DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are cancelled,
Claims 21-27 are new.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s argues that the prior art does not disclose the following limitations newly added to new independent claim 21: “…the first magnet units are arranged in a ring surrounding the wireless power transmitting coil and the first magnetic units are spaced apart from each other…”.
The examiner provided new prior art reference WU to address the newly introduced limitation (Please see new grounds of rejection below).
Applicant cancelled previously rejected claims 1-20, the previous rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 and the rejection of claims 3 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. 112 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHWARTZ (US 2022/0311286 A1, hereinafter SCHWARTZ) in view of MATOUKA et al. (US 2010/0264871 A1, hereinafter MATOUKA) and in further view of WU et Al. (US 2022/0069621 A1, hereinafter WU).
Regarding claim 21, SCHWARTZ discloses a wireless charging system, comprising:
a wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising a wireless power transmitting coil (See Figs.5-6 disclose a charging puck, Fig.7, discloses the electronic device 10B charged by the charging puck comprising a coil 22B in the middle of annular magnets 26B. The coil of the charging puck of Figs.5-6 is interpreted to correspond to that of the electronic device i.e. in the middle of the annular magnetic structure formed by magnets 26C), first magnet units, wherein the first magnet units are arranged in a ring surrounding the wireless power transmitting coil (See Figs.5-6, disclose a plurality of magnets 26C arranged in a ring around coil 22 [Fig.7, shows the coil in the center of the magnet arrangement]); and
a wireless power receiving apparatus opposed to the wireless power transmitting apparatus (See Fig.7, Item#10B, discloses a wireless power receiving device. Figs.3-4 Also disclose the magnetic structure of the electronic device), wherein the wireless power receiving apparatus comprises a wireless power receiving coil (See Figs.7, Item#22B discloses a receiving coil) and third magnet units (See Fig.1, Item#26 and Fig.7, Item#26B), and the third magnet units arranged in a ring surrounding the wireless power receiving coil (See Figs.3-4 and Par.28, disclose a front view of the magnetic structure of an electronic device. Par.32 also discloses the electronic devices comprise a ring of magnets).
However, SCHWARTZ does not disclose the wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising a second magnetic unit arranged at a center of the wireless power transmitting coil and that the first magnetic units and the second magnetic units are spaced apart from each other.
MATOUKA discloses a wireless power transmitting apparatus comprising a magnetic unit at a center of a wireless power transmitting coil (See Fig.2, discloses a magnetic unit 224 in the center of a wireless power transmitting coil 220).
SCHWARTZ and MATOUKA are analogous art since they both deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SCHWARTZ with teachings of MATOUKA by adding the magnetic unit at the center of the wireless power transmitting coil for the benefit of increase the compatibility of the charger by allowing the charger to mate with an electronic device comprising an annular alignment magnet or another electronic device with an alignment magnet in the center of the coil.
However, SCHWARTZ and MATOUKA do not disclose the first magnetic units and the second magnetic units are spaced apart from each other.
WU discloses a wireless charger comprising a plurality of magnetic units arranged in a ring surrounding a wireless power transmitting coil (See Fig.6 and Pars.30-31 disclose a plurality of magnets arranged in a ring surrounding a wireless power transmitting coil 11), the plurality of magnetic units are spaced apart from each other (See Fig.6, Items#12, disclose the plurality of magnets are spaced apart).
SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SCHWARTZ and MATOUKA with the teaching of WU by using a plurality of spaced apart magnets instead of a continuous ring for the benefit of reducing eddy currents (This is evidenced by PARTOVI [US 10,141,770 B2], Par.37, lines 48-57, disclose a gap or a cut in an annular alignment magnet reduces the generation of eddy currents).
Regarding claim 22, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclose the wireless charging system according to claim 21 as discussed above, wherein each first magnet unit comprises a first layer (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6 above, discloses a top layer comprising two side by side magnetic pole S N interpreted as the first layer) and a second layer (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6 above, discloses a bottom layer comprising two side by side magnetic pole N S interpreted as the second layer), the first layer and the second layer are arranged relative to each other in a direction perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6 above and Fig.7, disclose the coil 22A is in the middle of the first magnetic unit 26A/26C. The first and second layer are arranged vertically to one another i.e. perdicular to the coil), and the first layer is closer to the wireless power receiving apparatus than the second layer (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6, discloses the first layer is the top layer and is therefore closer to a wireless power receiving device [Fig.7, Item#10B] than the bottom layer),
the first layer has a first magnetic pole (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6, discloses the top layer comprising S magnetic pole) and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6, discloses the top layer comprising N magnetic pole), the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged in the direction perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6 and applicant’s Fig.8 and remarks filed 08/27/2025, disclose the magnets in the first layer are in the same arrangement as claimed by the applicant; perpendicular to the coil. The first layer comprising N and S poles side by side are perpendicular to wireless power transmitting coil), and the second magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power transmitting coil than the first magnetic pole (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6, discloses that the N pole of the first layer is closer to the coil placed in the middle than the S Pole on the outside of the first magnetic unit),
the second layer has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6, discloses a second layer of side by side magnetic pole N S), the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged relative to each other in the direction perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6 and applicant’s Fig.8, disclose the magnets in the second layer are in the same arrangement as disclosed by the applicant’s invention; perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil), and the first magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power transmitting coil than the second magnetic pole (See SCHWARTZ, annotated Fig.6, discloses that the S pole of the second layer is closer to the coil placed in the middle than the N Pole on the outside of the first magnetic unit), and
the second magnetic pole of the first layer of the first magnet unit is opposite to the first magnetic pole of the second layer of the first magnet unit (See SCHWARTZ annotated Fig.6, discloses the second layer comprising N S magnetic poles opposite to one another).
Regarding claim 23, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclose the wireless charging system according to claim 22 as discussed above, wherein each third magnet unit comprises a first layer (See SCHWARTZ, Figs.3-4 and Par.28, disclose an electronic device magnetic alignment structure), the first layer has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other (See Figs.3-4, discloses an inner south pole and an outer north pole), the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are is arranged in the direction perpendicular to the wireless power receiving coil (See SCHWARTZ, Figs.3-4 and 7, the coil receiving coil 22B is in the middle of the magnetic alignment structure and the first and second magnetic poles are perpendicular to the coil), and the first magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving coil than the second magnetic pole (See SCHWARTZ, Figs.3-4, disclose the south pole is closer to the coil than the north pole)
However, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU do not explicitly disclose a second magnetic layer, the first layer and the second layer is arranged relative to each other in a direction perpendicular to the wireless power receiving coil, and the first layer is closer to the wireless power transmitting apparatus than the second layer, the second layer has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other, the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged in the direction perpendicular to the wireless power receiving coil, and the second magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving coil than the first magnetic pole, and the first magnetic pole of the first layer of the third magnet unit is opposite to the second magnetic pole of the second layer of the third magnet unit.
However the examiner explains that SCHWARTZ discloses using a first magnet comprising a first layer and a second layer arranged relative to each other in a direction perpendicular to the coil (See annotated Fig.6,disclose first and second layers) and second layer has a polarity that is opposite to that of the first layer and one layer is closer to the corresponding device than the other layer (See annotated Fig.6, discloses the first layer is closer to the receiver than the second layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU as applied to claim 22 with the teachings of SCHWARTZ by adding a second layer to the first layer for the benefit of increasing the magnetic attraction between the wireless power receiving device and the wireless power transmitting device (The examiner explains that the addition of a second layer behind the disclosed first layer, following the teachings of SCHWARTZ, means that the second layer has opposite polarity to the of the first layer. One pole of the magnet is closer to the receiving coil than the opposite pole and the first layer since placed on top of the second layer; will be closer to the wireless power transmitter than the second layer).
Regarding claim 24, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclose the wireless charging system according to claim 21 as discussed above, wherein the second magnet unit has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other (See MATOUKA, Fig.2, Item#224, discloses a magnet comprising a a N pole and a S pole. The charger of SCHWARTZ was modified in view of MATOUKA in the rejection of claim 21 above), the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil (See MATOUKA, Fig.2, discloses the magnetic poles are arranged vertically in a direction perpendicualr to the coil 220), and the second magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving apparatus than the first magnetic pole (See MATOUKA, Fig.2, discloses the N pole of the magnet 224 is closer to the receiver 60).
Regarding claim 25, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclose the wireless charging system according to claim 21 as discussed above, wherein no magnet unit is arranged at a center of the wireless power receiving coil (The examiner explains that claim 21 rejected over SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclsoes a charger comprising an annular magnet around the coil and a center magnet in th middle of the coil. The charger is capable of aligning to an electronic device comprising just an annular magnetic alignment structure as disclsoed by SCHWARTZ, Figs.3-4).
Regarding claim 26, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclose the wireless charging system according to claim 21 as discussed above, wherein each first magnet unit has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other (See SCHWARTZ FIG.6, discloses a first magnet 26C comprising N and S arranged vertically), the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged in a direction perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil (See SCHWARTZ, Fig.6, discloses the interior magnet 26C comprsing magnetc poles arranged in the vertical direction perpendicuilar to a wireless transmitting coil 22 [Fig.7] arranged horizontally), and the second magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving apparatus than the first magnetic pole (See SCHWARTZ, Fig.6, discloses the N pole of the interior magnetic 26C is closeer to an electronic device receiving coil aligned with the charging puck), the second magnet unit has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other (See MATOUKA Fig.2, discloses magnet 224 comprising N and S poles), the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged in the direction perpendicular to the wireless power transmitting coil (See MATOUKA, Fig.2, discloses the magnet 224 is vertical i.e. perpendicualr to the horizontal coil 220), and the second magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving apparatus than the first magnetic pole (See MATOUKA, Fig.2, discloses N pole is closer to receiving coil 62).
Regarding claim 27, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU disclose the wireless charging system according to claim 26 as discussed above, wherein each third magnet unit comprises a first layer (See SCHWARTZ, Figs.3-4 and Par.28, disclose an electronic device magnetic alignment structure),
the first layer has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other (See SCHWARTZ, Figs.3-4, discloses an inner south pole and an outer north pole), and the first magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving coil than the second magnetic pole (See Figs.3-4, disclose the south pole is closer to the receiver coil than the north pole),
However, SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU as applied to claim 26 do not explicitly disclose a second magnetic layer, the first layer and the second layer is arranged relative to each other in a direction perpendicular to the wireless power receiving coil, and the first layer is closer to the wireless power transmitting apparatus than the second layer, the second layer has a first magnetic pole and a second magnetic pole opposite to each other, the first magnetic pole and the second magnetic pole are arranged in the direction perpendicular to the wireless power receiving coil, and the second magnetic pole is closer to the wireless power receiving coil than the first magnetic pole, and the first magnetic pole of the first layer of the third magnet unit is opposite to the second magnetic pole of the second layer of the third magnet unit.
However the examiner explains that SCHWARTZ discloses using a first magnet comprising a first layer and a second layer arranged relative to each other in a direction perpendicular to the coil (See annotated Fig.6,disclose first and second layers) and second layer has a polarity that is opposite to that of the first layer and one layer is closer to the corresponding device than the other layer (See annotated Fig.6, discloses the first layer is closer to the receiver than the second layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by SCHWARTZ, MATOUKA and WU as applied to claim 26 with the teachings of SCHWARTZ by adding a second layer to the first layer for the benefit of increasing the magnetic attraction between the wireless power receiving device and the wireless power transmitting device (The examiner explains that the addition of a second layer behind the disclosed first layer, following the teachings of SCHWARTZ, means that the second layer has opposite polarity to the of the first layer. One pole of the magnet is closer to the receiving coil than the opposite pole and the first layer since placed on top of the second layer; will be closer to the wireless power transmitter than the second layer).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED H OMAR/Examiner, Art Unit 2859