DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species A1 and B1, encompassing claims 1-7, and 9-14, in the reply filed on 10/10/2025 is acknowledged.
NOTE: claims 16-29 depend upon withdrawn claim 15 (Species A2) while claims 31-32 depend upon withdrawn claim 30 (Species A3). Therefore, claims 15-32 are further withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactor" in line 2-3. “one or more dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactor” is cited in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as "each of the one or more dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactors".
Claim 3 recites the limitation "each dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactor" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as "each of the one or more dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactors".
Claim 11 recites the limitation "each plasma reactor of the plurality" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required. For the purpose of examination, the above limitation will be interpreted as "each of the one or more dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactors".
Due to the dependency to the parent claim, claim 2-7, and 9-14 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Han (PG-PUB US 2021/0275983).
Regarding claim 1, Han disclose a plasma generating apparatus (ABSTRACT). The apparatus comprises a plasma reactor packed with dielectric packing material having a catalyst thereupon, wherein the catalyst comprises a transition metal oxide and carbon dioxide is supplied to the plasma reactor (i.e., one or more …, each of the one or more dielectric barrier discharge plasma rector packed with…, Figure 3, paragraphs [0037] – [0039], [0043], & [0049] – [0051]).
The recitation “for producing ethanol from carbon dioxide” in preamble has not been given patentable weight because it has been held that a preamble is denied the effect of a limitation where the claim is drawn to a structure and the portion of the claim following the preamble is a self-contained description of the structure not depending for completeness upon the introductory clause. Kropa v. Robie, 88 USPQ 478 (CCPA 1951).
Han teaches at least one dielectric barrier discharge plasma reactor (Figure 3, paragraph [0050]). Moreover, utilizing more than one dielectric barrier plasma reactor is within ordinary skill in the art because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine of skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis, 193 USPQ8.
It should be noted that the limitation of “configured to receive a plasma reactor gas feed … and to output ethanol” is related to a manner of operating the device, which does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2114).
Furthermore, “a plasma reactor gas feed” and “ethanol” are material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “the CO2-containg source” is not part of the apparatus, rather a material worked upon the device. It has been held that material worked upon a device doe does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 3, Han teaches that the plasma rector comprises a tube having dielectric material (Figure 3, paragraph [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches that the catalyst comprises a transition metal and is coated/supported on the dielectric packing material (Figure 3, paragraphs [0037] – [0039] & [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches that the catalyst comprises a transition metal oxide that is coated/supported on the dielectric packing material (Figure 3, paragraphs [0037] – [0039] & [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches that the catalyst is coated/supported on the dielectric packing material which comprises zeolite and/or metal oxide (Figure 3, paragraphs [0037] – [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches a non-thermal plasma reactor (paragraphs [0032] & [0041]).
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches that a heater is provided to heat the plasma reactor (paragraph [0056]).
Regarding claim 13, “the plasma reactor gas feed … ” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Regarding claim 14, “CO2 and H2O” is material worked upon the device, which does not limit the apparatus claim from the prior art (MPEP 2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (PG-PUB US 2021/0275983) as applied to claims 3 and 6 above, and further in view of Ha et al (PB-PUB US 2021/0260558).
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches that the plasma rector comprises a tube having dielectric property (Figure 3, paragraph [0054]), but does not teach the reactor tube comprising quartz. However, Ha et al disclose a plasma reactor (ABSTRACT). Ha teaches that the plasma reactor comprises a tube having dielectric material, such as quartz (Figure 1, paragraph [0012]). The teaching of Ha shows that a reactor tube comprising quartz is an equivalent tube for a plasma reactor. Therefore, utilizing a quartz tube is within ordinary skill in the art because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143A).
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches that the catalyst comprises a transition metal and is coated/supported on dielectric packing material (Figure 3, paragraphs [0037] – [0039] & [0043]), but does not the ratio thereof. However, Ha et al disclose a plasma reactor (ABSTRACT). Ha teaches that a transition metal oxide supported on a dielectric material is used for catalyst, wherein the amount of the catalyst is in a range of 0.5% to 50% of the dielectric support and such catalytic configuration may improve catalyst activity (paragraphs [0023] & [0066]). Therefore, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to amount the catalyst in a range of 0.5% to 50% of the dielectric support as suggested by Ha in order to improve catalytic activity within the device of Han.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (PG-PUB US 2021/0275983) as applied to claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches that the shape and size of the dielectric packing material and the catalyst can affect the catalytic reaction (paragraphs [0037] – [0039] & [004]). Thus, the relative amount /ratio of the catalyst to the support is a result-effective variable. Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have realized to optimize the ratio of the catalyst to the support in an attempt to achieve desired results within the device Han.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (PG-PUB US 2021/0275983) as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Laroussi (PB-PUB US 2009/0121637).
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches that the plasma reactor comprises an inner electrode and an outer electrode and a power supply for generating plasma, wherein the power supply may be an AC power source (Figure 3, paragraphs [0049], & [0055]), but does not teach the plasma being generated from an RF source. However, Laroussi discloses a plasma generator (ABSTRACT). Laroussi teaches that the apparatus comprises a dielectric tube 1100 to house a first dielectric electrode 130 and a second dielectric 140, wherein a power supply 170 supplies voltage to the electrodes to generate plasma and the power supply may be an AC source or an RF source (Figure 1, paragraphs [0028] – [0034], & [0045]). The teaching of Laroussi shows that an RF source is an equivalent power supply for a plasma reactor. Therefore, utilizing an RF source is within ordinary skill in the art because it is an art-recognized equivalent.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results (MPEP 2143A).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-7, and 9-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, and 11-13, and 15-17 of U.S. Patent No.11,859,137. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims an apparatus comprises substantially the same structure as that of the issued patent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7, and 9-14 are rejected. Claims 8, and 15-39 are withdrawn.
/XIUYU TAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795