DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 04/21/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 13, 25, and 30 are amended. New claim 50 is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the presented argument that prior art of record Lei et al. (US 2025/0254682): “describes FDRA fields that correspond to frequency ranges-not to individual carriers-such that multiple carriers in Lei within the same frequency range would share a single FDRA field. [And] For at least these reasons, Lei does not teach or suggest, ‘each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions,’ as recited in independent claim 1.” First, there is no requirement in the independent claims for the FDRA fields to be assigned to carries within the same frequency range. Additionally, Lei describes in Lei ¶ 0109 that the resource allocation types are configured for the carriers “Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges.” Finally, even though Lei identifies a potential problem with utilizing multiple FDRA fields to schedule for each of the scheduled carriers in a dci format, Lei still teaches utilizing multiple FDRA fields to schedule for RBs assigned on scheduled carriers: “In some embodiments of the present disclosure, in the case that a single DCI format can schedule multiple carriers for downlink or uplink transmission, one or more indicators (e.g., one or more FDRA fields) of the DCI format may indicate the RBs assigned on the scheduled carriers” (Lei ¶ 0096) and “For the configured carriers on different frequency bands, such as inter-band carrier aggregation, multiple FDRA fields are required with each FDRA field corresponding to a corresponding frequency band. Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency bands” (Lei ¶ 0099).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 25, 30, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2017/0105233), hereinafter Zhang in further view of Lei (US 2025/0254682), hereinafter Lei.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches: An apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one processor; memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the memory: “The apparatus may include a processor, memory in electronic communication with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory” (Zhang ¶ 0011) and executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive a control message scheduling multi-cell transmissions over a set of carriers: “Each carrier may be used to transmit control information (e.g., reference signals, control channels, etc.), overhead information, data, etc. A UE 115 may communicate with a single base station 105 utilizing multiple carriers, and may also communicate with multiple base stations simultaneously on different carriers” (Zhang ¶ 0064), at least two carriers in the set of carriers being associated with different transmissions of the multi-cell transmissions: “In some examples, one carrier is designated as the primary carrier, or primary component carrier (PCC), for a UE 115, which may be served by a primary cell (PCell)” (Zhang ¶ 0065) and “Additional carriers may be designated as secondary carriers, or secondary component carriers (SCC), which may be served by secondary cells (SCells)” (Zhang ¶ 0065).
Zhang does not teach: the control message comprising separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers, each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions, and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured and are different for at least two FDRA fields of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers; and communicate the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields.
Regarding Claim 1, Lei teaches: the control message comprising separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers: “For the configured carriers on different frequency ranges, multiple FDRA fields are required with each FDRA field corresponding to a corresponding frequency range. Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109), each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions: “the number of FDRA fields in the DCI format may be dependent on the number of frequency ranges for the configured carriers of the UE. The frequency ranges may include FR1 and FR2 or FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2. FR1 may include a frequency range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz. FR2 may include a frequency range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz” (Lei ¶ 0109), and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured and are different for at least two FDRA fields of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers: each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type for the carrier on FR1 and FR2: “Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109); and communicate the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields: “a plurality of CCs (e.g., including but not limited to CCs 231-234 in FIG. 2) may be configured for a UE. It should be understood that the sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) of the carriers configured for a UE may be the same or different. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index” (Lei ¶ 0033) and “In operation 715, the BS may transmit downlink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules downlink transmissions, or receive uplink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules uplink transmissions.” (Lei ¶ 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang with Lei for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead. According to Lei: “In some embodiments, a separate FDRA field for each of the scheduled carriers in a DCI format may be employed. However, this would lead to huge signaling overhead in the scheduling DCI. Embodiments of the present application propose improved solutions for indicating the FDRAs for the scheduled carriers, which can reduce the overhead” (Lei ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang teaches: An apparatus for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: at least one processor; memory coupled with the at least one processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the at least one processor : “Base station 105-f may also include data transmission scheduler 1305, processor 1310, memory 1315, transceiver 1325” (Zhang ¶ 0135) to cause the apparatus to: transmit a control message: “The memory 1315 may store computer-readable, computer-executable software including instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to perform various functions described herein (e.g., techniques for DL scheduling and UL scheduling in a shared RF spectrum band, etc.” (Zhang ¶ 0135) scheduling multi-cell downlink transmissions for a user equipment (UE) over a set of carriers: “Each carrier may be used to transmit control information (e.g., reference signals, control channels, etc.), overhead information, data, etc. A UE 115 may communicate with a single base station 105 utilizing multiple carriers, and may also communicate with multiple base stations simultaneously on different carriers” (Zhang ¶ 0064), at least two carriers in the set of carriers being associated with different transmissions of the multi-cell transmissions: “In some examples, one carrier is designated as the primary carrier, or primary component carrier (PCC), for a UE 115, which may be served by a primary cell (PCell)” (Zhang ¶ 0065) and “Additional carriers may be designated as secondary carriers, or secondary component carriers (SCC), which may be served by secondary cells (SCells)” (Zhang ¶ 0065).
Zhang does not teach: the control message indicating separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers, each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured for each FDRA field of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers; and communicate the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields.
Regarding Claim 13, Lei teaches: the control message comprising separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers: “For the configured carriers on different frequency ranges, multiple FDRA fields are required with each FDRA field corresponding to a corresponding frequency range. Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109), each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions: “the number of FDRA fields in the DCI format may be dependent on the number of frequency ranges for the configured carriers of the UE. The frequency ranges may include FR1 and FR2 or FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2. FR1 may include a frequency range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz. FR2 may include a frequency range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz” (Lei ¶ 0109), and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured and are different for at least two FDRA fields of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers: each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type for the carrier on FR1 and FR2: “Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109); and communicate the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields: “a plurality of CCs (e.g., including but not limited to CCs 231-234 in FIG. 2) may be configured for a UE. It should be understood that the sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) of the carriers configured for a UE may be the same or different. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index” (Lei ¶ 0033) and “In operation 715, the BS may transmit downlink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules downlink transmissions, or receive uplink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules uplink transmissions.” (Lei ¶ 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang with Lei for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead. According to Lei: “In some embodiments, a separate FDRA field for each of the scheduled carriers in a DCI format may be employed. However, this would lead to huge signaling overhead in the scheduling DCI. Embodiments of the present application propose improved solutions for indicating the FDRAs for the scheduled carriers, which can reduce the overhead” (Lei ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 25, Zhang teaches: A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a control message scheduling multi-cell transmissions over a set of carriers: “Each carrier may be used to transmit control information (e.g., reference signals, control channels, etc.), overhead information, data, etc. A UE 115 may communicate with a single base station 105 utilizing multiple carriers, and may also communicate with multiple base stations simultaneously on different carriers” (Zhang ¶ 0064), at least two carriers in the set of carriers being associated with different transmissions of the multi-cell transmissions: “In some examples, one carrier is designated as the primary carrier, or primary component carrier (PCC), for a UE 115, which may be served by a primary cell (PCell)” (Zhang ¶ 0065) and “Additional carriers may be designated as secondary carriers, or secondary component carriers (SCC), which may be served by secondary cells (SCells)” (Zhang ¶ 0065).
Zhang does not explicitly teach: the control message comprising separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers, each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured for each FDRA field of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers; and communicating the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields.
Regarding Claim 25, Lei teaches: the control message comprising separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers: “For the configured carriers on different frequency ranges, multiple FDRA fields are required with each FDRA field corresponding to a corresponding frequency range. Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109), each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions: “the number of FDRA fields in the DCI format may be dependent on the number of frequency ranges for the configured carriers of the UE. The frequency ranges may include FR1 and FR2 or FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2. FR1 may include a frequency range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz. FR2 may include a frequency range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz” (Lei ¶ 0109), and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured and are different for at least two FDRA fields of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers: each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type for the carrier on FR1 and FR2: “Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109); and communicate the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields: “a plurality of CCs (e.g., including but not limited to CCs 231-234 in FIG. 2) may be configured for a UE. It should be understood that the sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) of the carriers configured for a UE may be the same or different. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index” (Lei ¶ 0033) and “In operation 715, the BS may transmit downlink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules downlink transmissions, or receive uplink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules uplink transmissions.” (Lei ¶ 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang with Lei for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead. According to Lei: “In some embodiments, a separate FDRA field for each of the scheduled carriers in a DCI format may be employed. However, this would lead to huge signaling overhead in the scheduling DCI. Embodiments of the present application propose improved solutions for indicating the FDRAs for the scheduled carriers, which can reduce the overhead” (Lei ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 30, Zhang teaches: A method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising: transmitting a control message scheduling multi-cell transmissions for a user equipment (UE) over a set of carriers: “Each carrier may be used to transmit control information (e.g., reference signals, control channels, etc.), overhead information, data, etc. A UE 115 may communicate with a single base station 105 utilizing multiple carriers, and may also communicate with multiple base stations simultaneously on different carriers” (Zhang ¶ 0064), at least two carriers in the set of carriers being associated with different transmissions of the multi-cell transmissions: “In some examples, one carrier is designated as the primary carrier, or primary component carrier (PCC), for a UE 115, which may be served by a primary cell (PCell)” (Zhang ¶ 0065) and “Additional carriers may be designated as secondary carriers, or secondary component carriers (SCC), which may be served by secondary cells (SCells)” (Zhang ¶ 0065).
Zhang does not explicitly teach: the control message indicating separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers, each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for the corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured for each FDRA field of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers; and communicating the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA.
Regarding Claim 30, Lei teaches: the control message comprising separate frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA) fields for each carrier of the at least two carriers: “For the configured carriers on different frequency ranges, multiple FDRA fields are required with each FDRA field corresponding to a corresponding frequency range. Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109), each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers for the multi-cell transmissions: “the number of FDRA fields in the DCI format may be dependent on the number of frequency ranges for the configured carriers of the UE. The frequency ranges may include FR1 and FR2 or FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2. FR1 may include a frequency range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz. FR2 may include a frequency range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz” (Lei ¶ 0109), and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured and are different for at least two FDRA fields of the at least two carriers in the set of carriers: each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type for the carrier on FR1 and FR2: “Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109); and communicate the multi-cell transmissions according to the separate FDRA fields: “a plurality of CCs (e.g., including but not limited to CCs 231-234 in FIG. 2) may be configured for a UE. It should be understood that the sub-carrier spacings (SCSs) of the carriers configured for a UE may be the same or different. Each of the plurality of CCs may correspond to a respective serving cell of the UE. Each serving cell may be associated with a serving cell index” (Lei ¶ 0033) and “In operation 715, the BS may transmit downlink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules downlink transmissions, or receive uplink transmissions on the plurality of RBs in the case that the DCI format schedules uplink transmissions.” (Lei ¶ 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang with Lei for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead. According to Lei: “In some embodiments, a separate FDRA field for each of the scheduled carriers in a DCI format may be employed. However, this would lead to huge signaling overhead in the scheduling DCI. Embodiments of the present application propose improved solutions for indicating the FDRAs for the scheduled carriers, which can reduce the overhead” (Lei ¶ 0036).
Regarding Claim 50, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 1.
Zhang does not teach: at least four carriers in the set of carriers are associated with different transmissions of the multi-cell transmissions, the at least two carriers included in the at least four carriers, and the control message comprises separate FDRA fields for each carrier of the at least four carriers, each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least four carriers, and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured for at least four FDRA fields.
Regarding Claim 50, Lei teaches: at least four carriers in the set of carriers are associated with different transmissions of the multi-cell transmissions, the at least two carriers included in the at least four carriers: “instead of using four DCI formats to respectively schedule four transmissions (e.g., transmissions 221-224 in FIG. 2) on four carriers (e.g., CCs 231-234), a BS may transmit a single DCI format 211 to schedule the four transmissions on the four carriers” (Lei ¶ 0034), and the control message comprises separate FDRA fields for each carrier of the at least four carriers: “the number of FDRA fields in the DCI format may be dependent on the number of frequency ranges for the configured carriers of the UE. The frequency ranges may include FR1 and FR2 or FR1, FR2-1, and FR2-2. FR1 may include a frequency range of 410 MHz-7125 MHz. FR2 may include a frequency range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz. FR2-1 may include a frequency range of 24250 MHz-52600 MHz. FR2-2 may include a frequency range of 52600 MHz-71000 MHz” (Lei ¶ 0109), each FDRA field indicating information for a set of resource block groups for a corresponding carrier of the at least four carriers, and each FDRA field comprising a FDRA type that is separately configured for at least four FDRA fields: “For the configured carriers on the same frequency range, the same FDRA field is shared among the carriers on the frequency range. That is, the same FDRA is applied to the scheduled carriers within the same frequency range. Same resource allocation type is configured for the carriers in the same frequency range. For the configured carriers on different frequency ranges, multiple FDRA fields are required with each FDRA field corresponding to a corresponding frequency range. Separate resource allocation types can be configured for the carriers in different frequency ranges” (Lei ¶ 0109).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang with Lei for the purpose of reducing signaling overhead. According to Lei: “In some embodiments, a separate FDRA field for each of the scheduled carriers in a DCI format may be employed. However, this would lead to huge signaling overhead in the scheduling DCI. Embodiments of the present application propose improved solutions for indicating the FDRAs for the scheduled carriers, which can reduce the overhead” (Lei ¶ 0036).
Claims 4, 16, 28, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Lei as applied to claims 1, 13, 25, and 30 above, and further in view of Xue et al. (US 2018/0049203) hereinafter Xue.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 1.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group.
Xue teaches: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group: “Assume that there are N.sub.RB RBs in the configured BWP, and a RBG bitmap size L.sub.n is configured, the minimum candidate RBG size P.sub.m (e.g., among pre-defined RBG size values 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc.)” (Xue ¶ 0161).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Xue for the purpose of supporting flexible multiplexing of multiple services. According to Xue: " There is limitation of the current schemes to support various resource allocation scenarios in the 5G networks. For example, it is beneficial to allow data transmission re-use some of the unused control regions to improve spectrum utilization efficiency" (Xue ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 13.
Zhang and Lei fail to teach: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group.
Regarding Claim 16, Xue teaches: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group: “Assume that there are N.sub.RB RBs in the configured BWP, and a RBG bitmap size L.sub.n is configured, the minimum candidate RBG size P.sub.m (e.g., among pre-defined RBG size values 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc.)” (Xue ¶ 0161).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Xue for the purpose of supporting flexible multiplexing of multiple services. According to Xue: " There is limitation of the current schemes to support various resource allocation scenarios in the 5G networks. For example, it is beneficial to allow data transmission re-use some of the unused control regions to improve spectrum utilization efficiency" (Xue ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 28, Zhang and Lei teach: The method of claim 25.
Zhang and Lei fail to teach: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group.
Regarding Claim 28, Xue teaches: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group: “Assume that there are N.sub.RB RBs in the configured BWP, and a RBG bitmap size L.sub.n is configured, the minimum candidate RBG size P.sub.m (e.g., among pre-defined RBG size values 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc.)” (Xue ¶ 0161).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Xue for the purpose of supporting flexible multiplexing of multiple services. According to Xue: " There is limitation of the current schemes to support various resource allocation scenarios in the 5G networks. For example, it is beneficial to allow data transmission re-use some of the unused control regions to improve spectrum utilization efficiency" (Xue ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 33, Zhang and Lei teach: The method of claim 30.
Zhang and Lei fail to teach: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group.
Regarding Claim 33, Xue teaches: wherein the set of resource block groups are associated with a resource block group size of at least one of 24, 32, 48, 64, or all resource blocks within a bandwidth part (BWP), resource blocks-per-resource block group: “Assume that there are N.sub.RB RBs in the configured BWP, and a RBG bitmap size L.sub.n is configured, the minimum candidate RBG size P.sub.m (e.g., among pre-defined RBG size values 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, etc.)” (Xue ¶ 0161).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Xue for the purpose of supporting flexible multiplexing of multiple services. According to Xue: " There is limitation of the current schemes to support various resource allocation scenarios in the 5G networks. For example, it is beneficial to allow data transmission re-use some of the unused control regions to improve spectrum utilization efficiency" (Xue ¶ 0005).
Claims 35, 37, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 as applied to claims 34, 36, 38, and 40 above, and further in view of Yi et al. (US 2023/0034987), hereinafter Yi.
Regarding Claim 35, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The method of claim 34.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type or different FDRA types.
Regarding Claim 35, Yi teaches: the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type: “For example, the wireless device may apply same set of configuration parameters for the DCI format between self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., same frequency region, same resource allocation type, same resource block group (RBG) size, same number of rate matching patterns, and/or the like)” (Yi ¶ 0278) wherein self-carrier scheduling is described as “self-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell and the scheduled cell are identical)” (Yi ¶ 0219) or different FDRA types: “A second option is listed. For example, the wireless device may apply a plurality of first configuration parameters for a DCI format of cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more first DCI formats). The wireless device may apply a plurality of second configuration parameters for the DCI format of self-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more second DCI formats)” (Yi ¶ 0280) wherein cross-carrier scheduling is described as “cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell, which transmits DCIs, is different from the scheduled cell)” (Yi ¶ 0219). Therefore, if the a plurality of configuration parameters are applied to self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling it is understood that the frequency domain allocation type (resource allocation type) would be different across the first and second cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Yi for the purpose of limiting the search spaces a UE must monitor so the UE might preserve power. According to Yi: "receiving the full carrier bandwidth may be prohibitive in terms of UE power consumption. In an example, to reduce power consumption and/or for other purposes, a UE may adapt the size of the UE's receive bandwidth based on the amount of traffic the UE is scheduled to receive" (Yi ¶ 0116).
Regarding Claim 37, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The apparatus of claim 36.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: wherein the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type or different FDRA types.
Regarding Claim 37, Yi teaches: wherein the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type: “For example, the wireless device may apply same set of configuration parameters for the DCI format between self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., same frequency region, same resource allocation type, same resource block group (RBG) size, same number of rate matching patterns, and/or the like)” (Yi ¶ 0278) wherein self-carrier scheduling is described as “self-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell and the scheduled cell are identical)” (Yi ¶ 0219) or different FDRA types: “A second option is listed. For example, the wireless device may apply a plurality of first configuration parameters for a DCI format of cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more first DCI formats). The wireless device may apply a plurality of second configuration parameters for the DCI format of self-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more second DCI formats)” (Yi ¶ 0280) wherein cross-carrier scheduling is described as “cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell, which transmits DCIs, is different from the scheduled cell)” (Yi ¶ 0219). Therefore, if the a plurality of configuration parameters are applied to self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling it is understood that the frequency domain allocation type (resource allocation type) would be different across the first and second cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Yi for the purpose of limiting the search spaces a UE must monitor so the UE might preserve power. According to Yi: "receiving the full carrier bandwidth may be prohibitive in terms of UE power consumption. In an example, to reduce power consumption and/or for other purposes, a UE may adapt the size of the UE's receive bandwidth based on the amount of traffic the UE is scheduled to receive" (Yi ¶ 0116).
Regarding Claim 39, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The apparatus of claim 38.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: wherein the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type or different FDRA types.
Regarding Claim 39, Yi teaches: wherein the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type: “For example, the wireless device may apply same set of configuration parameters for the DCI format between self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., same frequency region, same resource allocation type, same resource block group (RBG) size, same number of rate matching patterns, and/or the like)” (Yi ¶ 0278) wherein self-carrier scheduling is described as “self-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell and the scheduled cell are identical)” (Yi ¶ 0219) or different FDRA types: “A second option is listed. For example, the wireless device may apply a plurality of first configuration parameters for a DCI format of cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more first DCI formats). The wireless device may apply a plurality of second configuration parameters for the DCI format of self-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more second DCI formats)” (Yi ¶ 0280) wherein cross-carrier scheduling is described as “cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell, which transmits DCIs, is different from the scheduled cell)” (Yi ¶ 0219). Therefore, if the a plurality of configuration parameters are applied to self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling it is understood that the frequency domain allocation type (resource allocation type) would be different across the first and second cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Yi for the purpose of limiting the search spaces a UE must monitor so the UE might preserve power. According to Yi: "receiving the full carrier bandwidth may be prohibitive in terms of UE power consumption. In an example, to reduce power consumption and/or for other purposes, a UE may adapt the size of the UE's receive bandwidth based on the amount of traffic the UE is scheduled to receive" (Yi ¶ 0116).
Regarding Claim 41, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The apparatus of claim 40.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: wherein the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type or different FDRA types.
Regarding Claim 41, Yi teaches: wherein the first FDRA type and the second FDRA type comprise a same FDRA type: “For example, the wireless device may apply same set of configuration parameters for the DCI format between self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., same frequency region, same resource allocation type, same resource block group (RBG) size, same number of rate matching patterns, and/or the like)” (Yi ¶ 0278) wherein self-carrier scheduling is described as “self-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell and the scheduled cell are identical)” (Yi ¶ 0219) or different FDRA types: “A second option is listed. For example, the wireless device may apply a plurality of first configuration parameters for a DCI format of cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more first DCI formats). The wireless device may apply a plurality of second configuration parameters for the DCI format of self-carrier scheduling (e.g., one of the one or more second DCI formats)” (Yi ¶ 0280) wherein cross-carrier scheduling is described as “cross-carrier scheduling (e.g., wherein the scheduling cell, which transmits DCIs, is different from the scheduled cell)” (Yi ¶ 0219). Therefore, if the a plurality of configuration parameters are applied to self-carrier scheduling and cross-carrier scheduling it is understood that the frequency domain allocation type (resource allocation type) would be different across the first and second cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Yi for the purpose of limiting the search spaces a UE must monitor so the UE might preserve power. According to Yi: "receiving the full carrier bandwidth may be prohibitive in terms of UE power consumption. In an example, to reduce power consumption and/or for other purposes, a UE may adapt the size of the UE's receive bandwidth based on the amount of traffic the UE is scheduled to receive" (Yi ¶ 0116).
Claims 34, 36, 38, 40, 42, 44, 46, and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang and Lei in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2024/0340702), hereinafter Zhang’702.
Regarding Claim 34, Zhang and Lei teach: The method of claim 30.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: transmitting, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size, and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size, and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers.
Regarding Claim 34, Zhang’702 teaches: transmitting, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041) and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Zhang’702 Fig. 3
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 36, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 1.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size, and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size, and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers.
Regarding Claim 36, Zhang’702 teaches: the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041) and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 38, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 13.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size, and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size, and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers.
Regarding Claim 38, Zhang’702 teaches: the instructions are further executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to: transmit, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041) and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 40, Zhang and Lei teach: The method of claim 25.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: receiving, via the control message, a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size, and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size, and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers
Regarding Claim 40, Zhang’702 teaches: receiving, via the control message a first FDRA field that indicates one or more of a first set of resource block groups, a first resource block group size, and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a first FDRA type for a first carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041) and a second FDRA field that indicates one or more of a second set of resource block groups, a second resource block group size: “The following is an example of indication mode I. The number of PRBs illustrated in FIG. 3 is the number of PRBs in an active BWP of each cell (numbered starting from RB=0). FDRA type 0 is configured to be used for each of cell 1˜cell 4, and a resource scheduling granularity, namely an RBG size (RRC configuration parameter RBG-Size)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0065-66 and Fig. 3 below), and a second FDRA type for a second carrier of the at least two carriers: “If channels on multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI, the DCI needs to include resource allocation indications for multiple channels. Taking an FDRA field as an example, for the case where the DCI includes resource allocation indications for multiple channels, there may be two indication modes: indication mode I, in which multiple channels each correspond to a separate indicator field” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 42, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 1.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1.
Regarding Claim 42, Zhang’702 teaches: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1: “In the following implementations of the disclosure, an FDRA field in DCI is taken as an example to elaborate how the terminal device determines a size of an FDRA field in DCI for the case where multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI . . . It should be noted that, in FDRA type 0 supported by NR, a resource allocation granularity is RB group (RBG), where the RBG is a set of consecutive virtual RBs, and the number of virtual RBs in each RBG is determined according to a BWP size and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration parameter rbg-Size. In resource allocation type 1 supported by NR, a set of contiguously allocated virtual RBs may be indicated to the terminal, and a starting RB (RBstart) allocated and the number of RBs (LRBs) allocated may be jointly encoded by using a resource indication value (RIV)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0030 - 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 44, Zhang and Lei teach: The apparatus of claim 13.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: wherein the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1.
Regarding Claim 44, Zhang’702 teaches: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1: “In the following implementations of the disclosure, an FDRA field in DCI is taken as an example to elaborate how the terminal device determines a size of an FDRA field in DCI for the case where multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI . . . It should be noted that, in FDRA type 0 supported by NR, a resource allocation granularity is RB group (RBG), where the RBG is a set of consecutive virtual RBs, and the number of virtual RBs in each RBG is determined according to a BWP size and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration parameter rbg-Size. In resource allocation type 1 supported by NR, a set of contiguously allocated virtual RBs may be indicated to the terminal, and a starting RB (RBstart) allocated and the number of RBs (LRBs) allocated may be jointly encoded by using a resource indication value (RIV)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0030 - 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 46, Zhang and Lei teach: The method of claim 25.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1.
Regarding Claim 46, Zhang’702 teaches: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1: “In the following implementations of the disclosure, an FDRA field in DCI is taken as an example to elaborate how the terminal device determines a size of an FDRA field in DCI for the case where multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI . . . It should be noted that, in FDRA type 0 supported by NR, a resource allocation granularity is RB group (RBG), where the RBG is a set of consecutive virtual RBs, and the number of virtual RBs in each RBG is determined according to a BWP size and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration parameter rbg-Size. In resource allocation type 1 supported by NR, a set of contiguously allocated virtual RBs may be indicated to the terminal, and a starting RB (RBstart) allocated and the number of RBs (LRBs) allocated may be jointly encoded by using a resource indication value (RIV)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0030 - 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Regarding Claim 48, Zhang and Lei teach: The method of claim 30.
Zhang and Lei do not teach: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1.
Regarding Claim 48, Zhang’702 teaches: the FDRA type indicated in each FDRA field comprises a FDRA type 0 or a FDRA type 1: “In the following implementations of the disclosure, an FDRA field in DCI is taken as an example to elaborate how the terminal device determines a size of an FDRA field in DCI for the case where multiple serving cells and/or serving cell groups are scheduled by single DCI . . . It should be noted that, in FDRA type 0 supported by NR, a resource allocation granularity is RB group (RBG), where the RBG is a set of consecutive virtual RBs, and the number of virtual RBs in each RBG is determined according to a BWP size and a radio resource control (RRC) configuration parameter rbg-Size. In resource allocation type 1 supported by NR, a set of contiguously allocated virtual RBs may be indicated to the terminal, and a starting RB (RBstart) allocated and the number of RBs (LRBs) allocated may be jointly encoded by using a resource indication value (RIV)” (Zhang’702 ¶ 0030 - 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang and Lei with Zhang’702 for the purpose of ensuring the terminal device is adaptable to the needs of the network; whether those needs are highly flexible resource allocation and efficiency, or a reduction in DCI overhead. According to Zhang’702: "If indication mode I is adopted, it is conducive to flexibility in resource allocation and high spectral efficiency. If indication mode Il is adopted, DCI overhead can be reduced, but flexibility in resource allocation is low, especially for inter-band carrier aggregation (CA), where a channel on each carrier is not associated with each other. If the same FDRA field is shared, spectral efficiency will be degraded" (Zhang’702 ¶ 0041).
Claims 43, 45, 47, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 as applied to claims 42, 44, 46, and 48 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2023/0371039), hereinafter Tsai.
Regarding Claim 43, Zhang and Zhang’702 teach: The apparatus of claim 42.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1
Regarding Claim 43, Tsai teaches: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1: “In Rel-15/16, the frequency domain allocation method can adopt type 0, type 1, and the dynamic switch method (i.e., the frequency resource allocation switches between the type 0 and 1) for frequency resource allocation as Rel-15/16. In DL resource allocation type 0, the resource block assignment information includes a bitmap representing the RBGs that are allocated to the scheduled UE where RBG is a set of consecutive physical resource blocks defined by a higher layer parameter and the size of the carrier BWP” (Tsai ¶ 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Tsai for the purpose of reducing DCI payload. According to Tsai: “Disclosed herein are methods, systems, and devices that may assist in operation of DL control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. In an example, there may be compact (e.g., reduced payload) DCI format 0_x and 1_x for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. There may be single DCI scheduling for multi-scheduling, such as single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH or single DCI schedule multi-CC” (Tsai ¶ 0004).
Regarding Claim 45, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The apparatus of claim 44.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1
Regarding Claim 45, Tsai teaches: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1: “In Rel-15/16, the frequency domain allocation method can adopt type 0, type 1, and the dynamic switch method (i.e., the frequency resource allocation switches between the type 0 and 1) for frequency resource allocation as Rel-15/16. In DL resource allocation type 0, the resource block assignment information includes a bitmap representing the RBGs that are allocated to the scheduled UE where RBG is a set of consecutive physical resource blocks defined by a higher layer parameter and the size of the carrier BWP” (Tsai ¶ 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Tsai for the purpose of reducing DCI payload. According to Tsai: “Disclosed herein are methods, systems, and devices that may assist in operation of DL control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. In an example, there may be compact (e.g., reduced payload) DCI format 0_x and 1_x for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. There may be single DCI scheduling for multi-scheduling, such as single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH or single DCI schedule multi-CC” (Tsai ¶ 0004).
Regarding Claim 47, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The method of claim 46.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1
Regarding Claim 47, Tsai teaches: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1: “In Rel-15/16, the frequency domain allocation method can adopt type 0, type 1, and the dynamic switch method (i.e., the frequency resource allocation switches between the type 0 and 1) for frequency resource allocation as Rel-15/16. In DL resource allocation type 0, the resource block assignment information includes a bitmap representing the RBGs that are allocated to the scheduled UE where RBG is a set of consecutive physical resource blocks defined by a higher layer parameter and the size of the carrier BWP” (Tsai ¶ 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Tsai for the purpose of reducing DCI payload. According to Tsai: “Disclosed herein are methods, systems, and devices that may assist in operation of DL control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. In an example, there may be compact (e.g., reduced payload) DCI format 0_x and 1_x for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. There may be single DCI scheduling for multi-scheduling, such as single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH or single DCI schedule multi-CC” (Tsai ¶ 0004).
Regarding Claim 49, Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 teach: The method of claim 48.
Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 do not teach: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1
Regarding Claim 49, Tsai teaches: the control message comprises a first FDRA field for a first carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 0, and wherein the control message further comprises a second FDRA field for a second carrier of the at least two carriers that is the FDRA type 1: “In Rel-15/16, the frequency domain allocation method can adopt type 0, type 1, and the dynamic switch method (i.e., the frequency resource allocation switches between the type 0 and 1) for frequency resource allocation as Rel-15/16. In DL resource allocation type 0, the resource block assignment information includes a bitmap representing the RBGs that are allocated to the scheduled UE where RBG is a set of consecutive physical resource blocks defined by a higher layer parameter and the size of the carrier BWP” (Tsai ¶ 0055).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine Zhang, Lei, and Zhang’702 with Tsai for the purpose of reducing DCI payload. According to Tsai: “Disclosed herein are methods, systems, and devices that may assist in operation of DL control channel for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. In an example, there may be compact (e.g., reduced payload) DCI format 0_x and 1_x for NR from 52.6 GHz and above. There may be single DCI scheduling for multi-scheduling, such as single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH or single DCI schedule multi-CC” (Tsai ¶ 0004).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473 /B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473