarding the substrate and the root-passage holes are functional, and no criticality is given regarding the specific dimensions of the root-passage holes, and therefore these limitations are satisfied by both McLean and O’Hare. This argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Rouxel fails to teach a support structure adapted to facilitate growth of climbing plants, root passage holes, or an extended support with water flow continuity. The Office respectfully disagrees. Rouxel teaches multiple units of support connectable by joining structures as seen in the rejection above. Additionally, as seen in the 112(b) rejection above, the specification does not provide structural details as to how the multiple units are able to be inserted into one another.
Conclusion
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642