DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the request for continued examination filed on 1/22/2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 1/5/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, 13-14 and 19-20 have been amended. Claims 1-5, 8, 10-14, 17 and 19-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 10, 19 and 20 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji et al. (US 2022/0256579, hereinafter Ji) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0394675, hereinafter Zhou), and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2022/0394560, hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 1, Ji discloses a method of selecting one or more resources for sidelink, SL, communication for a first user equipment, UE [Ji Figures 4 and 5 disclose a method for reserving sidelink resources], the method comprising:
Performing a pre-emption procedure to determine if one or more SL resources of SL resources, already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI), is pre-empted by a second UE, when a priority of the first UE is lower than a priority of the second UE [Ji discloses that the first terminal equipment (i.e. a UE) receives a first indication information indicating a second time-frequency resource transmitted by a second terminal, where the second resource partially overlaps a reserved or allocated first time-frequency resource of the first terminal (Ji paragraph 0082). The first terminal then indicates to the network that the first resource is at least partially pre-empted (Ji paragraph 0083). Ji discloses that the first terminal determines that a priority indicated by the first indication information is higher than a priority corresponding to the first resource (i.e. the priority of the first UE is lower than the second UE) (Ji paragraph 0086). Also see the example in Ji Figure 5 which discloses that the priority of resource 2 is higher than a priority of resource 1, and the terminal pre-empts the resource 1 (Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106)], and
Triggering a resource re-selection procedure to select a replacement resource for SL transmission, wherein a remaining or non-pre-empted portion of the SL resources already reserved by the first UE is included as part of the resource re-selection procedure and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains [Ji discloses that once reserved resources of UE1 are pre-empted, a reservation indication information is sent to the UE1, and UE1 may trigger a resource reselection process to select other resources for data transmission (Ji paragraph 0073). In another example, after receiving the SCI, the UE 1 determines that the resource 1 will be pre-empted; and UE 1 may perform sidelink resource selection to obtain reselected resource (Ji paragraph 0166). Ji Figure 3 discloses an example where PSSCH resources between UE1 and UE2 are shown. Once the reserved resources of UE1 are preempted, the resource reselection includes the some of the non-pre-empted resources (see Ji Figure 3, paragraphs 0074-0075). Another example in Ji Figure 7 discloses that the remaining resources may be used for transmission after certain resources for UE A are pre-empted, which ensures that the entire reservation chain is not destroyed because of pre-empted resources. (see Ji Figure 7, paragraph 0128). Thus, The resource reselection includes resources that are non-pre-empted and also are reserved].
Although Ji discloses that the network allocates the first time-frequency resource of the terminal (Ji paragraph 0117). These correspond to the already reserved SL resources. The terminal may transmit sidelink data using remaining resources that meet a requirement for transmission (Ji paragraph 0118); Ji does not expressly disclose the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou discloses that a UE may reserve resources through SCI (i.e. a first SCI); and another UE may pre-empt the reserved resources based on priority of the data of the second UE being higher than the first UE (Zhou paragraph 0274. Also see Zhou paragraph 0182 for resource reservation through SCI). As the resources are reserved through SCI, the resource assignment and reservation field are implicit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji to have the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for improved resource allocation for sidelink communication (Zhou paragraphs 0089-0090).
Ji and Zhou do not expressly disclose the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Yu Figures 6 and 7 disclose examples of resources for pre-emption indication (PI) where a set of resources may be used for PI in a resource pool, and the remaining resources in the timeslot are continuous in time/frequency domains (see Yu Figures 6, 7, paragraphs 0112-0116 and 0120-0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji and Zhou to have the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains; as taught by Yu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved methods of pre-emption between UEs (Yu paragraphs 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 2, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the method of claim 1. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the pre-emption procedure is performed by receiving a second SCI from the second UE [Ji discloses that the UE2 transmits SCI (i.e. a second SCI) indicating the resource reservation information (first indication information) (Ji paragraph 0105, Figure 5). After UE1 receives the SCI, it is determined that the resources 1 and 2 partially overlap, and priority of resource 2 is higher than resource 1. The UE 1 then pre-empts the resource 1 (Ji paragraph 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the method of claim 1. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the priority of the first UE is a transmission priority [Ji discloses that the first terminal equipment is allocated a first time-frequency resource which is used for transmission of sidelink data (e.g. eMBB service) (Ji paragraph 0085). A priority indicated by the first indication information may be higher than the priority corresponding to the first resource (Ji paragraph 0086). Thus, the priority of the first UE corresponds to a transmission priority (i.e. priority of resource used for transmission of data related to a service, which is same as a transmission priority). Also see Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the method of claim 2. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the priority of the second UE is received in the second SCI [Ji discloses that a priority indicated by the first indication information (i.e. priority related to second UE) may be higher than the priority corresponding to the first resource (Ji paragraph 0086). Ji Figure 5 discloses an example where UE2 transmits SCI (first indication information) indicating resource 2 priority value corresponding to service data related to UE2 (Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the method of claim 2. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the second SCI indicates assignment of time and frequency resources that overlap with the one or more SL resources of SL resources already reserved by the first UE [Ji discloses that the UE2 transmits SCI indicating the resource reservation information, the SCI indicating time-frequency resource 2. UE 1 is allocated with resources including time-frequency resource 1 (Ji paragraph 0105, Figure 5). After UE1 receives the SCI, it is determined that the time-frequency resources 1 and 2 partially overlap (Ji paragraph 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, Ji discloses a first user equipment, UE, comprising a processor and memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby said first UE is operative to provide a procedure allowing the first UE to select one or more resources for sidelink, SL, communication for the first UE [Ji Figure 16 discloses a terminal equipment comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing data and a program and being coupled to the processor. The processor may be configured to execute a program to carry out the method for reserving sidelink resources (Ji Figure 16, paragraphs 0255-0262)],
Wherein the procedure provides instructions for performing a pre-emption procedure to determine if one or more SL resources of SL resources, already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI), is pre-empted by a second UE, when a priority of the first UE is lower than a priority of the second UE [Ji discloses that the first terminal equipment (i.e. a UE) receives a first indication information indicating a second time-frequency resource transmitted by a second terminal, where the second resource partially overlaps a reserved or allocated first time-frequency resource of the first terminal (Ji paragraph 0082). The first terminal then indicates to the network that the first resource is at least partially pre-empted (Ji paragraph 0083). Ji discloses that the first terminal determines that a priority indicated by the first indication information is higher than a priority corresponding to the first resource (i.e. the priority of the first UE is lower than the second UE) (Ji paragraph 0086). Also see the example in Ji Figure 5 which discloses that the priority of resource 2 is higher than a priority of resource 1, and the terminal pre-empts the resource 1 (Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106)], and
Triggering a resource re-selection procedure to select a replacement resource for SL transmission, wherein a remaining or non-pre-empted portion of the SL resources already reserved by the first UE is included as part of the resource re-selection procedure and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains [Ji discloses that once reserved resources of UE1 are pre-empted, a reservation indication information is sent to the UE1, and UE1 may trigger a resource reselection process to select other resources for data transmission (Ji paragraph 0073). In another example, after receiving the SCI, the UE 1 determines that the resource 1 will be pre-empted; and UE 1 may perform sidelink resource selection to obtain reselected resource (Ji paragraph 0166). Ji Figure 3 discloses an example where PSSCH resources between UE1 and UE2 are shown. Once the reserved resources of UE1 are preempted, the resource reselection includes the some of the non-pre-empted resources (see Ji Figure 3, paragraphs 0074-0075). Another example in Ji Figure 7 discloses that the remaining resources may be used for transmission after certain resources for UE A are pre-empted, which ensures that the entire reservation chain is not destroyed because of pre-empted resources. (see Ji Figure 7, paragraph 0128). Thus, The resource reselection includes resources that are non-pre-empted and also are reserved].
Although Ji discloses that the network allocates the first time-frequency resource of the terminal (Ji paragraph 0117). These correspond to the already reserved SL resources. The terminal may transmit sidelink data using remaining resources that meet a requirement for transmission (Ji paragraph 0118); Ji does not expressly disclose the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou discloses that a UE may reserve resources through SCI (i.e. a first SCI); and another UE may pre-empt the reserved resources based on priority of the data of the second UE being higher than the first UE (Zhou paragraph 0274. Also see Zhou paragraph 0182 for resource reservation through SCI). As the resources are reserved through SCI, the resource assignment and reservation field are implicit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji to have the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for improved resource allocation for sidelink communication (Zhou paragraphs 0089-0090).
Ji and Zhou do not expressly disclose the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Yu Figures 6 and 7 disclose examples of resources for pre-emption indication (PI) where a set of resources may be used for PI in a resource pool, and the remaining resources in the timeslot are continuous in time/frequency domains (see Yu Figures 6, 7, paragraphs 0112-0116 and 0120-0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji and Zhou to have the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains; as taught by Yu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved methods of pre-emption between UEs (Yu paragraphs 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 11, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the first UE according to claim 10. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the pre-emption procedure is performed by receiving a second SCI from the second UE [Ji discloses that the UE2 transmits SCI (i.e. a second SCI) indicating the resource reservation information (first indication information) (Ji paragraph 0105, Figure 5). After UE1 receives the SCI, it is determined that the resources 1 and 2 partially overlap, and priority of resource 2 is higher than resource 1. The UE 1 then pre-empts the resource 1 (Ji paragraph 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the first UE according to claim 10. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the priority of the first UE is a transmission priority [Ji discloses that the first terminal equipment is allocated a first time-frequency resource which is used for transmission of sidelink data (e.g. eMBB service) (Ji paragraph 0085). A priority indicated by the first indication information may be higher than the priority corresponding to the first resource (Ji paragraph 0086). Thus, the priority of the first UE corresponds to a transmission priority (i.e. priority of resource used for transmission of data related to a service, which is same as a transmission priority). Also see Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 10.
Regarding claim 13, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the first UE according to claim 11. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the priority of the second UE is received in the second SCI [Ji discloses that a priority indicated by the first indication information (i.e. priority related to second UE) may be higher than the priority corresponding to the first resource (Ji paragraph 0086). Ji Figure 5 discloses an example where UE2 transmits SCI (first indication information) indicating resource 2 priority value corresponding to service data related to UE2 (Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the first UE according to claim 11. Ji, Zhou and Yu further disclose wherein the second SCI indicates assignment of time and frequency resources that overlap with the one or more SL resources of SL resources already reserved by the first UE [Ji discloses that the UE2 transmits SCI indicating the resource reservation information, the SCI indicating time-frequency resource 2. UE 1 is allocated with resources including time-frequency resource 1 (Ji paragraph 0105, Figure 5). After UE1 receives the SCI, it is determined that the time-frequency resources 1 and 2 partially overlap (Ji paragraph 0106)]. In addition, the same motivation is used as the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Ji disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out operations of [Ji Figure 16 discloses a terminal equipment comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing data and a program and being coupled to the processor. The processor may be configured to execute a program to carry out the method for reserving sidelink resources (Ji Figure 16, paragraphs 0255-0262). An embodiment provides a computer program and a storage medium including a computer program, which causes a terminal to carry out the method for reserving sidelink resources (Ji paragraphs 0263-0267)]:
Performing a pre-emption procedure to determine if one or more SL resources of SL resources, already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI), is pre-empted by a second UE, when a priority of the first UE is lower than a priority of the second UE [Ji discloses that the first terminal equipment (i.e. a UE) receives a first indication information indicating a second time-frequency resource transmitted by a second terminal, where the second resource partially overlaps a reserved or allocated first time-frequency resource of the first terminal (Ji paragraph 0082). The first terminal then indicates to the network that the first resource is at least partially pre-empted (Ji paragraph 0083). Ji discloses that the first terminal determines that a priority indicated by the first indication information is higher than a priority corresponding to the first resource (i.e. the priority of the first UE is lower than the second UE) (Ji paragraph 0086). Also see the example in Ji Figure 5 which discloses that the priority of resource 2 is higher than a priority of resource 1, and the terminal pre-empts the resource 1 (Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106)], and
Triggering a resource re-selection procedure to select a replacement resource for SL transmission, wherein a remaining or non-pre-empted portion of the SL resources already reserved by the first UE is included as part of the resource re-selection procedure and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains [Ji discloses that once reserved resources of UE1 are pre-empted, a reservation indication information is sent to the UE1, and UE1 may trigger a resource reselection process to select other resources for data transmission (Ji paragraph 0073). In another example, after receiving the SCI, the UE 1 determines that the resource 1 will be pre-empted; and UE 1 may perform sidelink resource selection to obtain reselected resource (Ji paragraph 0166). Ji Figure 3 discloses an example where PSSCH resources between UE1 and UE2 are shown. Once the reserved resources of UE1 are preempted, the resource reselection includes the some of the non-pre-empted resources (see Ji Figure 3, paragraphs 0074-0075). Another example in Ji Figure 7 discloses that the remaining resources may be used for transmission after certain resources for UE A are pre-empted, which ensures that the entire reservation chain is not destroyed because of pre-empted resources. (see Ji Figure 7, paragraph 0128). Thus, The resource reselection includes resources that are non-pre-empted and also are reserved].
Although Ji discloses that the network allocates the first time-frequency resource of the terminal (Ji paragraph 0117). These correspond to the already reserved SL resources. The terminal may transmit sidelink data using remaining resources that meet a requirement for transmission (Ji paragraph 0118); Ji does not expressly disclose the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou discloses that a UE may reserve resources through SCI (i.e. a first SCI); and another UE may pre-empt the reserved resources based on priority of the data of the second UE being higher than the first UE (Zhou paragraph 0274. Also see Zhou paragraph 0182 for resource reservation through SCI). As the resources are reserved through SCI, the resource assignment and reservation field are implicit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji to have the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for improved resource allocation for sidelink communication (Zhou paragraphs 0089-0090).
Ji and Zhou do not expressly disclose the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Yu Figures 6 and 7 disclose examples of resources for pre-emption indication (PI) where a set of resources may be used for PI in a resource pool, and the remaining resources in the timeslot are continuous in time/frequency domains (see Yu Figures 6, 7, paragraphs 0112-0116 and 0120-0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji and Zhou to have the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains; as taught by Yu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved methods of pre-emption between UEs (Yu paragraphs 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 20, Ji discloses a chip, comprising one or more processors configured to execute program instructions stored in one or more memories to carry out operations of [Ji Figure 16 discloses a terminal equipment comprising a processor and a memory, the memory storing data and a program and being coupled to the processor. The processor may be configured to execute a program to carry out the method for reserving sidelink resources (Ji Figure 16, paragraphs 0255-0262). Ji further discloses that the embodiments of the disclosure may be embodied as hardware, software modules executed by a processor, or a combination thereof (Ji paragraph 0266). The processor and the memory medium may be located in an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC); i.e. a chip (Ji paragraphs 0267 and 0268)]:
Performing a pre-emption procedure to determine if one or more SL resources of SL resources, already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI), is pre-empted by a second UE, when a priority of the first UE is lower than a priority of the second UE [Ji discloses that the first terminal equipment (i.e. a UE) receives a first indication information indicating a second time-frequency resource transmitted by a second terminal, where the second resource partially overlaps a reserved or allocated first time-frequency resource of the first terminal (Ji paragraph 0082). The first terminal then indicates to the network that the first resource is at least partially pre-empted (Ji paragraph 0083). Ji discloses that the first terminal determines that a priority indicated by the first indication information is higher than a priority corresponding to the first resource (i.e. the priority of the first UE is lower than the second UE) (Ji paragraph 0086). Also see the example in Ji Figure 5 which discloses that the priority of resource 2 is higher than a priority of resource 1, and the terminal pre-empts the resource 1 (Ji paragraphs 0105 and 0106)], and
Triggering a resource re-selection procedure to select a replacement resource for SL transmission, wherein a remaining or non-pre-empted portion of the SL resources already reserved by the first UE is included as part of the resource re-selection procedure and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains [Ji discloses that once reserved resources of UE1 are pre-empted, a reservation indication information is sent to the UE1, and UE1 may trigger a resource reselection process to select other resources for data transmission (Ji paragraph 0073). In another example, after receiving the SCI, the UE 1 determines that the resource 1 will be pre-empted; and UE 1 may perform sidelink resource selection to obtain reselected resource (Ji paragraph 0166). Ji Figure 3 discloses an example where PSSCH resources between UE1 and UE2 are shown. Once the reserved resources of UE1 are preempted, the resource reselection includes the some of the non-pre-empted resources (see Ji Figure 3, paragraphs 0074-0075). Another example in Ji Figure 7 discloses that the remaining resources may be used for transmission after certain resources for UE A are pre-empted, which ensures that the entire reservation chain is not destroyed because of pre-empted resources. (see Ji Figure 7, paragraph 0128). Thus, The resource reselection includes resources that are non-pre-empted and also are reserved].
Although Ji discloses that the network allocates the first time-frequency resource of the terminal (Ji paragraph 0117). These correspond to the already reserved SL resources. The terminal may transmit sidelink data using remaining resources that meet a requirement for transmission (Ji paragraph 0118); Ji does not expressly disclose the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); and the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Zhou discloses that a UE may reserve resources through SCI (i.e. a first SCI); and another UE may pre-empt the reserved resources based on priority of the data of the second UE being higher than the first UE (Zhou paragraph 0274. Also see Zhou paragraph 0182 for resource reservation through SCI). As the resources are reserved through SCI, the resource assignment and reservation field are implicit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji to have the features of the SL resources being already reserved by the first UE using resource assignment information and a reservation field in a first sidelink control information (SCI); as taught by Zhou. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide a method for improved resource allocation for sidelink communication (Zhou paragraphs 0089-0090).
Ji and Zhou do not expressly disclose the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Yu Figures 6 and 7 disclose examples of resources for pre-emption indication (PI) where a set of resources may be used for PI in a resource pool, and the remaining resources in the timeslot are continuous in time/frequency domains (see Yu Figures 6, 7, paragraphs 0112-0116 and 0120-0121).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji and Zhou to have the feature of the remaining or non- pre-empted portion of the SL resources reserved by the first UE is continuous in time and frequency domains; as taught by Yu. The suggestion/motivation would have been to provide improved methods of pre-emption between UEs (Yu paragraphs 0003-0004).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji, Zhou, Yu, and further in view of Chae et al. (US 2021/0385822, hereinafter Chae).
Regarding claim 8, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the method of claim 1. Ji, Zhou and Yu do not expressly disclose wherein the re-selection process drops or skips a planned SL transmission for the one or more of the pre-empted resources.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chae discloses that a wireless device may trigger resource reselection for transmission of packets in response to receiving preemption indication. The device may release or drop sidelink transmissions to enhance delivery of packets with high priority (Chae paragraph 0265).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji, Zhou and Yu to have the feature of wherein the re-selection process drops or skips a planned SL transmission for the one or more of the pre-empted resources; as taught by Chae. The suggestion/motivation would have been to prevent excessive packet dropping and increase transmission efficiency (Chae paragraph 0258).
Regarding claim 17, Ji, Zhou and Yu disclose the first UE according to claim 10. Ji, Zhou and Yu do not expressly disclose wherein the re-selection process drops or skips a planned SL transmission for the one or more of the pre-empted resources.
However, in the same or similar field of invention, Chae discloses that a wireless device may trigger resource reselection for transmission of packets in response to receiving preemption indication. The device may release or drop sidelink transmissions to enhance delivery of packets with high priority (Chae paragraph 0265).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ji, Zhou and Yu to have the feature of wherein the re-selection process drops or skips a planned SL transmission for the one or more of the pre-empted resources; as taught by Chae. The suggestion/motivation would have been to prevent excessive packet dropping and increase transmission efficiency (Chae paragraph 0258).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 1/5/2026 with respect to claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The rejection has been revised according to the amended claims.
Conclusion
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414