DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicants Request for Continued Examination filed 11/5/25 which has been entered. Claims 5, 14, 26, 33, and 36 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 3-7, 10-11, 13-14, 16, 18, 22-26, and 30-38 are still pending in this application, with Claims 5 and 14 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 3-4, 7, 10, 13-14, 16, 18, 21-26, and 30-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen US Publication No. 20180109890 in view of Lin US Publication No. 20050117352.
Referring to claim 5, Pedersen teaches a hearing device configured to be worn at or in an ear of a user (para 0001: “The present disclosure relates to protective measures for components of hearing devices. More particularly, the disclosure relates to hearing devices, such as hearing aids”; Figs. 1, 10: hearing aid 100/1000), the hearing device comprising: a substrate (para 0039: “the at least one electrical component 110 may be arranged on a substrate (e.g. PCB) and the substrate may form a second cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120 fixed to a first cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120”; Fig. 10: PCB 206); one or more electronic components mounted on the substrate (Fig. 10: electrical components 110 on PCB 206; para 0039: “the at least one electrical component 110 may be arranged on a substrate (e.g. PCB) and the substrate may form a second cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120”); and a shielding component configured to cover at least a first electronic component of the one or more electronic components on the substrate (Figs. 1, 10: cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Fig. 10) covers electrical components 110); wherein a space between the shielding component and the substrate is at least partly filled with an encapsulation material configured to encapsulate at least the first electronic component (Fig. 1: filling material 130 fills cavity 112 around electrical component 110); a filling hole at the shielding component (Figs. 1, 10: cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Fig. 10), the filling hole configured to deliver the encapsulation material to at least a part of the space (Fig. 9: injection hole 122; para 0024: “filling material 130 can be injected into the cavity 112 through the injection hole 122”), the substrate of the hearing device (para 0039: “the at least one electrical component 110 may be arranged on a substrate (e.g. PCB) and the substrate may form a second cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120 fixed to a first cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120”; Fig. 10: PCB 206 of hearing aid 1000) and a first air escape hole at the shielding component (Figs. 9, 10: opening 124 in part of cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Figs. 9, 10); para 0028: “such first-type opening may also be used for ventilation alone and/or have a double function and used for both ventilation and visual inspection purposes”) wherein the shielding component has a part disposed directly over the major surface of the substrate (Fig. 10: housing component 208 disposed over major surface of PCB 206).
Though Pedersen teaches that “the injection hole 122 and/or the opening 124 may be arranged in a cavity enclosure component being part of the housing structure of the hearing aid”, Pedersen does not explicitly show all possible locations of the holes in relation to filling, but Lin et al. teaches the filling hole is directly above a major surface of the substrate, and wherein the filling hole has a hole axis (1) extending through a middle of the filling hole in a direction that is perpendicular to a plane defined by a perimeter of the filling hole, and (2) intersecting the major surface of the substrate, and wherein the filling hole is a distance away from the major surface of the substrate (Fig. 9: rightmost hole 133 directly above and spaced away from major surface of film 16 and axis of injection hole 133 intersects film 16; para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of bond injection”); a first air escape hole (Fig. 9: uppermost hole 133; para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of …ventilation”) wherein the shielding component has a part disposed directly over the major surface of the substrate (Fig. 9: support 13A has top directly over major surface of film 16), wherein both the filling hole and the first air escape hole are at the part of the shielding component (Fig. 9: holes 133 all at top of support 13A), and wherein the filling hole is closer to a center of the shielding component than to two opposite ends of the shielding component (Fig. 9: rightmost hole 133 closer to direct center point of support 13A than to opposite end corners of leftmost and uppermost holes 133 of support 13A). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of placing the injection and inspection holes in the walls of the cavity enclosure component, therefore it would have been obvious to try placing the holes on a wall opposite to the substrate and injecting material downward, as taught in Lin, as opposed to putting the injection hole on a side wall or in the substrate, as more clearly shown in Pedersen, because this placement and orientation allows for easy injection of material into the space within.
Referring to claim 3, Pedersen teaches the shielding component comprises an internal face facing towards the substrate, and wherein the shielding component comprises an external face facing towards a surrounding (Figs. 1, 10: cavity enclosure structure 120/housing component 208 comprises internal face facing electrical components 110 and external face facing a surrounding).
Referring to claim 4, Pedersen teaches the shielding component comprises a reservoir, and wherein the reservoir is at least partly defined by a portion of the external face of the shielding component (Figs. 9, 10: overflow cavities 203 and injection hole 122 defined by external faces of housing component 208).
Referring to claim 7, Pedersen teaches the shielding component is made from a solid metal plate (para 0040).
Referring to claim 10, Pedersen teaches the shielding component has a first height above the substrate, wherein the first height of the shielding component corresponds with a height of the first electronic component (Fig. 1: height of 120 corresponds to height of electronic component 110).
Referring to claim 13, Pedersen teaches the part of the shielding component extends in a direction that is parallel to the major plane of the substrate (Fig. 10: wall of 208 opposite to PCB 206 extends in a direction parallel to major plane of PCB 206). Lin also shows injection hole 133 in top of support 13A, which is parallel to film 16. Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 14, Pedersen teaches a hearing device configured to be worn at or in an ear of a user (para 0001: “The present disclosure relates to protective measures for components of hearing devices. More particularly, the disclosure relates to hearing devices, such as hearing aids”; Figs. 1, 10: hearing aid 100/1000), the hearing device comprising: a substrate (para 0039: “the at least one electrical component 110 may be arranged on a substrate (e.g. PCB) and the substrate may form a second cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120 fixed to a first cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120”; Fig. 10: PCB 206); one or more electronic components mounted on the substrate (Fig. 10: electrical components 110 on PCB 206; para 0039: “the at least one electrical component 110 may be arranged on a substrate (e.g. PCB) and the substrate may form a second cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120”); and a shielding component configured to cover at least a first electronic component of the one or more electronic components on the substrate (Figs. 1, 10: cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Fig. 10) covers electrical components 110); wherein a space between the shielding component and the substrate is at least partly filled with an encapsulation material configured to encapsulate at least the first electronic component (Fig. 1: filling material 130 fills cavity 112 around electrical component 110); wherein the shielding component comprises a reservoir configured to receive an excess encapsulation material that is outside the space between the shielding component and the substrate (Fig. 10: overflow cavity 203 in housing component 208, further cavities exist by holes 122, 124; para 0067: “In case of too much filling material is injected the overflow cavity will be utilized”; para 0024: “the filling material 130 extends from the injection hole 122 to the opening 124 through the cavity and fills at least partly the injection hole 122 and optionally also the opening 124.”;); wherein the shielding component comprises a first air escape hole (Figs. 9, 10: opening 124 in part of cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Figs. 9, 10); para 0028: “such first-type opening may also be used for ventilation alone and/or have a double function and used for both ventilation and visual inspection purposes”) and a filling hole, the filling hole configured to receive the encapsulation material to at least partially fill the space between the shielding component and the substrate (Fig. 9: injection hole 122; para 0024: “filling material 130 can be injected into the cavity 112 through the injection hole 122”); and the shielding component comprises a part disposed over a major surface of the substrate (Fig. 10: housing component 208 disposed over major surface of PCB 206), the substrate of the hearing device (para 0039: “the at least one electrical component 110 may be arranged on a substrate (e.g. PCB) and the substrate may form a second cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120 fixed to a first cavity enclosure component of the cavity enclosure structure 120”; Fig. 10: PCB 206 of hearing aid 1000).
Though Pedersen teaches that “the injection hole 122 and/or the opening 124 may be arranged in a cavity enclosure component being part of the housing structure of the hearing aid”, Pedersen does not explicitly show all possible locations of the holes in relation to filling, but Lin teaches the first air escape hole and the filling hole (para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of bond injection or ventilation”) are both directly above the major surface of the substrate, and wherein the filling hole is a distance away from the major surface of the substrate (Fig. 9: holes 133 directly above and spaced from the major surface of film 16) and wherein the filling hole at the part of the shielding component is closer to a center of the shielding component than to two opposite ends of the shielding component (Fig. 9: rightmost hole 133 closer to direct center point of support 13A than to opposite end corners of leftmost and uppermost holes 133 of support 13A). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had good reason to pursue the known finite options of placing the injection and air holes in the walls of the cavity enclosure component, therefore it would have been obvious to try placing the holes on a wall above the substrate and injecting material downward, as taught in Lin, as opposed to putting the holes on a side wall or in the substrate, as more clearly shown in Pedersen, because this placement and orientation allows for easy injection of material into the space within.
Referring to claim 16, Pedersen teaches the shielding component comprises a reservoir configured to receive an excess encapsulation material that is outside the space between the shielding component and the substrate (Fig. 9: injection hole 122 in housing component 208; para 0024: “the filling material 130…fills at least partly the injection hole 122”;) and Lin teaches the part of the shielding component comprises a top part, and wherein the reservoir is a recess at the top part of the shielding component (Fig. 9: rightmost hole 133 is recess at top part of support 13A). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 18, Lin teaches the reservoir is a recess at a top part of the shielding component (Fig. 9: rightmost hole 133 is recess at top part of support 13A). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 22, Pedersen teaches the filling hole is at the reservoir, and the first air escape hole is away from the filling hole (Fig. 9: injection hole 122 away from opening 124; Fig. 5: also shows injection hole 244 and openings 246, 248 away from one another; para 0026: “the injection hole 122 and the (first) opening 124 may be located far away from each other to enable a substantially complete filling of the cavity”). Lin also shows holes 133 away from each other. Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 23, Pedersen teaches the shielding component has a bottom side and a top side opposite from the bottom side, wherein the substrate is located closer to the bottom side of the shielding component than to the top side of the shielding component, and wherein the first air escape hole and the filling hole are both at the top side of the shielding component (Fig. 5: both injection hole 244 and openings 246, 248 at side of chassis opposite to side near PCB 240). Lin also shows holes 133 in top of support 13A, which is opposite to film 16. Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 24, Pedersen teaches the shielding component has a bottom side and a top side opposite from the bottom side, wherein the substrate is located closer to the bottom side of the shielding component than to the top side of the shielding component, and wherein the first air escape hole and the filling hole are both at the top side of the shielding component (Fig. 5: both injection hole 244 and openings 246, 248 at side of chassis opposite to side near PCB 240). Lin also shows holes 133 in top of support 13A, which is opposite to film 16. Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 25, Pedersen teaches the filling hole is at a wall of the shielding component (Fig. 9: injection hole 122 in wall of housing component 208).
Referring to claim 26, Lin teaches the part of the shielding component is at a top side of the shielding component, wherein both the filling hole and the first air escape hole are at a same side of the shielding component (Fig. 9: holes 133 at the top side of support 13A). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 30, Lin teaches the filling hole has a hole axis (1) extending through a middle of the filling hole in a direction that is perpendicular to a plane defined by a perimeter of the filling hole, and (2) intersecting the major surface of the substrate (Fig. 9: axis of rightmost hole 133 intersects film 16). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 31, Pedersen teaches the shielding component comprises a reservoir configured to receive an excess encapsulation material that is outside the space between the shielding component and the substrate (Fig. 9: injection hole 122 in housing component 208; para 0024: “the filling material 130…fills at least partly the injection hole 122”;), the reservoir comprising the filling hole (Fig. 9: injection hole 122 part of hearing aid 900).
Referring to claim 32, Pedersen teaches the shielding component comprising the first air escape hole (Figs. 9, 10: opening 124 in part of cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Figs. 9, 10); para 0028: “such first-type opening may also be used for ventilation alone and/or have a double function and used for both ventilation and visual inspection purposes”) and the filling hole (Fig. 9: injection hole 122 part of housing component 208) is a part of the hearing device (Figs. 1, 10: cavity enclosure structure 120 (composed of housing component 208 in Figs. 9,10) part of hearing aid 100/900/1000).
Referring to claim 33, Lin teaches a second air escape hole, wherein the first air escape hole and the second air escape hole are closer to one or respective ones of the two opposite ends of the shield component than to the center of the shielding component (Fig. 9: leftmost hole 133 and uppermost hole 133 closer to respective end corners than to the direct center point of support 13A; para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of …ventilation”). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 34, Lin teaches a third air escape hole (Fig. 9: lowermost hole 133; para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of …ventilation”). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 35, Lin teaches the first air escape hole, the second air escape hole, and the third air escape hole are associated with respective corners of the shielding component (Fig. 9: holes 133 at corners of support 13A). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 5.
Referring to claim 36, Lin teaches a second air escape hole, wherein the first air escape hole and the second air escape hole are closer to one or respective ones of the two opposite ends of the shield component than to the center of the shielding component (Fig. 9: leftmost hole 133 and uppermost hole 133 closer to respective corner ends than to the direct center point of support 13A; para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of …ventilation”). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 37, Lin teaches a third air escape hole (Fig. 9: lowermost hole 133; para 0065: “The holes 133…as means of …ventilation”). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Referring to claim 38, Lin teaches the first air escape hole, the second air escape hole, and the third air escape hole are associated with respective corners of the shielding component (Fig. 9: holes 133 at corners of support 13A). Motivation to combine is the same as in claim 14.
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedersen and Lin, as shown in claim 5, in view of Zhu et al. US Publication No. 20070121979.
Referring to claim 6, Pedersen teaches the shielding component is made from an electrically conductive material (para 0028). However, Pedersen and Lin do not teach the shielding component being an electromagnetic shield component, but Zhu et al. teaches the shielding component is an electromagnetically shielding component configured to electromagnetically shield at least the first electronic component (para 0013). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electromagnetic shield, as taught in Zhu et al., in the device of Pedersen and Lin because it helps to “reduce the RF coupling from the wireless communications device to those circuits in the hearing aid, causing an audible unwanted noise, such as GSM buzz.”
Referring to claim 11, Pedersen and Lin do not teach the electronic component being a power management circuit or the shielding component being an electromagnetic shield component, but Zhu et al. teaches the first electronic component is at least a part of a power management circuit of the hearing device, and wherein the shielding component is configured to reduce electromagnetic interference of the first electronic component (para 0013). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an electromagnetic shield on a power circuit, as taught in Zhu et al., in the device of Pedersen and Lin because it helps to “reduce the RF coupling from the wireless communications device to those circuits in the hearing aid, causing an audible unwanted noise, such as GSM buzz.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/27/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states in para 3 on page 9 of the remarks:
“As shown above, while Applicant agrees with the Examiner that the hole 133 (on right side) is closer the center of the component 13A than to the top-left end of the component 13A, the hole 133 is not closer to the center to the component 13A to two opposite ends of the component 13A. Thus, Lin fails to make up the deficiencies of Pedersen.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The two opposite ends are not defined in the claims therefore, the two ends may be any end portions that are opposite to one another. Lin shows the corner by leftmost hole 133 and the corner by uppermost hole 133 are on opposite ends of 13A in Fig. 9. Therefore, Lin teaches the rightmost hole 133 is closer to the center than to the end corners at leftmost and uppermost holes 133.
Conclusion
Examiner respectfully requests, in response to this Office Action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line number(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist Examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner of Patents and Trademarks
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Va. 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, for formal communications intended for entry and for
informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”.
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Arlington, VA 22314
/KATHERINE A FALEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693