DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed November 3, 2025. Currently, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17, 20, 22, 26-28, 30-31, 34 are pending. Claims 26-28, 30-31, 34 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
All arguments have been thoroughly reviewed but are deemed non-persuasive for the reasons which follow. This action is made FINAL.
Any objections and rejections not reiterated below are hereby withdrawn.
Applicant filed a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the copending application and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person to overcome the Eisele references.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of the combination of Fer1L4, ZNF568 and BMP3 in the paper filed June 18, 2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Claims 26-28, 30-31, 34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application claims priority to
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that the IDS filed November 3, 2025, 1/15/25 and 8/28/24 contain an extremely large number of references for consideration by the Examiner. If the Applicant and/or Applicant and/or Applicant's representative are aware of any particular reference or portion of a reference in the extensive list which the examiner should pay particular attention to, it is required that it be specifically pointed out in response to this Office action.
Applicant is reminded that "burying" relevant references in a lengthy IDS is discouraged. See, e.g., Molins PLC v. Textron Inc., 48 F.3d 1172, 33 USPQ2d 1823, 1831 (Fed. Cir. 1995) The court concluded that, by “burying” Wagenseil in a multitude of other references, Hirsh and Smith intentionally withheld it from the PTO becausethis manner of disclosure was tantamount to a failure to disclose. Citing Penn Yan Boats, Inc. v. Sea Lark Boats, Inc., 359 F.Supp. 948, 175 USPQ 260 (S.D. Fla. 1972), aff'd, 479 F.2d 1328, 178 USPQ 577 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 874 (1973), the court stated that Hirsh's and Smith's failure to highlight Wagenseil in light of their knowledge of Whitson's actions in the foreign prosecutions violated their duty of candor to the PTO. Citing our precedent, Textron asserts that Smith's and Hirsh's conduct is “inexcusable, fraudulent, and cannot operate to cure Whitson's inequitable conduct.” See Rohm & Haas Co. v. Crystal Chem. Co., 722 F.2d 1556, 220 USPQ 289(Fed.Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) (where intentional material misrepresentations have been made, a “cure” through voluntary efforts during prosecution must be demonstrated by clear, unequivocal, and convincing evidence).
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim is directed to at least “on”. This appears to be a typo and should read “one”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11, 16-17, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markowitz et al. (WO 2020/243240, December 3, 2020) in view of Allawi et al. (US 2018/0245157, August 30, 2018).
With respect to Claims 1-3, 6, 20 Markowitz teaches a method of diagnosing a subject as having a neoplasia (e.g., esophageal cancer) by determining whether a target gene in a sample from the subject is more methylated than a reference target gene (page 57, lines 11-15). Markowitz teaches neoplasia refers to Barrett’s esophagus and esophageal cancer (page 17, lines 22-25). Markowitz teaches methods for assaying DNA methylation of BMP3, ZNF568 and FER1L4 (see Table 1, pages 32-33 and claim 56 of Wo, for example).
With respect to Claim 4, Markowitz teaches the reference target gene is from a healthy control (page 57, lines 18-19).
With respect to Claim 9, Markowitz teaches treating the DNA with a bisulfite compound that converts cytosine bases to uracil (see Claim 80, for example). With respect to Claim 11, Markowitz teaches numerous methods for detecting methylation such as MSP, MS-SnuPE, COBRA that rely upon primers and amplification, for example (pages 50-52).
With respect to Claim 22, Markowitz teaches the sample may be obtained by brushing of the esophagus with a brush, cytology brush, sponge, balloon or substance that contacts the esophagus and obtains and esophageal sample (page 17, lines 27-30).
Markowitz does not teach using B3GALT6 as a reference gene in the methylation analysis.
However, Allawi et al teaches the use of B3GALT6 as a gene for use in normalizing nucleic acid detection assays (para 107). Allawi teaches using reference genes such as B3GALT6 in diagnostic assay for identifying methylation associated with cancers (para 182).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious at the time the invention was made to have modified the methylation detection methods of Markowitz to include the B3GALT6 reference gene. Markowitz teaches using a reference gene sequence but does not teach B3GALT6. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to have used B3GALT6, a known methylation reference gene.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14, 16-18, 20 of copending Application No. 17/233,199 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘199 application claims a combination comprising the instantly claimed genes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17, 20, 22 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 14, 16-18, 20 of copending Application No. 17/233,199. That is, claims 14, 16-18, 20 of copending Application No. 17/233,199 falls entirely within the scope of Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17, 20, 22, or in other words, claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, 11, 16-17, 20, 22 are anticipated by claims 14, 16-18, 20 of copending Application No. 17/233,199. Here, claims 14 and 16 of copending Application No. 17/233,199 recites “a method of characterizing an esophageal cell sample” by preparing an esophageal cell sample, treating DNA with bisulfite, determining the amount of a combination of genes including FER1L4 (lines 8 of Claim 14), ZNF568 (line 7 of Claim 16) and BMP3 (line 4 of Claim 16). The combination in the instant claims encompasses additional genes, including the combination of genes claimed in ‘199.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant requests that this rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is found in the pending application. This request has been noted and is denied. See 804(I)(b)(1) and 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b), which allows that some objections may be held in abeyance but includes no provision for holding rejections in abeyance. Thus, for the reasons above and those already of record, the rejection is maintained.
Claims 1-2, 6, 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 47-51 of copending Application No. 17/996,032 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the ‘032 application claims a combination comprising the instantly claimed genes.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentable distinct from each other because Claims 1-2, 6, 17 of the instant application is generic to all that is recited in claims 47-51 of copending Application No. 17/996,032. That is, claims 47-51 of copending Application No. 17/996,032 falls entirely within the scope of Claims 1-2, 6, 17, or in other words, Claims 1-2, 6, 17 are anticipated by claims 47-51 of copending Application No. 17/996,032. Here, claims 48-51 of copending Application No. 17/996,032 recites “assaying at least one biomarkers comprising FER1L4, BMP3 and ZNF568”. The combination in the instant claims encompasses additional genes, including the combination of genes claimed in ‘032.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant requests that this rejection be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is found in the pending application. This request has been noted and is denied. See 804(I)(b)(1) and 37 C.F.R. 1.111(b), which allows that some objections may be held in abeyance but includes no provision for holding rejections in abeyance. Thus, for the reasons above and those already of record, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
Cited pertinent art:
Jammula et al. (Gastroenterology, Vol. 158, No. 6, pages 1682, 1697, May 2020). Jammula teaches identification of subtypes of Barretts Esophagus and Esophageal adenocarcinoma based on methylation profiles. Jammula uses the Illumina 450K which comprises probes for each of the claimed gene.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
March 6, 2024