DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing on 5/14/2026. Since the previous filing, claims 1, 3, 6, 12, 14 and 15 have been amended and no claims have been added or cancelled. Thus, claims 1-3 and 5-12 and 14-15 are pending in the application.
In regards to the previous 103 Rejections, Applicant has amended to overcome these rejections and they are therefore withdrawn with new rejections entered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Ben-nun (US 6846295), Ballas (US 2012/0065561) and Wright (US 2014/0052028).
In regards to claim 1, Ramanan discloses a system for applying pneumatic compression to a portion of a body (therapy system 1000) comprising: a wrap (compression garment 1004, paragraph 106) comprising a first air bladder and a second air bladder (paragraph 111), the first air bladder and the second air bladder adapted to make direct contact with the body (skin contacting layer forms one side of the chambers, abstract, paragraph 9); and a control unit (CPG device 1002), wherein the control unit is configured to control the air pressure in the first air bladder and the second air bladder (paragraph 113), and one or more pressure sensors (paragraph 116 and 152).
Ramanan does not disclose wherein the first air bladder overlaps with the second air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the first air bladder and the second air bladder; one or more additional wraps comprising at least two air bladders; and one or more additional control units, wherein the control unit and the one of more additional control units synchronize the compressive force applied to the body of the first air bladder and the second air bladder of the wrap and the at least wo air bladders of the one or more additional wraps by exchanging synchronization signals to determine inflation timing using the one or more pressure sensors.
However, Ben-num teaches wherein the first air bladder overlaps with the second air bladder (column 3 line 6-10, Fig 2) such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the first air bladder and the second air bladder (column 1 line 26-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the first air bladder overlaps with the second air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the first air bladder and the second air bladder as taught by Ben-nun as this would allow the device to apply pressure in a continuous manner (Ben-nun: column 1 line 26-29).
In addition, Ballas teaches a compression device further comprising: one or more additional wraps comprising at least two air bladders (compression devices 102a and 102b); and one or more additional control units (control units 108a and 108b, paragraph 40), wherein the control unit and the one or more additional control units synchronize the compressive force applied to the body of the first air bladder and the second air bladder of the wrap and the at least two air bladders of the one or more additional wraps by exchanging synchronization signal to determine inflation timing using the one or more pressure sensors (control units may control coordinated or synchronized operation of compression devices, paragraph 42, pressure applied as a function of time, paragraph 41; communications link 114 may be any suitable wireless communications, paragraph 44; pressure sensors used in control, paragraph 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to further comprise one or more additional wraps comprising at least two air bladders; and one or more additional control units, wherein the control unit and the one or more additional control units synchronize the compressive force applied to the body of the first air bladder and the second air bladder of the wrap and the at least two air bladders of the one or more additional wraps by exchanging synchronization signal to determine inflation timing using the one or more pressure sensors as taught by Ballas as this would allow the two devices to communicate in order to provide the best treatment for the user.
In regards to claim 2, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the wrap comprises at least one of a calf wrap, a foot wrap, an ankle wrap, a shoulder wrap, an arm wrap, a thigh wrap, a knee wrap, a forearm wrap, an elbow wrap, a bicep wrap, an upper arm wrap, and a shoulder wrap (paragraph 8, Fig 12A-B and 14-19).
In regards to claim 3, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the wrap further comprises: an outer layer comprising means to (i) fasten the wrap to a user (Velcro closures, paragraph 200 and 310) and (ii) force pressure from first air bladder and the second air bladder toward the user (paragraph 349); and an inner layer close to or in contact with a skin surface of the user, wherein the first air bladder and the second air bladder are disposed between the outer layer and the inner layer (paragraph 183).
In regards to claim 5, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the control unit comprises at least one of a plurality of solenoid valves (paragraph 165), a battery (paragraph 129), a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 118), a programming interface (paragraph 166).
In regards to claim 6, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 5 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the plurality of solenoid valves is configured to at least one of inflate or deflate the at least two air bladders (paragraph 165).
In regards to claim 7, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 5 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the control unit further comprises a Bluetooth chip to achieve Bluetooth connection between the system and a mobile device (paragraph 158 and 161).
In regards to claim 9, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 5 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the user interface comprises at least one of a display (display 4294), a Bluetooth connection status indicator (Fig 3).
In regards to claim 11, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 9 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the Bluetooth connection status indicator comprises a blue LED to light up when connected to a mobile device (Fig 3).
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Ben-nun (US 6846295) and Ballas (US 2012/0065561) and in further view of Bennett (US 2020/0261303) and Ramakrishna (US 2016/0361224).
In regards to claim 5, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the control unit comprises at least one of a plurality of solenoid valves (paragraph 165), a battery (paragraph 129), a printed circuit board (PCB) (paragraph 118), a programming interface (paragraph 166).
Ramanan does not disclose a compressor or a battery charging interface, wherein the battery charging interface is a USB-C charging port.
However, Bennett teaches a compressor (paragraph 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to have a compressor as taught by Bennet as this is a well known means by which to provide pneumatic pressure to such compression devices.
Further, Ramakrishna teaches a compression device having a battery charging interface, wherein the battery charging interface is a USB-C charging port (USB port 30 for battery recharging, paragraph 47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to have a battery charging interface, wherein the battery charging interface is a USB-C charging port as taught by Ramakrishna as this is a known means to recharge such batteries.
In regards to claim 8, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun, Ballas, Bennett and Ramakrishna teaches the device of claim 5 and Bennett further teaches wherein the compressor is a miniature DC compressor (paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Ben-nun (US 6846295) and Ballas (US 2012/0065561) and in further view of Wright (US 2014/0052028).
In regards to claim 10, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 9.
While Ramanan teaches that the display may be an LED display (paragraph 166), it does not teach wherein the display comprises an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display.
However, Wright teaches a compression device wherein the display comprises an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display (paragraph 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the display comprises an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display as taught by Wright as this is a known display type for these types of devices.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Ben-nun (US 6846295) and Ballas (US 2012/0065561) and in further view of Johnson (US 2021/0275387).
In regards to claim 12, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 1 and Ramanan further discloses wherein the system runs a treatment algorithm (paragraph 115) to generate sensation from at least part of the first air bladder and the second air bladder to skin.
Ramanan does not disclose wherein the sensation is a pulsing sensation.
However, Johnson teaches a compression device (system 100) wherein the sensation is a pulsing sensation (paragraph 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the sensation is a pulsing sensation as taught by Johnson as this would permit the device to provide a comfortable and effective treatment pattern.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Ben-nun (US 6846295) and Ballas (US 2012/0065561).
In regards to claim 14, Ramanan discloses a system for applying pressure to a portion of a body (therapy system 1000), comprising: a first body wrap comprising a first air bladder and a second air bladder (compression garment 1004 having chambers, paragraph 111); the first air bladder and the second air bladder adapted to make direct contact with the body (skin contacting layer forms one side of the chambers, abstract, paragraph 9); a first control unit disposed on the first body wrap (CPG device 1002, paragraph 113), and one or more pressure sensors (paragraph 116 and 152).
Ramanan does not disclose a second body wrap comprising a third air bladder and a fourth air bladder; and a second control unit disposed in the second body wrap, wherein the third bladder and the fourth air bladder of the second body wrap are adapted to make direct contact with the body, and wherein the third air bladder overlaps with the fourth air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the third air bladder and the fourth air bladder, wherein the first control unit and the second control unit include electro-mechanically autonomous systems that synchronize the compressive force applied to the body of the first air bladder, the second air bladder, the third air bladder and the fourth air bladder by exchanging synchronization signals to determine inflation timing using the one or more pressure sensors.
However, Ben-num teaches wherein the first air bladder overlaps with the second air bladder (column 3 line 6-10, Fig 2) such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the first air bladder and the second air bladder (column 1 line 26-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the first air bladder overlaps with the second air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the first air bladder and the second air bladder as taught by Ben-nun as this would allow the device to apply pressure in a continuous manner (Ben-nun: column 1 line 26-29).
Additionally, Ballas teaches a compression system comprising a second body wrap comprising a third air bladder and fourth air bladder (device 102a and 102b); and a second control unit disposed in the second body wrap (control units 108a and 108b), wherein the first control unit and the second control unit include electro-mechanically autonomous systems that synchronize the compressive force applied to the body of the first air bladder, the second air bladder, the third air bladder and the fourth air bladder by exchanging synchronization signals to determine inflation timing using the one or more pressure sensors (control units may control coordinated or synchronized operation of compression devices, paragraph 42; communications link 114 may be any suitable wireless communications, paragraph 44; pressure sensors used in control, paragraph 48).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan to further comprise one or more additional wraps comprising at least two air bladders; and one or more additional control units, wherein the third bladder and the fourth air bladder of the second body wrap are adapted to make direct contact with the body, and wherein the third air bladder overlaps with the fourth air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the third air bladder and the fourth air bladder wherein the control unit and the one or more additional control units synchronize the compressive force applied to the body of the first air bladder and the second air bladder of the wrap and the at least two air bladders of the one or more additional wraps by exchanging synchronization signal to determine inflation timing using the one or more pressure sensors as taught by Ballas as this would allow the two devices to communicate in order to provide the best treatment for the user.
Further, the combination of Ramanan, Ben-nun and Ballas teaches wherein the third bladder and the fourth air bladder of the second body wrap are adapted to make direct contact with the body, and wherein the third air bladder overlaps with the fourth air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the third air bladder and the fourth air bladder (Ramanan: skin contacting layer forms one side of the chambers, abstract, paragraph 9; Ballas: device 102a and 102b; Ben-nun: column 1 line 26-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the third bladder and the fourth air bladder of the second body wrap are adapted to make direct contact with the body, and wherein the third air bladder overlaps with the fourth air bladder such that, upon inflation, there is no gap in a compressive force applied to the body between the third air bladder and the fourth air bladder as taught by the combination as this duplication of the initial wrap would
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramanan (US 2020/0237607) in view of Ben-nun (US 6846295) and Ballas (US 2012/0065561) and Wright (US 2014/0052028).
In regards to claim 15, Ramanan in view of Ben-nun and Ballas teaches the device of claim 14 and the combination further teaches wireless communication between the first control unit and the second control unit (Ballas: communications link 114 may be any suitable wireless communications, paragraph 44), it does not teach wherein the synchronization is achieved by RF communication.
However, Wright teaches a compression device with a wireless communication system including RF communication (paragraph 74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramanan wherein the synchronization is achieved by RF communication as taught by Wright as this is a commonly known and used form of communication in such devices.
Response to Arguments
In regards to the arguments concerning the independent claims, these arguments are not persuasive. These arguments are primarily with respect to the amendments made to the claims and are addressed in the new rejections entered above. Specifically, Applicant argues that Ballas does not teach a relation between pressure control and the newly added pressure sensors. Examiner disagrees and points to the new citations of Ballas which describe the control unit using pressure sensors to determine a desired compression profile.
Arguments concerning the dependent claims are also in regards to the amendments to the clams and the failure of further references to teach the limitations. None of these references have been called upon to teach said limitations and these arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIELLE WOLFF/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785