DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/25/2022 and 11/18/2022 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final office action on 8/19/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 2 and 8 are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ginsberg (US 20160212385 A1).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joynes (GB2403362B) as applied to claims 1 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Ginsberg (US 20160212385 A1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Ginsberg does not disclose “utilizing the one or more properties of the object to constrain the location of the object within a region indicated by the predetermined predicted location information.”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the previous office action, the examiner cited paragraph 36 in relation to a 3D mapping module that determines the location of the balls identified in 3D space. The 3D mapping module creates a map used to create positions of reference to compare an object location to within an image “In various embodiments, the 3D mapping module first determines the location and orientation of the camera in 3D space based on the positions of the lines of the court (or playing field, etc.) in the images. The 3D mapping module 320 is pre-programmed with the position of lines and other markings on the court or field for the sport in question.”. The location of an object is in reference to the sport, field, or court wherein the 3D mapping module generates the space for an object to be observed. This is then further expanded upon in the previous citation of Paragraph 40 wherein the size and orientation of the ball is a property identified “The 3D mapping module 320 can then locate an object (e.g., a ball) on that line (and hence determine a precise location in 3D space) based on the apparent size of the object. For example, in one embodiment, the 3D mapping module 320 is pre-programmed with the dimensions of the ball. Therefore, by comparing the apparent size of the ball in the image with the known dimensions, the 3D mapping module 320 can determine the distance between the camera and the ball. In embodiments where the ball is non-symmetric (e.g., a football, puck, or shuttlecock), the 3D mapping module 320 first determines the current orientation of the ball based on its apparent shape in the image. Once the orientation has been determined, the 3D mapping module 320 compares the ball's apparent size with an expected size for that orientation to determine the distance between the camera and the ball.”.
While a distance between the camera and the object is identified, a location of where the object is in the 3D mapped space is still identified and the distance is to see if an object is on a boundary line of the court/field. These factors are then used in the trajectory analysis module wherein an objects x and y coordinates are identified and predicted in Paragraph 41 “The trajectory analysis module 330 may work in 3D space or image space, with the 3D mapping module 320 later mapping the trajectory into 3D space as required. In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 calculates the trajectory of the ball assuming that the only force acting on it is gravity (i.e., ignoring factors such as ball spin, air resistance, and wind). Thus, the trajectory is a parabola and can be completely determined from six variables: the initial three-dimensional position and velocity vectors. Given n images from times t.sub.1 through t.sub.n, the trajectory analysis module 330 has n points, with each point including an apparent ball radius, and a two-dimensional (e.g., x and y coordinates) ball center location, C.sub.1.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 3-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ginsberg (US 20160212385 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ginsberg teaches:
an apparatus for generating location information of an object in a scene (Figure 2, #110 and #120, an apparatus for generating location information of object #250) the apparatus comprising circuitry configured to: (Paragraph 34, in line 9-13, “The local search (implemented by the local search module 314) limits its search to a region surrounding the projected location of a ball in the current frame, based on the appearance of that (possibly moving) ball in the previous frame or frames.”)
acquire image data of a scene from an image capture device (In paragraph 19, in line 1-2, “The recording device 110 captures images that include a ball.”);
acquire predicted location information of an object in the scene indicative of a region of the scene in which the object is predicted to be located at a given time (In paragraph 56, in lines 1-6, “Based on the projected trajectory, the data processing device 120 predicts 630 a sporting outcome. In an embodiment where the projected trajectory includes multiple possible trajectories and corresponding probabilities, the data processing device divides the possible trajectories into groups that correspond to different sporting outcomes.”);
detect one or more properties of the object from the image data, the properties of the object indicative of an observed location of the object in the scene (In paragraph 54, in lines 8-15, “The second effect introduces an additional force into the calculations performed by the trajectory analysis module 330. In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 assumes the spin on the ball is constant and treats it as another variable to be used in fitting a trajectory to the observed data. It uses modified equations of motion that include a spin term, which is an additional acceleration vector orthogonal to both the spin vector and the direction of motion.”); and
generate location information of the object in the scene using the predicted location information and the one of more properties of the object (In paragraph 47, in line 1-8, “The second effect introduces an additional force into the calculations performed by the trajectory analysis module 330. In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 assumes the spin on the ball is constant and treats it as another variable to be used in fitting a trajectory to the observed data. It uses modified equations of motion that include a spin term, which is an additional acceleration vector orthogonal to both the spin vector and the direction of motion.”).
Regarding claim 3:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the image data comprises a plurality of images (Paragraph 17, in lines 1-3, “In one embodiment, a data processing device receives a plurality of digital images, each image including a ball, and identifies the position of the ball in each image. The data processing device also projects the trajectory of the ball based on the positions of the ball identified in the images.“) of the scene and wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate location information of the object in the scene using one or more properties of the image detected from each of the plurality of images (Paragraph 54, in lines 8-15, “The appropriate balance of prediction accuracy and data processing time in any given scenario depends on numerous factors, including the specific sport, the nature of the advisory information, the processing power available, and the preference of the individual receiving the advisory information. In one embodiment, the locations include x and y coordinates, and an apparent ball radius, which is used as a proxy for a z coordinate, as described previously.”).
Regarding claim 4:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the location information generated by the circuitry using the predicted location information and the one or more properties of the object comprises a path of the object through the scene (Paragraph 47, in lines 1-8, “The second effect introduces an additional force into the calculations performed by the trajectory analysis module 330. In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 assumes the spin on the ball is constant and treats it as another variable to be used in fitting a trajectory to the observed data. It uses modified equations of motion that include a spin term, which is an additional acceleration vector orthogonal to both the spin vector and the direction of motion.”).
Regarding claim 5:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the circuitry is further configured to generate additional information regarding the object using the path of the object through the scene (Figure 6, #630 and #640, additional information given based on trajectory in the form of outcome and a notification).
Regarding claim 6:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the additional information comprises information including at least one of a speed of the object (Paragraph 44, in line 4-7, “In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 fits several parabolas using slightly different values for the initial position and velocity variables and the corresponding error for each”.), a spin of the object (Paragraph 47, in line 1-8, “The second effect introduces an additional force into the calculations performed by the trajectory analysis module 330. In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 assumes the spin on the ball is constant and treats it as another variable to be used in fitting a trajectory to the observed data. It uses modified equations of motion that include a spin term, which is an additional acceleration vector orthogonal to both the spin vector and the direction of motion.”) and/or a location of the object at a future time (Paragraph 20, in lines 1-3, “The data processing device 120 processes images received from the recording device 110 and predicts the trajectory of the ball.”).
Regarding claim 7:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more properties of the object comprise at least one of a two dimensional location of the object in the image data (Paragraph 41, in lines 12-14, “Given n images from times t.sub.1 through t.sub.n, the trajectory analysis module 330 has n points, with each point including an apparent ball radius, and a two-dimensional (e.g., x and y coordinates) ball center location,”), a size of the object in the image data, a relative position of the object to a second object at a predetermined location in the scene and a relative location of the object and a shadow formed by the object on a surface.
Regarding claim 9:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the default trajectory of the object through the scene is characterised by one or more trajectory coefficients and wherein generating the location information of the object in the scene comprises adjusting the values of the one or more trajectory coefficients from their initial values using the one or more properties of the object which have been detected (Paragraph 42, from line 7 of page 10 to line 3 of page 11, “In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 calculates the error of the fitted parabola with the equation:
e
p,v
=
∑
[
c
i
-
C
i
2
-
r
i
-
R
i
2
]
where e (p, v) is the error in the fitted parabola,
c
i
-
C
i
is the difference between the predicted and observed ball center location for image
n
i
, and
r
i
-
R
i
is the difference between the predicted and observed ball radii for image in other embodiments, the contributions to the total error of the ball center position terms and the ball radii terms are weighted differently.”).
Regarding claim 10:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire different predetermined predicted location information of the object depending on a type of the object (Paragraph 43, in line 1-9, , “FIG. 4A illustrates a parabola 410 fitted by the trajectory analysis module 330 using three data points 412, 414, and 416 corresponding to three observed positions of the ball 250. The trajectory analysis module 330 also considered the observed radius of the ball corresponding to each data point in fitting the parabola 410. Thus, even though a slightly different parabola could be used that would pass exactly through every data point in this view, the total error is minimized by having the parabola 410 pass close by point 416.”).
Regarding claim 11:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein the object is a ball (Claim 11, “The system of claim 1, wherein the ball is one of: a volleyball, a tennis ball, a basketball, a hockey puck, a shuttlecock, a football, a cricket ball, a golf ball, or a soccer ball.”) and wherein the ball is bowled by a player and wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire different predetermined predicted location information depending on the player who bowled the ball (Paragraph 43, in line 1-9, “FIG. 4A illustrates a parabola 410 fitted by the trajectory analysis module 330 using three data points 412, 414, and 416 corresponding to three observed positions of the ball 250. The trajectory analysis module 330 also considered the observed radius of the ball corresponding to each data point in fitting the parabola 410. Thus, even though a slightly different parabola could be used that would pass exactly through every data point in this view, the total error is minimized by having the parabola 410 pass close by point 416.”).
Regarding claim 12:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the apparatus is further configured to generate the location information of the object in the scene using the predetermined predicted location information, the one or more properties of the object and at least one of an initial location from where the ball (Claim 11, “The system of claim 1, wherein the ball is one of: a volleyball, a tennis ball, a basketball, a hockey puck, a shuttlecock, a football, a cricket ball, a golf ball, or a soccer ball.”) is bowled, an initial speed of the ball (“In one embodiment, the trajectory analysis module 330 fits several parabolas using slightly different values for the initial position and velocity variables and the corresponding error for each”) when the ball is bowled and/or a time at which the ball contacts the ground.
Regarding claim 14:
Ginsberg teaches: the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the apparatus is configured to be calibrated using the position of one or more predetermined features in an initial image of the scene (Paragraph 26, in lines 1-6, “The image analysis module 310 constructs the first image by comparing the color of each pixel in the original video frame to an expected color of the ball. The pixels in the first image are set as on or off depending on whether the corresponding pixel in the original video frame matches the expected color of the ball within a threshold tolerance.”).
Regarding claim 15:
Ginsberg teaches: a method of generating location information of an object in a scene, the method comprising (In paragraph 12, in lines 1-2, “FIG. 7 is a flow-chart illustrating a method for identifying a ball in an image, according to one embodiment.”).
The rest of the embodiments of claim 15 are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
Regarding claim 16:
Ginsberg teaches: a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program product comprising instructions which, when the instructions are implemented by a computer, cause the computer to perform a method of generating location information of an object in a scene, the method comprising (In paragraph 51, in lines 1-6, “ In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the storage device 508 is a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium such as a hard drive, compact disk read-only memory (CD-ROM), DVD, or a solid-state memory device. The memory 506 holds instructions and data used by the processor 502.”).
The rest of the embodiments of claim 15 are rejected on the same ground as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joynes (GB2403362B) as applied to claims 1 and 10-12 above, and further in view of Ginsberg (US 20160212385 A1).
Regarding Claim 13:
Ginsberg teaches the embodiments of claim 12 as applied above.
Ginsberg does not explicitly teach the following; however in related art, Joynes teaches: wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire audio to determine the time at which the ball contacts the ground (Page 11, in line 8-13, “Such microphones pick up the sound of an impact event between any of the above objects with a delay, which depends principally on the distance between the microphone and the impact event location, and the effective speed of sound, which will depend at least on meteorological factors such as wind speed and the direction, presence of rain etc.”).
Joynes and Ginsberg are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of objection detection within a location. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus to incorporate a microphone that can acquire audio when the ball contacts the ground to the apparatus that detects and object within a location. This provides the predictable result of an apparatus that can track an object moving through a location with more information gathered by the microphone.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665