DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0154389 to Smith in view of US 2006/0142657 to Quaid and in further view of US 2011/0112549 to Neubach.
Regarding Claim 1, Smith teaches a medical robot system, comprising:
a robot including a display (display 29, fig. 1) and an arm (robot arm 23, fig. 1);
an end effector (30, Fig. 1) coupled to the arm;
a dynamic reference base capable of being coupled to a patient (calibration frame 700, Fig. 16; par. 0128-0132);
an optical tracking system configured to track the position of the arm, the end effector and the reference base (light markers are placed on the robot and reference base for optical tracking, par. 0044, 0129); and
a processor coupled to the robot and the optical tracking system, the processor providing image registration data of the patient and the robot system to the display (steps 270 and 280, fig. 11; as shown in fig. 15A-15B);
wherein the optical tracking system includes optical markers positioned on the reference base (par. 0129-0132) and the robot (par. 0129-0132) to track positions of the patient and the end effector (intended use of the dynamic reference base and robot tracking is to register to a common frame of reference in order to position the robot’s end effector relative to the defined trajectories, as in par. 0132), and
wherein the processor is adapted to automatically generate a planned trajectory prior to surgery (planned trajectory 670, fig. 15B, par. 0125-0127), and at the time of surgery, cause the robot arm to automatically move the end effector along the planned trajectory (par. 0040, 0055-0056 automatically follows the planned trajectory),
wherein the arm is configured to independently move the end effector along x, y, and z axes and configured for selective rotation about one of the x, y, and z axes (selective control along x, y, z, roll, pitch, yaw is controlled independently, par. 0038),
wherein the arm is configured to move on a cartesian positioning system, wherein movements of the arm occur in different axes independently of one another (independent movements along x, y, z-axis, roll, pitch, yaw, as in par. 0038).
However, while Smith teaches optical markers on the robot (par. 0129), Smith does not teach the location of the optical markers on the robot, and therefore does not expressly teach wherein the optical markers on positioned on the end-effector.
In the same field of endeavor with respect to image-guided robotic surgery, Quaid teaches a medical robot system, comprising:
a robot including a display (display 23, fig. 1) and an arm (haptic device robot arm 30, fig. 1, 2A);
an end effector coupled to the arm (end effector 35, fig. 2A);
a dynamic reference base capable of being coupled to a patient (anatomy trackers 43a, 43b, fig. 1);
an optical tracking system configured to track the position of the arm, the end effector and the dynamic reference base (tracking system 40, fig. 1, par. 0128-0130 teaches optical tracking; optical detection device 41, fig. 1); and
a control system coupled to the robot and the optical tracking system, the control unit providing image registration data of the patient and the robot system to the display (computers 21, 31, fig. 1; image registration, e.g. a virtual representation of a tracked surgical tool is superimposed on an image of the anatomy, par. 0128-0129),
wherein the optical tracking system includes optical markers positioned on the arm (array of reflective marker spheres 45, fig. 2A; par. 0135-0136), the reference base (trackers 43a, 43b, fig. 1 are arrays of reflective marker spheres, par. 0134) and the end effector (tracker 47, fig. 6B is an array of reflective marker spheres, par. 0137) to track a position of the patient and the end effector,
wherein the control system is adapted to automatically generate a planned trajectory region causing the robot arm to position the end effector within the planned trajectory region (virtual pathways are used to guide the tool held by the end effector, par. 0108, 0184; the end effector is restrained to the trajectory region, par. 0161, guiding line trajectory 722, fig. 47).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to include the optical markers on the robot arm, the reference base and the end effector of Smith in order to provide successful tracking of the moving components of the robot in a frame of reference as suggested by Smith and expressly taught by Quaid.
Smith also does not teach wherein the planned trajectory is non-linear. Instead, Smith teaches a linear trajectory (670, fig. 15B).
Quaid further suggests wherein the planned trajectory is non-linear (cone-shaped, funneling the trajectory to a target object in an “approach mode”, par. 0184; cone-shaped is both non-linear and curved; Quaid further teaches that certain tissues should be avoided, suggesting that guide line trajectories could be designed to be curved/non-linear along any desired path to avoid critical anatomy, par. 0161).
It is noted that for claim interpretation, the term “non-linear” is considered to be any trajectory that is not a straight line. For example, a curved trajectory is considered as being non-linear in this instance. 3D haptic objects also appear to meet this definition of non-linear. Although Quaid teaches that the system may move non-linearly within a 3D haptic object, Quaid does not expressly teach “planning” to move along a non-linear trajectory and following a predefined nonlinear path “without any deviation from the predefined curvilinear path at the time of surgery”.
Neither Smith or Quaid expressly teach wherein the non-linear planned trajectory is achieved by “causing the robot arm to position the end effector along the [non-linear] planned trajectory [between entry of the patient and the target] in a selected sequence of movements to vary at least two or more of the x-axis, y-axis, roll and pitch of the end effector” (claim 11) or “planning” to move along a non-linear trajectory “without any deviation from the predefined path curvilinear path, at the time of surgery” (claims 1 and 11).
Neubach teaches robotically controlled movement along a non-linear (i.e. curved) path by manipulating an effector base during surgery (par. 0004; robot arm 25 is shown in Fig. 2 coupled with needle end effector 24). The end effector is first positioned at an entry point (step 52, fig. 9). Then a trajectory to a target is planned (step 53-54, fig. 9). The trajectory between the entry point and the target is non-linear (i.e. curved) in order to avoid critical anatomy (par. 0108, abstract). The end effector is then manipulated by the robot to move it along the trajectory to the target point (steps 55-65, fig. 9, especially steps 56, 64). It is inherent that going around critical anatomy situated between a point and a target presents a non-linear/curvilinear trajectory.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to utilize the robot manipulation of Neubach to reach the target along a non-linear/curvilinear trajectory in order to advantageously and predictably avoid critical anatomy, as expressly taught by Neubach and suggested by Smith and Quaid.
Regarding Claim 2, Smith further teaches wherein the end effector is a tube having a pitch axis, a roll axis and a tube axis defining an axis of rotation of the tube (par. 0013, Figs. 5-8; Quaid also teaches this features as an end effector 35 has a cylindrical shape that fits onto tube 36, fig. 2B-2C, 6B and necessarily has axes defining pitch, roll, and rotation in order to provide 3D positioning as illustrated as DOF1-5 in fig. 2B; additional degrees of freedom may also be provided in the end effector via tube 36, par. 0114). Quaid also teaches varying the speed of the end effector travel based on known velocity relationship (abstract). For example, traversing near critical areas would tolerate less permissible error and require more iterations of the feedback loop of Neubach’s Fig. 9, which would slow the travel velocity (i.e. speed) down. One of ordinary skill would find it obvious to optimize the system in such a way and only predictable results would be achieved.
Regarding Claims 3, Smith further teaches wherein the end effector comprises a needle (par. 0046; Quaid also teaches that the end effector may hold any desired instrument for a guided surgical procedure and that instruments may be interchanged during the procedure, par. 0118, surgical tool 50, fig. 2C).
Regarding Claim 6, Smith does not teach auditory feedback but does teach visual feedback (fig. 15). Quaid further discloses wherein when the end effector coincides with the trajectory vector an auditory feedback is provided to indicate the desired trajectory has been achieved (beeps are emitted to indicate correct position of the tool, par. 0190; other auditory feedback may also be provided for indicating a condition, par. 0094, 0132). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to additional provide auditory feedback to indicate the trajectory match in the system of Smith in order to decrease reliance on the visual screen for the surgeon as taught by Quaid.
Regarding Claim 7, Smith teaches autonomous robot arm movement at the planned trajectory (par. 0078, 0135). Quaid further teaches wherein the control unit autonomously causes the robot arm to be adjusted to position the end effector at the trajectory vector based on detected optical markers (haptic mode is entered automatically when the end effector achieves a predetermined range from a target of interest, par. 0185; for example, when the end effector is outside the predetermined range 720, motion is free, but when the end effector is inside the predetermined range, it is automatically constrained to the trajectory vector 722, fig. 47, par. 0161).
Regarding Claim 8, Smith further teaches wherein the processor comprises a specially-configured computer (programmed computer, par. 0072).
Regarding Claim 9, Smith suggests wherein the end effector position can only be moved along the trajectory vector (automatically moved along the trajectory unless too much resistance is detected, par. 0135). Quaid further teaches wherein the end effector position can only be moved along the trajectory vector (constrained to 722, fig. 47; par. 0161). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to constrain the end effector to the trajectory vector in the system of Smith in order to avoid critical anatomy as taught by Quaid.
Regarding Claim 10, Smith does not expressly teach wherein the end effector position can be locked at a fixed distance from the patient, although Smith system would have the capability of guiding the end effector to any desired location. Quaid further teaches wherein the end effector position can be locked at a fixed distance from the patient (the robot arm/end effector may be locked in place, par. 0140-0142) in order to improve calibration. Therefore one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to lock the end effector position in place in the system of Smith in order to improve calibration as taught by Quaid.
The features of Claims 11-13 are taught by Smith and Quaid in the rejection of Claims 1-10 above. In addition, Smith teaches “causing the robot arm to position the end effector along the planned trajectory in a selected sequence of movements to simultaneously vary at least two or more of the x-axis, y-axis, roll and pitch of the end effector” (par. 0040; planned trajectory 670, fig. 15B; causing the robot arm to position the end effector along the planned trajectory, par. 0055-0056 automatically generates and follows the planned trajectory in response to user inputs to set or reset the trajectory path using motors, e.g. three linear motors for x, y, z control are utilized simultaneously, par. 0007).
Regarding Claim 14, Smith and Quaid further teaches wherein the end effector is configured to match the curvature of the planned trajectory (the end effector implicitly moves with the planned trajectory to guide a medical instrument to a target location, intended use of the robot arm for a guided procedure; Smith: dotted line 660, fig. 15B; Quaid: dotted line, fig. 47).
Regarding Claim 15, Smith further teaches wherein the control unit modifies the planned trajectory based on intra-operative imaging (CT images, par. 0131-0132). Quaid further teaches wherein the control unit modifies the planned trajectory based on intra-operative imaging (the planned trajectory is made to avoid certain tissues identified in an imaging procedure, par. 0161; further, intra-operative imaging is provided to track the anatomy and robot end effector, which would necessarily cause modification of the planned trajectory in space as the patient moves; still further, Quaid teaches modifying the planned trajectory based on progress of the instrument towards the target of which is obtained by imaging, confining sphere is reduced, par. 0161; intra-operative imaging, par. 0129).
The features of Claims 16-20 are taught by Smith and Quaid, Neubach in the rejection of Claims 1-3 and 6-15 above.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0154389 to Smith in view of US 2006/0142657 to Quaid and US 2011/0112549 to Neubach, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of US 2006/0036264 to Selover.
Regarding Claim 4, Smith does not expressly teach wherein the end effector is coupled with a curved guide tube. However, Smith teaches that the end effector may hold any desired instrument for a guided surgical procedure (par. 0046). Quaid also teaches that the end effector may hold any desired instrument for a guided surgical procedure and that instruments may be interchanged during the procedure (par. 0118, surgical tool 50, fig. 2C).
Selover teaches a robot arm optically guided for an image-guided procedure (fig. 5A), wherein a curved guide tube is coupled to the end effector for use during the procedure (par. 0040, curved guide tube 46, fig. 1).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to provide a curved guide tube instrument in the system of Smith in order to provide a guided tube during an image-guided procedure as taught by Selover to be a suitable instrument used during an image-guided procedure and produce only predictable results.
Regarding Claim 5, Smith does not expressly teach wherein a laser light indicates the end effector position by projecting a beam down the trajectory vector and wherein the laser light is positioned at a top portion of the end effector. However, Smith suggests precision laser scan to determine distance (par. 0129).
Selover teaches a robot arm optically guided for an image-guided procedure (fig. 5A), wherein a laser light is projected to mark a planned trajectory (insertion trajectory on tissue is highlighted with a laser beam, par. 0044-0045, 0053-0055).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to provide the laser light of Selover in the system of Smith in order to provide the predictable result of highlighting an insertion trajectory on the tissue. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the location of the laser light is a matter of design choice, so long as it is registered with the system and provides optical access along the desired trajectory, as exampled in Selover. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to place the laser light positioned on the end effector and only expected results would occur, since the end effector is a registered system component that would provide optical access along the desired trajectory.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11331153 in view of US 2011/0112549 to Neubach. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims are narrower in scope and clearly teach most of the features of the instant claims and therefore necessarily anticipate those features in the instant claims.
However, Patent No. 11331153 does not teach the amended limitation of following “the predefined curvilinear path without any deviation from the predefined curvilinear path, at the time of surgery”, in the independent claims.
Neubach teaches robotically controlled movement along a non-linear (i.e. curved) path by manipulating an effector base during surgery (par. 0004; robot arm 25 is shown in Fig. 2 coupled with needle end effector 24). The end effector is first positioned at an entry point (step 52, fig. 9). Then a trajectory to a target is planned (step 53-54, fig. 9). The trajectory between the entry point and the target is non-linear (i.e. curved) in order to avoid critical anatomy (par. 0108, abstract). The end effector is then manipulated by the robot to move it along the trajectory to the target point (steps 55-65, fig. 9, especially steps 56, 64).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the path following in Neubach to maintain a trajectory along a curvilinear path in order to avoid critical anatomy during surgery.
The dependent claims correspond in a one to one mapping to the patent claims (e.g. instant claim 1 corresponds to patent claim 1, etc).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Double patenting has been removed for the application 17724092 since it has abandoned but is maintained for US Patent No. 11331153.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Examiner agrees with Applicant’s argument about Quaid not teaching planning a non-linear trajectory as stated in the previous Office action. Examiner further argues with Applicant that Quaid does not therefore teach “automatically move the end-effector to follow the predefined curvilinear path, without any deviation from the predefined curvilinear path, at the time of surgery”. However, Quaid was not utilized to teach these features. Neubach is used to teach following a non-linear planned trajectory. As such, when considered in combination with the base reference to Smith, Neubach’s teaching of non-linear trajectory planning and following are applied to the robot arrangement of Smith (not Quaid). Applicant is encouraged to focus on the combination with Smith in view of Neubach with respect to following the planned trajectory.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANGELA M. HOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3799
/Angela M Hoffa/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799