DETAILED ACTION
Amendments
Applicants’ amendments to the claims filed 9/16/2025 have been entered. Any objection\rejections from the previous office action filed 3/17/2025 not addressed below has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular in claim 1 line 11 the recitation of “therapeutically radiolabeled cancer targeting agent” and the large Markush group that follows do not agree with the earlier limitation of ”therapeutically radiolabeled chelator conjugated cancer targeting agents”, note numerous compounds in the Markush group do not contain a chelator. The examiner suggests simply deleting the large Markush group of radiolabeled cancer targeting agents.
Additionally in claim 1, the acronym “p-SCN-Bn-DOTA” is undefined in the claim and the specification rendering metes and bounds of the claim indefinite. An undefined acronym is considered indefinite as acronyms can have several meanings absent a definition defining it, at least for the first instance.
Claims 2-12 incorporate the indefiniteness by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boghaert et al. (US 2007/0231333 A1) in view of Aknova et al. “Physicochemical Evaluation of Lyophilized Formulation of p-SCN-Bn-DOTA- and p-SCN-Bn-DTPA-rituximab for NHL Radio Immunotherapy”, Iranian Journal of Pharmaceutical Research (2016), 15 (3): 295-302, this new rejection was necessitated by amendment.
Boghaert teaches cancer therapy, including Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NFL) compositions for human subjects including radiolabeled anti-5T4 antibody (includes alpha and beta particles, meeting claims 2-3) with chelator to mediate binding of the antibody to the radioisotope and discloses combinations of the anti-5T4 antibody with other antibodies including anti-CD47 antibodies. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, [0005], [0007], [0121], [0211]-[0215].
Boghart while teaching use of metal chelators to bind the antibody does not teach use of p-SCN-Bn-DOTA as recited in claim 1.
Ackova is used for its disclosure on use of p-SCN-Bn-DOTA immunoconjugates in radio-therapy of NHL. See entire disclosure, especially abstract, Fig 1 and conclusion on page 301.
Since Boghaert already teaches use of metal chelates to mediate binding of the antibody to the radioisotope one of ordinary skill would have a very high expectation of success in substituting the metal chelate p-SCN-Bn-DOTA of Acknova. Reason to make such a modification stems from the notion that the combination of art known elements that, when combined, do no more than serve their art-recognized functions is obvious. Thus the claimed invention would have been prima facie obvious since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the new rejection above. Applicants assert that Boghart does not teach p-SCN-Bn-DOTA, however as noted above such a feature would be obvious when the primary reference is considered in view of Ackova.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES W ROGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618