DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A, Sub-species 5a, in the reply filed on 06/24/2024 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “there would not be any serious burden for the search and examination of all claims in the instant patent application.” This is not found persuasive because each of the identified species and associated sub-species require different structural and functional relationships between the different claimed and disclosed elements and are not obvious variants of each other. Instead, each species and associated sub-species requires a separate search, including employing different search strategies and search queries, and consideration of the prior art, as a prior art that applies to one species/sub-species may not apply to another species/sub-species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
In view of applicant’s election of Species A, Sub-species 5a, the status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 10 and 15-22 are withdrawn as directed to non-elected species/sub-species.
Claims 1-9 and 11-14 are currently pending and considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitations “wherein said base may rotate about a central axis relative to said anchor extension” and “wherein said spring bar may retain said first indexed mating surface in a moveably fixed position relative to said second indexed mating surface.” The use of the term “may” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the recited structures perform the claimed functions or if the claimed functions are optional. To overcome this rejection, the Office suggests amending “may” in each limitation to --is configured to--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 9, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hunt (US Patent 2,509,502).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hunt discloses an exercise anchor (the Office notes the hanger attachment of Hunt is capable of functioning as an exercise anchor) comprising:
a base (base plate 14 and cap portion 16) comprising a first end (towards hook 12) and a second end (at cap portion 16);
a band catch (hook 12) comprising a base end (end attached to base plate 14) and a free end (see Fig. 1), said base end in communication with said first end of said base (base end of hook 12 attached at first end of base plate 14); and
a hinge pin aperture (opening 17) passing through said base in proximity to said second end of said base (opening 17 passes through second end/cap portion 16);
wherein said free end of said band catch is positioned about said base to define a band catch aperture disposed between said band catch and said base (i.e., aperture or opening formed between hook 12 and base plate 14).
Regarding claim 2, Hunt further discloses wherein said band catch comprises a hook of smooth curvature (see hook 12) and wherein said free end of said band catch is disposed above said base (free end of hook 12 is capable of being disposed above base plate 14 when the base plate 14 is attached to a horizontally aligned door hinge).
Regarding claim 4, Hunt further discloses wherein said base (14, 16) comprises one or more planar sections (planar top and bottom of cap portion 16) to interface with a hinge or hinge pin head (see Fig. 1, hinge pin 8 passes through cap portion 16, and cap portion 16 interfaces with hinge pin head/knob 18).
Regarding claim 5, Hunt further discloses wherein said band catch (hook 12) comprises a cross section having a perimeter comprising a smooth curvature (see rounded cross sectional shape of hook 12 in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 9, Hunt further discloses an upper surface of said base (surface of base plate 14 to which hook 12 is attached) and a lower surface of said base (surface of base plate 14 that contacts hinge knuckles 7; the Office notes the terms “upper” and “lower” merely imply directionality, and the respective surfaces of the base plate are capable of being positioned as “upper” and “lower” surfaces when the base plate 14 is attached to a horizontally aligned door hinge);
a lower anchor brace (in the broadest reasonable interpretation, side edges 15 of base plate 14 form a lower anchor brace) in communication with said lower surface of said base (side edges 15 are extension of upper and lower surface of base plate 14); and
said lower anchor brace configured with a lower radius adapted to engage at least one knuckle of a hinge leaf to support said exercise anchor under load (see Figs. 1-2, radius of curvature of side edges 15 engages with knuckles 7 of hinge leaves/flange plates 6, thereby supporting the anchor when a load is applied thereto).
Regarding independent claim 11, Hunt discloses an exercise anchor (the Office notes the hanger attachment of Hunt is capable of functioning as an exercise anchor) comprising:
a base (base plate 14) comprising a first end (towards hook 14) and a second end (towards cap portion 16);
a band catch (hook 12) comprising a base end (end attached to base plate 14) and a free end (see Fig. 1), said base end in communication with said first end of said base (base end of hook 12 attached at first end of base plate 14); and
an anchor extension (cap portion 16, see Fig. 2) in communication with said second end of said base (cap portion 16 extends from base plate 14);
wherein said free end of said band catch is positioned about said base to define a band catch aperture disposed between said band catch and said base (i.e., aperture or opening formed between hook 12 and base plate 14).
Regarding claim 12, Hunt further discloses wherein said anchor extension (16) comprises an integrated hinge pin (8; the Office notes the term “integrated” is defined by Dictionary.com as “combining or coordinating separate elements so as to provide a harmonious, interrelated whole” or “organized or structured so that constituent units function cooperatively,” and therefore as the hinge pin 8 of Hunt is combined with the anchor extension 16 to form the functioning anchor/attachment, hinge pin 8 is considered integrated with anchor extension 16);
said integrated hinge pin further comprising an upper end (at knob 18) and a lower end (opposite knob 18), said upper end of said integrated hinge pin in communication with said base (via attachment with the anchor extension/cap portion 16; see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Patent 2,509,502) and further in view of Fetters (US Patent 1,847,937).
Hunt teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above.
Regarding claim 3, Hunt does not teach a countersink about said hinge pin aperture (17), said countersink adapted to fit a head of a hinge pin such that said head of said hinge pin is flush with the surface of said base (14, 16) about said hinge pin aperture.
Fetters teaches a base (bushing 19) configured to attach to a hinge via a hinge pin (25), the base comprising a hinge pin aperture (tapering socket 27) with a countersink (i.e. tapering) about said hinge pin aperture (see Fig. 6), the countersink adapted to fit a head (26) of the hinge pin (25) such that the head of the hinge pin is flush with the surface of the base about the hinge pin aperture (see Figs. 1 and 4; head 26 sits flush within socket 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge pin aperture of the base of Hunt to include a countersink such that a hinge pin head sits flush therein, as is similarly taught by Fetters, for the purpose of creating a smooth connection between the hinge pin aperture and an associated hinge pin and to achieve the same predictable results of securely connecting the base to a hinge via a hinge pin inserted through the hinge pin aperture. The Office notes that countersinks are well known in engineering to create a flush and smooth surface between two connecting parts.
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Patent 2,509,502) and further in view of Cassidy (US Publication 2005/0102800).
Hunt teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above.
Regarding claims 6, Hunt further teaches a hinge pin (8) comprising an upper end (at knob 18) and a lower end (opposite knob 18) that is retained in a hinge plate (flange plates 6 with intermeshed knuckle portions 7), but does not teach a lower cap lock, wherein said lower cap lock is in communication with said lower end of said hinge pin to retain said hinge pin in the hinge plate.
Cassidy teaches a hinge pin (8) having an upper end (9) and a lower end (11), and a lower cap lock (10), wherein said lower cap lock is in communication with said lower end of said hinge pin (via corresponding threads, see Fig. 1) to retain said hinge pin in a hinge plate (1, see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge pin of Hunt to include a threaded lower end and threaded lower cap lock, as is similarly taught by Cassidy, for the purpose of securely retaining the hinge pin in the hinge plate when the exercise anchor/hanger attachment is attached to the hinge plate, thereby preventing unwanted or unexpected movement of the hinge pin.
Regarding claim 13, Hunt does not teach a lower cap lock in communication with said lower end of said integrated hinge pin to retain said hinge pin in the hinge plate.
Cassidy teaches a hinge pin (8) having an upper end (9) and a lower end (11), and a lower cap lock (10), wherein said lower cap lock is in communication with said lower end of said hinge pin (via corresponding threads, see Fig. 1) to retain said hinge pin in a hinge plate (1, see Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge pin of Hunt to include a threaded lower end and threaded lower cap lock, as is similarly taught by Cassidy, for the purpose of securely retaining the hinge pin in the hinge plate when the exercise anchor/hanger attachment is attached to the hinge plate, thereby preventing unwanted or unexpected movement of the hinge pin.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Patent 2,509,502) and further in view of Ranilovich (US Publication 2007/0261207).
Hunt teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above.
Regarding claim 7, Hunt does not teach one or more lateral extensions having a first end and a second end in communication with said base (14, 16) of said exercise anchor, wherein said one or more lateral extensions of said base protrude farther from said base at said first end than at said second end.
Ranilovich teaches a base (24) that is configured to be attached to a hinge assembly (10), and further teaches one or more lateral extensions (first and second legs 36, 38) having a first end (end towards long edge of reinforcing portion 44) and a second end (end connected to base/seating portion 24) in communication with said base (see Figs. 2-3), wherein said one or more lateral extensions of said base protrude farther from said base at said first end than at said second end (see Figs. 1-2, each leg 36, 38 protrudes from second end to first end away from base/seating portion 24, such that the first end protrudes a greater distance from the base/seating portion 24 than the second end).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base of Hunt to further include one or more lateral extensions protruding from the base, as is similarly taught by Ranilovich, for the purpose of allowing a user to attach the exercise anchor/hanger attachment to a door hinge between the door and the door frame such that the door remains open by engagement of the lateral extensions with the door and door frame, thereby increasing the versatility of the exercise anchor/hanger attachment of Hunt (see Fig. 1 of Ranilovich; par. 20 “the outwardly flared leg portions 38 and 40, respectively abut locations associated with the inner door edge 20 and door jamb 22 (again FIG. 1) in order to hold open the door”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt (US Patent 2,509,502).
Hunt teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above.
Regarding claim 8, Hunt does not teach one or more additional band catches, each of said one or more additional band catches comprising a secondary base end and a secondary free end, each of said secondary base ends in communication with said first end of said base; wherein each of said one or more additional band catches are offset from said band catch about a central axis of said base and each of said secondary free ends of each of said one or more additional band catches are positioned about said base to define one or more secondary band catch apertures disposed between said secondary free ends and said base.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the exercise anchor/hanger attachment of Hunt to include one or more additional band catches, each comprising a secondary base end in communication with said first end of said base and a secondary free end, wherein each of said one or more additional band catches are offset from said band catch about a central axis of said base and each of said secondary free ends of each of said one or more additional band catches are positioned about said base to define one or more secondary band catch apertures disposed between said secondary free ends and said base, through mere duplication of parts. The court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Here, providing multiple band catches would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of providing multiple attachment points on the exercise anchor/hanger attachment, thereby allowing a user to attach multiple items to the same anchor/attachment as desired.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or reasonably suggest an exercise anchor in combination with all of the structural and functional limitations, and further comprising a spring bar disposed between said anchor base extension and said base, a first indexed mating surface on said base, and a second indexed mating surface on said anchor extension, wherein said base may rotate about a central axis relative to said anchor extension and wherein said spring bar may retain said first indexed mating surface in a moveably fixed position relative to said second indexed mating surface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Krodel (US Patent 1,208,986) teaches a hook attachment for a hinge including a lug (11) that is configured to rest against a knuckle of a hinge plate.
Kristensen (US Patent 2,270,802), Szabo (US Patent 3,044,630), Scott et al. (US Publication 2018/0180372), and Atalla et al. (US Patent 10,415,744) each teach a hook attachment for a hinge that is connected to the hinge via a hinge pin inserted through a hinge pin aperture.
/KATHLEEN M FISK/Examiner, Art Unit 3784