DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicant’s appeal brief filed on 6/01/2026
for response of the office action mailed on 11/28/2025. Claims 1, 3, 5-12, 15-17, and 19-21 are pending and addressed below.
to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments of the Appeal Brief
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 6/01/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. A new
ground of rejection is set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, Applicant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then Applicant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/HASSAN A PHILLIPS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2467
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments along with appeal brief filed on 6/01/2026 have been fully considered but are
moot based on new ground of rejections using a newly introduced references (LING et al. and Talebi Fard et al.) are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 3, 7, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LING et al.
(US 2024/0147191 Al, hereinafter “Ling”) in view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 2021/0274575 Al, hereinafter “Talebi”).
Regarding claim 1, Ling discloses:
An application function (AF) server, comprising (receiving a first request to allocate a Multicast Broadcast Service, MBS, session identifier, ID, for an MBS session from an Application Function, AF, Ling: Fig. 1, [0009], [0030]):
a memory (The memory may be non-transitory machine/processor/computer readable storagemedium, Ling: Fig. 12, [0134]); and
a processor coupled to the memory, configured to (the apparatus may comprise one or more processors such as processor and one or more memories such as memory storing computer program codes, Ling: Fig. 12, [0134]):
receive a first request from a User Equipment (UE) to fetch content (the message may be a request to join the MBS session by a termina device or a request to create UE context during a handover procedure. AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address), Ling: Fig.1, Fig. 2, [0028], [0065]);
determine that the content is provided by the AF server via a multicast session of a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) (based on the first request; providing the allocated MBS session ID to the at least one MB-SMF; and sending the allocated MBS session ID to the AF. AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ...), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information (e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS, Ling: Fig.1, [0009], [0065]);
transmit a second request via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) to a Policy Control Function (PCF) (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group. NEF requests MB-SMF to reserve ingress resources for a multicast distribution session and provides the multicast group ID. MB-SMF sends SM MBS Policy Association Request to MB-PCF with the multicast group ID, AF Identifier, and the QoS requirements, Ling: Fig.1, [0065]-[0069]),
wherein a Quality of Service (QoS) flow is associated with an MBS session identifier (ID) corresponding to the multicast session of the MBS (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ...), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information (e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS. the MBSF receives a first request to allocate an MBS session ID for an MBS session from the AF, as shown in block 804 of Fig.8. As shown in FIG. 9, the MBSF receives a second request to start an MBS session from the AF in block 902. the second request may comprise an MBS session ID, service area information, and service requirements, Ling: Fig. 1, Fig. 8-9, [0065], [0069], [0116], [0121]);
subsequent to the transmitting, receive a message indicating an MBS session Add Failure message (If the request is not authorized, the required QoS is not allowed, or transmission resources are not established, MB-SMF responds to the NEF in step 12 with a Result value indicating the failure cause, and NEF further notifies AF in step 13, Ling: Fig.1, [0072]); and
in response to receiving the message, set an application port ID identifying an MBS client of the UE (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ...), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information (e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS. The AF may also request the allocation of an ingress transport address where to send tunneled multicast data. The NEF indicates the possibly allocated ingress address to the AF, Ling: Fig.1, [0065], [0073]-[0076]); and
Ling does not explicitly disclose:
transmit a signal comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE and a port number identifying the MBS client of the UE, wherein the UE establishes a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches:
transmit a signal comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE and a port number identifying the MBS client of the UE, wherein the UE establishes a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS (an application function, application server, and/or the like may send the first request message to a network exposure function (NEF). the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID). when the NEF receives the trigger request or the trigger delivery request, the NEF may obtain the AMF information that serves the UE. the Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe message may comprise: an identifier of the NEF (NEF ID), target of the subscription: identifier of UE(s) (e.g., SUPI or Internal Group Identifier or indication that any UE is targeted. The NEF may select the SMF based on an identifier of the UE (UE ID), subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI), GPSI, DNAI, S-NSSAI, location information of the UE, subscribed DNN list, default DNN, subscription information of the UE. the action may comprise initiation of immediate or later communication with the AF, establishment of a PDU session for IP, non-IP, ethernet, unstructured data, sending data packets, Talebi: Fig 18-19, Fig. 23, [0195], [0231], [0249], [0251], [0273]-[0274], [0288], [0291]-[0292]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling in view of Talebi in order to further modify transmitting a signal comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE and a port number identifying the MBS client of the UE, wherein the UE establishes a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Talebi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because application programming interface (API) may be employed by the AF to submit a trigger delivery request via the NEF. In an example, the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID) (Talebi: [0231]).
Regarding claim 3, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ling does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to:
determine an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the port number corresponding to the UE based at least on the first request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches:
determine an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the port number corresponding to the UE based at least on the first request (The NEF may send a DL data PDU towards the UE using the IP address associated with the connection established by the UE. port numbers in the header may be used to identify the application on the originator and to identify the application on the receiver, Talebi: [0210], [0214]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling in view of Talebi in order to further modify determining an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the port number corresponding to the UE based at least on the first request from the teachings of Talebi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UDR may provide the NEF in response to the query, SMF selection subscription data, AMF subscription data, UE context in SMF data, slice selection subscription data, session management information, status of a PDU session, an IP address of the UE, DNAI, N6 traffic routing information (Talebi: [0254]).
Regarding claim 7, Ling discloses:
A core network (CN) node, comprising (network device to implement a network function in 5G core (5GC) network. Configuration for MBS The configuration for MBS Session is used by the AF to start the MBS Session towards 5GC, Ling: [0058], [0166]):
a Policy Control Function (PCF) (the PCF may be centrally deployed in the MBS system, Ling: Fig. 1, [0122]), and
a Network Exposure Function (NEF) communicatively coupled to the PCF, wherein the NEF comprises (NEF can be involved if the application server is deployed in an external digital network, Ling: Fig. 1, [0122]):
a NEF memory (The memory may be non-transitory machine/processor/computer readable storage medium, Ling: Fig. 12, [0134]); and
a NEF processor coupled to the NEF memory, configured to (the apparatus may comprise one or more processors such as processor and one or more memories such as memory storing computer program codes, Ling: Fig. 12, [0134]):
receive a first request from an application function (AF) server to add a user equipment (UE) to a multicast session of a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS), wherein the AF server provides the MBS (the message may be a request to join the MBS session by a termina device or a request to create UE context during a handover procedure. based on the first request; providing the allocated MBS session ID to the at least one MB-SMF; and sending the allocated MBS session ID to the AF. AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ...), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information (e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS, Ling: Fig.1, Fig. 2, [0009], [0028], [0065]); and
transmit, to the PCF, a second request to associate an MBS session identifier (ID) corresponding to the multicast session with the UE, wherein the PCF corresponds to a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session of the UE (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group. NEF requests MB-SMF to reserve ingress resources for a multicast distribution session and provides the multicast group ID. MB-SMF sends SM MBS Policy Association Request to MB-PCF with the multicast group ID, AF Identifier, and the QoS requirements, Ling: Fig.1, [0065]-[0069]);
wherein the PCF corresponds to a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) Session of the UE (PCF may send Policy and Charging Control (PCC) rules that include information on QoS flows that the UE may use. For example, the UE may send a request to establish a PDU session to communicate with an application server in a DNN using an S-NSSAI. The PCF may use the information provided by the UE and UE subscription data in the UDM, Ling: [0079]);
based on the determination, transmit to the AF server, an MBS session Add Failure message (If the request is not authorized, the required QoS is not allowed, or transmission resources are not established, MB-SMF responds to the NEF in step 12 with a Result value indicating the failure cause, and NEF further notifies AF in step 13, Ling: Fig.1, [0072]); and
Ling does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the PCF is configured to: determine that the PDU Session does not correspond to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session;
subsequent to transmitting the second request, the NEF processor is further configured to receive a message comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE, and a port number identifying an MBS client of the UE, wherein the MBS client triggers the UE to establish a second PDU session corresponding to the DNN/S-NSSAI providing the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches:
wherein the PCF is configured to: determine that the PDU Session does not correspond to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session (When receiving the trigger, the UE may send it to the identified application in the UE. The identified application in the UE may establish a PDU session to a specific DNN. SMF may allocate the QFI for a QoS flow and may derive QoS parameters from the information provided by the PCF. SMF may perform a session management policy establishment procedure to establish a PDU session with the PCF and may get the default PCC Rules for the PDU session. if the UE does not have a PDU session established with the specific S-NSSAI, the UE may request a new PDU session corresponding to the S-NSSAI and with the DNN that may be provided by the application, Talebi: [0069], [0072], [0100], [0178]);
subsequent to transmitting the second request, the NEF processor is further configured to receive a message comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE, and a port number identifying an MBS client of the UE, wherein the MBS client triggers the UE to establish a second PDU session corresponding to the DNN/S-NSSAI providing the multicast session of the MBS (an application function, application server, and/or the like may send the first request message to a network exposure function (NEF). the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID). when the NEF receives the trigger request or the trigger delivery request, the NEF may obtain the AMF information that serves the UE. the Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe message may comprise: an identifier of the NEF (NEF ID), target of the subscription: identifier of UE(s) (e.g., SUPI or Internal Group Identifier or indication that any UE is targeted. The NEF may select the SMF based on an identifier of the UE (UE ID), subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI), GPSI, DNAI, S-NSSAI, location information of the UE, subscribed DNN list, default DNN, subscription information of the UE. the action may comprise initiation of immediate or later communication with the AF, establishment of a PDU session for IP, non-IP, ethernet, unstructured data, sending data packets, Talebi: Fig. 18-19, Fig. 23, [0195], [0231], [0249], [0251], [0273]-[0274], [0288], [0291]-[0292]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling in view of Talebi in order to further modify determining that the PDU Session does not correspond to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session, and receiving a message comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE, and a port number identifying an MBS client of the UE from the teachings of Talebi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because application programming interface (API) may be employed by the AF to submit a trigger delivery request via the NEF. In an example, the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID) (Talebi: [0231]).
Regarding claim 15, Ling discloses:
A method for an application function (AF) server, comprising (receiving a first request to allocate a Multicast Broadcast Service, MBS, session identifier, ID, for an MBS session from an Application Function, AF, Ling: Fig. 1, [0009], [0030]):
receiving a first request from a User Equipment (UE) to fetch content (the message may be a request to join the MBS session by a termina device or a request to create UE context during a handover procedure. AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address), Ling: Fig.1, Fig. 2, [0028], [0065]);
determining that the content is provided by the AF server via a multicast session of a Multicast Broadcast Service (MBS) (based on the first request; providing the allocated MBS session ID to the at least one MB-SMF; and sending the allocated MBS session ID to the AF. AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ...), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information (e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS, Ling: Fig.1, [0009], [0065]);
transmitting a second request via a Network Exposure Function (NEF) to a Policy Control Function (PCF) (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group. NEF requests MB-SMF to reserve ingress resources for a multicast distribution session and provides the multicast group ID. MB-SMF sends SM MBS Policy Association Request to MB-PCF with the multicast group ID, AF Identifier, and the QoS requirements, Ling: Fig.1, [0065]-[0069]),
wherein a Quality of Service (QoS) flow is associated with an MBS session identifier (ID) corresponding to the multicast session with the UE (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ...), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information ( e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS. the MBSF receives a first request to allocate an MBS session ID for an MBS session from the AF, as shown in block 804 of Fig.8. As shown in FIG. 9, the MBSF receives a second request to start an MBS session from the AF in block 902. the second request may comprise an MBS session ID, service area information, and service requirements, Ling: Fig. 1, Fig. 8-9, [0065], [0069], [0116], [0121]);
subsequent to the transmitting, receiving a message indicating an MBS session Add Failure message (If the request is not authorized, the required QoS is not allowed, or transmission resources are not established, MB-SMF responds to the NEF in step 12 with a Result value indicating the failure cause, and NEF further notifies AF in step 13, Ling: Fig.1, [0072]); and
in response to receiving the message, setting an application port ID field identifying an MBS client of the UE (AF of a content provider may register at NEF that it provides contents for a multicast group (identified by multicast group ID which may be IP multicast address). Multicast information may further include media type information (e.g., audio, video ... ), QoS requirements, user equipment (UE) authorization information ( e.g. a Generic Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) or an External Group Id or a UE ID to identify UEs authorized to join the multicast service), service area identifying the service scope, and start and end time of MBS. The AF may also request the allocation of an ingress transport address where to send tunneled multicast data. The NEF indicates the possibly allocated ingress address to the AF, Ling: Fig.1, [0065], [0073]-[0076]); and
Ling does not explicitly disclose:
transmitting a signal comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE and a port number identifying the MBS client of the UE, wherein the UE establishes a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches:
transmitting a signal comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE and a port number identifying the MBS client of the UE, wherein the UE establishes a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS (an application function, application server, and/or the like may send the first request message to a network exposure function (NEF). the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID). when the NEF receives the trigger request or the trigger delivery request, the NEF may obtain the AMF information that serves the UE. the Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe message may comprise: an identifier of the NEF (NEF ID), target of the subscription: identifier of UE(s) (e.g., SUPI or Internal Group Identifier or indication that any UE is targeted. The NEF may select the SMF based on an identifier of the UE (UE ID), subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI), GPSI, DNAI, S-NSSAI, location information of the UE, subscribed DNN list, default DNN, subscription information of the UE. the action may comprise initiation of immediate or later communication with the AF, establishment of a PDU session for IP, non-IP, ethernet, unstructured data, sending data packets, Talebi: Fig. 18-19, Fig. 23, [0195], [0231], [0249], [0251], [0273]-[0274], [0288], [0291]-[0292]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling in view of Talebi in order to further modify a Quality of Service (QoS) flow which is associated with an MBS session identifier (ID) corresponding to the multicast session of the MBS, and transmitting a signal comprising a General Public Subscription Identifier (GPSI) of the UE and a port number identifying the MBS client of the UE, wherein the UE establishes a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session to a Data Network Name/Single Network Slice Selection Assistance Information (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Talebi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because application programming interface (API) may be employed by the AF to submit a trigger delivery request via the NEF. In an example, the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID) (Talebi: [0231]).
Regarding claim 17, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Ling does not explicitly disclose:
determining an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the port number corresponding to the UE based at least on the first request.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches:
determining an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the port number corresponding to the UE based at least on the first request (The NEF may send a DL data PDU towards the UE using the IP address associated with the connection established by the UE. port numbers in the header may be used to identify the application on the originator and to identify the application on the receiver, Talebi: [0210], [0214]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling in view of Talebi in order to further modify determining an Internet Protocol (IP) address and the port number corresponding to the UE based at least on the first request from the teachings of Talebi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because UDR may provide the NEF in response to the query, SMF selection subscription data, AMF subscription data, UE context in SMF data, slice selection subscription data, session management information, status of a PDU session, an IP address of the UE, DNAI, N6 traffic routing information (Talebi: [0254]).
Claims 5, 8-12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling in view of Talebi and in further view of DAO et al. (US 2020/0045753 Al, hereinafter “Dao_2020”).
Regarding claim 5, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ling further discloses:
receive a second message indicating a second MBS session Add Failure (If the request is not authorized, the required QoS is not allowed, or transmission resources are not established, MB-SMF responds to the NEF in step 12 with a Result value indicating the failure cause, and NEF further notifies AF in step 13, Ling: Fig.1, [0072]); and
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
in response to the second message, utilize application level redirection to enable the UE to access an AF instance on a DNN/S-NSSAI providing a second multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
in response to the second message, utilize application level redirection to enable the UE to access an AF instance on a DNN/S-NSSAI providing a second multicast session of the MBS (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS (AMF provides redirection information which can be used by the consumer NF to resend UE related message to the AMF. GC Session binding information provides a mapping between AF-Service-Identifier ID (or AF Identifier, or External Group ID) and/or network slice information (e.g. S-NSSAI) and/or DNN with SMF Address information, Dao_2020: [0073]-[0074], [0242]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify utilizing application level redirection to enable the UE to access an AF instance on a DNN/S-NSSAI providing a second multicast session of the MBS (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
The CN node of claim 7, further comprising a Session Management Function (SMF) communicatively coupled to the PCF, wherein the PCF is further configured to:
transmit a signal to the SMF corresponding to the PDU Session of the UE, wherein the signal comprises a multicast MBS session ID corresponding to the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
further comprising a Session Management Function (SMF) communicatively coupled to the PCF, wherein the PCF is further configured to (PCF may transmit policy associated with session management to the SMF. AMF, SMF, NEF, and PCF are functions that reside within the CN, Dao_2020: [0052], [0058]):
transmit a signal to the SMF corresponding to the PDU Session of the UE, wherein the signal comprises a multicast MBS session ID corresponding to the multicast session of the MBS (group communications session comprises a multicast communication to the plurality of UEs. PCF may send a message, e.g. GC Session Policy Response message, to SMF. PCF may send a GC Session registration response message to SMF to confirm the reception of the group communications session registration request message, Dao_2020: [0006], [0088], [0130]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify comprising a Session Management Function (SMF) communicatively coupled to the PCF, wherein the PCF is further configured to transmit a signal to the SMF corresponding to the PDU Session of the UE, wherein the signal comprises a multicast MBS session ID corresponding to the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Ling-Talebi-Dao_2020 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
The CN node of claim 8, wherein the SMF is further configured to:
modify the PDU Session of the UE to add the UE to the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
modify the PDU Session of the UE to add the UE to the multicast session of the MBS (SMF may use Nudm_UECM_Registration Request service with modification discussed under detailed examples of operations below. the core network portion of the wirelesscommunication network includes a second core network control plane function to manage one or more GC Sessions, such as establishment, modification, and release of one ormore GC Sessions. The second core network control plane function may be implemented in an existing Session Management Function (SMF), Dao_2020: [0131], [0305]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify the PDU Session of the UE to add the UE to the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Regarding claim 10, Ling-Talebi-Dao_2020 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Ling further discloses:
The CN node of claim 9, further comprising an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) communicatively coupled to the SMF (the network function may be an Access and Mobility Management Function, AMF, or a Session Management Function, SMF, Ling: Fig. 1, [0027]),
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
receive an allowed list of AFs for MBS session control from the UE; and
transmit the allowed list of AFs to the SMF;
wherein to modify the PDU Session of the UE, the SMF is further configured to
determine whether the AF server is included in the allowed list of AFs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
receive an allowed list of AFs for MBS session control from the UE (AMF-1 may receive GC Session related configuration messages from SMF that are to be sent to UE, Dao_2020: [0065]); and
transmit the allowed list of AFs to the SMF (SMF may perform AMF-2 selection and the selected AMF-2 sends SM messages to the RAN node, Dao_2020: [0099]);
wherein to modify the PDU Session of the UE, the SMF is further configured to (SMF may use Nudm_UECM_Registration Request service with modification discussed under detailed examples of operations below. the core network portion of the wireless communication network includes a second core network control plane function to manage one or more GC Sessions, such as establishment, modification, and release of one or more GC Sessions. The second core network control plane function may be implemented in an existing Session Management Function (SMF), Dao_2020: [0131], [0305])
determine whether the AF server is included in the allowed list of AFs (SMF may send information to the AMF-2. SMF may collect all notification messages from one or more AMF for all UE that are targeted to receive group communication data, Dao_2020: [0118]-[0119], [0177]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify receiving an allowed list of AFs for MBS session control from the UE, and transmitting the allowed list of AFs to the SMF, wherein to modify the PDU Session of the UE, the SMF is further configured to determine whether the AF server is included in the allowed list of Afs from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Regarding claim 11, Ling-Talebi-Dao_2020 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the AMF is further configured to: store the allowed list of AFs as part of UE context of the UE.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
wherein the AMF is further configured to: store the allowed list of AFs as part of UE context of the UE (AMF-1 may store the information receive from SMF in the UE Context such as GC Session ID, an GC Session indication for GC Session ID, Internal Group ID, Group communication service area, Dao_2020: [0166], [0195]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify storing the allowed list of AFs as part of UE context of the UE from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Regarding claim 12, Ling-Talebi-Dao_2020 teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
The CN node of claim 10, wherein the SMF is further configured to: store the list of AFs.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
wherein the SMF is further configured to: store the list of AFs (The AMF-2 may store the GC Session information received from SMF in the UE Context, and/or UE Group Context, and/or GC Session context, such as GC Session ID, a GC Session indication for GC Session ID, Internal Group ID, TMGI, Group communication service area, Dao_2020: [0196]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify storing the list of AFs from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Ling further discloses:
receiving a second message indicating a second MBS session Add Failure (If the request is not authorized, the required QoS is not allowed, or transmission resources are not established, MB-SMF responds to the NEF in step 12 with a Result value indicating the failure cause, and NEF further notifies AF in step 13, Ling: Fig.1, [0072]); and
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
in response to the second message, utilizing application level redirection to enable the UE to access an AF instance on a DNN/S-NSSAI providing a second multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dao_2020 teaches:
in response to the second message, utilizing application level redirection to enable the UE to access an AF instance on a DNN/S-NSSAI providing a second multicast session of the MBS (AMF provides redirection information which can be used by the consumer NF to resend UE related message to the AMF. GC Session binding information provides a mapping between AF-Service-Identifier ID (or AF Identifier, or External Group ID) and/or network slice information (e.g. S-NSSAI) and/or DNN with SMF Address information, Dao_2020: [0073]-[0074], [0242]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Dao_2020 in order to further modify utilizing application level redirection to enable the UE to access an AF instance on a DNN/S-NSSAI providing a second multicast session of the MBS (DNN/S-NSSAI) providing the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Dao_2020.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it is desirable for improved solutions to transmit the same data to multiple UEs which has more flexibility to handle increasing demands (Dao_2020: [0003]).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling in view of Talebi and in further view of Li (US 2024/0172175 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 6, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
The AF Server of claim 1, wherein the UE initiates a session leaving procedure of the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the UE initiates a session leaving procedure of the multicast session of the MBS (there are multiple MBS session management procedures, such as multicast session configuration, multicast session establishment, multicast session activation, multicast session deactivation, multicast session release, or multicast session deconfiguration, Li: [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Li in order to further modify initiating the UE a session leaving procedure of the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may assist in addressing a signaling efficiency issue when the network aims to page a group of UEs in a multicast group (Li: [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 15 above.
Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 15, wherein the UE initiates a session leaving procedure of the multicast session of the MBS.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches:
wherein the UE initiates a session leaving procedure of the multicast session of the MBS (there are multiple MBS session management procedures, such as multicast session configuration, multicast session establishment, multicast session activation, multicast session deactivation, multicast session release, or multicast session deconfiguration, Li: [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Li in order to further modify initiating the UE a session leaving procedure of the multicast session of the MBS from the teachings of Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may assist in addressing a signaling efficiency issue when the network aims to page a group of UEs in a multicast group (Li: [0005]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ling in view of Talebi and in further view of Talebi Fard et al. (US 2022/0232671 Al, hereinafter “Talebi_2022”).
Regarding claim 21, Ling in view of Talebi teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Ling further discloses:
wherein the NEF processor is further configured to (NEF checks authorization of the content provider, Ling: Fig. 1, [0009], [0066]):
Ling does not explicitly disclose:
obtain a mapping of the GPSI to a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) of the UE; and
wherein the MBS client triggers the UE to establish the second PDU session.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi teaches:
obtain a mapping of the GPSI to a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) of the UE (The query may comprise: an identifier translation, GPSI, an identifier of the AF, and/or the like to resolve the GPSI to SUPI, Talebi: [0233]); and
wherein the MBS client triggers the UE to establish the second PDU session (Triggered by an AF request via the NEF is described as one step for multicast MBS Session configuration. For MBS broadcast, there are two steps, i.e. TMGI allocation (so that the AF can perform service announcement to the UEs) and MBS Session start, Talebi: [0149]-[0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling in view of Talebi in order to further modify obtaining a mapping of the GPSI to a Subscription Permanent Identifier (SUPI) of the UE, and the MBS client triggers the UE to establish the second PDU session from the teachings of Talebi.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because application programming interface (API) may be employed by the AF to submit a trigger delivery request via the NEF. In an example, the trigger delivery request message may comprise a trigger payload, an indication for the trigger delivery via the SMF, a trigger reference number, an identifier of the application function, a priority indication, a validity period, a generic public subscription identifier (GPSI) of the wireless device, an identifier of the UE (UE ID) (Talebi: [0231]).
Yet, Ling in view of Talebi does not explicitly disclose:
contact a short message service (SMS)-service center (SC) to send a mobile terminated (MT) SMS to the UE,
However, in the same field of endeavor, Talebi_2020 teaches:
contact a short message service (SMS)-service center (SC) to send a mobile terminated (MT) SMS to the UE (a network triggered service request procedure may be performed. The network triggered service request procedure may be employed when the network determined/needs to signal (e.g., N1 signalling to UE, Mobile-terminated SMS, User Plane connection activation for PDU Session(s) to deliver mobile terminating user data) with a UE, Talebi_2022: [0233]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ling and Talebi in view of Talebi_2022 in order to further modify contacting a short message service (SMS)-service center (SC) to send a mobile terminated (MT) SMS to the UE from the teachings of Talebi_2022.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because an advertising mechanism may be
employed to transmit/deliver/send the multicast information of the group to the UE and the paging request may trigger the UE triggered service request procedure in the UE (Talebi_2022: [0232]-[0233]).
Conclusion
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467