DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 30th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-20 and 22-23 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a reset mechanism in claim 3, ln. 9.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. For examination purposes, it will be interpreted that a reset mechanism is a spring or a magnet based on Paragraphs 0009 and 0010 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 12, 14-17, 19-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cacka et al. (US Patent 10,265,710) in view of Peng et al. (US Patent 8,418,939).
Regarding claim 1, Cacka discloses a showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2, 4), comprising:
an upper cover (130, Fig. 7), a lower cover (134, Fig. 7), and a middle plate (132, Fig. 7) disposed between the upper cover (130, shown in Fig. 7) and the lower cover (134, shown in Fig. 7);
wherein a bottom portion (bottom surface of jet plate 132, shown in Figs. 7, 10A-10B) of the middle plate (132, Figs. 7, 10A-10B) defines a first water cavity (interpreting as unfilled space within a mass, 246 in Fig. 10A, 288 in Fig. 10B) and a second water cavity (244, 248 in Fig. 10A, 286, 290 in Fig. 10B) that is independent from the first water cavity (246, 288, shown in Figs. 10A-10B);
wherein the middle plate (132, Figs. 7, 10A-10B) defines a first water inlet channel (254, 488, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) in fluid communication with the first water cavity (246, 288, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a second mode chamber 488 that is in fluid communication with second mode chamber 482 and flows through the second mode apertures 254 that is included within the second mode channel 246, shown in Figs. 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 58 to Col. 15, Ln. 2) and a second water inlet channel (252, 256, 486, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) in fluid communication with the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a first mode chamber 486 that is in fluid communication with first mode chamber 480 and flows through the first mode apertures 256 that is included within the first mode channel 244, shown in Figs. 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 38-50), and wherein at least a portion of the first water inlet channel (254, 488, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) surrounds the second water inlet channel (256, 486, annotated and shown in Figs. 8, 10A) in a radial direction (interpreting as placed like a radius, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, second mode chamber 488 surrounds first mode chamber 486 along a radius with respect to the center of the showerhead 100, shown in Fig. 8) of the middle plate (132, Figs. 7, 10A-10B) such that the first water inlet channel (254, 488, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) is located outward from the second water inlet channel (256, 486, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) along the radial direction (shown in Fig. 8);
wherein the lower cover (134, Figs. 5, 7) includes a first water outlet (108, Fig. 5) in fluid communication with the first water cavity (246, 288, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a second mode chamber 488 that is in fluid communication with second mode chamber 482 and flows through the second mode apertures 254 that is included within the second mode channel 246 out of the nozzle group 108 of the face plate 134, shown in Figs. 5, 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 58 to Col. 15, Ln. 2) and a second water outlet (106, Fig. 4) in fluid communication with the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a first mode chamber 486 that is in fluid communication with first mode chamber 480 and flows through the first mode apertures 256 that is included within the second mode channel 244 out of the nozzle group 106 of the face plate 134, shown in Figs. 4-5, 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 38-50),
wherein the first water cavity (246, 288, Figs. 10A-10B) includes two water cavities (annotated in Fig. 10A) disposed on opposing sides of the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A); and
wherein the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) includes a first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) that extends in between the two water cavities (annotated and shown in Fig. 10A), and a second portion (248, Fig. 10A) that surrounds the outsides of the two water cavities (annotated and shown in Fig. 10A), wherein the second water inlet channel (252, 256, 486, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) is fluidly coupled to the second portion (248, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) by the first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) such that the first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) forms a communication channel (234, shown in Fig. 10A), and the communication channel (234, Fig. 10A) extends laterally (interpreting as extending from side to side, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) and continuously (interpreting as marked by uninterrupted extension in space, time, or sequence, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) across the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A) through a center (center of jet plate 132, shown in Fig. 10A) of the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A) such that water can pass through the center of the middle plate (first mode wall 236 defines a massage channel 234 encompassing a jet structure including a plurality of jets 260a, b, and c to direct flow to the plurality of jets, shown in Fig. 10A, Col. 8, Ln. 1-22).
However, Cacka does not disclose the second water inlet channel includes a plug as claimed.
Peng teaches a showerhead (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6) includes a plug (322, Fig. 6) configured to open and close the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6) responsive to water pressure exerted on the plug (322, when water pressure is greater than elastic forces of the spring 323 connected to second seal unit 322, it causes the second seal unit 322 to slide outwards to seal second branch water inlet hole 241, Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8) within the showerhead (entire structure, Fig. 1).
Cacka and Peng are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the plug taught in Peng’s showerhead to Cacka’s showerhead, to have the motivation of creating more diverse options of changing the shower area (Peng, Col. 2, Ln. 50-54).
Regarding claim 2, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Peng further teaches when the plug (322, Fig. 6) closes the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6), water is configured to discharge from the first water outlet (232, when water pressure is less than elastic forces of the spring 323 connected to second seal unit 322, the second seal unit 322 slides outwards to seal second branch water inlet hole 241 and allows water to flow out of first branch water outlet holes 232, Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8, Col. 6, Ln. 22-36); and
when the plug (322, Fig. 6) opens the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6), water is configured to discharge from both the first water outlet (232, Fig. 6) and the second water outlet (242, as water pressure is increased to more than the elastic force of the second spring 323, it can permit second branch seal unit 322 to slide inwards to connect second water inlet hole 241 to connect with middle gravity 210 to allow flow coming out of the first branch water outlet holes 232 and second branch water outlet holes 242, Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8, Col. 6, Ln. 22-36).
With respect to claim 3, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Peng further teaches:
a bracket (side walls within second water inlet hole 241, shown in Fig. 6) disposed in the second water inlet channel (241, shown in Fig. 6), the bracket (side walls within second water inlet hole 241 next to plug 322, shown in Fig. 6) having a water inlet (top opening of the side walls within second water inlet hole 241 next to plug 322, shown in Fig. 6);
wherein the plug (322, Fig. 6) is slidably configured in the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8);
wherein, when the plug (322, Fig. 6) is in an initial state (shown in Fig. 6), the plug (322, Fig. 6) is engaged with the bracket (recessed side walls within second water inlet hole 241 next to plug 322, shown in Fig. 6) and blocks the water inlet (top opening of the recessed side walls within second water inlet hole 241 next to plug 322, shown in Fig. 6);
wherein, when the plug (322, Figs. 4, 6) is in an open state (shown in Fig. 4), the plug (322, Figs. 4, 6) is separated from the bracket (recessed side walls within second water inlet hole 241 at the top of plug 322, shown in Fig. 4) and withdrawn from the water inlet (top opening of the recessed side walls within second water inlet hole 241 at the top of plug 322, shown in Fig. 4); and
the plug (322, Fig. 6) is coupled to a reset mechanism (interpreting as a spring or a magnet, 323, Fig. 6) configured to bias the plug (322, Fig. 6) towards the initial state (when water pressure is less than the elastic forces of the second spring 323, the second seal unit 322 is in a closed state, shown in Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8).
In regards to claim 7, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 3. Peng further teaches when the water pressure exerted on the plug (322, Fig. 6) is greater than or equal to a threshold pressure value, the plug (322, Fig. 6) is configured to slide to open the water inlet (top opening of the recessed side walls within second water inlet hole 241 at the top of plug 322, when water pressure exceeds the elastic force of the spring 232 connected to second seal unit 322, it slides the second seal unit 322 to open, shown in Fig. 4, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8, Col. 6, Ln. 22-36); and
when the water pressure exerted on the plug (322, Fig. 6) is less than the threshold pressure value, the plug (322, Fig. 6) is configured to slide to block the water inlet (top opening of the recessed side walls within second water inlet hole 241 at the top of plug 322, shown in Fig. 6) via the reset mechanism (323, when water pressure is less than the elastic force of the spring 232 connected to second seal unit 322, it seals the second seal unit 322, shown in Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8, Col. 6, Ln. 22-36).
Regarding claim 8, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 3. Peng further teaches the plug (322, Fig. 6) includes a sliding rod (annotated in Fig. 6); and
the bracket (side walls within second water inlet hole 241 next to plug 322, shown in Fig. 6) includes a guide hole (space between the side walls within second water inlet hole 241 next to plug 322, annotated in Fig. 6) to receive the sliding rod (annotated and shown in Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 9, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 8. Peng further teaches a diameter of the guide hole (diameter of cross-sectional area of annotated guide hole, shown in Fig. 6) is greater than or equal to a diameter of the sliding rod (diameter of cross-sectional area of annotated sliding rod, shown in Fig. 6).
With respect to claim 10, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Cacka further teaches the second portion (248, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) is located outward from outside the first water cavity (246, 288, Figs. 10A-10B) along the radial direction of the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A).
In regards to claim 12, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Cacka further discloses the first water outlet (108, Fig. 5) is located outward from outside the second water outlet (106, Fig. 4) along the radial direction of the middle plate (132, shown in Figs. 4-5).
With respect to claim 14, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 10. Cacka further teaches the two water cavities of the first water cavity (annotated in Fig. 10A) are symmetrically positioned on the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A).
Regarding claim 15, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Peng further teaches the plug (322, Fig. 6) includes a radial seal (322b, 322b is a seal, shown in Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 21-29).
Regarding claim 16, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Peng further teaches the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6) includes a radial seal (322b, 322b is a seal, shown in Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 21-29).
In regards to claim 17, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Cacka further discloses the lower cover (134, Fig. 7) includes a plurality of first water outlets (outer water outlets, shown in Fig. 7) in fluid communication with the first water cavity (246, 288, water flows from second mode channel 246 and 288 to apertures 254 which flow through the respective mode channels of the face plate 134, Figs. 10A-10B, Col. 8, Ln. 45-67, Col. 9, Ln. 19-40) and a plurality of second water outlets (inner water outlets, shown in Fig. 7) in fluid communication with the second water cavity (244, 290, water flows from first mode channel 244 and 290 to apertures 256 which flow through the respective mode channels of the face plate 134, Figs. 10A-10B, Col. 8, Ln. 45-67, Col. 9, Ln. 19-40).
Regarding claim 19, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Cacka further teaches the middle plate (132, Fig. 10A) includes a separating rib (240, 238, Fig. 10A) between the first water cavity (246, 288, Figs. 10A-10B) and the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B).
Regarding claim 20, Cacka discloses a method (Col. 1, Ln. 54 to Col. 2, Ln. 45), comprising:
providing a showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2, 4, Col. 1, Ln. 54 to Col. 2, Ln. 45), the showerhead (100, Figs. 1-2, 4) including:
an upper cover (130, Fig. 7), a lower cover (134, Fig. 7), and a middle plate (132, Fig. 7) disposed between the upper cover (130, shown in Fig. 7) and the lower cover (134, shown in Fig. 7);
wherein a bottom portion (bottom surface of jet plate 132, shown in Figs. 7, 10A-10B) of the middle plate (132, Figs. 7, 10A-10B) defines a first water cavity (interpreting as unfilled space within a mass, 246 in Fig. 10A, 288 in Fig. 10B) and a second water cavity (244 in Fig. 10A, 290 in Fig. 10B) that is independent from the first water cavity (246, 288, shown in Figs. 10A-10B);
wherein the middle plate (132, Figs. 7, 10A-10B) defines a first water inlet channel (254, 488, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) in fluid communication with the first water cavity (246, 288, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a second mode chamber 488 that is in fluid communication with second mode chamber 482 and flows through the second mode apertures 254 that is included within the second mode channel 246, shown in Figs. 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 58 to Col. 15, Ln. 2) and a second water inlet channel (252, 256, 486, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) in fluid communication with the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a first mode chamber 486 that is in fluid communication with first mode chamber 480 and flows through the first mode apertures 256 that is included within the first mode channel 244, shown in Figs. 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 38-50), and wherein at least a portion of the first water inlet channel (254, 488, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) surrounds the second water inlet channel (256, 486, annotated and shown in Figs. 8, 10A) in a radial direction (interpreting as placed like a radius, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, second mode chamber 488 surrounds first mode chamber 486 along a radius with respect to the center of the showerhead 100, shown in Fig. 8) of the middle plate (132, Figs. 7, 10A-10B) such that the first water inlet channel (254, 488, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) is located outward from the second water inlet channel (256, 486, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) along the radial direction (shown in Fig. 8); and
wherein the lower cover (134, Figs. 5, 7) includes a first water outlet (108, Fig. 5) in fluid communication with the first water cavity (246, 288, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a second mode chamber 488 that is in fluid communication with second mode chamber 482 and flows through the second mode apertures 254 that is included within the second mode channel 246 out of the nozzle group 108 of the face plate 134, shown in Figs. 5, 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 58 to Col. 15, Ln. 2) and a second water outlet (106, Fig. 4) in fluid communication with the second water cavity (244, 290, combination of jet plate 132 and face plate 134 defines a first mode chamber 486 that is in fluid communication with first mode chamber 480 and flows through the first mode apertures 256 that is included within the second mode channel 244 out of the nozzle group 106 of the face plate 134, shown in Figs. 4-5, 10A-10B, Col. 14, Ln. 38-50);
wherein the first water cavity (246, 288, Figs. 10A-10B) includes two water cavities (annotated in Fig. 10A) disposed on opposing sides of the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A); and
wherein the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) includes a first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) that extends in between the two water cavities (annotated and shown in Fig. 10A), and a second portion (248, Fig. 10A) that surrounds the outsides of the two water cavities (annotated and shown in Fig. 10A), wherein the second water inlet channel (252, 256, 486, annotated in Fig. 8, Fig. 10A) is fluidly coupled to the second portion (248, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) by the first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Fig. 10A-10B) such that the first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Figs. 10A-10B) forms a communication channel (234, shown in Fig. 10A), and the communication channel (234, Fig. 10A) extends laterally (interpreting as extending from side to side, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) and continuously (interpreting as marked by uninterrupted extension in space, time, or sequence, Merriam-Webster Dictionary) across the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A) through a center (center of jet plate 132, shown in Fig. 10A) of the middle plate (132, shown in Fig. 10A) such that water can pass through the center of the middle plate (first mode wall 236 defines a massage channel 234 encompassing a jet structure including a plurality of jets 260a, b, and c to direct flow to the plurality of jets, shown in Fig. 10A, Col. 8, Ln. 1-22).
However, Cacka does not disclose the second water inlet channel includes a plug as claimed.
Peng teaches a showerhead (entire structure, Fig. 1) comprising the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6) includes a plug (322, Fig. 6) configured to open and close the second water inlet channel (241, Fig. 6) responsive to water pressure exerted on the plug (322, when water pressure is greater than elastic forces of the spring 323 connected to second seal unit 322, it causes the second seal unit 322 to slide outwards to seal second branch water inlet hole 241, Fig. 6, Col. 5, Ln. 60 to Col. 6, Ln. 8) within the showerhead (entire structure, Fig. 1).
Cacka and Peng are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the plug taught in Peng’s showerhead to Cacka’s showerhead, to have the motivation of creating more diverse options of changing the shower area (Peng, Col. 2, Ln. 50-54).
With respect to claim 22, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Peng further teaches the plug (322, Fig. 6) is located at a radial center (shown in Fig. 6) of the showerhead (shown in Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 23, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 1. Cacka further discloses the first portion (244, 250a, 250b, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Fig. 10A-10B), the second portion (248, Fig. 10A) of the second water cavity (244, 248, 286, 290, Fig. 10A-10B), and the communication channel (234, Fig. 10A) form one, continuous fluid pathway (interpreting as marked by uninterrupted extension in space, time, or sequence, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, first mode channel 244, third mode channel 248, and massage channel 234 each form a path that is an uninterrupted extension in space within jet plate 132, shown in Fig. 10A).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cacka et al. (US Patent 10,265,710) in view of Peng et al. (US Patent 8,418,939) as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (US 20170259279 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 3. However, Cacka and Peng do not teach the reset mechanism comprises a first magnet and a second magnet as claimed.
Lin teaches a showerhead (10, Fig. 1) comprising the reset mechanism (40, 22, Fig. 1) comprises a first magnet (41, Figs. 1, 4) coupled to the bracket (42, shown in Figs. 1, 4) and a second magnet (22, Figs. 1, 4) coupled to the plug (21, shown in Figs. 1, 4); and
the second magnet (22, Figs. 1, 4) is configured to attract the first magnet (21, Figs. 1, 4, Paragraph 0045).
Cacka, Peng, and Lin are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of the reset mechanism taught in Lin’s showerhead to Cacka’s showerhead, as modified by Peng, to have the motivation of enabling better control of the water flow (Lin, Paragraph 0006).
In regards to claim 5, Cacka, as modified by Peng and Lin, discloses the showerhead according to claim 4. Lin further teaches the first magnet (41, Figs. 1, 4) and the second magnet (22, Figs. 1, 4) are both annular (shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0053).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cacka et al. (US Patent 10,265,710) in view of Peng et al. (US Patent 8,418,939) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Miura et al. (US Patent 7,537,175).
In regards to claim 18, Cacka, as modified by Peng, discloses the showerhead according to claim 17. However, Cacka and Peng do not teach an amount of the plurality of first water outlets is less than an amount of the plurality of second water outlets.
Miura teaches a showerhead (121, Fig. 7) comprising an amount of the plurality of first water outlets (214, Fig. 7) is less than an amount of the plurality of second water outlets (212, shown in Fig. 7).
Cacka, Peng, and Miura are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of showerheads. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the teaching of the plurality of the first water outlets and the plurality of the second water outlets taught in Miura’s showerhead to Cacka’s showerhead, as modified by Peng, to have the motivation of having a showerhead capable of suppressing water dripping after stoppage of water discharge and an aesthetic streamline when water pressure is low (Miura, Col. 2, Ln. 34-39).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14-20 and 22-23, with respect to Chan, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In response to applicant’s argument that Cacka does not disclose a communication channel, see Remarks, pg. 9, Cacka does disclose a communication channel, as mapped out as reference number 234 in the 103 rejections for claims 1 and 20 above.
Conclusion
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752