DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment dated 06/23/2026 has been entered.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 06/23/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Pat. 11,311,779 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed 06/23/2026 are not proper black and white line drawings. The drawings submitted appear to be greyscale prints of 3d modeling software. The shading of the images makes it difficult to determine what structures the reference characters refer to. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
The drawings are further objected to because some of the figures have multiple figures. As non-limiting examples, figure 9 has 3 images, and figure 15 has 5 images. Each image should have its own identifier, such as 15a, 15b, 15c, etc. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 24 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The second line of claim 24 contains the limitation “the climbing object”. This should be “a climbing object”.
Claim 34 recites in part, “a slide fob configured to move the lower end up and down within the mast segment for adjustability and removal of the adjustable mast segment”. This should read “a slide fob configured to move each lower end up and down within the mast segment for adjustability and removal of one adjustable mast segment”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 23, 25, 38, and 41-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Pub. US 2007/0189883 A1 – Maurer et al., hereinafter Maurer.
Regarding claim 21.
Maurer discloses a modular climbing apparatus (Fig 4. Examiner notes that the embodiment of fig 4 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes) comprising:
(a) a plurality of connectable mast segments configured to stack one after another (Paragraph [0014] The rail-like profile is preferably fashioned in a plurality of pieces capable of being joined together and fixedly attached to a mast, profiles capable of being stood loose against an object naturally being possible as well.) to form a mast (1, fig 4c) extending vertically (See fig 4);
(b) a platform assembly comprising (i) a standing platform (25, fig 4c), (ii) a frame (51, fig 4a) connected to the standing platform (See fig 4);
(c) an upper trolley (15, fig 4a) having a handle (Seen adjacent 40 in fig 4b) and an upper brake (47, fig 4b), the upper trolley configured for independent mobility along the mast and the upper brake configured to engage the upper trolley to the mast, the handle configured to actuate movement of the upper trolley (as in paragraph [0037]; In addition, each of the two platforms 25 and 27 of FIG. 3 is provided with a foot strap 30 and 32, for example for the ascent of a person using the climbing aid. The person holds himself by the two handles 21 and 23. In order to ascend, the person now simultaneously raises the right hand on handle 21 and the foot standing on platform 25. The brake connected to pinion 36 of the left console prevents backward motion of console 15. In contrast, the two pinions 33 and 35 are free to rotate in the climbing direction, so that console 13 can easily be raised. After negotiating a certain climbing height, the ascending person repeats the same procedure with the left hand on handle 23 and the left foot on platform 27.); and
(d) a lower trolley (13, fig 4a) configured for independent mobility up and down along the mast relative to the upper trolley, the lower trolley having a lower brake configured to engage the lower trolley to the mast (as in paragraph [0037]; In addition, each of the two platforms 25 and 27 of FIG. 3 is provided with a foot strap 30 and 32, for example for the ascent of a person using the climbing aid. The person holds himself by the two handles 21 and 23. In order to ascend, the person now simultaneously raises the right hand on handle 21 and the foot standing on platform 25. The brake connected to pinion 36 of the left console prevents backward motion of console 15. In contrast, the two pinions 33 and 35 are free to rotate in the climbing direction, so that console 13 can easily be raised. After negotiating a certain climbing height, the ascending person repeats the same procedure with the left hand on handle 23 and the left foot on platform 27.); wherein
the lower trolley is connected to the frame of the platform assembly (See fig 4).
Regarding claim 23.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer further discloses each of the plurality of mast segments (at 1, fig 4a) is a ladder mast segment (Paragraph [0041]; which pinions engage in gridworks 42 and 44 respectively).
Regarding claim 25.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer further discloses the frame (51, fig 4a) of the platform assembly is a single post (See fig 4) mounted to the lower trolley (13, fig 4a).
Regarding claim 38.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer further discloses the upper (15, fig 4a) and lower trolley (13, fig 4a) are ganged together by a cable (85, fig 13a) of sufficient strength to support a user (See fig 13a) and accessories and wherein at least one of the upper trolley or lower trolly is a motorized trolley (Paragraph [0039]; Instead of a rotary dashpot it is possible to use for example an eddy-current brake, a centrifugal brake, an electric motor, preferably driven as a generator, or another suitable mechanism to damp or retard the downward motion.), wherein the cable is configured to be gathered or released by the motorized trolley (Paragraph [0067]; In addition to the preceding figures, a further safety device such as a safety belt 85 is illustrated in FIGS. 13a to 13c. This can be fastened for example to the consoles, as at fastening lugs 55 and 57 respectively, as illustrated in FIG. 4a.).
Regarding claim 41.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 23.
Maurer further discloses the ladder mast segment (at 1 in fig 4a) includes a pair (41 and 43, fig 4a) of parallel (See fig 4a) and spaced apart squared (in the sense that they extend at a 90-degree angle to a cross-section of the mast segment) rails extending upward and connected by a plurality of horizontal bridge segments (Paragraph [0041]; Grid-like force-transmitting positions 42 and 44).
Regarding claim 42.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 41.
Maurer further discloses the upper trolley (15, fig 4a) is a ladder trolley (engaging (Paragraph [0041]; Grid-like force-transmitting positions 42 and 44)) assembly and the handle (adjacent element 40, fig 4b) is a ladder catch handle, wherein the ladder trolley assembly includes a catch (47, fig 4a) configured to engage each of the plurality of horizontal bridge segments as the ladder trolley assembly moves upward along the ladder mast segment (Paragraph [0041]; each have pinions 45 and 47 in guide units 39 and 40, which pinions engage in gridworks 42 and 44 respectively.).
Regarding claim 43.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 42.
Maurer further discloses the ladder trolley assembly (15, fig 4a) includes a squared (in the sense that they extend at a 90-degree angle to a cross-section of the mast segment) bracket portion configured to engage around the squared rails (See fig 4c).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 32, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer.
Regarding claim 24.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
The applied embodiment of Maurer does not teach each mast segment includes a stand-off to abut against the climbing object and form a space for receiving a strap to secure the mast to the climbing object.
However, another embodiment of Maurer teaches each mast segment (at 1 in fig 9a) includes a stand-off (Seen adjacent reference character 255 in fig 9a) to abut against the climbing object (See fig 9a) and form a space for (Examiner notes that the following is a recitation of intended use, and the stand-off of the alternate embodiment of Maurer teaches the limitation as claimed.) receiving a strap to secure the mast to the climbing object.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the stand-off of the alternate embodiment of Maurer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of forming a space between the mast and the climbing object to allow for variance in the surface of the climbing object.
Regarding claim 32.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
The applied embodiment of Maurer does not teach support cables extending from the frame to the standing platform, and wherein the support cables are connected to a platform level handle and configured to be gathered up by the platform level handle to control the platform position.
However, another embodiment of Maurer teaches support cables (321, fig 10b) extending from the frame (at 331, fig 10b) to the standing platform (25, fig 10b), and wherein the support cables are connected (examiner notes that the term “connected” is broad and can include connection via intervening structures) to a platform level handle (21, fig 10b; as opposed to a device or apparatus level handle) and configured to be gathered up (as the platform is raised and lowered) by the platform level handle to control the platform position (as the platform is raised and lowered).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the support cables of the alternate embodiment of Maurer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reinforcing the connection between the standing platform and the frame.
Regarding claim 40.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer does not explicitly disclose a plurality of additional trolleys configured for customization and use of additional components, wherein the plurality of additional trolleys are configured to fit on the mast and wherein the plurality of additional trolleys are configured to operate independently, connected to work together with respect to the other trolleys, or a combination thereof.
However, Maurer further teaches (Paragraph [0069]; It is also possible to arrange such an arrangement on a building wall as a fire ladder, which fire ladder can serve both for the downward rescue of persons and for the ascent of firefighters upward. In the rescue area, in particular, it is also entirely possible and desirable to provide climbing aids or consoles that are suitable only for the descent or rescue of persons, for example from a high-rise building.)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer by providing a plurality of additional trolleys configured for customization and use of additional components, wherein the plurality of additional trolleys are configured to fit on the mast and wherein the plurality of additional trolleys are configured to operate independently, connected to work together with respect to the other trolleys, or a combination thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of facilitating use of the apparatus of Maurer as a fire escape for a high-rise building, as suggested in paragraph [0069].
Claim(s) 33-35, and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of PG Pub. US 2018/0100351 A1 – Bright.
Regarding claim 33.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer does not disclose each of the plurality of mast segments includes a lower end and an opposite top end and wherein each lower end is tapered for nesting the lower end into the top end of an adjacent mast segment.
However, Bright teaches each of the plurality of mast segments includes a lower end (74, fig 2) and an opposite top end (64, fig 2) and wherein each lower end is tapered for nesting the lower end into the top end of an adjacent mast segment (See fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the nesting segments of Bright. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for ease of alignment of the segments when assembling the mast.
Regarding claim 34.
The combination of Maurer and Bright teaches all elements of claim 33.
Maurer does not disclose the plurality of mast segments includes a plurality of adjustable mast segments having a slide fob configured to move the lower end up and down within the mast segment for adjustability and removal of the adjustable mast segment without disassembling the mast.
However, Bright teaches the plurality of mast segments includes a plurality of adjustable mast segments having a slide fob (121, fig 3) configured to move the lower end up and down within the mast segment (at 120c, fig 3) for adjustability and removal of the adjustable mast segment without disassembling the mast (examiner notes that this is intended use).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the slide fob of Bright. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for ease of assembling the mast.
Regarding claim 35.
The combination of Maurer and Bright teaches all elements of claim 34.
The combination, in Bright, further teaches the slide fob is configured for adjustability up and down (see threaded portion in fig 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify combination of Maurer and Bright to be adjustable about 2 inches. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing for variance in segment length due to manufacturing variance and wear and tear.
Regarding claim 44.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 41.
Maurer does not disclose each ladder mast segment includes a lower section wherein each squared rail is reduced in size or tapered to mate with and engage with an upper section of an adjacent ladder mast segment thus allowing for vertical stacking.
However, Bright teaches each ladder mast segment includes a lower section (74, fig 2) wherein each squared rail is reduced in size or tapered (See fig 2) to mate with and engage with an upper section (64, fig 2) of an adjacent ladder mast segment thus allowing for vertical stacking (See fig 2).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the nesting segments of Bright. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for ease of alignment of the segments when assembling the mast.
Claim(s) 36 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of US Pat. 8,708,592 – Gardner.
Regarding claim 36.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer does not disclose a universal mounting bracket and adjustable tilt plate, wherein a mounting bracket trolley is configured to connect the universal mounting bracket to the mast and allows for retrofitting a platform assembly to the mast.
However, Gardner teaches a universal mounting bracket (10, fig 6) and adjustable tilt plate (12, fig 6), wherein a mounting bracket trolley (26, fig 6) is configured to connect the universal mounting bracket to the mast (T, fig 1) and allows for retrofitting a platform assembly to the mast (See fig 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the universal mounting bracket and adjustable tilt plate of Gardner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for retrofitting a platform assembly to the mast, as suggested in Gardner.
Regarding claim 45.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 41.
Maurer does not disclose an optional tilt bracket.
However, Gardner teaches an optional tilt bracket (12, fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the optional tilt bracket of Gardner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for retrofitting a platform assembly to the mast, as suggested in Gardner.
Claim(s) 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of US Pat. 8,079,444 – Rands et al., hereinafter Rands.
Regarding claim 37.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer does not disclose a tripod accessory having a mast cap connected to tripod extension cables that extend to tripod base members and configured for securing the mast in an upright freestanding configuration for climbing.
However, Rands teaches a tripod accessory (See 3 feet in fig 22) having a mast cap (at top of 30 in fig 22) connected to tripod extension cables (38, fig 20) that extend to tripod base members (See fig 20) and configured for securing the mast in an upright freestanding configuration for climbing (See fig 23).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the tripod accessory of Rands. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for use as a freestanding unit.
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of PG Pub. US 2008/0283334 A1 – Fickey et al., hereinafter Fickey.
Regarding claim 39.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 38.
The applied embodiment of Maurer does not disclose a control panel for the motorized trolley, wherein the control panel is configured for actuation of up, down, unlatch and wireless communication to a remote controlling device; and
wherein, the control panel can accommodate a power outlet for powering or charging an external device.
However, another embodiment of Maurer teaches a control panel for the motorized trolley (Paragraph [0053]; The two linear motors 113 and 123, which cannot be seen, can be controlled, for example electronically, with a control 114, control taking place either automatically or by actuation of corresponding switch elements, for example on handle 21.), wherein the control panel is configured for actuation of up, down, unlatch and wireless communication to a remote controlling device (Paragraph [0062]; In other words, remote control is possible for both ascent and descent);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the control of the alternate embodiment of Maurer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for control of the apparatus.
Also, Fickey teaches, the control panel can accommodate a power outlet for powering or charging an external device (Paragraph [0045]; A power supply 5 provides power for the motorized winch 18. The power supply 5 also has one or more outlets for powering auxiliary devices such as an electric blanket or personal electronics).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the power outlet of Fickey. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of powering auxiliary devices.
Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maurer in view of US Pat. 4,301,891 – Harbian.
Regarding claim 46.
Maurer discloses all limitations of claim 21.
Maurer does not disclose a seat supported by the frame and spaced apart from the standing platform.
However, Harbian teaches a seat (61, fig 14) supported by the frame (57, fig 14) and spaced apart from the standing platform (at 27, fig 15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Maurer with the seat of Harbian. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of improving the ergonomics of the apparatus.
Conclusion
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634