Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on July 2nd, 2026. Claims 1, 3, 6, 9-25, and 28 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2nd, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pgs. 7-9, “Remarks”) that Rogers, Barr, and Young fail to teach the limitations presented in amended Claim 1.
However, as seen below, Claim 1 is now rejected by the combination of Rogers, Norris, and Young.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate that the corresponding limitations are addressed with a secondary reference/embodiment in an obviousness analysis.
Claims 1, 9-10, 12-17, 19, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers et al. (2010/0002402 A1; hereinafter Rogers) in view of Norris et al. (2017/0237918 A1; hereinafter Norris) and Young et al. (2016/0029482 A1; hereinafter Young).
Regarding Claim 1, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches:
A photodetector ([0063], [0212], focal plane array, see fig. 14) for an optoelectronic system ([0219], camera, see fig. 17A), comprising:
a flexible substrate ([0212], [0215], films of polyimide, PI, see fig. 16A);
a plurality of photodetector units ([0212], [0215], single crystalline silicon photodetectors, PD) attached to the flexible substrate (PI), each of the plurality of photodetector units (PD) being made of a material that is arranged to sense optical radiation and generate a photocurrent signal based on the sensed optical radiation ([0223], an example states that 620 nm – 700 nm may be sensed), the photocurrent signal adapted to be processed to generate an image associated with the sensed optical radiation ([0219], software for acquiring images);
the material being optically-transparent to the optical radiation; and
a circuit ([0212], [0215], metal interconnects) attached to the flexible substrate (PI), the circuit comprising a plurality of conductors (metal interconnects) electrically connected with the plurality of photodetector units (PD) and adapted to transmit the photocurrent signals generated by the plurality of photodetector units (PD) to an external device ([0219], software for acquiring images); wherein
the flexible substrate (PI), the plurality of photodetector units and the circuit are all optically-transparent to the optical radiation (PI is clear, see fig. 16D); and wherein
the plurality of conductors (metal interconnects) comprises nanowires that are optically-transparent to the optical radiation, the nanowires providing connection paths (see fig. 16A).
Rogers doesn’t explicitly teach that each of the plurality of photodetector units being made of a material that is arranged to sense optical radiation and generate a photocurrent signal based on the sensed optical radiation, the photocurrent signal adapted to be processed to generate an image associated with the sensed optical radiation; the material being optically-transparent to the optical radiation; and the plurality of photodetector units are optically-transparent to the optical radiation.
However, Norris (fig. 1) teaches that:
each of the plurality of photodetector units ([0029], 12) being made of a material that is arranged to sense optical radiation and generate a photocurrent signal based on the sensed optical radiation ([0028]), the photocurrent signal adapted to be processed to generate an image associated with the sensed optical radiation ([0029], image is formed by 14)
the material being optically-transparent to the optical radiation ([0028]); and
the plurality of photodetector units (12) are optically-transparent to the optical radiation ([0028]).
Norris also teaches that this allows for directional information to be retained ([0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the photodetector of Rogers to include the transparent photodetectors of Norris to allow for directional information to be retained.
Rogers doesn’t teach the circuit is optically-transparent to the optical radiation and the plurality of conductors comprises nanowires that are optically-transparent to the optical radiation, the nanowires providing connection paths.
However, Young (fig. 1H) teaches that:
the circuit ([0054], 164 form interconnection grids) is optically-transparent to the optical radiation ([0104]) and
the plurality of conductors ([0054], 164) comprise nanowires ([0054], Ag nanowires) that are optically-transparent ([0104]) to the optical radiation,
the nanowires providing connection paths (conductive and may provide connection).
Young also teaches that the Ag nanowires attain higher electrical conductivity and can be used for maintaining high transparency ([0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the photodetector of Rogers to include the silver nanowires of Young to provide a high-transparency and attain higher electrical conductivity.
Regarding Claim 9, Young (fig. 1H) teaches the photodetector of claim 1, wherein the nanowires (164) are made of silver ([0054], Ag nanowires).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Rogers and Young teaches the photodetector of claim 9, wherein the circuit (Rogers, metal interconnects) comprises a plurality of circuit portions (Rogers, four marked regions that connect the photodetector array to the lines on the printed circuit board, see annotated fig. 17B), each having respective patterned silver nanowires (Young, patterned Ag nanowires), and the plurality of circuit portions are spaced apart (Rogers, see annotated fig. 17B).
Annotated Figure 17B
Regarding Claim 12, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches:
An optoelectronic system ([0219], camera, see fig. 17A), comprising:
a support structure ([0212], PDMS, [0213], hemispherical glass substrate, see fig. 14) having a projection or recess that provides a curved surface (PDMS is convex, glass substrate is concave, see fig. 14);
a photodetector ([0063], [0212], focal plane array, see fig. 14) of claim 1 (see Claim 1), with at least the plurality of photodetector units (PD) attached to the curved surface (PDMS); and
a control circuit ([0219], electrode lines) electrically connected with the circuit (metal interconnects) of the photodetector and for connecting the photodetector (focal plane array) with a signal processor ([0219], software for acquiring images), the signal processor being arranged to process the photocurrent signals to generate an image associated with the sensed optical radiation.
Regarding Claim 13, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 12, wherein the projection or recess is generally dome-shaped (PDMS is convex, see fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 14, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 13, wherein the curved surface is a convex surface (PDMS is convex, see fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 15, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 13, wherein the curved surface is a concave surface (glass substrate is concave, see fig. 14).
Regarding Claim 16, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 12, wherein the plurality of photodetector units (PD) are attached to the curved surface (PDMS) generally centrally of the curved surface (see fig. 16D).
Regarding Claim 17, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 16, wherein the curved surface (PDMS) is optically-transparent (see fig. 16D).
Regarding Claim 19, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 12, wherein the control circuit (electrode lines) is arranged at least partly on a circuit board ([0219], printed circuit board, see fig. 17A), the circuit board comprises an optically-transparent portion (portion of PCB where hemispherical imager is mounted, see fig. 31) at a location corresponding to the curved surface (PDMS).
Regarding Claim 28, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 12, further comprising a lens ([0221], plano-convex lens) arranged to focus optical radiation onto the plurality of photodetector units (PD).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, and Young as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Nazir et al. (Nazir, Ghazanfar, “Enhanced photoresponse of ZnO quantum dot decorated MoS2 thin films”, RSC Adv., 2017, 7, 16890; hereinafter Nazir).
Regarding Claim 3, Rogers doesn’t teach that each of the plurality of photodetector units comprises a ZnO-MoS2 film which comprises ZnO nanoparticles and MoS2 monolayer composite.
However, Nazir (fig. 1a) teaches the photodetector of claim 1, wherein the photodetector units (Pg. 2, “Results and discussion”, Para. 1; photodetector consisting of ZnO-QDs decorated MoS2) comprises a ZnO-MoS2 film which comprises ZnO nanoparticles and MoS2 monolayer composite (ZnO-QDs decorated MoS2). Nazir also teaches that a ZnO-MoS2 heterostructure provides enhanced carrier mobility in a photodetector (Pg. 9, “Conclusion”, Para. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the photodetector of Rogers to include the ZnO-MoS2 of Nazir to enhance carrier mobility.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, and Young as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Moriwaki et al. (2018/0226596 A1; hereinafter Moriwaki).
Regarding Claim 6, Rogers doesn’t teach that the flexible substrate is in a form of a film made of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA).
However, Moriwaki (fig. 1B) teaches the photodetector of claim 1, wherein the flexible substrate ([0073], 11) is in a form of a film made of polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) ([0062]). Moriwaki also teaches that polyvinyl alcohol and polyimide are comparable materials for flexible substrates ([0062]). Since Moriwaki teaches the functional equivalence of polyvinyl alcohol and polyimide as a flexible substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute polyvinyl alcohol for the polyimide layer of Rogers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use polyvinyl alcohol as a flexible substrate in the device of Rogers, since Moriwaki teaches the functional equivalence of polyimide and polyvinyl alcohol as materials for flexible substrates.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, and Young as applied to Claim 10 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Kim, Min Sung, “An aquatic-vision inspired camera based on a monocentric lens and a silicon nanorod photodiode array”, Nat. Elec., 2020, 3, 546-553; hereinafter Kim).
Regarding Claim 11, Rogers doesn’t explicitly teach of the plurality of circuit portions includes a relatively narrow inner portion, a relatively wide outer portion, and a middle tapering portion connected between the relatively narrow inner portion and the relatively wide outer portion.
However, Kim (figs. 3a and 17) teaches the photodetector of claim 10, wherein the plurality of circuit portions (Pg. 6, “Imaging demonstrations using the integrated camera module”, Para. 2; ACF, see fig. 3a) includes a relatively narrow inner portion, a relatively wide outer portion, and a middle tapering portion connected between the relatively narrow inner portion and the relatively wide outer portion (ACF pads, see fig. 3a) while still maintaining the function of connecting the photodetector array to the external electronics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the circuit portions of Kim for the circuit portions of Rogers and yielded the predictable results of electrically connecting the photodetector array to external electronics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the circuit portions of Kim for the circuit portions of Rogers, since simple substitution of circuit portions for another is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, and Young as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of Ting et al. (2024/0250199 A1; hereinafter Ting).
Regarding Claim 18, Rogers doesn’t explicitly teach the support structure is made of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA). Rogers does teach that the support structure may include a glass substrate (see Claim 12).
However, Ting (see fig. 6) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 12, wherein the support structure is made of polymethyl methacrylate (PMMA). Ting also teaches that PMMA and glass are comparable materials for transparent support substrates ([0050]). Since Ting teaches the functional equivalence of PMMA and glass as a support substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute PMMA for the glass of Rogers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use PMMA as a support substrate in the device of Rogers, since Ting teaches the functional equivalence of PMMA and glass as materials for support substrates.
Claims 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, and Young as applied to Claim 19 above, and further in view of Song et al. (2016/0256677 A1; hereinafter Song).
Regarding Claim 20, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches at least part of the photodetector is sandwiched between the circuit board and the support structure, and wherein the circuit board (printed circuit board) and the support structure (PDMS and glass substrate) are fixed to each other (see fig. 17A).
Rogers doesn’t explicitly teach at least part of the photodetector is sandwiched between the circuit board and the support structure.
However, Song (fig. 10B) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 19, wherein at least part of the photodetector ([0091], outer portion of conductive channels connected to outer pads, see fig. 10B) is sandwiched between the circuit board ([0092], package board) and the support structure ([0091], PDMS) while still maintaining the function of connecting the photodetector to the package board and external electronics. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the housing of Song for the housing of Rogers and yielded the predictable results of electrically connecting the photodetector to the package board and external electronics.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the housing of Song for the housing of Rogers, since simple substitution of housing for another in an optoelectronic system is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 21, Song (fig. 10B) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 20, further comprising anchor pads ([0091], outer pads) arranged between the circuit board (package board) and the support structure (PDMS) for anchoring the photodetector ([0091]-[0092], connects the photodetector to the support structure).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, and Young as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of Mochizuki et al. (2012/0154353 A1; hereinafter Mochizuki).
Regarding Claim 22, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 12, wherein the control circuit comprises: one or more multiplexers ([0260], mux/demux electronics) connected with the plurality of photodetector units (PD), each of the one or more multiplexers providing a plurality of channels each having at least one switch and at least one of the plurality of photodetector units; and a controller operably connected with the one or more multiplexers for controlling operation of the switches of the one or more multiplexers.
Rogers doesn’t explicitly teach that each of the one or more multiplexers providing a plurality of channels each having at least one switch and at least one of the plurality of photodetector units; and a controller operably connected with the one or more multiplexers for controlling operation of the switches of the one or more multiplexers.
However, Mochizuki (fig. 1A) teaches that each of the one or more multiplexers ([0024], 120) providing a plurality of channels (wires connecting to 121 and 122, see fig. 1A) each having at least one switch ([0024], 121, 122) and at least one of the plurality of photodetector units ([0024], 102); and a controller ([0024], external control circuit connected through 125 and 126) operably connected with the one or more multiplexers (120) for controlling operation of the switches (121, 122) of the one or more multiplexers (120). Mochizuki also teaches that the use of the switches and control circuits allows for controlling the connections to the various pixels ([0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optoelectronic system of Rogers to include the switches and controller of Mochizuki to provide a system capable of controlling the connections to the various pixels.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogers, Norris, Young, and Mochizuki as applied to Claim 22 above, and further in view of Song.
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Rogers and Mochizuki (fig. 1A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 22, wherein the controller (Mochizuki, external control circuit) is arranged to: selectively open and close each of the plurality of switches (Mochizuki, 121, 122) to selectively disconnect and connect the respective photodetector unit (Mochizuki, 102) with the signal processor (Rogers, software for acquiring images); and control the switches to sequentially connect each one of the plurality of photodetector units to the signal processor.
Neither Rogers nor Mochizuki teach control the switches to sequentially connect each one of the plurality of photodetector units to the signal processor.
However, Song teaches control the switches ([0092], iteratively switching two multiplexer) to sequentially connect each one of the plurality of photodetector units ([0092], each pixel can be individually electrically-addressed) to the signal processor ([0092], image forming software). Song also teaches that this method allows for a bad pixel test to be performed ([0092]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the optoelectronic system of Rogers and Mochizuki to include the controlling of switches as taught by Song to allow for a bad pixel test to be performed.
Regarding Claim 24, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 23, wherein the signal processor (software for acquiring images) is electrically connected with the plurality of channels (mux, PD) to collect the photocurrent signals generated ([0260], see fig. 17F) by the plurality of photodetector units (PD); and wherein the signal processor is arranged to perform image reconstruction (see fig. 17F) based on the photocurrent signals generated by the plurality of photodetector units (PD).
Regarding Claim 25, Rogers (figs. 14, 16A-E, 17A) teaches the optoelectronic system of claim 24, wherein the signal processor (software for acquiring images) is arranged to perform image reconstruction by: converting the photocurrent signals to greyscale values ([0260]); and generating an image based on the greyscale values ([0260], see fig. 17F).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Snaith et al. (2016/0141535 A1) teaches a photoactive device transparent to optical radiation. See [0061]-[0065] and fig. 5
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817