DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10-11, and 23-33 are pending. Claims 1 and 23 have been amended. Claims 31-33 are new.
Response to Amendments
The Examiner acknowledges Applicant's response filed on 5/20/2026 containing amendments and remarks to the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7 of Remarks filed 5/20/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Applicant has amended claims 1 and 23 to include limitations that were not previously presented and are not anticipated by the previous mapping of Cormack. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments are made in view of a new mapping of the components of Cormack, as discussed in the rejections below.
Applicant's arguments, see page 7 of Remarks filed 5/20/2026, that “the cited art does not teach or suggest the features recited in new claim 31” have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Cormack teaches the newly added limitation (which is the only limitation not previously presented) of “a receptacle comprising a vaporizable material” (“liquid absorbent wadding 20”, ¶ 0051, 0082); therefore, Cormack anticipates the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cormack (US 2015/0077981 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cormack discloses a vaporizer device (“personal vaporizer”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0066) comprising:
a shell (combination of “non-FPCB shells or casings 70” and “FPCB shell 24”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0066) comprising,
a chamber (chamber formed by “array 92”, Fig. 16, ¶ 0071), the chamber having an anode, an anode current collector, a cathode, a cathode current collector, a separator, and an electrolyte disposed therein (“current collector, anode, cathode, electrolyte, and separator”, ¶ 0022, 0079, where there is a separate cathode current collector and anode current collector, “the anode and cathode can be printed onto current collectors that are themselves printed directly onto the FPCB 24 substrate”, ¶ 0077), the chamber including the anode, the anode current collector, the cathode, the cathode current collector, and the electrolyte forming a battery (“battery”, ¶ 0022, 0079) serving as a power source (“power source”, ¶ 0071) for the vaporizer device,
a receptacle (“proximal end seal bulkhead 16”, not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to labeled component 16 in Fig. 3) configured to receive a vaporizable material (“proximal end seal bulkhead 16 has an airway aperture 44 to allow air and vapour to be drawn out of the atomizer area”, ¶ 0052), the receptacle being downstream of the chamber (Fig. 16); and
a top cap (“liquid absorbent wadding 20”, “atomizer 12”, and “bulkhead 14”, ¶ 0051, components not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to labeled components in Fig. 3) sealed to the shell, the top cap being completely positioned between the chamber and the receptacle (Fig. 16), wherein the top cap is electrically coupled to a first electrical contact of the battery (first electrical contact of the battery not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to the component identified in Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner), the first electrical contact positioned within the chamber, wherein the top cap includes a feed-through mechanism (opening in which the second electrical contact of the battery extends therethrough, see Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner) in which a second electrical contact of the battery (second electrical contact of the battery not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to the component identified in Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner) extends therethrough to provide an electrical connection from the battery through the top cap such that the electrical connection can be accessed outside of the chamber (see Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner).
Figure 4 of Cormack, Annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 2, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 1, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the shell comprises a distal end (“distal end 30”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0054) and a proximal end (“proximal end 28”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0054), wherein the distal end is opposite to the proximal end (Fig. 15), and wherein the shell further comprises an end cap (“distal end seal bulkhead 22”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0051) coupled to the distal end (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 3, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 1, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the separator is interposed between the anode and cathode (“separator . . . will be applied between the anode and cathode”, ¶ 0077), and wherein the anode, the cathode, and the separator are wound to form a jellyroll (“FPCB 24 substrate is rolled up similar to a ‘jelly roll’”, ¶ 0076).
Regarding claim 4, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 3, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the jellyroll is inserted into the shell through an opening (“aperture 81”, Fig. 14, ¶ 0068) in a distal end (“distal end 80”, Fig. 14, ¶ 0068) of the shell (“FPCB 24 can be inserted into casing 70 through aperture 81”, ¶ 0068).
Regarding claim 6, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 1, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that first electrical contact and the second electrical contact include a positive terminal (“anode”, ¶ 0077) and negative terminal (“cathode”, ¶ 0077).
Regarding claim 7, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 1, as stated above. Cormack further discloses wherein the vaporizer device further comprises:
a bottom cap (“OLED 99”, Fig. 16, ¶ 0073) coupled to the battery at a distal end of the battery (Fig. 16), the distal end opposite of a proximal end of the battery (Fig. 16), and the bottom cap having an opening (in the final product, the bottom cap formed by “OLED 99” wraps around the exterior of battery cell “array 92” to form a ring, the center of said ring being an opening, Fig. 16).
With regard to the opening being “for which the electrolyte was injected into the chamber”, this limitation refers to the specific process used to make the product. Therefore, as Cormack teaches the product resulting from these process steps, the claim is unpatentable. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP § 2113(I)).
Regarding claim 11, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 1, as stated above. Cormack further discloses a venting feature (“airway apertures 26”, ¶ 0054, not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to labeled component 26 in Fig. 3) formed through a wall of the chamber (“various elements can be incorporated in the FPCB such as airway apertures 26 that allow airflow”, ¶ 0054), the venting feature configured to allow pressure equalization between the chamber and ambient conditions (“airflow”, ¶ 0054) while preventing passage of water or other environmental contaminants into the chamber (such contaminants prevented by the “non-FPCB shells or casings 70”, Figs. 14-15, ¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 30, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 1, as stated above. Cormack further discloses wherein the top cap defines a base end of the receptacle (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 31, Cormack discloses a vaporizer device (“personal vaporizer”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0066) comprising:
a shell (combination of “non-FPCB shells or casings 70” and “FPCB shell 24”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0066) comprising,
a chamber (chamber formed by “array 92”, Fig. 16, ¶ 0071), the chamber having an anode, an anode current collector, a cathode, a cathode current collector, a separator, and an electrolyte disposed therein (“current collector, anode, cathode, electrolyte, and separator”, ¶ 0022, 0079, where there is a separate cathode current collector and anode current collector, “the anode and cathode can be printed onto current collectors that are themselves printed directly onto the FPCB 24 substrate”, ¶ 0077), the chamber including the anode, the anode current collector, the cathode, the cathode current collector, and the electrolyte forming a battery (“battery”, ¶ 0022, 0079) serving as a power source (“power source”, ¶ 0071) for the vaporizer device,
a receptacle (“liquid absorbent wadding 20”, ¶ 0051, component not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to labeled component in Fig. 3) comprising a vaporizable material (“liquid absorbent wadding 20 is shown in the embodiment as a representative of a liquid container for providing liquid to a heating element for vaporization”, ¶ 0082), the receptacle being downstream of the chamber (Fig. 16); and
a top cap (combination of “proximal end seal bulkhead 16”, “atomizer 12”, and “bulkhead 14”, ¶ 0051, components not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to labeled components in Fig. 3) sealed to the shell and positioned between the chamber and the receptacle (Fig. 16), wherein the top cap is electrically coupled to a first electrical contact of the battery (first electrical contact of the battery not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to the component identified in Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner), the first electrical contact positioned within the chamber, wherein the top cap includes a feed-through mechanism (opening in which the second electrical contact of the battery extends therethrough, see Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner) in which a second electrical contact of the battery (second electrical contact of the battery not labeled in Fig. 16 but corresponding to the component identified in Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner) extends therethrough to provide an electrical connection from the battery through the top cap such that the electrical connection can be accessed outside of the chamber (see Fig. 4 below, annotated by examiner).
Figure 4 of Cormack, Annotated by Examiner
Regarding claim 32, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 31, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the separator is interposed between the anode and cathode (“separator . . . will be applied between the anode and cathode”, ¶ 0077), and wherein the anode, the cathode, and the separator are wound to form a jellyroll (“FPCB 24 substrate is rolled up similar to a ‘jelly roll’”, ¶ 0076).
Regarding claim 33, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 31, as stated above. Cormack further discloses wherein the vaporizer device further comprises:
a bottom cap (“OLED 99”, Fig. 16, ¶ 0073) coupled to the battery at a distal end of the battery (Fig. 16), the distal end opposite of a proximal end of the battery (Fig. 16), and the bottom cap having an opening (in the final product, the bottom cap formed by “OLED 99” wraps around the exterior of battery cell “array 92” to form a ring, the center of said ring being an opening, Fig. 16).
With regard to the opening being “for which the electrolyte was injected into the chamber”, this limitation refers to the specific process used to make the product. Therefore, as Cormack teaches the product resulting from these process steps, the claim is unpatentable. "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." (In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985); MPEP § 2113(I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormack (US 2015/0077981 A1) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 7, as stated above.
Cormack does not explicitly disclose that the top cap and the bottom cap are coupled to the battery using laser welding. However, Cormack discloses affixing components to the shell (“affixed to the FPCB”, ¶ 0012) and that components may be affixed by means of laser welding (“laser welding”, ¶ 0012). There was a benefit to using laser welding in that it creates a secure bond. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use laser welding to affix the top cap and the bottom cap to the shell for this benefit. In the resulting configuration, there will be a first seam (the weld line) between the shell and the top cap.
Regarding claim 10, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 8, as stated above.
Cormack does not explicitly disclose a second seam between the shell and the bottom cap created by laser welding. However, Cormack discloses affixing components to the shell (“affixed to the FPCB”, ¶ 0012) and that components may be affixed by means of laser welding (“laser welding”, ¶ 0012). There was a benefit to using laser welding in that it creates a secure bond. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use laser welding to affix the bottom cap to the shell for this benefit. The laser welding would therefore create a second seam (the weld line) between the shell and the bottom cap. In such a configuration, the first seam and the second seam form the chamber by sealing a portion of the shell between the first seam and the second seam.
Claims 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cormack (US 2015/0077981 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Cormack discloses a vaporizer device (“personal vaporizer”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0066) comprising:
a shell (combination of “non-FPCB shells or casings 70” and “FPCB shell 24”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0066) including
a chamber (chamber formed by “array 92”, Fig. 16, ¶ 0071), the chamber having an anode, an anode current collector, a cathode, a cathode current collector, a separator, and an electrolyte disposed therein (“current collector, anode, cathode, electrolyte, and separator”, ¶ 0022, 0079, where there is a separate cathode current collector and anode current collector, “the anode and cathode can be printed onto current collectors that are themselves printed directly onto the FPCB 24 substrate”, ¶ 0077), the chamber including the anode, the anode current collector, the cathode, the cathode current collector, and the electrolyte forming a battery (“battery”, ¶ 0022, 0079) serving as a power source (“power source”, ¶ 0071) for the vaporizer device; and
a bottom cap (“OLED 99”, Fig. 16, ¶ 0073) coupled to the shell at a distal end of the battery (Fig. 16), the distal end opposite of a proximal end of the battery (Fig. 16); and
a plug (“core” formed from a “material attached to the FPCB 24 substrate at its edge 94”, ¶ 0076) to inhibit the electrolyte form escaping the chamber through the bottom cap (as the plug covers surfaces of the chamber containing electrolyte it acts as a physical barrier which prevents electrolyte from escaping).
Cormack does not explicitly disclose that the bottom cap is coupled to the shell using welding. However, Cormack discloses affixing components to the shell (“affixed to the FPCB”, ¶ 0012) and that components may be affixed by means of welding (“laser welding”, ¶ 0012). There was a benefit to using welding in that it creates a secure bond. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use welding to affix the bottom cap to the shell for this benefit. In the resulting configuration, as the plug is attached to the chamber which is attached to the shell which is welded to the bottom cap, the plug is welded to the bottom cap (indirectly welded via the chamber and the shell).
Regarding claim 24, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 23, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the shell comprises a distal end (“distal end 30”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0054) and a proximal end (“proximal end 28”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0054), wherein the distal end is opposite to the proximal end (Fig. 15), and wherein the shell further comprises an end cap (“distal end seal bulkhead 22”, Fig. 15, ¶ 0051) coupled to the distal end (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 25, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 23, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the separator is interposed between the anode and cathode (“separator . . . will be applied between the anode and cathode”, ¶ 0077), and wherein the anode, the cathode, and the separator are wound to form a jellyroll (“FPCB 24 substrate is rolled up similar to a ‘jelly roll’”, ¶ 0076).
Regarding claim 26, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 25, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the jellyroll is inserted into the shell through an opening (“aperture 81”, Fig. 14, ¶ 0068) in a distal end (“distal end 80”, Fig. 14, ¶ 0068) of the shell (“FPCB 24 can be inserted into casing 70 through aperture 81”, ¶ 0068).
Regarding claim 27, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 23, as stated above. Cormack further discloses that the battery further comprises one or more electrical contacts (“The FPCB shell 24 can employ electrical contacts”, ¶ 0067).
Regarding claim 28, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 27, as stated above. Cormack further discloses wherein the one or more electrical contacts include a positive terminal (“anode”, ¶ 0077) and negative terminal (“cathode”, ¶ 0077).
Regarding claim 29, Cormack discloses the vaporizer device of claim 23, as stated above. As discussed in the rejection of claim 23, welding the shell and the bottom cap would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. As such, the welding would create a second seam (the weld line) formed between the shell and the bottom cap.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.G.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747